Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Women's Cycling Clothing or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)

MEC MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)

Don't keep this Ace up your sleeve, but under your favourite shorts or pants. The moisture-wicking, stretchy fabric, flat-locked seams and chamois will enhance your riding comfort when worn under mountain bike shorts, jeans or commuting trousers.
Average Member Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Member Reviews for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Review 1 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Perfect for moderate use

Date:November 15, 2013
This was purchased for moderate length, recreational bike rides. Definitely makes a day spent on a bike more comfortable.
They're much less padding than the 'serious' bike shorts and can be camouflaged by a pair of loose pants or a skirt.
The price point is excellent. I wasn't willing to spend a large amount of money for the rare day of cycling.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 2 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Two uses for these shorts

Date:April 26, 2013
I have had a pair (or a few) of these shorts through a couple of design changes. Loved them on the bike when I was commuting regularly 20 years ago as I could wear them under anything including office clothes.
When I started paddling on a dragon boat team in 2006 it took me only one day on the boat to realize that these were a necessity. Great for paddling in all weather - they don't mind getting wet and getting washed several times a week after practices and races. They provide padding in just the right places, exactly where I sit on the bike too.
I've recommended them to many other paddlers, as much for the reasonable price as anything else.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 3 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: London, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Date:April 22, 2013
Great product to be worn under anything you are using this product for. I cycle and dragonboat and these liners work well under any gear I am wearing. Affordable price to have a few on hand.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 4 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Cycling Liner Shorts

Date:February 26, 2013
These shorts fit as they should, are true-to-size and not bulky. They are great to wear under casual shorts so you can get a comfortable ride to your destination and have regular clothes when you arrive without having to pack extras. Excellent choice for under the MEC Quarter Knickers.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 5 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
By:
Location: southern Ontario
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

great for short rides or spin class

Date:February 19, 2013
Great cycling short can be worn under any type of clothing. Recommended for shorter rides or exercise classes. Shorts are comfortable and do what they were intended to do.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 6 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Collingwood, On.

Very comfy bike liner shorts

Date:February 17, 2013
They're light ,not too long and very comfortable. I'd recommend them for warm weather riding.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 7 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Great starter cycling shorts

Date:February 17, 2013
Great for wearing under other desired work out clothes, and if you are not ready to commit to more expensive shorts. Great for shorter rides, < 50km.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, not too bulky
Review 8 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Definitely happy

Date:February 17, 2013
These shorts are all I expected and more. They are very comfortable and fit under any of my other workout clothing so that I can wear either pants or shorts while riding my bike. I wear them while riding my indoor and outdoor bike, one of the best purchases I've ever made.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 9 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Comox, BC

Date:February 17, 2013
These shorts are comfortable. They work great as a base layer.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 10 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female

Great deal

Date:November 8, 2011
I'm just getting into roadbiking and found I definitely needed some shorts but was not ready to commit to pricey, bulky shorts. I've taken these shorts out several times on 2 hour rides and think they work great for that length. However, on longer rides, I start thinking about buying a thicker pair.
Pros: Breathable, great commuting shorts
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Mississauga, On
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great purchase

Date:November 7, 2011
I am taking a spinning class at the gym and found the seat of the bike rather uncomfortable. So I got these liner shorts so I could wear under my work out pants.
Pretty good....If you were to bike ride I would suggest that these are for short rides only.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Scarborough, OM
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great purchase - real butt saver!

Date:November 6, 2011
I started biking 20 km to work and 20 km back this year...when I started I owned only one pair of bike shorts, so obviously could not wear them day after day. These liner shorts were the right product for me. I now can wear any of my shorts and they don't add any unnecessary bulk...if you know what I mean!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 13 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Loved the comfort

Date:November 5, 2011
I bought these shorts for my 35 minute bike ride commute and they are great. Very comfortable and I like that I wear these under my regular shorts, so I still have pockets for kleenex and keys.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: no cons
Review 14 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

So much for 'touring shorts'

Date:November 5, 2011
I've been told I'm too old to ride with lycra shorts.
In the past, I've ridden with 'touring shorts', which look like street shorts, but a designed with a built-in chamois, but they seem to have disappeared from the market.
These liner shorts do an admirable job as 'the new kid on the block'. You can wear them under anything, from lycra to dress pants, and they work well.
Easy to wash and dry, and comfortable to wear. I still get a sore butt after 50 km, but I don't blame it on the liners.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 15 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately short
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Falmouth, NS
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great comfort

Date:November 5, 2011
These shorts are not too bulky under my street clothes and enhance my biking experience. Comfortable for longer rides. Never go without them now.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 16 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Sylvan Lake, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female

Date:August 28, 2011
Great liner shorts to wear under tights on colder days!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 17 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Burlington, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Don't leave home without 'em!

Date:June 15, 2011
I LOVE these shorts! I am new to cycling, and bought them to wear under my pants when riding. I have never had an issue with chafing or discomfort. The elastics at the bottom of the legs is a wee bit tight on my "womanly thighs" but they don't ride up. I have recommended these shorts several times, and would never get on my bike again without them. A great buy!
Pros: Comfortable, no added bulk under tight pants
Review 18 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Canmore, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

comfortable and breathable

Date:June 14, 2011
These are a great lighweight liner for shorter rides and warmer weather. The material is silky and light and comfortable and the bands don't pinch your hips or thighs like some liners ! My only suggestion to make these super stellar in future is a better waist band which is wider and flatter for more comfortable layering.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 19 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Comfort for the long ride!

Date:June 11, 2011
I love my padded liners. They fit great and feel wonderful. No more sore derriere!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 20 for MEC Ace Cycling Liner Shorts (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Currieburg, NB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great Value

Date:October 30, 2010
These shorts are an excellent value for your money. They do run a little small, so you may want to order a size up.
1 2 next>>