Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Timex or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Timex Timex Marathon (Youths')

Timex Timex Marathon (Youths')

Made for smaller wrists, this sports watch boasts many of the features of the full size watches. Excellent for athletic youths or smaller-framed adults.
Average Member Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Member Reviews for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Review 1 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist

watch OK, watch strap does not last a year

Date:July 3, 2013
Bought this watch to replace old one after battery died (6 years). Just starting to enjoy the watch (large face,easy to see time and date), when I noticed the watch deteriorating (see photo) . Hoping to find a strap replacement but the strap appears to part of the watch.
Pros: Simple
Cons: watch strap deteriorates after a year
Review 2 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Times Fan Disappointed

Date:May 3, 2013
I'm sadly disappointed with this watch. I wanted a simple sport watch that I could wear for all my activities, including swimming. I am a regular lap swimmer and have worn a watch in the pool for years. After the second swim, the outer part of the buckle came off, leaving the pin and the tongue still in the band. MEC graciously replaced the watch. The same thing happened again: the outer part of the buckle fell off the band as a result of hitting the plastic lane ropes. I am neither a competitive nor an aggressive swimmer, so I do not hit the lane ropes hard during backstroke. I really liked the style, but this watch won't work for me.
Pros: Simple
Cons: poorly made
Review 3 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: ottawa, on
MEC MEMBER

not so small

Date:May 3, 2013
no complaints whatsoever. plenty of watch for a low price. just wanted to comment on the size. i purchased the watch online based on comments about it being small.
i have found that i need to put it on the smallest size in order for the watch not to slip over my wrist bone. i am what would be called petit, but certainly not small.
i like my new watch but discovered that it is twice as thick (high profile) as the Ironman men's model and the face not much smaller in diameter.
great value watch, just not so small if that is really important in your decision making.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 4 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Markham, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Good for the money

Date:March 10, 2012
If you have a small wrist this is an invaluable addition to your sporty gear. It is stylish enough to be worn in casual occasions and sturdy enough for sporting events. Good quality build and very light.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 5 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Berne
Age: over 55
Gender: male

The value of time

Date:October 16, 2011
Being an old dog, I don't need a watch that can time 50 laps, or even 8 laps, for a single exercise session. More than one lap might kill me. Just teasing! This meets my basic needs (time, day, date, timer, alarm & light), is small enough that it sits semi-discretely on my wrist, and has a very friendly price.
It is sufficient and efficient - don't buy more than you need.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, semi-discrete
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Does everything is says!

Date:July 2, 2011
Great for my small wrist and a great basic athletic watch for the price: date, indiglo light (for my son's night wakenings), alarm, easy to read and operate.
Only wish that it came in more attractive colours/design.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Waterproof
Cons: Unattractive
Review 7 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Whistler

I'm Addicted!

Date:December 30, 2010
If Wrightsock ever abandons this model I may have give up walking. CoolMax is the ideal fibre and this double-sock design has kept my feet comfy for years. Great as liners for winter socks. The heels do wear out while the sock has a few more years left.
Pros: Good Value, Versatile
Cons: needs heel reinforcement
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Timex Marathon (Youths')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Cochrane, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Perfect watch if you want something simple

Date:May 21, 2010
I love this watch as it's very simple and the price is right. It has the stop watch function, timer, alarm, and date. I like having a watch that I use all the functions and am not paying for "bells and whistles" I don't use. It also fits my tiny wrist and doesn't look like I'm wearing a mini computer!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
12 of 12 found this review helpful.