Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Heart Rate Monitors or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Garmin Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)

Garmin Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)

Tough, sensitive, and smart, the Forerunner® 610 has the qualities you want in a training partner. It’s rugged enough to take on any weather. Yet sensitive enough to respond to quick taps and swipes, even with your gloves on. On the road and back home, it gives you detailed, accurate data.
Average Member Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Member Reviews for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Review 1 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton

Strap says it all

Date:May 26, 2014
Basically it does not matter how well the watch works for running. The strap (I am on my second) breaks within a couple of runs. I now use mine with black duct tape. I have to replace the tape after each run. The strap makes this watch a complete waste of money. I would love to return it and get a real watch. I am about to try ordering the velcro watch strap kit to see if that lasts longer than their stock version. Stay away from this product if keeping the watch on your wrist is important.
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable
Review 2 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Brossard
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Garmin 610: 3 Pros and Cons

Date:May 13, 2013
PROS:
1. relatively easy to set up and use
2. automatically uploads data wirelessly to "Garmin Connect"
2. great feedback from "Garmin Connect" with map overlays of the path you followed plus good stats on distance, speed, height, and heart rate.
3. USB charger
CONS:
1. battery life is less than 8 hours when in use, so the watch is not very reliable on long distance cycle trips...charging is a constant concern on long days.
2. can't ship new wristband to Canada without incurring duty and customs fees and local retailers in the Brossard, QC area don't carry them...so, I use Gorilla tape to hold my torn strap in place...not elegant but it works fine.
3. infrequently freezes up temporarily
Review 3 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC

I'd return it if I could

Date:April 25, 2013
As others have commented, this is a great watch - when it's working. For the first couple of months, I had no problems. Since then it has been an exercise in frustration trying to work with this thing. The HRM started spitting out nonsensical data about six or so months after I started using it. I've followed all of Garmin's directions and suggestions to no avail and even swapped out the battery despite the manual claiming an average three year battery life. Still no good, so I've just stopped using the HRM altogether. Seems like a waste of money given that it costs that much more to buy the watch+HRM package. On to the watch. The first signs of trouble were being unable to download workouts from Garmin Connect to the 610. After a month of uninstalling, reinstalling, and time on the phone with support, I finally got that feature working. Again, after about six months, I started having problems with the GPS signal aqcuisition. It takes 3-5 minutes to acquire a signal (not pleasant when waiting in the cold and rain; infuriating when in open areas with clear blue sky). Garmin support suggested to fully reset the watch to clear corrupted GPS data. That helped, bring aqcuisition time down to ~1 minute. For two weeks. Now it takes over 5 minutes again (the timer goes to put it in power save mode before I get a satellite fix). For such an expensive product, I don't think it's reasonable to expect the consumer to have to wipe the watch data, including all custom screens, user info, and bike settings, every couple of weeks just to get a decent satellite aqcuisition time. When it is working, I'll see my running pace jump up to 3:00 min/km or down to 7:00min/km while I'm just keeping it steady. This isn't a spike due to quickly losing signal, but a 30-60 second aberration. That really makes the pace data all but useless. If you see someone walking around, staring at their watch, and swearing at it, that's probably me. I highly recommend avoiding this watch.
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Complicated
Review 4 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Significantly better than the Garmin 405CX

Date:February 18, 2013
I use my 610 for cross country skiing, running, and inline skating. I also use it for mountain biking, specifically to see my route and analyze uploaded recorded data at Garmin Connect, but distance & time are inaccurate (a bit low) for mountain biking, especially on twisty singletrack.
I had a Garmin 405CX from August 2011 to August 2012. It was terrible: horrible battery life, unusable bezel technology, etc. Garmin accepted my warranty claim, perhaps because of the "defective battery" or perhaps they know how many users hate the bezel. I immediately upgraded to a Garmin 610 (for an extra hundred dollars), based on many very good reviews online.
The 610's battery life is very good -- 3x that of the 405CX.
The 610's touch screen is fantastic. The watch responds correctly to 90%+ of my touches.
I really like the 610's vibration alerts. Without them, I'd constantly be missing useful info, particularly it warning me that it will soon go into PowerSave (sleep) mode.
I really like the option of 1 Second GPS Recording (increased accuracy) versus Smart Recording (increased battery life).
The new-style HRM strap is very comfortable.
Just like the 405CX, the fields displayed on the training pages are 100% customizable from dozens of data fields. I've set mine to scroll slowly through 4 different pages, each with 3 data fields. I carefully customized my 4 pages, which took a fairly long time to initially set up, but I'm very pleased with the info I chose to display.
I like the look and feel of the fairly thin 610 on my wrist ... except for the deep scratch ... my fault ... waaaah. The stock wrist strap has a well-documented (online) problem of detaching from the watch because of a flaw with the pins that hold the strap to the watch. It happened to me, but fortunately not during a race. The fix is also well-documented online: contact Garmin and they will send you the soft velcro wrist strap kit (with good pins) for free. I definitely prefer the soft velcro strap!
There is also a well documented problem with the way the 610 comes out of PowerSave (sleep) mode -- it always re-searches for satellites. Fortunately, the watch gives you four vibration alerts (starting at 30-seconds-before-sleep) to alert you.
The 610 has frozen up on me a few too many times, which usually requires a reset and therefore a loss of activity data, and I've lost all or parts of activity data far too many times, often as a result of an error on my part, but I do consider myself a fairly sophisticated user. In other words, it's certainly not fool-proof.
It takes a bit too long to acquire satellites (IMO), but I guess that's what is needed to have accurate data.
I don't like the new magnetic-connect charger because it dislodges too easy (IMO), and it also grabs all medal objects, but now I'm nit-picking.
Pros: touch screen, vibration alerts, Battery Life, 1 second gps recording mode, hrm strap, customize training display pages, fairly thin
Cons: Expensive, strap pins, powersave mode
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Great outdoor buddy

Date:February 17, 2013
I bought this watch for outdoor running and biking. I needed a tool to measure my metrics and it was a perfect foil. I used to have a Timex GPS watch but it was bulky and obtrusive. This one is so light, easy to use and the touch interface is so intuitive.
I would highly recommend it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 6 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Duncan B.C.
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Garmain 610

Date:February 17, 2013
I have had a lot of fun with this watch , it does everything I want and the garmin connect give the user a great breakdown of your workout , I also use it on my bike and it work great. The touch screen is great and I haven't had a problem with the face of the watch and I have used it almost daily for the last 8 months
Pros: Good Value
Review 7 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Would recommend, with warnings

Date:January 8, 2013
Great watch. Does everything as advertised. As a fairly expensive option, I feel its my duty to give my experiences with the watch so that future buyers are aware - just as other reviewers have noted, the plastic face of the watch is prone to damage, especially if not properly protected. After noticing some very apparent scratching, I put on a cheap thick screen protector and now feel much better. I can also second the problems with the wrist strap - my watch came flying off doing some trail running, and to get a replacement strap I have to order online, as no local stores carry them. Not what you would expect from this expensive a product. All this being said, the watch is highly regarded for a reason - beyond these problems, the watch has been as advertised. One last thing - keep a charger handy.
Pros: functionality, not out of place as a watch
Cons: Expensive, Fragile, wrist strap problems a major inconvenience
Review 8 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Innisfil, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great watch, lousy strap

Date:November 29, 2012
This is an excellent watch, however the strap design seems to show that Garmin knows a lot about GPS and not much about watches. The pins that they use in the fairly soft rubber are not a reliable way to keep this watch on your wrist. I have gone through both types of straps and now the rubber that holds both types is gone. Too expensive a watch to have falling off. I have almost lost it several times. Also somewhat disappointing that the MEC store does not stock any straps or parts.
Cons: Expensive, Flimsy
Review 9 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Kelowna, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Works Great

Date:May 6, 2012
I had the FR405. Loved what the watch could do, but hated the touch bezel. I got the FR610 and absolutely love it. The touchscreen works leaps and bounds better than the bezel. It works with gloves on, when you or the watch is wet (even under water). Much more intuitive menus as well.
My front glass got a tiny chip out of it too. (After the warranty was done...) Doesn't seem to affect the use, nor water resistance at all.
Cons: fragile front glass
Review 10 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Impressed with this watch

Date:January 22, 2012
So I bought this watch just after the holidays, as I wanted to be able to keep an accurate pace and distance as well as all the other bells and whistles that come with this watch. I like that the touch screen is easy to use, and even with mitts it works well. The charger is good and actually charges unlike the FR410, which I returned with no issue from MEC. Yesterday I went for an early run and I looked down and noticed the glass on the watch was cracked; again I returned to MEC and exchanged it with no issue. So I am going to assume that this was a fluke and that its not an issue with the watch. All in all the watch is a great size and isn't too large and does all that I need it to do. It’s a good watch for runners and should work for cycling. If your about running this is the watch, again not for tri, go with the FR310.
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 11 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Camrose, Ab.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Excellent training device

Date:December 12, 2011
Very easy to set up out of the box. The quick start menu pretty much tells you everything you need to know. Easy to pair with heart rate monitor and foot pod. Custom training pages are easy to set up and informative. Garmin Connect is excellent.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 12 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

Worthy purchase if you use it

Date:September 17, 2011
The Garmin 610 is a top of the line watch. If you are serious about running and possibly biking then this is a nice way to spoil yourself. In this case, you probably know that the 305 is a super watch and does the trick, but the 610 is sleek, sexy and so lovable.
It is small enough to wear on a daily basis on my wrist (I'm male) and I use to it track everything from training runs to biking commutes. The wireless sync to Garmin Connect online works flawlessly.
Garmin connect is a wonderful way to track your activity. Yes, it's a lot of money. But if you're serious about these sports then you will certainly get enough use out of this watch to warrant the purchase.
Enjoy it. There are more expensive hobbies. Treat yourself!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 13 for Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM GPS Watch (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burnaby, BC

Great Training Device

Date:August 30, 2011
The Garmin 610 is an excellent training watch. The touch screen is easy to use and the menus are quite intuitive. Using the watch to track a workout is as simple as pushing the start button and swiping a finger from right to left across the screen. The watch will automatically start looking for satellites; it's never taken longer than a minute to hook up. Using the watch for indoor workouts simply tap the screen when it is searching for satellites and select "yes". I've used the watch mostly for mountain biking and even in forest cover the GPS stays hooked up. Uploading data to Garmin Connect is simple and quick with the USB (ANT) and allows me to view more information than the watch displays. Setup is easy for both running and cycling, and the training pages I want to see when I am working out have been easy to configure. Custom workouts can be created in the watch, but I've found it easier to create them in the Garmin Training Center program (which can be downloaded from Garmin)and upload the workouts to the watch. The workouts can also be scheduled in the calendar in the Training Center program and the watch will notify me of my workout for the day. There is also a vibration feature that allows me to turn off the alarms (which I find annoying) and just use the vibration to notify me during my workouts if I am within the parameters I have set. Battery life seems good so far as it goes into power saving mode quite quickly if it is not being used; that said the stated battery life is 8 hours so it won't work for long duration activities. Overall my experience with the Garmin 610 has been very good and provides me with excellent feedback on my workouts.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.