Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Camping Knives and Tools or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Leatherman Leatherman Wingman Tool

Leatherman Leatherman Wingman Tool

If you're looking for your first multi-tool, the Wingman has lots of useful features and it's great value. You may wonder how you lived so long without a set of folding pliers.
Average Member Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Member Reviews for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Review 1 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Top Value

Date:November 20, 2013
Normally I would go in-depth with reviews on gear of this type but I shall keep it brief:
This is the best value proposition of any full-sized multi-tool, bar none.
This one will be riding along with another tool as a back-up on disaster relief work overseas.
The Wingman offers 80% of the functionality of my primary multi-tool at 25% of the price.
Whether this sits in your glovebox or rides in your pocket day-in-day-out, you simply cannot go wrong.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Elora, ON N0B, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Awesome

Date:October 14, 2013
Just buy it! I read every review I could find and I bought it. The value is just incredible , nothing else compares for the money. The clamshell package opener is cool and it works well.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: NONE
Review 3 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Tool

Date:April 6, 2013
About a year ago I decided between this and the Sidekick as my first multitool because it seemed to have good features, reviews and a good price.
I bought a sheath separately, the nylon leatherman one that people had recommended.
It is a great tool, seems very heavy duty (I don't have any other multitools to compare it with but I've held the leatherman wave as well).
The pliers are awesome, very strong and the spring is excellent and very convenient to use them.
I've used the phillips head and it works well but I noticed once the screw was getting about as tight as it should I could feel the handles moving slightly 'back and forth' but this only happens when holding it to use the screwdriver, it has no play otherwise that I've noticed.
The package opener is wonderful and much better than scissors or a knife would be because there is much less chance you'll scrape the object you're trying to remove, it was kind of funny that the package the wingman itself came in would have benefitted from the tool hidden inside....
The bottle opener works well, as does the can opener (same 'tool', two functions) It is rather slow but effective if you don't have a mechanical can opener with you.
I haven't used the ruler or metal file (which I thought at first was a nail file...)
The scissors are an amazing feature as well, they are very large and when fully deployed they operate like the spring loaded pliers do so they are easy to use and sharp.
I don't use the blade often because I usually have my pocket knife with me for that as it is better and easier to get out, but it is nice and sharp and cuts well when I do need to use it.
aside from the scissors and knife (which lock in place when deployed) none of the other tools lock but they feel as though they do because when they are fully deployed you need to push them meaningfully before they go back (it is not difficult, but it is hard to do it by accident), which is great in my opinion.
All in all it is a great tool and I'm sure I will have it for years to come before upgrading. Highly Recommended!
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: nothing significant
Review 4 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Quality construction, takes abuse!

Date:March 8, 2013
I am now on my 2nd Wingman, only because I snapped the tip of the blade on the first while prying a window screen out of the second story of my buddy's room in barracks. The flat head screwdriver bit would have done fine but hanging from one hand a quick course of action had to be made. This brings me to my favourite feature; the blade opens with one hand! This is nice because normally when the use of a multitool is required you are already in a tight situation. Bought this as a backup to my Charge TTi but the simple design and low cost makes carrying the Wingman way more practical. Replacement cost is low in comparison and it does most of the same jobs if you are creative. Have driven #10 wood screws with no problem using the phillips bit, filed tool steel, use it as a hammer quite frequently and the cutters meet so as long as you can squeeze the tool can cut, rather unlike the shear type cutters where too hard and thick a material and the cutters twist around it and wreck the tool. Contemplating stocking up incase they stop producing them, and for the end of the world. Great for holding a sewing needle for pack repairs and heavy nylon.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Review 5 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Leatherman: always a reliable choice!

Date:February 22, 2013
I asked for this for Christmas and my wife made me a happy A/V Technician! Better than a Swiss Army Knife, great value for the price. About the only thing I wish it included was a pouch...
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: no pouch
Review 6 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto. Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Do not leave home without it!

Date:February 20, 2013
A necessary tool for camping. Good price. Remember to attach a piece of rope to it.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Prince Albert, Sk
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great tool!

Date:December 10, 2012
Love this tool, small, light weight and easy to use. I bought this as a replacement to the Sidekick that I lost fishing...blub, blub, blub, and I think I like it better! I also have the Wave with the tool kit but I don't like to carry it every day. The Wingman fits nicely in my pocket, the clip keeps it in place and has the functionality that I need every day. I even took apart a microwave with it the other day (and then put it back together when I realized quickly I was not going to fix it...). I bring it to work, the hockey dressing room or the slopes, just never know when it will come in handy. I'll keep the Wave for things like camping trips or big hikes but for everyday, the Wingman is the tool! All that for a third of the price of the Wave!!!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Pretty Sweet

Date:September 25, 2012
This badboy has proven itself well.
I take it mostly on climbing trips.
I wanted a simple multitool, that i could have in my bag... to use for pretty much anything.
It was between this and the sidekick. If i wanted the sidekick features (saw & 2 blades), i would have gone with the Rebar, as it's a much higher quality tool, for similar price.
It was hard to choose between multitools, but you can't beat the price, and i don't think i'll ever need the saw tool. I prefer the serrated/flat blade combo, for cutting ropes, i find it more efficient in an emergency.
Good:
Cheap
Scissors work great
Spring loaded pliers are amazing
It's still a weatherman
Scissors useful for cutting nails
Bad (not that bad):
Definitely the lower end of weatherman (which is still high end)
Can/bottle opener hard to get used to, and isn't the best, but does the job.
Screwdrivers are mediocre, (better than none)
Nail-file is weird to use (still okay)
Couldn't have asked for a better multitool. It's definitely quality though.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: High River, Alberta
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Excellent Tool

Date:March 19, 2012
Excellent tool for everyday use. Light weight, and yet very strong. This is my second Leatherman and the Wingman model is my favorite.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 10 for Leatherman Wingman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Value and Quality

Date:January 21, 2012
I am a High school Student, and multi-tool collector and user. This is, by far, the best tool I have ever seen. The ergonomic design fits smoothly in your hand, and it incorporates one handed opening features only found on the higher end of Leatherman's full size tool line, the Charge and Wave being two popular examples. I am known in my school for being able to fix anything and the Wingman has only strengthened my reputation. The Torx screws holding it together make it easy to clean and also easy to REMOVE THE KNIFE to cut down on the knife paranoia that is the norm for all high schools. I imagine that the screws were a cost saving measure as well as a design feature, a good idea on the part of the manufacturer. However, the pocket clip is slightly loose, and there is about half a centimeter of movement back and forth between the two halfs when closed, so I would only recommend this tool for light duty.
In conclusion, I believe that Leatherman and MEC were, by far, the best retail collaboration of all time.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, slightly rugged
Cons: loose at the joints