Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Timex Ironman or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Timex Ironman Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)

Timex Ironman Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)

Excellent for tracking your progress, this classic watch is updated with modern styling, a more durable, integrated wrist strap, and additional features.
Average Member Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Member Reviews for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Review 1 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: langley, bc

Poor Value! Fell apart!

Date:August 28, 2013
I bought this watch about 2 years ago. I wear it ALL the time, mostly in a recreational setting. The plastic encasing the screen cracked after about a year. The strap is the worst part! The plastic strap began cracking in several places, pinching my skin. It's now falling off in chunks, and just in the last week, I caught it on the 'gaps' (shown) in the strap, and it ripped the strap away from the watch face. I love the watch itself, but when I went to find a replacement strap, Timex makes them for all Ironman Triathlon watches but this one with the special strap.
It's a great watch, easy to set, understand and use. If you are going to buy a watch like this, get one with a solid strap so that you can replace it if necessary- you will get a lot more out of the life of the watch!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Easy to Use
Cons: Expensive, Flimsy, Poor value
Review 2 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

not what it used to be

Date:August 12, 2013
I have owned two ironman watches since I`ve been a tennager. I wore them a lot, and everywhere, and they spent lots of time in the pool. Each lasted over 10 years with no problem whatsoever. When the band finally gave on my last one, I naturally got a new one - indiglo failed within 2 weeks. exchanged - indiglo failed again within 2 days - and there was another one in the display with the indiglo not working.
So I sadly returned it.
I don`t want a different model. This is the watch that is perfect for me, like for other reviewers.
TIMEX PLEASE go back to the quality we counted on.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Unreliable, faulty indiglo a common factory prob
Review 3 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

poor quality

Date:April 7, 2013
I have had Timex Ironman watches for years. The first couple lasted about 10 years each before buttons failed. I replaced the last of those with this watch, and have had it fail numerous times after only a few months. They don't make them like they used to. I have had the buttons and the indiglo light fail, the seals break after only minimal exposure to water, and the front of the case come completely off. I would just look for a different product but I am used to the features and layout of the buttons on the Timex Ironman watches. The quality issue is very annoying because otherwise these are very good watches, and I like the slim styling of this model.
Pros: elegant style, useful layout
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable
Review 4 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great watch - Bad Band :(

Date:July 26, 2012
I love Timex watches as my last one lasted 10 years. This one is really easy to use and very comfortable to wear. HOWEVER, THE BAND IS POORLY MADE. I have warranted this watch 3 times for a broken band and am now going to give up on it :(
Pros: Simple
Cons: poor band
Review 5 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Short Term - but good

Date:April 9, 2012
I too had this model for just over a year (maybe two). It is a good price for what you get. I wanted something that was durable and could be used for interval training. I used it hard** and, like other reviews, the band has broken away (like all plastic bands, it lost its flexibility and snapped in several places). From a value point of view it did what I needed. But, from an enviromental point of view... I have a perfectly good watch face that will serve no purpose because I cannot attach a new band. More to the land fill unless I can get creative with it. I wont buy it again as I am looking for one with a replaceable band.
** "hard" use - all day, every day at work being bumped and knocked around for the year. Lots of water/rain/dirt exposure. When not being used it was carelessly tossed in a drawer. It took a good beating and stood up to it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: short term, funny tan lines (lol)
Review 6 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

no endurance

Date:October 6, 2011
Love the watch -- small sleek size [easy to pull your sleeve back over it on the run to check your time], look, features but like the other reviewer the band came away from the watch in 8 months. I tried gluing it...didn't hold. Same thing happened to 2 previous similar model Timex's. Should I give up on Timex?...they don't seem to make them like they used to!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: band falls apart
Review 7 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Guelph, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great features, poor band

Date:August 18, 2011
I have had this watch for 1 year. It has served me well through running, swimming, triathlons, camping, you name it...BUT...it ONLY lasted a year!! This is because the main face of the watch is poorly attached to the watch band. Overtime, the band comes away from the screen and voila! You are left with two pieces and the inability to reattach it to a new band. This same thing has happened to two other people I know who have this model...
Apart from this issue, the watch is very easy to use and comes with everything you would need for basic training. However, unless there is an option to replace the watchband after it comes away from the screen, I would NOT recommend this watch....if you want it to last more than a year...
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: poor wrist band design
Review 8 for Timex Ironman Sleek 50 Lap Mid-size Watch (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: north vancouver, bc
Age: 35-44
Gender: female

great buy

Date:June 11, 2011
This is the watch for you if you are not looking for anything too technical. The display and buttons are easy to read. This watch is very user friendly, I figured out how to use it without even reading the instructions.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable