Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Bicycle Pumps or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Airace Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump

Airace Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump

This lightweight little floor pump also fits on your bike frame.
Average Member Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Member Reviews for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Review 1 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver Island
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Great multi use pump

Date:July 2, 2013
I've been using this pump for both my road and mtn rides and it has impressed me at being able to deliver the pressure for the road tires and enough volume to fill 2.3 mtn tires in an acceptable amount of time. The locking head, foot stand and handle all work well and stow away nicely. switching from presta to shrader is no big deal and both versions work well. The only complaint is the durability of the base. It's plastic and the pavement and concrete are really chewing it up. I now try to use anything around like a glove or pack to protect the base when pumping. Other than that it is a little large and heavy compared to some minimalist pumps but not too bad. This pump has replaced my mtn bike, road and floor pump.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Effective, Versatile
Cons: Heavy, plastic base
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
MEC MEMBER

Lasted less than 6 months

Date:March 13, 2013
I liked this pump when I first bought it. It was powerful enough, and the extendable head was convenient. The bracket is not good, since using it means you have to give up one of your bottle holders.
It broke after less than 6 months of light/occasional use. (Air leaks out the head, meaning it's impossible to pump up anything.)
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable
Review 3 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

small, but eminently functional

Date:February 22, 2013
This pump can be easily carried in a bag, even if (as in my case) the downtube didn't have space for the pump and mount (small frame interior (mountain bike)). It's only about 30cm long. I especially value the clamp which allows a firm seal upon the tire valve, and can also be quickly released without losing all of the air you've just pumped in (like screw-on pumps do). It is adaptable to Schraeder or Presta valves. And the pump is capable of reaching any pressure normally required for any kind of bike tire (not just low-pressure mountain tires).
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

DO NOT BUY THIS PUMP

Date:February 17, 2013
My wife and I bought this pump for a 3-day bike tour last summer. Turned out we needed it as we experienced three flats. Unfortuantely this pump was worthless and we ended up borrowing a stand up pump elsewhere. This pump fell apart. Would not hold pressure and leaked air. I would not recommend it. Buy something else.
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable, Complicated
Review 5 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Pumps well then falls apart

Date:August 19, 2012
If the pump is in one piece it works great. Unfortunately the first 2 that I bought both came apart by unscrewing where the hose connects to the pump. This is inside the pump so you can't repair it. After 2 tries I bought a different pump. A little bit of locktite during assembly and this would be an awesome pump.
After being stranded twice, I decided to find an alternative.
Pros: pumps well if it works
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable, Falls Apart
Review 6 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
MEC MEMBER

Fast, well designed pump

Date:May 7, 2012
Just got this pump and have already used it a couple times while out riding the trails to help repair flats. Pumps a new tube back up to riding pressure quickly with a reasonable amount of effort. The extractable hose, T-handle and floor lever are all highly useful features. Was well worth the extra money to get this pump.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

excellent mini-mid-size pump

Date:February 21, 2012
A great mini-mid-size pump. Love the retractable head, floor pump functionality, and decent barrel volume. So clean and compact. Construction appears to be quality. Superior to the typical mini pumps (which look cheap, can be really slow, cannot reach high pressure or the head does not lock onto valve) and more compact than a frame pump - fits nicely into a pack or pannier. It would be nice if the holder (bracket) was beside the water bottle cage (like most) instead of replacing it completely. Perhaps they felt the diameter was a bit too much. I'll probably keep 2 bottles and strap it (in a plastic bag) under the top tube. Definitely too long for a seat bag.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: bracket replaces water bottle
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria,bc
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Worth every sent

Date:December 18, 2011
I had purchased this pump after I returned a different one that did not create high enough psi. This pump is great, it's easy to work, will work with presta valves and pumps effortlessly up to 140psi and quickly. I also really enjoy that you can extend the hose so your not putting side pressure on your valve and there is a foot stand to help steady the pump while pumping. Overall excellent product that you will not reutrn.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for Airace Speed F2 Bicycle Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, On
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

finally a pump that has it all

Date:November 16, 2011
I stumbled upon this pump at the MEC store and the staff were not even aware of its feature since it was so new. I took a chance and purchased it and am very glad I did.
I am a high-mileage, city daily commuter with a high end road-bike and punctures are part of the experience (usually 6 or so per season). I always carry one tube and a pump for such occasions. I have tried many pumps in the past as well as CO2 inflators (which do not work it the cold weather, as I found out).
I just replaced my bike with a carbon frame beauty and my previous frame mounted pump no longer fit with the large rounded frame joints. Therefore I needed a new pump.
My requirements are:
1) must fit on the bike
2) high-pressure (120psi+)
3) presta valve
4) lightweight
This pump has all of the above plus it looks very sleek and has an excellent mounting bracket.
I had the occasion to test the pump this morning on a puncture change it was perfect. I was able to get 120 psi with very little effort. The unique feature on this pump is the retractable air hose along with a foot stand. The flexible air hose prevents the usual problem of small, high-pressure pumps that place too much stress on the valve while pumping. This was just like using a floor pump in the shop and I was on my way in no time with no worries about having an under-inflated new tube ready to puncture on the first bump in the road.
I highly recommend this pump.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
3 of 3 found this review helpful.