Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Insulated Outerwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)

MEC MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)

Wait out endless storm cycles around camp or hunker down at the belay in this weather-resistant parka. The breathable face fabric reduces internal condensation and repels water. Taped, welded baffles eliminate needle holes at the seam lines, creating even less chance for moisture or cold to get in. The jacket is stuffed with 800-fill power down that's DWR-treated to maintain its loft and warmth even through daily wear. You don't need to add another layer to keep the down protected from wetness and saturation.
Average Member Rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Review 1 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: GTA
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Razor-sharp Velcro cuffs, bulk & understuffed arms

Date:February 4, 2014
The Storm Degree jacket, while generally comfortable and somewhat warm (at least around the torso), unfortunately has enough issues to make it a piece to avoid:
1. Razor-sharp Velcro Closures:
Positioned right at the end of the cuffs for each sleeve, these are so sharp that they literally slice the tops of my hands. Because the Velcro isn't well secured along the width of each strip, the hard, thin edges are able to cut and scrape the skin.
2. Too Bulky:
While it stands to reason that down jackets need loft to keep them warm, the Storm Degree seems overly stuffed -- particularly through the torso. This bulk not only creates a comical, Humpty Dumpty-like look, but also makes getting around and functioning in the jacket awkward.
3. Too Little Insulation in Arms:
I agree with the other reviewers here who report a shortage of down fill in the arms. You can really feel the wind and cold passing right through the sleeves, even when it's not terribly cold. The down is minimal at the front of the sleeves, with the remaining fill clumped at the back. Curiously, the jacket's welded baffles seem to be spots where the most cold gets in.
4. Outer Face Fabric Questionable for Extreme Cold:
When the temp drops to -15 or lower, the jacket crackles like a crumpled plastic bag. Not sure how durable the Pertex ripstop nylon would fare in even colder temps, but I'd really question it after wearing it out in average winter cold (around the GTA).
5. Thin Zipper Flap:
The product description refers to a 60g PrimaLoft®PL1 insulated zipper flap to reduce heat loss, but it sure isn't up tot he basic task of keeping wind from getting through. In fact, the zipper flap is extremely thin and I wasn't able to feel anything inside that seemed remotely like insulation. Maybe the PrimaLoft got missed at the factory?
Here's hoping that MEC can either vastly improve the Storm Degree for next season, or come out with a better, comparable jacket that's in the same range of intended warmth.
Pros: roomy plentiful pockets, cozy fleece-lined chin guard, high neck
Cons: Bulky, razor-sharp velcro cuffs, cold understuffed sleeves
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Kingston, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Light, Warm, Near Perfect for Me

Date:January 8, 2014
In trying to choose my first-ever down jacket about 1 year ago, I was looking at this model and a much heavier and bulkier parka. While the parka would have offered better coverage (mid-thigh length), the strengths of the Storm Degree jacket make me glad that I chose it.
At one-third the weight of the parka, the Storm Degree is far more comfortable to wear, especially during moderate activity such as a brisk walk. With the fill power of its down, however, the jacket doesn't lack for warmth. Other reviewers have noted cold spots inside the elbows and I've found this to be true when the breeze is up but overall, with the hood up, it's toasty down to at least -20C. It also appears to breathe quite well since it's never felt stuffy even though it's warm.
It looks stylish enough for running around town and I like being able to throw it on over minimal layering without worrying about getting chilly. In recent ice storms, it did a pretty nice job of warding off precipitation, too. Pockets and zips seem to work well and are laid out sensibly. I should note that a Medium in this jacket fits my 185cm tall, 42" chest size in a pleasantly snug way though I take a Large in almost any other MEC clothing. Definitely one to try on in-store to get the right fit for you.
Bear in mind that I have not put this jacket to any "technical" or backcountry use for which I understand it is intended. For my more casual everyday use and less-intense outdoor activities, it's been near-perfect. As the MEC sales staff pointed out, you don't use something like this for when you're really moving in the cold but rather as a warm-up cover before or after intense activity.
Bottom line: it works for my routine and I recommend checking it out.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Warm, Lightweight
Cons: minor problems with cold spots
Review 3 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Huge disappointment

Date:January 7, 2014
I've used hundreds of MEC products over the last 15 or so years, and this is hands down the worst I've ever had. I've had it for about a year and used it probably 30 times. I used it pretty much exclusively for ice climbing, which I think it is intended for. I got it when I traded in my old Nth Degree jacket (the Storm Degree's predecessor) because the storm flap got ripped open by the zipper. Other than that problem, I had absolutely loved the Nth Degree. It was nuclear warm and generally very durable (zipper problem notwithstanding). Perfect piece for belaying at -25.
This one is, on the other hand, frigid. There seems to be significantly less fill than the previous version. It is certainly lighter, but they sacrificed warmth to make it so. The draft flap is thin, flimsy and does next to nothing. The jacket bleeds heat out the front zipper, and is very draughty in the wind. The large zippered chest pockets are even worse, as they have no draft flaps at all. It also bleeds heat out the arms. As other reviewers have noted, the down very quickly settles to the back (i.e. bottom) of the arms. This is great for warming your triceps, but since heat generally rises, the bicep aspect is where you need the insulation. It is difficult to shift the down back to the bicep aspect, and even when you do, it quickly settles back to where it does no good. The inside of your arms are cold all the time, which means it's harder to warm up your hands, which means you're more likely to get the barfies.
The shell fabric is as sturdy as tissue paper. My jacket is covered in duct tape. It rips easily (like several inches long) when caught on, for example, a tool (yes, my fault, but I would have expected "rip stop" nylon to fare better). It also punctures very easily. It got multiple holes in it while stuffed in my pack with nothing pointier than carabiners or the knobs on ice screws to do the damage. And even where it isn't ripped or punctured, it bleeds down like a stuck pig.
Most unforgivably for a "belay jacket", the hood is not really helmet compatible. Yes, it will fit over a helmet, but only by stretching tight enough that all the down in the hood is quite compressed and the insulating power is majorly reduced. It's almost warmer just to tuck the hood down the back of your neck to seal off the neck opening, since they didn't bother to put any cords around the neck to seal it off.
There are certainly some great features on this jacket - the higher fill power down than on the old Nth Degree, and the integrated hood (I've never understood why you would need to remove the hood on a jacket designed to be this warm) are improvements - and it's very cheap for a jacket that is purportedly so warm. But given the rest of the flaws, they don't nearly salvage it.
Unless they significantly improve their next version, I'd suggest spending the extra cash, taking a road trip to Seattle, and picking up a jacket from Feathered Friends.
Cons: Not Warm
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Very warm.

Date:January 1, 2014
Feel snug a a bug in a rug in this parka. Excellent pocket structure. Very warm and waterproof. Find the zipper a little stiff and the waiste a wee tight. Otherwise it was love at first sight. Well done MEC.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: stiff zipper
Review 5 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Short
Feels long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels large
Very Large
By:
Location: Iqaluit
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

poor fit & expensive

Date:December 24, 2013
I lived in the north for over a decade now, and has used 4 different jackets so far. This jacket will get the lowest ranting. The shell is making too much noise as it freezes in the cold, zipper is catching on the inner flap, arms are too bulky and long , hard to do anything manual such as lifting, carrying and cross-country skiing as it is too large. The hoodie is too large as you adjust it to make it smaller , it deforms and doesn't feel comfortable at all.
Cons: Uncomfortable, Poor Fit, Bulky
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
MEC MEMBER

Comfortable jacket -- with MAJOR flaws

Date:December 5, 2013
After spending a lot of time researching and trying on many brand-name winter jackets, I came across MEC's Storm Degree jacket.
Trying it on in store, I was impressed as soon as I zipped it up. The jacket fit well, had a lot of loft and felt extremely comfortable. It also had deep chest and side hand-warmer pockets, which I liked. I also especially liked the wide, flocked/fleece panels at the inside of the neck where the zipper closes.
I was convinced that I'd found the perfect jacket and bought it ... then I wore it on a cold day (warmer than -10 degrees).
The first thing I noticed was that wind and cold really cut through the jacket around the inside of the elbows and biceps, which is strange for a weather-resistant piece advertised as allowing you to "wait out endless storm cycles around camp or hunker down at the belay."
Checking the arms of the jacket more closely, I found that there was very little down around the inner elbow/bicep part of both sleeves--in effect, giving you all the protection of a thin rain shell in those places. Instead, the down seemed to be bulked up and collected around the back of each arm. I tried shaking the arms of the jacket and manipulating the down through the outer fabric in an attempt to move it into position, but it just didn't work. The sleeves are the only part of this jacket with this problem, as both the body and hood are otherwise comfortable.
Another significant issue is with all zippers on the jacket. When it's cold out (which is, of course, the time you'd need to wear the jacket), the zippers become stiff and hard to operate--making it difficult to access the hand-warmer pockets or chest pockets.
Reading through other MEC customer reviews (for both men's and women's Storm Degree jackets), I found similar complaints about cold slicing through the jacket and difficult zipper operability in the cold, so I don't think that these defects are limited to the one I bought.
I have a lot of favorite MEC gear and am a long-time member, but the Storm Degree jacket has been a big disappointment. Clearly, there are significant design issues here that need to be resolved.
I hope that MEC can addressed these issues in an improved Storm Degree jacket for next year as it has the potential to be a great piece. In the meantime, I'm sorry to say that I'm planning on returning this one.
Pros: Comfortable, fits true to size, generously size chest and hand-warmer pockets
Cons: cold spots at inner arms with poor down coverage, zippers hard to operate in cold, wind/cold cut through parts of jacket
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great Jacket but not perfect. - what is?

Date:March 22, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is a very good jacket. Warm at -25 C., comfortable, practical. Some cold spots through the front zipper, (wear a fleecy underneath), wrist design is ok for gloves, but it is hard to get over mitts, hood is good compromise as visibility is good but wind protection is just ok. Jacket needs 3M reflectivity. Still a very good, comfortable and convenient jacket for a Wiinnipeger that walks a dog in the bush twice a day and managed arctic weather stations for 7 years.
Pros: Comfortable, Warm
Cons: too dark, slight cold spot front zip
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

It's not bad...but neither is it great.

Date:February 22, 2013
I don't want to be too hard on this coat, because it is basically warm, good-fitting, and quite light for its warmth, but I was expecting more, given that it's supposed to be the warmest Degree jacket and I bought it specifically for cold Edmonton winters.
As noted in other reviews, wind is the downfall of this coat. I don't know why, but it offers almost no resistance to wind, and on windy days you can really feel the cold coming in everywhere, especially the sleeves.
I also find the zippers hard to do up, and considering I bought this coat to replace an older MEC coat whose zipper failed, I am understandably nervous about this one.
It also has some annoyances. I find the "stiffened" brim on the hood to be annoying, as it constantly rubs the back of my head when I'm seated, such as when I'm driving. I am constantly pushing the hood down to stop the brim from digging into my head. And the hood is not detachable, so there is no getting away from this problem. Another annoyance is that the inside blue "liner" material of the black coat shows skin oil very plainly, and mine has noticeably darkened around my neck area, making it look much older than it is, and eliciting comments from people who see it that it looks "gross".
Very unfortunate, as I really wanted to love this coat.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: stiffened brim on hood is annoying, marginal wind resistance
Review 9 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Short
Feels long
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Northern Alberta
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Save your money.

Date:February 1, 2013
At first this seemed like a good purchase. The fit was good and it stood up to -25 cold reasonably well. Until...
The design of the front zipper is very poor. Cold air cuts through the middle of your body.
The pocket zippers do not zip up when it gets cold.
But the biggest flaw is that the down loses it loft quickly, creating spots with no protection. This is especially true with the arms.
A disappointment.
Pros: Light
Cons: Cold, cheap zippers
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels small
Very Large
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Date:January 23, 2013
As someone who is tall and built slim, it can be hard to find a winter jacket that fits well. The long arms are the perfect length for me and the adjustable velcro wrist straps are great for keep the cold out. My only complaint is that in proportion to the sleeve length, the length of the torso is quite short, it could definitely use at least another inch in length.
I was wary of getting a jacket with a fixed hood, however I've grown to love it. The hood is insulated, as well as having a lining with an elastic band near the forehead to keep the wind out. I no longer need to carry a winter hat with me.
The collar zips up snug and high, eliminating the need for a scarf.
Pockets are large and deep, as well as insulated, so you can get away with keeping your hands in your pockets if you don't have gloves on you.
The jacket is very comfortable, I felt very warm wearing nothing but a Tshirt and hoody underneath it during -26C temperatures with a -36C windchill.
Pros: Comfortable, Very light, long sleeves
Cons: Short torso
Review 11 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta
MEC MEMBER

great jacket

Date:December 31, 2012
Rock solid mec winter jacket. Jacket fit is awesome, pertex shield is strong, but remains very light. And the 800 fill down is extremely warm. Just a t-shirt and -23c and no need for anything else. Very premium, well built, way to go mec.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Winnipeg MB
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Date:December 10, 2012
Very warm jacket, but I did find cold spots on the inside of the elbow at times. Shook the down back into place and that took care of that problem. Wish the down would stay in place so I did not have to do this. Very light and comfortable and I don't need many layers underneath to keep warm. Even at -21c I only wore a short sleeve shirt.
Pros: Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MEC Storm Degree Jacket (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
By:
Location: winnipeg

storm degree jacket

Date:November 25, 2012
Crazy warm and impressively collapsable for packing
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Bulky