Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Waterproof Breathables or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)

Slip on this jacket for a backpacking weekend, for a day hike, or just a soul-restoring stroll after work. It delivers the waterproof-breathable comfort of 2-layer GORE-TEX® and won't break your wallet. The fit is stylish, yet roomy enough for insulating layers beneath. A supple polyester lining makes the Monsoon soft and quiet, without the cardboardy feel often found on inexpensive waterproof-breathables.
Average Member Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Review 1 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Halifax

Great jacket but...

Date:April 24, 2012
The only but I have with this jacket is the 2 front pockets. I like to walk with my hands in my pockets but the openings are not suiteable for this.
Either have the pocket openings at an angle or maybe have a separate opening from the side maybe lined with fleece for cooler days. A great example for this is the Canadian military jacket.
Otherwise, a great jacket. I love the hood and in 2 months had no issues with zipper!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great jacket

Date:April 18, 2012
I bought this jacket after not having much luck with the one-ply coat in the wind and rain. As a pedestrian commuter in Halifax I need protection from both for what seems like six months of the year.
I appreciate the slightly longer cut of this jacket which adds a bit of protections and allows for larger front pockets. I'm always amazed at the amount of stuff I can jam in them in a pinch. The jacket itself is comfortable and fits well, I'll even go so far as to say, that on me anyway, it's cozy. I also like the ability to zip it all the way up to my nose and the hood is very adjustable and provides great coverage. When it's raining and windy I zip myself up into this jacket, pull the hood down tight and I'm into my own little cocoon.
There is plenty of storage room in this jacket as well. As I mentioned, the front pockets are quite large and have large flaps to prevent the heavier rainfall from creating a lake inside them. I really like the zippered front pocket that's up higher on the chest, it allows me to put my phone and wallet in there within easy reach.
It didn't take long for me to be able to test the jacket's protection (late winter in the north Atlantic!) and I'm pleased to say it held up very well. I arrived home warm and dry and happy I made the investment in this jacket.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
MEC MEMBER

zipper problems

Date:April 15, 2012
Great jacket in terms of general comfort and breathability – but as mentioned by others in this review thread – there's a distinct lack of quality with some of MEC's zippers these days. I returned the first Monsoon I bought recently, thinking that the sticking, hard-to-connect zipper was just a manufacturing fault – only to find that the replacement jacket had the same problem.
To make matters worse, the Trek fleece vest I purchased at the same time also had a zipper problem: it comes undone at the bottom and splits open upward on a consistent basis.
This is definitely something you folks should look into and correct as it is the sort of important detail in an otherwise fine product that just annoys and disappoints. Your standard and 2-way zips have always worked well in the past and I'd like to think that they will again.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: fix your zipper problems
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Value in a Practical Jacket

Date:February 25, 2012
I had a "Monsoon 1" that I bought in 1993 and wore until 1999. That jacket went everywhere with me from commuting to and from UVic on several rainy winters, to hiking in Peru and Nepal, and ski touring in the Rockies. It finally ripped at the shoulder and I replaced it with another great MEC jacket that lasted from 1999 to 2008, so on average I've gotten 6-7 years of hard use out of each of the two MEC jackets I've owned. I shelled out 3x the price of the new Monsoon for another "top quality brand" jacket in 2008 and it lasted just three years before de-laminating and tearing under much less harsh usage.
Now I've got the Monsoon2 while waiting to see if the "top quality brand" stands by their manufacturing defect warranty. Still the best jackets you can get and the price is right.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: wateloo,on
Gender: male

Date:December 13, 2011
Great long length water repellent
and windbreaker jacket
with an excellent hood. The two way zipper is a must.
Except that the hip size is a little snug. Once I put gloves in the pockets, then I have to leave the zipper undone at the bottom.
Maybe a larger size would have been better.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: tight fit at hips
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Again, zipper frustrations

Date:December 9, 2011
The Monsoon performed well in late September while fly fishing the Bow River throughout a wet afternoon, keeping core body heat in and wind/rain out.
However, had I been caught in the rain and forced to retrieve the Monsoon from my pack and quickly throw it over my shoulders, I likely would have become quite soaked. The front zipper always jams as soon as the two bottom pieces are joined (and similarly when unzipping) - it requires a vigorous struggle with much yanking and cursing before the zipper cooperates. I'm afraid that it won't last long with such struggles.
This is the third MEC product that I've purchased since the summer that has poor zipper performance. I can only surmise that this is a systemic issue with MEC apparel. If MEC can improve this manufacturing glitch, I would be more inclined to give MEC products two thumbs up. But given the current state, MEC apparel is definitely off my radar.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: dysfunctional zipper
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Charlottetown, PEi
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Excellent all-around jacket

Date:December 2, 2011
I wear one jacket (with fleece vest or jacket as appropriate to the weather conditions) all year round, and have worn more than one completely out. This jacket is an excellent replacement for my previous one, with nice large pockets, an adjustable hood that works well even under a bike helmet, and keeps me warm and dry under the most trying conditions. I have had no problem at all with the main zipper,. I have had two-way zippers since I bought my first waterproof/breathable jacket , and they do take a bit of getting used to lining up correctly. Overall I'm very pleased with the quality and value for money, and feel sure that this jacket will serve me well for many years to come. I just hope something similar is available when it is finally time to replace it.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Great Value

Date:November 18, 2011
I purchased this jacket primarily because of the great price and because it fit. Many 3X jackets fit like a XL so I was happy this was cut large. The hood is cut large and offers good protection as does the elastic cuffs on the sleeves .Fit and finish are first rate, however breathability is only so-so. What this jacket really needs are some vents under the arm to allow for vapor release. Other than that one criticism I would recommend this product
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
MEC Goretex Jacket
Pros: Comfortable, ample sizing
Cons: Unbreathable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Awesome Jacket

Date:November 5, 2011
My Monsoon jacket performed wonderfully on a recent European cycling trip. We had wind, rain and misty days, but with a soft shell as a liner I had all the jacket I needed. Would have preferred more color choice but that seems like nitpicking, a great jacket.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 10 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

An excellent rain jacket

Date:November 5, 2011
Having temporarily lost my Royal Robbins lightweight rain jacket I was constrained to buy a new one. I tried a number of other makes in nearby outdoors stores but found them far too expensive. In the end I chose a medium-weight Goretex MEC item that has turned out to be both warm and waterproof. It survived downpours AND freezing winds in Scotland. And, importantly, it sports a proper hood.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: NONE
Review 11 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Georgetown, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Nice-looking jacket that does the job.

Date:October 3, 2011
It's a sharp-looking jacket. Waterproof-breathables are not always the sharpest-looking things, and some of them can make you look a bit like a fisherman... but this is above average as far as looks go. The picture on the website does not do it full justice.
Wearing it in a couple of downpours, the water beaded nicely such that I just had to shake it off when I was done for the day, and I was dry inside from outside influence.
It is a rather large jacket in any size -- the hem comes well below the waist by design. It's not a particularly light jacket, nor does it compress that well... but that's not why I bought it.
The hood keeps the rain away, but a side effect of this is that you have tunnel vision and your visibility is limited. Not much you can do about that. I did have a few aches from the hood pulling down on the top of my head when I was wearing it with a pack but I don't know if this is a fault of the jacket. The hood seems good.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: Bulky
Review 12 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Barrie Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Jacket!

Date:August 28, 2011
This jacket is fantastic! It's well worth the price and then some! Love the length and the pockets. Very water repellant and breathable. Usable in three seasons and looks sharp to boot! What would make this jacket perfect is underarm zips. Compared to jackets costing much more, the Monsoon jacket is a fantastic choice.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Great length, Good pockets
Cons: no pit zips!
Review 13 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Halifax, NS

Proportionally right, but overall size runs large

Date:June 21, 2011
I normally wear a medium, but I am most comfortable in a size small in this jacket. Other than that, this is a great coat - It's the most money I've ever spent on a general purpose rain coat, but it's also the best one I've ever had. That's important as I live in a coastal city - lots of rain all year round!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 14 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels long
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: In the woods someplace
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Very good in every important way.

Date:June 13, 2011
Seriously. All the complaints about the zipper are foolish.
This is not a pair of jeans. If you make even a modest effort to ensure that the male end of the zipper is well seated in the female end, there is no problem.
The coat is quality workmanship, construction and design throughout. No question that this thing will keep you dry.
I got mine in black. It is nice enough (when it does not smell of smoke from a fire) to wear to work.
My only (minor) complaints are these:
1) the sleeves are long. problem solved by tightening up the wrist velcro so not a big deal.
2) the hood is large (really this is a positive is horrible weather but for just some modest rain it is a bit of a pain.
3) the pockets are smaller than my prior gortex coat.
Overall, I am thrilled with the coat. I rated it a 5 because it is better than a 4 but, given my few minor concerns, it really should be a 4.5,
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Bath, England, U.K.
Age: over 55
Gender: male

Good Kit!

Date:June 12, 2011
I was in Winnipeg, first time ever, from U.K., visiting city and prairies. Great heat, followed by immoderate rain, then icy blizzards. Had left waterproof behind: bought Monsoon 2: almost perfect! excellent top layer, completely wind and water - proof. If Winnipeg were Heaven it would be even lighter and fold up even smaller. Await miracle....
 
My Product Recommendations
MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
4.3 out of 531 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Slightly Bulky
Review 16 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Nova Scotia
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Outdoor rain wear

Date:June 11, 2011
Very comfortable and great quality.
I plan on having this jacket for a very long time.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 17 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Victoria BC
MEC MEMBER

excellent jacket ruined by poor zipper

Date:April 4, 2011
I had high hopes for this jacket. It is very reasonably priced for a breathable, came in a "small, tall" size which was a good fit, lightweight but very windproof and warm, plenty of well-thought-out storage. But its single greatest failing is the cr*ppy zipper. It has two nesting parts for upper and lower closing. But they don't match perfectly and are extremely hard to align - at home, never mind when out in the cold & wet.. By day 2 the zipper web was already showing signs of wear.
And it was NOT just a single bad zipper. My wife purchased the women's model and had exactly the same problem.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: cr*ppy zip
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Nova Scotia
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

great coat, poor zipper

Date:January 4, 2011
I purchased this jacket and it is a super Gore-tex item that really does what it's supposed to which is cut the wind and keep out the rain. The coat is long enough for me - even with very long arms, and at 6'2" tall.
The only issue I have is, as with some others, the main zipper stopped working. It was always a bit fussy as others said (nothing to do with my dexterity - it is an alignment problem or something), and finally the female piece got so it would go right through and not mate to allow closure. I have returned the jacket, and MEC says they will either repair or replace it, which is super - but I can't for the life of me figure out why a good YKK zipper on an otherwise great garment simply doesn't work? I hope the new/repaired one comes back with a better one.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: zipper is difficult and fails
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Mountain Equipment Co-op:By AuroreBuying and designApril 4, 2011
With regards to the Monsoon 2 jacket, the zipper is actually a fairly standard size for this type of garment, and as is mentioned in some of the reviews, the YKK brand is good quality. It would be hard to improve on it by making a switch. The only differentiating feature on this zipper is that it is a two way zipper, which we often add to longer jackets so that the bottom can be undone for greater mobility. This added feature is sometimes more difficult to manage, and requires some fiddling to line up the sliders.
There hasn’t been any significant return issue on these jackets until now. The in-store Member Service teams have reported similar zipper inquiries and were generally able to solve them on the spot by showing how to zip-up the jacket properly, no fix necessary.

MEC takes quality and choice of raw materials very seriously, and we choose fabric and hardware to meet the end use requirement. If for some reason due to manufacture or raw material quality there is a shortfall in expectations or failure, we will honour our guarantee.

At the Service Centre, we have just put together this short video about how to use double-zippers. I hope this will help. http://bit.ly/e7sEwF

Please feel free to call us if you have any further questions or concerns : 1.800.663.2667.
Review 19 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
By:
Location: Caledon, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Fabulous Jacket

Date:December 30, 2010
I spend a great deal of time in cities all over the world and have tried many jackets to deal with moisture and cool conditions while wandering around. This jacket is the one!! It packs well, has numerous usable pockets, an outstanding hood and is very warm with a sweater or fleece. I am tall and always have trouble finding jackets with long enough arms, once again this coat is perfect with great arm length. I recommend this product without any reservations.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 20 for MEC Monsoon Jacket 2 (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: victoria, bc

Date:November 26, 2010
The zipper is small and cheap; very difficult to get started. I may return the jacket because of it.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Well made
Cons: Zipper
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>