Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Health and Safety or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Frontiersman Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister

Frontiersman Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister

Your first and best defence against a bear attack is prevention: good food hygiene in camp, awareness and making noise while underway, anything that gives bears a chance to steer clear. But close encounters may occur despite all your precautions. At such times, you'll appreciate having an active, non-lethal deterrent. This spray causes temporary eye tearing and respiratory distress, but leaves no permanent damage.
Average Member Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Member Reviews for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Review 1 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

What was supposed to protect me turned against me.

Date:June 12, 2013
I was on a solo hike June 6, 2013 in the Weaver Lake area and Morris Valley. I was carrying the 225 grm cannister in the side pocket of my packsack. When I swung my packsack off the cannister fell to the loose gravel surface of the road and blew off doing a dance before it sprayed my clothing and my face. I was temporaily blinded and my face was burning. I was fortunate that a motorist passing on nearby Weaver Creek Road stopped and took me to Weaver Creek where I was able to flush water on my face and in my eyes. A friend drove to the spot I described the next day and retrived the cannister from the ditch. I had suspected the plastic valve had broke off and I was surprised to see a hole in the side close to the bottom of the container. It may be that it's a 1 in 10,000 chance of this happening but it has made me very nervous about carrying this product. I feel the container and valve should be much stronger. If the holster had fully enclosed the container it may have given it better protection. If carried on the hip and a person were to fall on it could be a bad situation. I have no lasting injuries but it was a painful experience and it could have been worse if I had not had help.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: unsafe container
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from Mountain Equipment Co-op:By LorneService CenterJune 14, 2013
We're glad things turned out OK.
These canisters certainly can be punctured, but any of the other reports we have had included an identifiable cause of the puncture - usually a sharp rock. In looking at the damage on the returned cylinder, this too seems to be the case here, with something in the gravel being the source of the puncture.
MEC sells thousands of these canisters and we're confident in the design and construction; however, Bigfoot2 experience underlines the need to be careful with these (or any other) high pressure containers. Treat them with care.
Review 2 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Adequate

Date:February 18, 2013
This is the second botttle of this particular spray I have purchased, I haven't spray tested this brand yet. It seems like a rather adequate spray and distance combination based on information in the bottle. I have encountered numerous bears over the years without any aggresive actions from the bears, but of course keeping a safe distance. Better safe than sorry.
Pros: Rugged, Simple
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

A worthwhile investment for bear country

Date:February 17, 2013
Fortunately, I've never been in a situation with an aggressive bear so I cannot comment on it's effectiveness but so far it seems like a well designed product. It's lightweight and has a good range and the glow-in-the-dark safety pin makes it easy to find in the tent. I purchased a holster for it which attaches to my backpack's hip strap so it's always easy to access. I would gladly carry this around and never have to use it rather than be without it the one time it's needed.
Pros: Lightweight
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton

Very effective!

Date:November 6, 2011
Apparently, just the sight of this hanging from my pack is enough to prevent bear attacks. I have not even seen a bear since buying it! It would apper that bears know that any food I may have in My pack is not worth getting a face full of this stuff.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple
Cons: did not include the case
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: West Vancouver B C

defence arsenil

Date:November 5, 2011
I have hiked with this spray on my pack in grizzly country for several years.When the expiry date was passed I decided to test it in a forest clearing. Simple to operate, it sent a one metre spray about eight to ten metres.I bought a fresh replacement.
Effectiveness ?? I hope I never have to find out.
oldboy
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB

Reassurance In A Small Package

Date:November 5, 2011
I purchased this product for doing back country hikes with my wife, who felt more comfortable for having it with us.
The canister is light, easy to tote, and has a range of cheap but effective holsters available for carrying on a belt or backpack.
We test drove an older, expired canister, and were impressed with ease of use, its range, and ability to form a good sized cloud. We were able to get 3 decent bursts out of it. We were also amazed at how easily it drifted on a very slight breeze. Fortunately, we were only slightly affected before realizing we had to hightail it out of the area.
Worth the price of purchase.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Frontiersman Bear Spray 1% 225g Cannister
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Investment for BC Wilderness

Date:July 5, 2011
I bought the Bear Spray about a year ago from MEC. Since then, I have been on numerous multi-day hikes in BC. The spray is easy to carry (in pocket) and has not punctures although there have been many falls on my part. I have not used the spray, but heard it is a one shot use. You can see the negative side, but you should only need one shot.
When the bear spray is deployed it creates a fog. Make sure you are going in the opposite direction and not down wind or else you will be contaminated. If you are contaminated-ALWAYS KEEP MOVING away from the fog/bear and flush your eyes with water.
Lastly, where ever you place the bear spray make sure it is easily accessible. I keep it in my pocket and have strapped it to the side of my backpack. You never know when you will need it and when you do you want to be quick at retrieving this lifesaving tool. Especially with the recent deaths in BC involving bear attacks.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
4 of 4 found this review helpful.