Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Men's Cycling Clothing or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)

MEC MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)

Really great value racing shorts designed by our exuberant and talented in-house designer. Her road riding cred includes her precious, women’s-specific Bianchi (which she rides every chance she gets) and participating in GranFondo Whistler, the inspiring road ride along the Sea to Sky Highway from Vancouver to Whistler.
Average Member Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
9 out of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Review 1 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Whistler, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Built for skier legs.

Date:August 4, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I think I've figured out these shorts, or at least, why the fit is so polarizing: these are cut for skier legs, not stickmen. If you are a cycling stickman (and most roadies are), these might not work. But for the rest of us, who use roadie biking as cross-training for ski touring, mountain biking, etc, and are generally built like tanks and not giraffes, these fit great.
A note on quality: it's top notch. These are by far the most detailed design of any MEC bike short yet made. Durability so far is solid after a summer's use.
As for fit, I've experienced none of the ride-up issues. The leg length feels fine for me, and doesn't move or ride up. The cut is well done, and the shorts breath well with mesh venting on the sides.
True, the chamois and its positioning still need some work. There needs to be more protection in the front, and I gather this is what reviewers mean by "riding up"; it barely covers the bits when hunched forward. The chamois tends to bunch at the back, and when standing in the saddle can catch on the seat. This is evidence of too much droop. But I've had this in pricier name brands too. However, I can see how these chamois issues would be all the worse if the fit is off to begin with (hence the "riding up" complaints).
So, if you find that you DON'T fit the Euro-stickman-starvation-juice body type that roadies glorify, try these. They might just work.
Pros: well cut
Cons: nitpicky fit
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

almost did not buy these shorts

Date:July 20, 2013
I was in the market for biking shorts... reading the reviews trying them on etc.
The reviews i read on these shorts are not great.
I am glad I bought them . good thing i did not take the advice of the reviews i read about these shorts. I cannot understand why the bad reviews.
I ride 300 km a week and I think these shorts are great. They are super comfortable . I am glad I bought them I would buy them again if I needed another pair. try them out . I suggest you go for it .
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: no con
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately short
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

maybe too stretchy

Date:May 22, 2013
This would be a great short for me if the chamois would stay put, but I end up having to reposition the short every ~15 km (after a few standing climbs) to bring the chamois back into place. The chamois rides up in the front and then I'm left with nothing covering my sit bones.
The spandex is quite stretchy and though it is quite comfy, I think this could be a reason why the shorts/chamois moves around.
I have a larger frame, so it could just an issue for larger sizes or certain body types. This is my 5th pair of bike shorts and I haven't had this issue before.
Perhaps if this was offerend in a bib style short (with suspending straps) it would be perfect.
Pros: Stylish, Breathable
Cons: Poor Fit
Review 4 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Brighton, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great Comfort

Date:February 18, 2013
A great improvement over just a seat pad. There is enough padding, with good support, for a very comfortable ride, even on rough roads.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 5 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver Island
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Shorts

Date:December 27, 2012
I have two pairs of these and wear them all the time.
Most comfortable shorts I've ever owned and I have owned a LOT of cycle shorts.
Really excellent value!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 6 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Short
Feels very short
Very Long
By:
Location: North Vancouver
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

don't bother

Date:October 15, 2012
These shorts are poorly designed. I agree with the other reviews that they are too short. They also only have grippers on the back of the thigh which means they tend to ride up your thigh.Don't waste your money, invest in the Castelli's.
Otherwise, the chamois pad is decent for what you pay.
Pros: Breathable
Cons: Poor Fit
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Short
Feels short
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Avoid these

Date:July 31, 2012
I have been a long-time very happy buyer of MEC bike shorts, but the style I have bought in the past appears to have been discontinued, so I thought I'd try these.
I am quite disappointed. As others have commented, the legs are short, and through a combo of their starting length, the gripper design and/or the fabric, they do ride up over time in the saddle. (The advantage I guess is a less distinct tan line, at the cost of comfort, appearance and convenience, since I have to tug them back down periodically.)
I don't understand the move to a drawstring waist, but to each his own, and at least this is clearly visible in the description. (However, if you are like me, and have never worn bike shorts with drawstrings -- my advice is to reflect on that fact before you buy. Other mfrs might not use this design for a reason. I found it less comfortable and less secure, since I didn't wish to cinch them tight.)
The fabric feels lighter and less spandex-y to me than the old shorts. Again taste may vary, but I liked it less. I have ridden these for 500+ kms at this point, and have no issues with seams or other elements of design/construction.
So, overall, I don't think these are worth the money, and I am concerned that MEC has evolved their bike shorts away from a design that people had been really happy with over time. Look to Castelli for an alternative at MEC -- me, I'm going with Hincapie.
Cons: Short, Drawstring, Flimsy
Review 8 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Short
Feels short
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: The northland
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Date:July 1, 2012
Legs too short - not into wearing hot pants.
The spandex was super stretchy and I found the chamois ended up shifting all over the place because of this.
Ended up returning them!
Cons: Uncomfortable, Poor Fit
Review 9 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Pretty Pleased

Date:June 11, 2012
I find these shorts long enough for my frame and of a material that feels quite comfortable including the cushioning where I sit. The elastic in the legs work well and hold comfortably to my not oversized legs. These are the first cycling shorts I have owned and would buy them again. Overall a very good value and a very comfortable pair of shorts.
Pros: Comfortable, Good fit
Review 10 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Short
Feels short
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist

Poorly Designed

Date:May 29, 2012
I've had great luck in the past with MEC shorts, so I thought these would be great. Beautiful material and ample padding for hours in the saddle are the good points. The bad is the legs are too short, and without ample grip, slip up your thigh. If I wanted a pair of Speedos, I would have got them. These might be fine as a tri short, but are very poor for true road use. I'm going to return them and try my luck with the Castelli shorts.
Cons: Uncomfortable, Poor Fit
Review 11 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Naramata,BC

Disappointing

Date:March 11, 2012
These shorts didn't meet my expectations even allowing for price. They needed to be longer and they bunch up during the ride requiring constant repositioning to feel comfortable, after several attempts I no longer wear them.
Review 12 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately short
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto

Solid choice

Date:November 10, 2011
worked as expected, didnt ride up- comfortable for several hours of continuous use. would buy again
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 13 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Not a Worthwhile Buy

Date:November 6, 2011
Granted, you may feel different, but I have two pairs of the Rapide shorts, and then I went out and bought these. I really don't find them more comfortable than the Rapide. For the extra money spent, I have felt no gain and the durability has been the same thus far.
For me, I know my next pair will be Rapide again, but you aren't buying a bad product with these shorts.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: no gain for extra $ spent.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
STAFF REVIEW

Live up to their title

Date:July 25, 2011
I bought a pair of these because I like a high density chamois and it looked like it would work. I pre-washed them before initial use as I know from experience it settles things in. I applied Chafe Zone directly to the chamois before doing a 150km ride up Mount Baker and had absolutely no issues. It was very hot and sweaty, which can cause problems, but not this time. I was very impressed with the comfort of the fabric, it wasn't too hot and wicked well. The chamois was just great and this was on a fairly new Brooks saddle, which hasn't been fully run in. For comparison I rode 100kms the next day in a new pair of Sugoi RS shorts at double the price. Exactly the same treatment of pre-wash and Chafe Zone. The fabric is as good as the MEC Randonneur shorts in terms of performance but the chamois is very inferior. It was very uncomfortable on the perineum, but not too bad on the back of the saddle.
The long an the short of it is I'm getting a second pair of the Randonneur shorts and they're both going with me to France next month for the 1,200km Paris Brest Paris randonneur event and a month of cycle touring.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, the chamois works
Cons: the legs are too short
Review 15 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: TORONTO
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

easy to move in

Date:June 13, 2011
My experience may be due to buying a size larger than normal, I find the chamois bunches up a bit when walking but that's not a big deal in my opinion.
Much less compression than most other shorts I've worn, again maybe due to the size. Very light and breathable.
They certainly aren't the cheapest but have prob. the most cubic cm of chamois (large pad) of any shorts I've seen.
Pros: Breathable
Review 16 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: North Van
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

not impressed

Date:May 16, 2011
Just purchased these shorts on the weekend. Went out for a 70km ride and found the padding to be inferior. My crotch was very uncomfortable after about 25km. I had to constantly adjust my riding position to stay comfortable.
I usually ride about 200-300km per week so I would have thought my crotch would not be a problem, but, these shorts definitely did not help my riding comfort.
I also would prefer to have the shorts about an inch longer in the leg.
On the good side the elastics on the legs kept the shorts in place (with and without leg warmers) and the waist was comfortable as well.
Pros: shorts stayed in place, Fit well
Cons: Not Enough Padding
Review 17 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately short
Very Long
By:
Location: FATkitchenerBABY
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

MEC's best cycling shorts yet.

Date:April 7, 2011
I purchased a pair of these and a pair of the Castelli shorts that cost roughly the same a couple of weeks ago...At first I had reservations about the MEC shorts because of how the chamois was stitched in, but MEC is good about returns so I figured if the stitching prematurely gave out, I could always return them...when I got home and really took a close look the stitching and the thread used, it seemed better than I thought it was in the store...
The quality of construction and materials is far superior on the MEC shorts compared to the Castellis...If you were to go into a bike shop to purchase a pair of cycling shorts made out of these fabrics and with compression bands around the legs, you'll pay well over a hundred bucks...
The chamois on the MEC shorts is less bulky than the Castellis but it's no less comfortable on the bike...I've done a couple of 50k rides, a 75k ride and a whole ton of time in the basement on my rollers wearing these shorts and, though the pad feels like it might be positioned a quarter inch or so too far towards the back, I haven't had any comfort issues on the bike...
This is the first pair of cycling shorts I've had in at least a decade that have a drawstring (a plus, as far as I'm concerned)...
My only major gripe is I wish they were an inch or so longer in the legs...
These shorts are made in Canada and they are superior in every way to the Croatian-made Castellis...and they come in at the same price point...I can't speak to the long term durability of these shorts but, as I said earlier, MEC has great return policies so, if they fail prematurely, they'll probably take them back...The design seems really well thought out...
My only regret is I didn't buy two pairs of these shorts instead of buying the Castellis...
Pros: Comfortable, Well made, Good Value, drawstring, Quality materials
Cons: chamois positioning, legs an inch too short
Review 18 for MEC Randonneur Shorts (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Not good value

Date:March 29, 2011
These shorts look nice, and felt good in the store, but the padding is next to useless once you actually get on a bike. Thoroughly uncomfortable - I was shifting in my seat constantly, trying to find some way to make the shorts work with the seat, but had no luck.
They might be okay at a much lower price, but at this price range, I expect much better quality. The Castelli Ergo Tre Shorts (also carried by MEC) cost about the same, but are much, much better quality.
 
My Product Recommendations
Castelli Ergo Tre Shorts (Men's)
4.3 out of 59 Reviews
 
 
 
Endurance Bibshorts
4 out of 53 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Stylish, Breathable
Cons: Uncomfortable