Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop 3 Season Tents or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC Twin Peaks Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC Twin Peaks Tent

Like pushing the boundaries of spring and fall? Or travelling where the weather goes from balmy to blustery in a matter of hours? With two battened vents, a zip panel in the canopy, a back door, and a large front door with vestibule, the Twin Peaks opens up for the airy experience when Mother Nature smiles. When things go sideways (like the wind and/or rain), you can batten down and snuggle up.
Average Member Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Twin Peaks Tent
Review 1 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo, ON
MEC MEMBER

Sturdy, Light, A Bit Tight

Date:August 11, 2011
I am quite happy with my Twin Peaks tent, and have recommended it to others. I've used it for two years now and it has been great. However, as a 2 man tent it is quite tight in both length and width (I'm 5'9" tall), so you have to weigh your priorities. It is quite light and packs down rather small for a tent with such a robust floor. I use the Twin Peaks as a spacious 1 person tent when traveling solo, for both sea kayaking & canoeing trips, and recently took it on a 2 week Lake Superior solo kayak trip with great success. However, I use the Wanderer 2 as my 2 person tent. It is a bit heavier, but I'm a paddler, not a backpacker, and I find the extra space worth the weight when sharing the tent with someone else.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: length & width about 10cm too small
Review 2 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Banff
MEC MEMBER

POOR design

Date:January 18, 2011
Sad to see that MEC is more interested in making a million tents poorly rather than making a few well. I have used a Tarn 2 for years and LOVED it. I bought the Twin Peaks for winter camping since the Tarn 2 isn't warm enough with all of its mesh, but it's a huge DISAPPOINTMENT!
The Twin Peaks tent is designed SOO badly, I don't even know where to begin.....
1.The floor is cut WRONG, as in there's a huge ridge across it where the 3rd pole tensions the tent body. Not to mention that floor nearest the large vestibule gets pulled up and off the ground, again, because it's sized/cut WRONG......poor design.
2.The fly on the sides of the tent between the 3rd pole and the cross pole sags onto the tent body...as in your tent WILL get wet when it rains. There's no way to tension this part of the fly.....poor design
3.On the subject of the fly, it doesn't come ALL the way down to the ground....poor design.
4.Takes a long time to set up and is a little unnecessarily complicated. Seriously, I can have my Tarn 2 up in just a couple minutes.
5.The tab nearest the zipper for tensioning the large vestiblue should be on the other side of the zipper. That way if it's raining you can get in UNDER the vestiblue without getting everything else in the vestibule wet....poor design.
6.The fly on the sides between the cross poles sags onto the tent body and MUST be tensinoed out. Again, if the fly were sized/cut properly, this would be unnecessary....poor design.
7.Lengthwise, this tent needs a few more inches. At 5'11" the foot and head of my sleeping bag is going to pressed HARD against the tent body, which will equal a wet sleeping bag....not what you want to happen to you down while you're winter camping an icefield.....poor design.
I love MEC for a LOT of reasons, but this tent makes me wonder if they employ any gear testers......
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:October 30, 2010
Spent may long in a wet snow filled windy in Hinton Alberta. This tent shed the wind, stayed exceptionally warm and dry the whole 4 days of miserable spring weather. When it does actually get hot out in mid-summer, you stay pretty comfortable and dry in heavy summer rain. The only downsides I found was it was a little on the small side for a two person and a small gear-loft hangs a little on the low side.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: fernie, bc

Excellence

Date:July 3, 2010
Having spent a good part of the last 20 years in tents I knew exactly what I wanted when my last one finally crapped out. This little guy seemed to fit the bill and there have been no disappointments whatsoever. After 48 hours of constant rain the body of the tent has remained bone dry, nothing at all has made it past the fly... extraordinary. You should probably just get it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: coastal range british columbia
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Multi purpose shelter

Date:February 7, 2010
Got the twin peaks tent to begin as a three season tent for kayaking and backpacking trips, and with its performance ive quickly bumped it into my ski touring arsenal. This tent is RUGGED. super easy to set up, and was effective even on my last ski touring trip into the duffey lake area. Temps below -15c, and over 20 cm of fresh snow. This tent has withstood all ive thrown at it and i would reccomend it to anyone looking for a mid size two person tent with serious objectives at hand.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great value all round

Date:October 19, 2009
I'm new to tenting and in a Scout group that already has 4-5 MEC Wanderer 2's and wanted something of similar value but brighter.
I have now used this tent in 2 October overnights around Calgary with both rain and snow with no leaks (wind or water). My first use of this tent was at a Scout Jamboree in Pincher Creek in July where it rained 5-10 cm in 2 days. I had sealed the seam stress points and got no leaks (zero) into the tent anywhere!The tent is easy to put up and take down. Size is great for me at 5'9" and my gear. Vestibule is a little small for pack but great for boots etc. I would recommend the Wanderer if you really want a 2 person with vestibule room for 2 packs. Don't bother shopping anywhere else, it's this tent or the MEC Wanderer for a 2 person tent. Spend the $10 for the footprint.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: A little small
Review 7 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver Island, B.C.
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Easy and compact

Date:August 27, 2009
Easy to put up, took less than five minutes.
Roomy enough for two smaller people with luxury sleep mats inside.
Good venting at the top of the tent makes sleeping comfortable not too hot!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 8 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto. ON

excellent

Date:August 12, 2009
I've taken this tent to such different places as Patagonia, Lake Superior and others and I must say I'm still surprised at its effectiveness and performance in both rainy and windy conditions. For being a 3 (and a half) season tent its worth every single dollar I spent in it. Excellent balance between quality and price.
Absolutely recommendable!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 9 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Grat value, great product

Date:July 7, 2009
A great tent ... seams and stitches are well constructed, zippers are good quality,front vestibule opens nicely and does not allow rain or dew to drip into the tent, doors and roof vents allow for great circulation and yet you can close them for those chilly nights. Only downfall ... just enough room for two smaller people.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: small floor area
Review 10 for Twin Peaks Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Incredible

Date:June 9, 2009
Taken this tent into the Canadian Rockies with 3 feet of snow at altitude. No condensation Super fast set up. Very warm with all the panels zipped up. Took it to Elk Island National Park in 20 degree weather and no condensation with the panels unzipped. Other trips to but just to give some perspective on its spectrum of capability it is great. Only down side is that the bag it comes with is rather bulky so me and my friend just split the tent into the bag from his Tarn 3 and the bag from this Twin Peaks so that we each carry half. I'd say get a better compression sack to pack this tent far. Other than that best tent I've ever slept in.
Pros: Sturdy, Waterproof, Fly Works Well, Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
1 of 1 found this review helpful.