Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Footwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)

MEC MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)

These low-profile slippers make it easier to get into – and out of – snug cockpits. Minimalist design provides little ankle support or abrasion protection, but allows a better feel of river bottoms.
Average Member Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Review 1 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Hubba Bubba

Date:September 22, 2013
I went in to buy a Moque low cut, but they didn't have my size so I got Bubba instead. Bubba's got a smooth soul rather than the Moque's tread, and just pulls on with no straps or cords. No regrets - Bubba is comfy and warm, easy to get on and off, no bulkiness. The soul is soft and you can feel the stones on the path down to the lake, but it's not harsh. Just perfect for the kayak.
 
My Product Recommendations
Outdoor Research Durable Dry Sack
4.8 out of 513 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Comfortable, does what it's meant to do
Cons: soft soul
Review 2 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Great for snorkeling!

Date:May 3, 2013
I purchased these for a trip to Hawaii to use when snorkeling and they were great! They held up very well when walking over the sharp lava rocks and were much easier to swim in then other water shoes I've had as they don't fill up with water or sand.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

perfect for winter paddling

Date:February 17, 2013
keep my feet dry and warm when worn with my MEC Woolie Boolie socks
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 4 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: West Vancouver, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Good value

Date:February 17, 2013
I purchased these slippers for sailing in the hot weather. The main features I needed are lightweight so my feet didn't overheat and no seams on the top of my feet so I could hike. They perform well on both of those points. My only complaint is that they don't have as much traction on the deck as other sailing shoes,
Overall they are good value for the money.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value
Review 5 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist

On my 2nd set

Date:February 17, 2013
These are a pretty good river solution. They last a couple seasons of heavy use, before I wore holes through the bottoms. My only negative comment is that is very strong current, the current can pull them off your feet.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: come off feet sometimes
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Date:February 17, 2013
Nice snug fit with tough flexible sole. Great if having to climb around on rocky or slippery surfaces and comfortable to wear. I really like them.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Regina, SK
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Date:March 13, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Good comfort and nice snug fit. I used these all summer for kayak fishing. They come with a mesh carry bag.I also wash them with soap and water after every use. Excellent product.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 8 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive

Bubba Neoprene Slippers

Date:November 9, 2011
Great for play boating, will fit in very small boats.
Stay on feet when swimming.
Rubber wears out after one season, but worth what you pay for them.
Pros: Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Hamilton, ON

must have

Date:November 6, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have these slippers. I use them for sailing. They are light and sleek with good grip. When sailing I am moving around in the boat from one side to the other, things happen quickly so I can not be slipping & falling. There are no laces or other items on the slippers to get caught in the rigging.
I also have the higher boot from MEC that i wear when the weather is bad & full rain gear is required.
Pros: Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Date:November 5, 2011
Fits well on my skinny long feet, and nice and tight on the ankles.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: not in cool colors
Review 11 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Columbia Lake , B.C.
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive

Date:November 5, 2011
The best summer booties I got for a windsurfing.
Beautifuly shaped, pointed, so they do not stuck in the foot straps, thin bottom for good feeling the board surface. Excelent grab. Used one season only, I do not know how long they will last.The size must by right, beter tight, otherwise you can loose it in the high speed crash.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Bubba Neoprene Slippers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, ON

Splish splash

Date:June 12, 2011
I guess the test of a good water shoe is whether you can stand in a freezing Ontario river in April and not be bothered, and then hop in your canoe and paddle for another hour without getting frostbite. These shoes will do that for you.
Only gave these 4-stars because I've only used them a couple of times on early season canoe trips so can't say how they'd hold up in more aggressive situations.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.