Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Tents or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Hennessy Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock

Hennessy Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock

Once you get the hang of a hammock, you may never go back to a tent. Anywhere the ground is sloped, stony, or soggy, a hammock beats a tent as long as there are trees. This version of Hennessey’s most popular model has an asymmetric shape and an easy access side entrance with a zip for weather protection.
Average Member Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 33 Answers
Member Reviews for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Review 1 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
FEATURED REVIEW

Best option for single hiker

Date:October 16, 2012
Bought this spring, no regrets. Awesome. If you're single/don't want to share a tent, this beats any tent on the market for 3 seasons. Sleep like a baby.
Gets a bit hot on hot nights, would suggest bringing a light blanket/bed sheet for summer nights (lighter than a bag!).
Works well in colder weather with a sleeping mat (cheap bluefoam works fine, can even cut to torso length to save weight) and sleeping bag (for spring/fall).
It's thunderstorm proof, I stay much drier than friends in tents, although 2 tent pegs to tie fly down tight in foul weather are a must, and 2 short lengths of rope are strongly suggested to allow you to use trees that are closer together (fly is longer than hammock) and keep fly a bit farther off the ridgeline.
Warning though: not much smaller/lighter than tent. Still 100% better though.
Pros: Simple, Reliable, better than tents, Comfortable, Excellent in wet weather
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Love this hammock

Date:January 30, 2014
Bought this little guy a few years back and have used it about a dozen times. Used it in pouring rain without getting even the slightest bit wet. Even tried it when it was just above freezing but I found out quick that I wasn't quite as prepared as I should have been. Can't wait to take it out again!
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
Review 3 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ONT
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

I should have bought this a long time ago!

Date:January 11, 2014
Very happy with the HH, I have issues with my back so I decided to buy this based on other reviews with people with back problems saying how comfortable they were in the HH and they were right! It's super comfortable,easy to set up, sets up in a few min,I was dry in a down pour,no muddy tent to pack up,light wieght and compact. Camping in fall weather in Algonquin park I stayed warm with a therma rest and sleeping bag. I think next time I'll try a car window solar screen or the Coghlan's Emergency Blanket under me because it's more compact then the therma rest. If I there's one thing that would make the HH even better it would be a larger tarp.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 4 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Extremely satisfied, works better than I thought.

Date:December 12, 2013
After hearing great things from an army buddy about how he was able to use his during his deployment in Kandahar and will never sleep in a tent again, I did some research and decided to buy one of these. After setting it up once or twice to get the hang of it, it sets up in approx. 2.5 - 5 mins. The zipper is extremely easy to use as is the side entrance. After 2 years of nearly continuous use, I set it up in my backyard sometimes to just relax in. I have backpacked and camped with this in almost all weather conditions, with snow being the exception. I have even set it up on the ground as a simple bivy instead of a tarp during a storm where there were no trees big enough to safely tie off to. And it performs extremely well, it seems very durable as well aside from the mosquito net. It is in near perfect shape with only one small hole in the mosquito netting. Although as others here have pointed out, it tends to get a bit chilly on your backside at night if its a bit cool or windy out. Problem is easily fixed by using a foam pad or other type of sleeping pad to provide a layer of warmth between the elements and you. Buy the snake skins as they further reduce setup and teardown times. I have found it easier to simply undo my guy lines, roll up the hammock and rainfly (still attached to trees) then simply pull down the snake skins and then roll up and strap to outside of pack using the compression straps on the outside of my pack.
All in all a great buy, even if it is for 3 season use. I will be trying it out this winter for my 3rd time to summit Mt. Marcy (this will be my first in the winter) so hopefully I'll be able to stay warm and dry.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: On Lake ONT this month
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great on sm sailboats

Date:August 13, 2013
I have a 17' sailboat. It has a very small cuddy cabin. It sleeps two but I prefer the Hennessey. I use it over the cockpit and sleep like a baby while at ancore. I stay very dry and warm even though I am on the water where it is very much cooler. It is even quieter than been in the very small cabin. I have also used it for reg camping as well. I love having no rocks or root in my back all night long. And do get the snake skins! It makes ti so much easier to strike camp in the morning.
Pros: Good Value, easy set up once you know how
Review 6 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Muskoka
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Comfortable, bug-proof, but restricts movement.

Date:June 27, 2013
Having a nap on a nice day is great in this hammock, but using it to sleep in during a cold, damp night is much different. Here are some tricks that I picked up after using this hammock so far:
Get into your sleeping bag and zip it up before you lay back in the hammock for the night. You don't want to squirm around trying to get properly comfortable. You'll need a pillow!
Slice a cheap foam underpad the right size so cover you from butt to head to lay on inside of it. Your legs don't get cold in the sleeping bag and are suspended. <-- this is a MUST, long duration sleep across the center line gets uncomfortable. The wind really gets to your back when it's off the ground.
If you're male, consider taking a urine bottle in with you, it's difficult to get out of in the middle of the night and if you do you'll loose all your heat.
The hammock is a versatile way of camping, you can sleep in places tents can't. It's absolutely bug-proof and it's always a moment of triumph to lay back and have them buzzing all around you like mad without finding any possible way of sneaking in and biting you. It's somewhat cramped and difficult to maneuver in. Don't count on worming around and setting yourself up once your in it. Really glad I got it! I felt more vulnerable in it than a tent because of movement restriction, but that's a personal observation and I had campsite intruders during the night.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, very bug-proof., Comfortable
Cons: difficult to move around in.
Review 7 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

So comfortable you don't want to leave

Date:June 9, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Having used it for a couple of times it has consistently been the most comfortable shelter that I have ever used. Once you get used to what to look for in terms of trees the right distance apart, setup is incredibly simple. Definitely recommend the snake skins as they make everything just that much easier.
Just got back from backpacking in Algonquin and this hammock was a wonderful relief not only from long days of hiking but also from the bugs. Very easy to keep the bugs out while entering and exiting and so comfortable that I had no problem spending much of my time inside (unlike most tents). The only downside is that it was so comfortable I had to decide to get up and hike out as I could have easily spent another day gently swaying in the brease. A definite must for light weight or solo campers
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, super comfortable
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

Awesome Hammock

Date:May 27, 2013
I just recently bought this hammock and have only used it for 3 nights but am loving it. It was raining heavily and I didn't get wet at all. The only downside is that there's nowhere to put your gear I had friends in a tent so I putt pack in the tent but if I didn't I'd have to put it under my hammock and hope it doesn't get soaked even though it has a attached rai cover.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: fernie, bc
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Good hammock - comfortable

Date:February 17, 2013
Definitely a very comfortable hammock. I used it on a cycle touring trip down to California. Did the job in bc, washington and oregon when there were plenty of trees. Got caught out in a couple of campsites in California where there wasn't a place to hang it, but look at their website to find some makeshift rigging solutions in these situations.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

jungle sleep

Date:September 24, 2012
Bought this to use in the jungles of southwestern Cambodia. I'm nearly 6'2" (but thin) and found the hammock to be incredibly comfortable. Easy to set up (once you get the hang of it). VERY durable. Had no mosquito bite-throughs. Slept like a baby. Get the zipper hammock--it's better for lounging around camp.
BUT:
-The rain cover is WAY too small. I had to use an additional tarp during the monsoon season.
-The straps that come with this hammock are much too short. Buy a length of seatbelt or tubular webbing to go with this for increased versatility. Leave the straps it comes with at home.
-It can get a little hot in in the hammock when its 35 degrees and humid. The backpacker version is likely more breathable, but not as durable.
(Note: Cheap and lightweight ripstop nylon hammocks with built-in mosquito nets can be purchased for about $10 in Southeast Asia, but you have to be pretty short to use them. The diagonal configuration of the Hennessey, however, is much more comfortable).
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Small rain cover, Short Straps
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Rockwood, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Money well spent.

Date:August 28, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this hammock this summer and it's amazing! I've used it on Canoe trips, regular camping and even in the back yard just to try it out. Throw in a thermarest pad, your sleeping bag, small stuff pillow and it's good to go for a full night sleep or a siesta in the afternoon. You can pin back the rain fly on clear nights and wake up to the sunrise over a lake without having to open a tent. The mesh bag inside is great to put small items in. you can hang all kinds of stuff from the cord inside as well. Anyone who has been on any backcountry camping trips knows that a little comfort goes a long way, so even if you don't plan on sleeping in it, it's still a great piece of gear to have with you for those moments when you just want to feel come serious comfort during the day. You can also lounge in it, and that's surprisingly comfortable too if you like to read it's perfect. It's worth the money for sure. This thing is going to get a lot of use from me in the future. Buy one... You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, great lounger, very comfortable for sleeping, Easy set up
Review 12 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

No more tents

Date:July 24, 2012
The expedition is suitable for people under 6' / 250 pounds. If you're any taller you might want to consider the larger Explorer Deluxe.
I own the zipper version of both models and at 6'1" it's not as comfortable as the explorer deluxe.
It takes just a few minutes to set it up and to take it down. One thing to know is that you need some sort of insulation (blue foam) under you to be comfortable.
My 5 year old can get in and out of the hammock without help (though he sometimes has problems getting out of his mummy bag). It is possible to fit two kids in the hammock.
The snake skin is a MUST HAVE! You might also want to get 4 tent pegs.
As long as I can find trees wo hook it up I'm never using a tent again :)
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Hennessy Hammocks
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, on
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Love my hammock

Date:July 23, 2012
Been using my hammock for over 2 years now. In the summer it is fantastic, but if you are anything below 10 c, I would suggest anyone to buy the cold weather system from the Hennessy website. It pretty much gives you that extra insulation on your backside, as well as a neat cover over the mesh screen (to trap more heat in).
I used my hammock with the cold weather system last fall, and again this early spring. I was actually shocked how warm I was through the night! And the two systems are not that much weight/ pack space for the added warmth.
I suggest these hammocks to anyone tied of sleeping on rocks.been there, done it. Now I sway with the trees and the breeze.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 14 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Easy set up, comfortable

Date:July 21, 2012
I could see people that are large, uncoordinated, or have difficulty moving not enjoying the hammock as a tent replacement. However, if you're a hiking type, odds are you can replace your heavy old tent with this surprisingly comfortable, quick-setup, and very relaxing piece of kit. Sick of complicated or slow tent setups, only to find your back on a rock or tree stump? Ditch your tent, try this piece of kit.
Don't worry about the setup! If you can take a rope, pass it through the 'tree saver loops', then wrap it "around and down", then you can hang this hammock. It's that freaking easy. I'm terrible with knots and ropes, but I can hang this with no difficulty. You just go 'around and down the hole', repeat three times. That's it for knots!
Remember your sleeping pad, as there's cool air under your backside. If you lay diagonally across the centreline (like you're supposed to), you lay surprisingly flat. It's great for back sleepers, and pretty decent for side sleepers.
Get the snake skins. Makes packing up the tent even faster, and takes up even less room in your bag.
I can't believe MEC is the cheapest place to buy these from, even cheaper than direct from manufacturer.
Get a tiny LED light for your centreline and just attach it in there, and leave it in there. You'll thank yourself at night.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: should come with larger 'tree huggers'
Review 15 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: East Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

hammock heaven

Date:July 14, 2012
Just backpacked the Juan De Fuca trail with this. Nice and small to carry and roomy to sleep in. I went with the zippered version due to my 30 lb cocker spaniel that likes to snuggle at night. There was plenty of room for both of us and she got to look out unobstructed at any rustling in the bushes. Super rocky beaches on this trail so tents would have been crazy uncomfortable.
Slept out on a ridge in the fog one night and found my back got really cold even with a -5 bag. Tucked a sweatshirt behind my back as a temporary solution, need to invest in a foamy for sure.
Super easy set up, though I used sailing knots instead of following the instructions. Also brought extra line as some of the choicest trees are just a bit too far apart for the attached line to reach.
Overall this product is awesome! Gives you way more location options than a tent...... only con in my books is that you can't cuddle or have anyone else in there with you!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, set up anywhere
Cons: no snuggling :(
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

comfortable!

Date:June 24, 2012
I love this hammock all around. I've never been to a place where I could not find 2 suitable trees to setup.
Let me get the 1 con I have out of the way. If you don't setup the everything good and tight, it will swing too much when you move inside and you might get sick.
That being said, the Hennessy Hammock conveniently comes with two shock cords on either side that you stake down and you can make them pretty tight. That prevents you from flipping and swinging. It's awesome.
Also, I've learned from experience that it is best to tie the support ropes to the trees with very little slack. You want the hammock to look almost horizontal before you unravel it form the snakeskins. Otherwise, the hammock will sag too much once you lay down and it stretches. Of course if you like the banana shape than keep the slack. I like to sleep straight so I keep it tight.
Get a couple of those cheap MEC keychain lights for the little hanging line inside of the hammock so you can do things at night without having to put on a headlamp. I put the red colored light inside so that I don't draw undue attention to myself while inside. Maintain night vision too.
I bought this mainly for bike touring and it is small/light enough for the job.
I recommend this!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: strong winds can make you sick if it swings.
Review 17 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Camping in a comfortable hammock

Date:June 21, 2012
I wasn't sure how this product would work for me. Getting the right position takes a few minutes of experimentation, but it was nearly a flat hang. I never normally sleep on my back, but I was quickly able to get adjusted and had two nights of comfortable sleep on my camping trip. One night we had a lot of rain and some wind, and the standard rainfly kept me dry, while allowing a lot of ventilation through the no-see-um mosquito mesh. With some trial, you can sleep comfortably on your side. Setup instructions come printed on the bag. My first fumbling install took 15 minutes, but I can confidently set-up and tear-down in 5 minutes. Posts need can range from 10-25 feet. I recommend some kind of bag inside to protect your back from mosquito bites and the elements. Rolls up quite easily into the snake skins and stuff sack into small package. No room for your pack on the inside, so I would recommend placing shoes in a plastic bag and keeping inside with you, and hanging your pack in a water-proof sack from the main line outside to keep your stuff dry. This is not surprising given the hammock design, but a consideration for what you should pack.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, inexpensive
Cons: no space for gear, no space for gear inside
Review 18 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: dundas on
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

HH -- exactly what I expected

Date:June 5, 2012
Last week I used my Henessey Hammock for 5 nights on a Noire River trip. It is very comfortable but a little claustrophobic. Generally my back aches on the ground but I felt very rested in the hammock. The nights averaged 5 to 7 degree C. You definitely need non compressible insulation underneath you. My thermarest was a little narrow and my shoulders got cold spots. Overall I am very happy to the hammock and look forward to using it on my next trip. I did not have any rain so I can not comment on it effectiveness in foul weather.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: claustrophobic
Review 19 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Never sleeping in a tent, if I can help it, again.

Date:February 15, 2012
Although setting it up took a few trips to youtube before I got the hang of it, once I didn't sleep in a tent again all summer.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Complicated
Review 20 for Hennessy Expedition Asymmetrical Zip Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London
Age: over 55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Product

Date:January 21, 2012
I use both the HH Expedition bottom entrance and the HH Hyperlite Side Zip.
A bad back and knees suspended my camping until these hammocks were purchased.
Can't add much to the reviews already stated other than Warbonnet Outdoors products might also be considered.
For in depth reviews and modifications visit the Hammock Forum..
http://www.hammockforums.net/?
It would be nice if MEC carried more hammock accessories.... and stocked them in the London Store
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>