Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Timex or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Timex Ironman Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Timex Ironman Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size

Not intimidating to use, for folks wanting a basic heart rate monitor for general fitness. This is the low-profile mid-size version.
Average Member Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Review 1 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

good value for a heart rate monitor

Date:February 2, 2012
I have this heart rate monitor used this heart rate monitor for a few months until I left it at my parent's house over Christmas.
This is the second brand of heart rate monitor I have used. I loved the watch part. Off all the fitness watches I have- I love this one the best. It was so comfortable and it didn't scream I was wearing a heart rate monitor watch. That was the best part of it. It does all of the same things that a Timex Ironman watch will do which made me love it more!
I have used polar heart rate monitor over the years. I don't find timex's chest strap to be as comfortable as the polar strap. I did like the idea that you could change the battery on it but I was leary of taking it swimming for fear it would leak.
There are programing things about the Heart Monitor I like and dislike. I liked that you could find the heart rate and then press start for a timer. I just wish timex would put start and stop on the same button. I love the programable zones but I personally could live without the calorie counter. I know that there are fitness programs out there that the calorie counter is helpful. It was off on a few runs by a lot.
This is a great heart rate monitor and a great price for one overall. I would recommend to a friend.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: Flimsy
Review 2 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto

not so waterproof

Date:November 15, 2011
This product works excellently. I've had it about 2 years and use it at least 5 x's a week. The ultimate death of this watch came in the form of a simple rainstorm. Mine was not waterproof.
Pros: Good Value
Review 3 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Road Trainer

Date:November 5, 2011
My husband bought this item for me and I have loved it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value
Review 4 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist

Great HR monitor/watch

Date:July 2, 2011
Absolutely love this product. This is my second one and wouldn't have been buying a second except my daughter lost my watch! Otherwise it lasts forever. I wear my watch everyday and the chest strap at least 5 times a week.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 5 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great value and easy to use

Date:November 29, 2010
I bought this watch for my wife and have also used it. We both like it a lot. Coming from the regular Timex Ironman watches, this one works the same for the timing/split/alarm functionality, so it was an easy change. Looked at some of the other HR watches at MEC and found these features to be lacking or not intuitive.
The HR monitor part is easy to set up and the instructions are good. Overall an excellent product.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 6 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Good purchase strap is easy to break

Date:September 3, 2010
The price is good for a heart rate monitor. It was accurate for the most part and the reception was great. The draw backs however were that the strap on the watch is extremely thin and easy to tear. Mine didn't even make it past the 4 month mark. It is a great watch if you won't bring it out for activities that will give it a beating.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: Flimsy
Review 7 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

Date:June 11, 2010
I like the time/pulse display option and the signal from the transmitter is rarely interupted by flapping fabric during windy training rides
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Disappointed: Sensor contacts corroded in 3 months

Date:August 26, 2009
I was very disappointed with the this purchase. This was my second Timex HRM and my last one lasted two years. This one's transmitter lasted only three months. The battery compartment is poorly built and sweat enters the compartment, corrodes the contacts, and renders the HRM useless. Mine was never used underwater - just daily gym use. And you can't just buy a transmitter/sensor. I wouldn't chance buying a Timex HRM again.
Cons: Heavy, Poorly Built
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
MEC MEMBER

Good product

Date:May 29, 2009
The watch & heart monitor work exactly as they are supposed to, seems accurate & with a little time, easy to use. The only drawback is the size - a little smaller would be nice. Not a huge issue.
Pros: Comfortable, Tough, Lightweight
Cons: Bulky
1 of 1 found this review helpful.