Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Stoves or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Primus Primus FireHole 200 Stove

Primus Primus FireHole 200 Stove

A double-burner stove for the discerning basecamp chef, the Firehole 200 offers you double-barrelled cooking power, fumble-free piezo ignition, and side windscreens that fold down as work surfaces.
Average Member Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 out of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Member Reviews for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Review 1 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Primus Firehole 200

Date:August 2, 2014
We bought this stove to replace our aging Coleman propane 2 burner....We tried the Firehole 200 at home to check it out. During the test run in the backyard we had trouble getting a proper simmer. This is a very
important feature for us. After fiddling with the stove for some time we could not get a proper simmer. We returned the stove and of course MEC was fantastic and gave us a refund. We bought a new Coleman 2 burner and never looked back... Too bad, I really wanted to like the Primus stove as their other products are great.
Pros: nice looking stove
Cons: poor simmer
Review 2 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: medicine hat ab
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

good stove

Date:February 20, 2013
This unit regulates the heat very well and that was my reason for spending the extra $ for this model. It has good top access making it easy to clean. Only minor complaint is that the plastic closure clamps are a bit flimsy and don't align that well with the lid.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 3 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burlington, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
STAFF REVIEW

Sweet Little (big) Piece of Kit

Date:August 15, 2012
I purchased this for an upcoming road trip, 3 weeks across the Maritimes.
I recent had a bbq at the house and it was ridiculously hot out so instead of doing any stovetop cooking (pasta for salad, homemade bbq sauce, bacon etc) I whipped this baby out in the yard and it was great.
The ignition took a few tries, but it eventually worked, I dont think the gas was high enough. My only complaint would be that when simmering at low low heat, the flame tends to go out with the lightest breeze. We'll have to keep it very sheltered when out on the Newfoundland coast.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 4 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Only 2 adjustable feet.

Date:August 10, 2012
Only used the stove once and it cooked fine. But I tried leveling with the advertised adjustable feet and discovered that there were only 2. The front left and the rear right feet extended when unscrewed, but the other two didn't. I wanted to raise the front of the stove, and couldn't. I could really make it wobble, though.
The feet that did extend had hexagonal headed screws that fit into the hexagonal pits in the feet. The other 2 had the wrong screw - a regular round headed Philips screw - so when unscrewed the feet just spun around and didn't extend. Not a big deal, but broken and annoying.
I thought the stove I had must have had the proper screws swapped out at some point. But when I took it back to MEC for a replacement, the replacement they brought out had the same bizarre setup. So I handed it back and got a refund. (MEC staff were equally baffled and of course there was no issue with the return).
It's weird. If they bring out a new model that actually has FOUR adjustable feet, (maybe that's the FireHole 400?) I might buy it.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: strange
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC

Not Impressed

Date:August 9, 2012
Recently purchased for a road trip across Canada. Out of the box the right hand burner had problems holding a simmer and the overall construction of the unit was poor (top shell didn't match lower base when closed). After about 1 week of use the ignitor only worked about 50% of the time and has subsequently stopped working all together. Stove has been returned and we are now in search of a new stove.
Cons: Unreliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Very disappointed!

Date:August 2, 2012
Ages ago I read the reviews of the less expensive Primus model and decided to buy a regular 'green box' from a big box store. Then the new MEC catalog came out and I saw what seemed to be an new improved version so decided to pick it up. I don't mind paying a bit extra for decent quality so was excited to try the stove out. Right off the get go we had problems with the ignition, sometimes not starting one side of the stove. There was no rhyme or reason to it, for one reason or another it would flip back and forth between sides. On our fourth trip out the tension in the ignition vanished and the whole portion is now obviously broken. We were still able to light it with a match but can get a green box that does the same thing for 1/2 the price. I will be returning this stove, already made my trip to buy a replacement via big box store.
Cons: Expensive, Flimsy, Unreliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Nelson, BC
MEC MEMBER

Disappointing start - maybe just a lemon?

Date:August 1, 2012
We bought this stove this spring to use when frontcountry camping, and it worked brilliantly for our first outing.
But on the second outing one burner mysteriously stopped working (no fuel flow), and on our third outing we began observing some scorching on the stovetop around the burner that still works (maybe this is normal?).
We'll be returning the stove the next time we're in Vancouver or Calgary - and we'll see what happens vis a vis warranty.
Hopefully we'll get a replacement and be able to provide an updated glowing review, the stove certainly has the potential to be a winner - so hopefully we just have a lemon.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Cons: Unreliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto

Good Solid Stove

Date:May 15, 2012
This replaced a similar Primus stove manufactured in 1967. Heat production is excellent. Gas flow control very good over 1/3 to 1/2 a turn, it can be set low without going out.. Ignitor works immediately and reliably on both burners. It is relatively heavy which is a benefit in terms of stability but it is not a light stainless or aluminium suited to backpacking or canoeing.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for Primus FireHole 200 Stove
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton
MEC MEMBER

So far so good.

Date:April 25, 2012
This stove replaces a Primus Profile stove that had so many niggling problems that it was unusable... a review to this effect has been posted.
Now onto this new stove. Seems quite a bit better than the Primus Profile.
The Firehole 200 has a very solid grate that after a few uses appears solid and is not warping like the one on the Profile model did. The controls are easy to use, the Piezo lighter works fine, burners are well aligned and plenty hot enough. And the levelling feet for the stove body is an excellent addition.
The windscreen design with side panels that fold down for extra work space may be a bit gimmicky but they work as advertised and the whole windscreen assembly links together with magnets so it's easy to set up and take down.
One complaint so far is the sensitivity of the fuel control knobs. They have a range of about 1.3 turns from end to end but the burners reach full output after about one third of a turn. This makes them quite tricky to adjust at low output as a small turn in the dial makes a notable change in output. It's not a deal breaker but it takes a bit of fussing. This is why I dropped one star from the review.
Other nice touches are the attached fuel line and the included fuel canister support... be sure to empty the box completely.. I just about missed it.
Based on my limited experience so far I would skip the Profile stove from Primus and spend the extra money and go right onto the Firehole 200. So far the extra money appears very well spent.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Cons: very sensitive burner adjustment
1 of 1 found this review helpful.