Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Skirts and Dresses or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)

The Twirl Dress is a comfortable, low-maintenance addition to any trip. It can make you feel feminine even if you've broken every nail on both hands trying to send 5.11. The synthetic fabric allows you to leave the campground wrinkle-free and ready for a night out.
Average Member Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Review 1 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist

Wore this ALL summer...Toronto & Europe heat wave!

Date:December 26, 2012
I am a fan of travel dresses, this one is definitely not my first, but I liked the style and the price was right! I bought the black one (medium) for my 5'5", 132 lb frame, it was just right for me. I intended this for my annual August trip to Europe to tour the contemporary art fairs, but started wearing it for the months of June and July in Toronto! I love it!! Bought the blue one, and took it to Europe instead (my other travel dress was already black!). I wore it to a John Cage performance in Paris, on lots of picnics sitting on the banks of the Seine, to a concert of the Pogues in the courtyard of Spandau prison, and to my husband's birthday celebration at the opera in Vienna on a sweltering 35C day. It was completely appropriate for all of the above occasions! Packs and wears like a dream, dries quickly, and can be stuffed into a small purse! My only complaint is that there is really no support for any size of bust. I bought a bra that crossed at the back specifically to wear with it. Other than that, I look forward to summer number two in this dress. BTW, I bought the brown one on sale at the end of the summer, so now own all 3 colours!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Packable
Cons: needs bust support
Review 2 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

Excelent Purchase

Date:August 13, 2012
For a slender, petite woman, the x-small fits really well. Love the fit and the look of the dress. Received lots of compliments and my boyfriend loved it, too. The navy blue isn't as bright as it shows on the website, but it is still a very flattering colour. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 3 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Picton, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

I love this dress!

Date:August 10, 2012
I love the fit, I'm very small in the chest area and this dress is very flattering. Excitingly flattering with great support. The straps are nice and fit well. And the way the dress just flows around you, it's nice. Nice drape to it as well. And for the price, you can't beat it. And I absolutely love the colour and fabric. Definitely I will buy a second and hopefully MEC adds this dress to next years spring/summer collection.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Flattering
Review 4 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Date:August 9, 2012
I bought this dress in June, and have worn it a couple times a week since. It has fast become my favourite dress.
I am 175lbs, 5'5, and have a 40DD chest. I also have an average mom tummy. I was worried this dress would highlight my flaws. I was wrong! It skims nicely over my mommy tummy, and doesn't cling to my wobbly bits. Fits and flatters my chest, without any strap slippage or strap pulling. The length is great, it falls just below at the base of my knees.
It dresses up really easily with a scarf and a necklace, enabling me to wear it to dinner, but I also have worn it on its own to the park to chase after kids. On cooler rainy days I've added leggings and a cardi, which means I will be able to wear it throughout the winter was well.
It washes and dries really well, hasn't shrunk a bit. I have also washed it in a sink in a hotel, and hung it to dry... it dried in a couple hours. Its been stuffed in bags, backpacks, and even my purse, with no wrinkling occurring.
I am hoping to go back and get a brown one as well, since this has become a staple in my wardrobe.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 5 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very cool
Very Warm
By:
Location: London, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Just bought a second...

Date:August 9, 2012
Received this dress in brown by mail order. I'm super happy with the way it fits, looks, and feels! The one thing I'd been apprehensive about when I ordered was breast support (I hate strapless bras, and the cut wouldn't accommodate a strapped bra discreetly): I was pleased to find the support and coverage the dress offers to be sufficient on its own (I realize, though, that this is something that could vary drastically from woman to woman, and others have expressed dissatisfaction with the dress's support -- but I wear a D-cup, and it's comfortable, attractive, and reasonably modest -- albeit a bit on the 'natural' side). The cut of the bodice panels is actually quite clever (the 'twist' in the front), in addition to being very pretty and flattering. The only thing I'd change about it is possibly the weight of the fabric: it's a very lightweight knit that is fairly body-clinging, which means that one must be quite selective in underwear choice to avoid visible seams and lines. Despite this, I was so pleased with the brown that I called up my local MEC store and asked them to put aside a blue one in my size!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 6 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Needs some work

Date:August 2, 2012
For a tall, slender woman, and larger in the bust
6' tall, and 32D, the large size that I bought, according to the chart, was super large on me. I was swimming and have to return it. So sad.
The blue is also not a brightly coloured as the website shows. It is darker in indoor light.
I was so excited to get a nice, plain dress that was cute and fun (twirly), and had decent coverage over the cleavage area and it just didn't work.
Pros: Stylish, Breathable
Cons: Poor Fit
Review 7 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Guelph, ON
MEC MEMBER

Super nice!

Date:July 17, 2012
Got it thinking about using it at home... but my husband told me that this is a fantastic dress to go out! He asked me to buy it in all colours available! (I got blue). I have a strong back and narrow hips and it is very flattering... it balances my figure...
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, nice cut!
Cons: only black blue or brown... :(
Review 8 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Flattering, but not my favourite.

Date:July 16, 2012
I'm 5'8" and usually wear a L-XL, to give you an idea of fit. The neckline is flattering but if you're larger than a good-sized B you'll need some more support going on underneath, as well as some extra coverage unless you like a breeze. The "cups" sit across your chest (I wear a 36C) but it's not the most egregious dress out there. I also find most sundresses to have straps that are a tad too long, and this one is no exception.
However! It is exceptionally cute over my bathing suit, and is easy to toss on and go. The length is adequate - not too short, and just the right amount above the knee. I've washed it several times and the fabric is beginning to fuzz a bit (I wash cold, hang dry.) It is a nice weight and hangs well without clinging to your back or stomach.
If you're intrigued but generally hard to fit, I'd recommend trying it on first. If most dresses fit you off the rack, you'll have no problem. The blue is a lovely colour.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: chest issues
Review 9 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Kootenays, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Amazing dress!

Date:July 5, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this dress. Its super comfortable, very flattering, and doesn't get too wrinkled when packed. Planning on buying a second one in black.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 10 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels cool
Very Warm
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Fantastic for travelling

Date:June 13, 2012
Packs well, extremely lightweight, and doesn't wrinkle, so it was a great dress for a night out even while backpacking and carrying as little as possible. Dries quickly and still looks gorgeous. Loved it!
It's a nice enough dress that I've worn it both in my home city and while travelling in Cuba.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Lightweight
Review 11 for MEC Twirl Dress (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels cool
Very Warm
By:
Location: Milton, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Perfect Dress!

Date:April 20, 2012
This dress fits true to size, and is so comfortable! It is versatile (can be dressed up or down) and has the quality MEC is known for! It is stretchy and so it doesn't feel restrictive anywhere! And the straps are very secure! I bought this dress in blue, but may buy another when I get the chance. I expect it will come in handy when I travel as it doesn't wrinkle that much when folded. I am 5'3" and petite build, and it fits to the bend of my knee. Very, very comfortable!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
5 of 5 found this review helpful.