Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Alpine and Climbing Packs or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Cragosaurus Daypack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC MEC Cragosaurus Daypack

The middle sibling of our Crag series is big enough to tote your share of the gear to the base, and doubles as a great daypack for alpine routes. It’s now made in a bomber 840-denier nylon that can handle hauls or road rash from falling off your board.
Average Member Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Review 1 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Very good pack for field work!

Date:June 24, 2013
I bought this bag in a rush because I needed something low-cost and durable to use for field work in northern Alberta that involves day hiking. So far so good! Although I have put it to an unconventional use, it is definitely standing up to the beating it takes. I love all the straps because I can make the bag as compact or big as I need it to be. I can hook up tools, gear and extra clothes to the outside of the pack. The large amount of places to hook things up works in lieu of a few extra pockets (which would have been nice as well). The security pocket under the lid is a good place to stow wallet and room keys and the upper pocket in the lid holds a fair amount of stuff. The shoulder straps are nicely padded and comfortable and I manage to make it jive well over a cruise vest ladened with gear. All in all I'm very happy with this bag and when it finally gives out I would say I hope there is still a version available to buy that maybe has some extra pockets accessible from the outside of the pack!
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Comfortable
Cons: not enough external pockets
Review 2 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Prince George, BC
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Great Purchase. Love the Pack.

Date:June 21, 2013
This pack is great! It's inexpensive for good quality.
I haven't tested it on a long hike in the bush yet, but I have tested it for smaller walks and it served me great. Looks good and has lots of room, the only problem I have with it is it has a lot of straps, which isn't that big of a deal as its easily fixed. Love the rope carry and pockets.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: To many straps
Review 3 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: All over Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Daypack? Whatever. I took it cross country!

Date:June 19, 2013
First the good since almost everything I have to say is good. It is called a daypack but I used it to travel from Edmonton to St Johns Newfoundland (hitchhiking and camping) then back, then up to Inuvik and down to Tofino and back to Edmonton again. It held all my stuff including a sleeping bag and camp stove etc. I strapped a tent and foam pad for sleeping to the outside. For 4.5 months this thing held my life. I took it everywhere and it held up. I wasn't nice to it either.
Oh and the price can't be beat. It is abnormally cheap!
The only down side is the single opening at the top. A zipper down the side or at the bottom or anywhere else would have come in very handy. Maybe even a side pocket for small items. Theres a small pocket in the top but when you have everything I had packed into the thing a small outside pocket would have been nice.
But despite that problem I am setting out in two days for another camping trip and I am using it again. I am only heading out for a few days this time but when you pack light a few days or a few months nothing really changes.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value
Review 4 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Good in theory - Poor in practice

Date:April 14, 2013
This seems to be a sign of poor MEC quality becoming the trend. I am a long time MEC member, I spend a ridiculous amount of time at the store, online and reading reviews. With that preface out of the way, I would like to say that I am not much of a complainer when it comes to my things, but this bag is really poor quality.
The stitching are falling apart after a 2 months, this is my third one. MEC has been incredible with giving me a new bag but it seems that I am constantly getting lemons. Each bag has had flaws and poor construction. The first had a collar which would peel, the second horrendous stitching quality and now my third and it's falling apart all over within 2 months.
The first two I thought were a testaments to how hard I wear gear while in the field but the third one I use every other day for commuting and nothing more - already it's falling apart too. I would only suggest this model if you buy it on sale and are ready for something that will fall apart on you after a few months.
For clarification, the two first were used for climbing, trekking and snow sports. The features on the bag are great for climing. ( Tons of good latching points for polls, rope and a extra layer)
Also do not get this bag for summer biking. No back ventilation means you will show up with sweat stained back and bag.
I really think MEC should rethink it's quality control process.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Unreliable
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Mountain Equipment Co-op:By UrsService CentreApril 17, 2013
Hi Arndell, thanks for your review. We are constantly updating and revamping our products. We also have a low rate of return before we recall a product so we keep our quality high. Your experience has been shared with our design department.
Hope we can get you the right pack you need in the future!
Review 5 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sydney, NS
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Don't under estimate...

Date:April 12, 2013
Took this pack on a day hike last week and couldn't have been happier. It held EVERYTHING including my 3L water bladder. Feels sturdy and well put together. On top of all that, it was very comfortable. I would deffinately recommend this pack!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kemptville, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Cragosaurus Daypack Excellent and Dependable!

Date:February 17, 2013
I've had this daypack for over a year now and it hasn't let me down yet. The size is perfect for any day and even overnight use. I've used it as a bookbag at college, as a daypack for hiking and skiing, and even as an overnight bag for minimalist overnight hiking trips. The removable back-pad makes an excellent seat on damp ground or snow. And if you place it plastic side down it even works well as a mini crazy carpet for those quick descents from snowy summits on mountain hikes.
I would highly recommend this daypack for any hiker.
The only issue is that the water resistant coating on the inner nylon string-close top began to peel after about 8 months. But the nylon itself is as strong as ever and the peeling doesn't impact the integrity of the pack.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burgeo NL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Getting Started

great pack

Date:January 3, 2013
i have only been hiking for a few months now but ive been hunting all my life in that time i have tried maney convential newfoundland packs (army surpuls) and they have all disapointed in comfort i got this pack for chrismas and have gone on several hikes and hunting trips and this pack never seems to disapoint also i havent tried rain covers but i hear they are disapointing my advice is to buy an extra rubbed rain coat and cover the pack with that
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Outstanding!

Date:September 23, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have owned many packs in my days and for the size, this is the best by far.
I loaded it up with my climbing gear today "indoor" and also some drinks and other misc. items. In fact I don't even think it would matter how heavy the stuff loaded in the pack is because its so comfortable. Nicely padded straps and back piece "which comes out if needed".
There are many straps for attaching various items too. Virtually limitless.
being a top load back there isn't much that can wear out on this over time, perhaps a broken buckle, but that's a quick cheap fix.
Of course the value is great too. Definitely the one to choose of you're going out for a day or two.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
STAFF REVIEW
EXPERT REVIEW

Best pack.

Date:May 31, 2012
I appreciate versatility overall. When my Huascuran pack (from 199something) finally died, I went with this one.
There are already many positive reviews so I will echo those but add a few things that have not yet been mentioned.
1. the removable back stiffener is a great and underrated feature of this bag. You can easily slide it out to protect your bum from cold, wet or sharp ground. It could also be used as a splint (and/or a tiny insulating sleeping pad) in an emergency situation (and the bag would still be usable). It is hard smooth plastic on one side with grey laminated 1/2" or 1/4" foam laminated to the other side.
2. the pack is compressible. With the 6 side compression straps and the top spindrift compression strap, you can squish the bag down if you are only carrying a bit of stuff.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Versitile
Cons: Long Straps
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
MEC MEMBER

Scrambling & bouldered

Date:March 29, 2012
I purchased the Cragosaurus black/black for some ultralight packing through highland Scotland this coming May. Thought I'd give it a go on a 3 week research trip up in the NWT backcountry. Had more than enough space for an ultralight individual. Can't wait to test it out on Nevis! Bottom Line: it's a great value, holds more than it should, and has space for a camelbak. Awesome pack.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 11 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Caledon, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great value

Date:November 8, 2011
Exceptionally good deal on a very versatile pack, practical, comfortable, can be used for anything anywhere and good looking to boot. Looking forward to many happy trips with the 'Cragosaurus' on my back.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 12 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: calgary
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great simple bag for the money

Date:November 5, 2011
great little bag. real basic. only one zipper in the hood. the main bag is closed with a drawstring. and lots of compression grapple straps. if your looking for a good solid basic bag. you cant beat the price of this one.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 13 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Getting Started
MEC MEMBER

Just a really solid sack

Date:October 1, 2011
I wanted a basic daypack that would work both for hiking and rollerblading between buses. I was looking at the klettersack rerelease originally but when I saw this in the store it was much larger and the same price with more than just lash points (perhaps too much if you are bothered by excess straps). Also the durable rubberized layer on the front of the sack is designed to resist crampon related damage (as it is a climbing pack) and that appealed because that's where I would strap my rollerblades while on the bus.
I took it hiking that day and it was a very comfy backpack. It has nicely padded arm straps that adjust without any fuss. The centre strap between them has short band of elastic sewn to the strap that allows it to expand and contract with your breaths (makes a huge difference). I fit my hydromedary MSR 2L pack into the sack (it has the hole to feed the tube out between the straps and a clip to hold it near the chest )just fine but it does take up room. This is a bit concerning because the pack can be a bit tight on space depending on what you pack. But I am able to fit a rain jacket, textbooks, laptop and sometimes a helmet or shoes inside, which really is plenty. It has a pseudo-compression option with a single strap that goes over the inner collar and can compress it down. On top of that, the top lid has two straps that serve a similar function. Also the six straps that rib around the pack serve to compress it further.
The top flap has an inside pocket that is separate from the outside pocket. It also has a plastic clip to hang keys on. The top outside pocket is handy to put my phone in and feed the headphones out of right to my ears since the zipper is right behind your head.
If you are doing a trip where you want to have a variety of items readily accessible, don't get this pack. The top pocket makes a certain amount of smaller things very accessible and the top half of the pack is accessible, but it is basically just a sack. It works best in situations where you pack things and go and then unpack everything at once (hike to a picnic or bus to a job/school). This is fine for me, I pack up after every Uni class, at the end of the work day and basically just strap my boots or rollerblades to the outside depending on which I'm using.
For my uses, which are not the intended uses, the straps could be heartier. I use a bungee cord in combination with the straps since the straps don't seem strong enough to handle my rollerblades. And I don't think it's reasonable to expect any sack to have straps that sturdy.
The ONLY real complaint I really have is I am too tall to effectively use the waste strap. I am 6'4" tall, so I don't suspect this is a common problem, but the strap is across my gut and doesn't grip my hips unless I let the arm straps way out. And if I do that, the point (dispersing the load) is somewhat lost. Also, the pack doesn't breathe too well against my back and thus things get a bit sweaty.
Other than that, it's a good durable sack-style pack with lots of straps and a good hydration set up. I've had it in light rain, it held up well and dried fast. I don't know how well it will do in a downpour for a long exposure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: might not hold up to heavy rain, too short to use the waiststrap, straps could be better secured to the bag
Review 14 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, Sk
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Great Value

Date:September 17, 2011
This product is well worth the money for a day pack. It is very comfortable and its easy to attach things to the exterior of the pack. The only thing I would change is to add a bit more durable material to the bottom of the pack.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 15 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, Sask.
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

"Blues Bag"

Date:September 6, 2011
I specifically bought this bag to go to the Edmonton Blues Festival. I wanted a compact bag to carry gear for all kinds of weather and lucky for us this year was the warmest in the last four years. I am very satisfied with fit and finish and design. Good value for the price.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatchewan
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Getting Started
MEC MEMBER

Loving this pack

Date:September 6, 2011
My boyfriend and I both purchased this pack and it has worked out perfectly for weekend camping trips. There is lots of room for us to store everything (and more if your my boyfriend) that we need for a couple of days in the bush. It will be a stuggle to fit all my essentials in just one bag if I were going alone. The shoulder straps are not terrible but could be better. Great for the price!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, lots of handy straps
Review 17 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: vancouver, bc
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Really Good Pack

Date:July 19, 2011
Bought this pack 2 months ago to downsize from my 45 litre pack. I hesitated to buy this because of all the straps -- wanted something sleek for bushwacking -- but turns out the straps were very useful for attaching things like a fleece to the outside. Its essentially a tube with shoulder straps, very light, and will accept a drybag/liner bag nicely. Wish the bottom was reinforced with the black material on the face of the pack.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: bottom of the pack
Review 18 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Best value daypack from MEC.

Date:June 11, 2011
The perfect minimalist pack. Especially for carry-on only travellers and 2-3 day hiking trips. Lots of compression straps get it down to a manageable size even when excessively overpacked. Large pocket on top is perfect for all your essentials.
Shoulder straps could use a bit more padding, especially for long trips when you're fully loaded with gear. Short light loads trips are fine.
A removable waist strap would be nice or small zippered compartment to stow them away when not in use.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: poorly padded shoulder straps
Review 19 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

An awesome pack.

Date:April 28, 2011
Don't let the size fool you! This bag was just perfect for me (I'm a small guy too!). It has enough room for a day hike and for school stuff.
Although it lacks a back plate it is still pretty solid, I took the plate from my Spirit Velo 25 and just put it in there (doesn't fit as much as I would like, but beats not having none in there).
Overall it's an amazing pack! :D
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, number of straps!
Cons: the lack of back plate, i wish there was a solid black one
Review 20 for MEC Cragosaurus Daypack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Prince Rupert BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Nice replacement for my MEC Klettersack

Date:April 7, 2011
My '93 MEC Klettersack finally blew out it's top zipper, so I needed a quick replacement while it was getting fixed. Pretty much use it every day. No 40th editions in stock, so, thought I'd try the Cragosaurus pack. The size and price was perfect. As soon as I pulled it out of the box, was grinning. Basically a Klettersack with a few more bells and whistles. I live on the coast, and It's not totally water proof but a MEC rain cover took care of that. Love the style, gonna buy another one as a backup.
Happy 40th MEC! '71 was a good year to be born... cheers!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: might need a raincover
1 2 next>>