Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Panniers or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Planet Bike Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack

Planet Bike Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack

This aluminum cycling rack is designed to fit bikes with seat stay-mounted disc brakes, or internal hub bikes that have a wide rear triangle. While this rack will work with regular bikes, it is not recommended.
Average Member Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 18 Answers
Member Reviews for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Review 1 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
MEC MEMBER

Not built to last

Date:December 16, 2013
After 6 months of daily commuting with a pannier on this rack, both welds on the lower connecting points on the frame broke in the same week.
Cons: Flimsy
Review 2 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Junk

Date:June 2, 2013
Absolute junk! First time I used this both rear mount bolts sheared off at the frame, leaving me with two bags to carry home
Cons: Unreliable
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Onanole, MB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Good rack for disc brakes

Date:February 18, 2013
I have a collection of racks from my commuter bikes over the years and none of them could be made to fit my new 29" hard tail with disc brakes. This rack did the job nicely and I have used it winter commuting with light loads down to -33°C. It seems fairly sturdy but I'll have to wait until summer to see if it will hold up to the canoe and trailer loads. I haven't decided if I like the curved edges on the rack yet but as long as you aren't trying to put solid panniers on the side it shouldn't be a problem.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 4 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Good deal

Date:February 17, 2013
I needed a rack for a mountain bike with disk breaks. This one fits, does not break the bank and works. A little thick for the Panier clips but no problems after three days on the trail.
Installed with a few basic tools in under ten minutes.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Review 5 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Beautiful but functionally challenged.

Date:February 15, 2013
I purchased the planet bike rack because of its price, availability and good looks. It mounted easily and the adjustability of the height was a nice feature. Then I tried to mount my panniers to the rack! My main beef with this rack (and its a big beef in my opinion) is that the choice of a non-standard rectangular deck (the mounting rails) combined with the placement of the lower hook attachment point makes it very difficult to easily and securely attach a bag. I would have taken this off and returned it immediately if it wasn't so inconvenient. As such I've pig headedly figured out a way to make this rack work (resulted in the bending of my pannier frame), but I still never feel quite confident that it won't pop off if I hop a curb or hit washboard. I can't in good conscience give this rack anything more than 1 star across the board.
Pros: Attractive, inexpensive, adjustable stays
Cons: Unreliable, terrible ergonomics
Review 6 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burnaby, B.C
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Great Rack!

Date:January 27, 2013
It was the only one in stock at the north van mec. I own a 2012 norco ccx3 with disc brake. It took me 10 mins to install. Every part of the rack is adjustable. Very easy to install. Very solid with no vibrations . Great buy for a great price.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

So easy ...

Date:November 4, 2012
This rack was so simple to install, it took me all of 5 minutes to get it on. Mounted it to an MEC Shadowlands hybrid with disc brakes ... fit perfectly. No hassles, no cutting, no bending and it lined up perfectly. I'm running some MEC panniers that necessitated me removing the green adapter clips to get them to fit on the oversized tubes of this rack, but that was a breeze also. Highly recommended ... and contrary to what others have stated, I think this rack looks good compared to the majority of boxy racks out there (assuming a rack can actually look good).
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 8 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Doesn't fit my panniers.

Date:July 9, 2012
I got this because it was the only one in stock at the time that fit my wheels, and it was a big mistake. The real problem with this is the poor design. The curve in the side of the rack means that I really need to bend my panniers to get them on, and even then they're not very stable. Further, the hollow tubing is slightly too thick for my panniers.
Let's go for bonus points: This is probably the ugliest rack I have ever seen.
Cons: Unreliable, Poor Design, Ugly
Review 9 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

only good for some panniers

Date:July 22, 2011
Two things to be aware of with this rack:
1) The oversize tubes means that your pannier must be able to accommodate them.
2) The rack curves inwards to the seat post meaning your pannier hooks must be closely spaced or the pannier must be able to bend in order to clip it on.
I consider #2 to be design flaw hence the poor rating. There was no way to make my pannier fit without forcing it to bend and damaging it. If you have a Chance go for the Filzer PR-4 instead. It's a bit more pricey but doesn't have these problems.
Pros: fits the mec chance
Cons: doesn't fit all panniers
Review 10 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Good bike rack

Date:May 1, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I got a new bike with disk brakes then fond out my old bike rack would not fit . I shopped around and this was the best and cheapest one I found . The guys at MEC put it on for me . ( there was a bit of cutting to do ) . Im very happy with it . Now I can put my small cooler with a few beers and food on the back to take with me over to the Island . The money I save will pay for the rack in one trip . lol
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 11 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Lower mainland
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Best rack for this price available

Date:November 26, 2010
I'm very happy with this and used now for a while no complains mounted on Kona Coiler mountain bike with full suspension . Bottom part screws we're touch short could be 5mm longer and supplied screws we're too small now one screw is just in a thread barley no problems so far .
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: supplied screws not used.
Review 12 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Annapolis Royal, N.S.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Great rack

Date:July 21, 2010
Slapped this badboy on in 20 mins. Several ways to attach it to the frame, and pretty easy to do. I put it on my Spec Hardrock Pro and it carries the pack unnoticably. Very sturdy and well made, looks good as well
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: if your looking for a mud guard this isn't it
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Reasonable Rack

Date:July 16, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I installed this rack on a Rocky Mountain Soul in under 10 mins, it's very easy.
The rack uses two extenders to clear the disc brakes; therefore, there is a considerable amount of leverage generated by the extension bolt mount and exceeding the weight limit could not only damage the bolt, but the frame as well - you've been warned. The rack is adjustable both up-down and back-forth, and it can be gently bent if necessary.
There are better racks that mount on the quick release hub, and I recommend them for serious fully-loaded touring, but this rack will hold 25 kg, preferably balanced between two panniers.
This rack will convert your disc brake bike into a pack mule.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Practical
Cons: torque issue
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Best design for disc brakes I've found

Date:June 26, 2010
This rack is easy to install, in complete contrast to several other racks supposedly designed to work with disc brakes that i looked at and/or bought. Arms bend out to go around the brake housing, so there is no conflict, no need to hack the design by bending stays or anything. Works very well.
The only annoyance is the fact that the rack itself where you attach your panniers bends... whereas the backside of my panniers is straight across. It results in some fiddling with trying to get my panniers to sit tightly. The bars on this rack are also oversized, though, so my pannier clips have a hard time attaching tightly. I expect when I finally get in the oversized pannier clips that I've had to backorder, this will cease to be a serious issue.
Overall, I haven't found a better designed rack for bikes with disc brakes. Definitely recommend it (though make sure you get some oversized pannier clips to avoid my annoying experience).
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: needs oversized pannier clips to work properly
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Nice Rack!

Date:June 10, 2010
I have a Kona Sutra with disc brakes front and rear. I've been riding it for about three years with an Axiom Disc Rack which I liked, until I realized that when I loaded the left side pannier with enough stuff my rear brake would completely fail.
Now, I *personally* consider brakes to be an optional thing when I ride but some people might argue otherwise.
So I bought this, and it didn't include mounting hardware so I got a great deal on it.
The rack is very very solid. I wish it had the horizontal bar across the bottom that the Axiom had, but the mounting system on my Ortlieb pannier was able to fit it anyway so no big deal.
The rack was a bit wide for my rear triangle, so I did have to gently force it into position. I didn't have to bend it, mind you, just use a bit of muscle.
On the downside, no rack that I've bought has done a good job of accommodating the blinking rear lights that we all use now. Mine is a Planet Bike, and fitting it to the included reflector mount requires a bit of creative thinking.
The rack doesn't have a full coverage plate across the top either, so if you don't have a fender...well, you should. This won't make much of a fender.
Nice rack though, and a killer value.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value
Cons: stupid rear reflector mount, won't replace fenders
Review 16 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Great

Date:June 2, 2010
I had it installed on both my Iron Horse Outlaw and my Specialized HardRock Sport Disc. Fit perfectly on both.
Super sturdy, with absolutely no wiggle or wobble. Rock solid and inexpensive to boot.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 17 for Planet Bike VersaRack Disc Rear Cycling Rack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
MEC MEMBER

Adverstised by Mec for Mec Chinook: Failed

Date:May 17, 2010
As per the Mec website; this bike is suppose to fit the Mec Chinook. It does not.
I bought this rack for the obvious reason that it is a Disc Rear compatible rack, and my Mec Chinook has disc brakes and that the Mec website says this rack will fit my bike.
The arms on the rack do not extend to meet the eyelets where the rack is suppose to mount to. There are C clamps included, but the C clamps are not large enough for the Chinook. The rack CAN fit the Chinook, but it requires modification and will not be level.
Overall, the rack is light and feels sturdy, especially for the cost. That is, only if you can get it to work.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: doesn't work on chinook