Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Lighting and Headlamps or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Petzl Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp

Petzl Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp

Looking for a great light for camping, hiking or trail runs? The Tikka 2 delivers lots of light for not a lot of loot.
Average Member Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Member Reviews for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Review 1 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Great headlamp

Date:December 25, 2012
I've bought this headlamp for a multiday trip on Vancouver Island about 3-4 years ago. Every night it rained hard, and I've used the headlamp non-stop, without any special cover. It worked great. Since then, for several years now it never let me down. I've been skiing with it, biking, hiking, running, bike commuting (flashing mode is great for this) and just using it for random things during all seasons, in all kinds of weather and temperatures, and it never let me down.
A great purchase, very sturdy, reliable and cheap little headlamp. If I had to point out something bad about it, it would be that it might not be as bright as some of the other headlamps, but if it's been fine for me after walking for many dark nights through technical trails deep in the woods, I think it's just fine for most people.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, cheap
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Indestructible!

Date:October 9, 2012
I have had my  Petzl Tikka 2 headlamp for almost 2 years and it's been on many camping, cycling, snowshoeing, kayaking, and overseas trips. It's always been a good headlamp, nothing particularly special... but, without fail, does everything a headlamp should do.
However, a few nights ago, something special did happen... I was using it while cycling in a city in the dark. I got to my destination and, while dashing across a road, managed to drop it directly in front of a car. Unable to do anything to stop it, I watched in dispare as first the front then the back wheel slowly drove over my trusty light. Ahhhh!! Once the car passed, I quickly picked it up assuming it was crushed and dead forever. But no.... it was still in one piece. I examined further, it cant be.... only two small scratches? Even the back tilting bracket was fine. I then did the ultimate test... I pushed the button... And light filled the street! It turned on... it's alive!
So I can truthfully say that this is a good trusty headlamp, tough enough to survive being run over by a car! With this strength, I'm sure our relationship will continue for a long time to come. I can't recommend this headlamp highly enough. 
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Northern Alberta
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Value

Date:June 5, 2012
I bought this headlamp for night-time cross-country skiing in northern alberta. With rechargeable batteries, this headlamp provides ample lighting helped by the high reflectivity of the snow. In very cold temperatures, the performance drops off, but this is more a function of the battery than the light.The strobe function is not something I use, but I suspect it would be valuable to those who would use it to be seen rather than to see.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 4 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Lincoln, UK
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Good Solid Headtorch

Date:March 14, 2012
It gives off a good light - it's not a beam but rather a wide angle light - it's plenty bright enough for working, hiking and camping in the dark. I've not used it in the rain yet so can't attest to it's waterproof qualities.
The one niggle I have is that the bottom of the torch is translucent so you can sometimes see a glow of light out of the top of your eyes.
Review 5 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Atikokan, ON
MEC MEMBER

great purchase

Date:March 10, 2012
This is my first head lamp purchase, so I can't make quality comparisons. Having said that, I'm very happy that I ordered it. So far I've used it at night to read by and am looking forward to camping trips this spring/summer where I will have a chance to use it more frequently. Handy thing to have and good quality for the money!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 6 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, On

Great light

Date:November 7, 2011
This light is 5 times brighter than my partners. Camped for 3 weeks and used it every night!
Review 7 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Smithers, BC

Great Value, Bright headlamp

Date:November 5, 2011
this headlamp was an impulse buy on my part and I am very happy that i bought it.
It is light, comfortable, easy on batteries and quite bright. My brothers tikka XP had better distance but was almost twice the price.
If you are on a budget, I would definitely recommend this headlamp.
Cheers
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London On
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Even better than I expected

Date:October 4, 2011
Just pop it on your head, go out into the night and lo and behold you can actually forget it's dark. You can pick vegetables, water the plants, play with the cats. It is the best little gadget - completely different from a flashlight. The early darkness of fall isn't bothering me as it always has in the past. Highly recommended.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, very useful
Review 9 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON

Good price

Date:July 2, 2011
Bought this light for my wife. Good price and good quality.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great for what I need it for

Date:June 11, 2011
I bought this headlamp because I never seem to have enough time in the day to tend to my garden... and I also love to go earth worm hunting to feed my garden... so I really love that there is a dull setting, and a bright. I don't use the flashing light setting, but my son (4 years old) loves to pretend like he is is a rescue vehicle! Thanks for stocking a great product.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Review 11 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Deal!

Date:February 25, 2011
I've owned two of these... lost one and just had to get another! I've carried it with me everywhere for the past few years. No more hand-held flashlights in the dark!
I recently ran my headlight through a washer cycle in a pocket... and it came out working (and clean!). Very impressive.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 12 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:November 30, 2010
Great light for around the campfire, or an easy hike. Not the best for seeing in the distance
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, good peripheral lighing close up
Cons: lacks distance
Review 13 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sooke, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great function & value

Date:November 26, 2010
I use this light for reading in bed. I find it works extremely well and is adjustable to suit youe head position.. I couldn' t be more pleased.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 14 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great Light, Great Price

Date:September 25, 2010
I love this little light. Not for caving but to provide light in a tent or just walking the dog, it is great. I use it in conjunction with the various mounting adapters that you can buy separately. For the price there is no better light for sale at MEC.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Versatile
Cons: NONE
Review 15 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Manitoulin Island, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

A great little light.

Date:September 21, 2010
I recently ordered the TIKKA 2 headlamp in the hopes that my hunting and fishing adventures would benefit form this compact little light. I am very pleased with the overall construction and am amazed how bright this little light is. Having a maximum and economy setting is nice for different jobs but the stobe is a little nauseating with how fast it flashes. Not only is this a nice, light and compact headlamp it looks great too.....Not that the fish care! Hahaha. I would recommend this light for any outdoor enthusiast.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, a great middle of the market headlamp
Review 16 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Courtenay B.C.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

Date:September 4, 2010
It lights your way just as you would expect it to. No problems so far.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 17 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great light, but it died

Date:August 31, 2010
It could be my fault, but this thing died on me after about 3 years of modest to frequent use but it never was drenched or abused. I would expect it to last longer, much longer, than that.
It was a good headlight- small, light, and bright. I wish it were still working. I opted to buy a Black Diamond this time around. Maybe it will last longer.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Unreliable
Review 18 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON.
Age: 25-34
Gender: male

Great headlamp. Just too expensive.

Date:June 9, 2010
This is a solid headlamp. It's bright and the light travels a long distance. It's also comfortable on the forehead. The night vision beam also came handy, as I was in a tent with 5 other people and had to find something while everyone else was sleeping.
My only complaint is that it is a bit on the expensive side, and if you just want a good, solid headlamp that does the regular stuff, you can get something in the $20-40 range that. Sure, the battery might not last as long or the light might not travel as far, or there might not be a night vision or flashing option, but it'll be good enough.
Pros: Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 19 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Greater Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Refreshing quality

Date:April 6, 2010
About a week before I bought the lamp under review, I had bought a similar product in Can. Tire: sad, flimsy, made-in-China travesty. But cheap, yes.
Tikka 2 Headlamp, on the contrary, is a blessing. It's nice to hold. It's pure quality. And to think: it's not just great as an object, it's useful too. This lamp is what darkness was created for. Worth every penny, seriously.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 20 for Petzl Tikka 2 Headlamp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

makes an excellent cycling helmet light!

Date:March 22, 2010
I like this headlight so much I purchased a second one to mount on my bike helmet. Just use a velcro strap through the helmet vents. See attached photo. Works fantastic.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 2 next>>