Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Traction Devices or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Kahtoola Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device

Kahtoola Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device

Grippy, durable, slip-on traction systems, with strategically placed stainless steel spikes connected to a dynamic flex-chain with tough elastomer shoe harnesses. The spike design is excellent for walking, hiking, or running on packed snow, and provides excellent traction on ice.
Average Member Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
61 out of 64(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Member Reviews for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Review 61 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
MEC MEMBER

Best Traction Ever!

Date:December 28, 2009
I had bought these in the fall and hadn't used them until our first freezing rain storm. The sidewalks & roads were coated with thick ice. I put these on and didn't notice the ice at all, running or walking. I felt invincible. These things are tough and everything they advertise. I felt like I could scale a wall of ice. Well worth the money!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, awesome traction
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Airdrie,AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Grippage

Date:December 10, 2009
Used these just the other day as we haven't really had winter yet ..until now. I found them really helpful in deep snow where traction is usually lost even with a heavy lugged boot. Walking on hard surfaces ie: side walks is a little like walking on ball bearings so once they ice up a bit these units will be in their element. Value wise..a little expensive but this ounce of prevention is certainly worth it. I was impressed on how well they fit to my hiking boots. No straps is a plus.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Reliable
Review 63 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: scarborough, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

I felt like spiderman!

Date:December 4, 2009
I have only used them once on the icy peaks in the Lake Placid region. They performed very well and are well worth the money. The key is to get the RIGHT size for your boot! You want them tight and not have the chains loose at all.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Flimsy
Review 64 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Newfoundland
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Product

Date:July 30, 2009
I highly recommend this product for anyone that has to deal with icy conditions. I've worn them winter hiking on the East Coast Trail and was amazed at how well they performed on icy hills. They are light enough that I kept them in my pack for all my winter activities incase the need arose to use them. They are easy to put on and take off. They are a little pricey, but worth the extra cash!
Pros: Comfortable
Review 65 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, Alberta
MEC MEMBER

Fantastic performing product

Date:May 3, 2009
I do not want to take any risks while walking on top of snow and ice. These are the best safety investment you can make if you like to walk with snow on top of ice or slushy snow or fresh snow or just pure ice. They're super easy to get on and off and fit like a glove. I had full confidence this past winter in all kinds of Alberta, Canada conditions. I highly recommend this product. They may cost a bit more than other similar products but are well worth the money in terms of added safety and comfort.
Mona Belcher
Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, Stable, Durable
Review 66 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingston. ON
MEC MEMBER

An excellent product

Date:April 30, 2009
These are expensive but worth every cent. I bought a pair for myself and liked them so much that I bought another pair for my wife. She loves them too. We both had other varieties previously and weren't impressed.
They go on easily. They stay on until you want them off and then they come off easily. They're rugged. You can walk on glare ice up and down hills like you're on dry pavement. I didn't have any trouble with them over granite either.
Pros: Stable, Great Traction, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Review 67 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
MEC MEMBER

Excellent grippers

Date:April 14, 2009
Great for gripping onto icy and snow alike on flat and steep surfaces. Even great for those slippery and muddy days! I always keep them clipped onto my pack just in case. Light enough to carry around. Only downside is they're a bit wobbly to walk on when it comes to flat hard surfaces...duh. But easy enough to take on and off that it's not really a problem.
Pros: Water Resistant, Stable, Durable, Comfortable, Great Traction
Review 68 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingston, NB
MEC MEMBER

Excellent product

Date:March 27, 2009
Me and my wife are very happy with the Microspikes - they give excellent traction on our icy, hilly driveway.
Pros: Durable, Water Resistant, Stable, Comfortable, Great Traction
Review 69 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver,BC
MEC MEMBER

a must have for winter trail hiking

Date:March 13, 2009
I hike Grouse Grind in Vancouver 6 times a week, and from November to April I use Microspikes pretty much every time. They are light, easy to put on and take off, and fit pretty much any shoe. Microspikes provide excellent traction on snow and ice even on steeper parts of the trail. A must have for winter trail hikes.
Pros: Great Traction, Comfortable
Review 70 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver, BC
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Great product. Serves its purpose

Date:March 10, 2009
Great product. It does what it's supposed to do. Little heavy to carry it (when not being worn). Very easy to slip on/off
Pros: Installation, Great Traction, Durable, Stable
Cons: Heavy
Review 71 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
MEC MEMBER

Easy to install, good traction.

Date:March 8, 2009
Adapts well to shoes and boots.
Pros: Great Traction
Review 72 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: St John's NL
MEC MEMBER

Excellent product

Date:March 6, 2009
It fits perfectly to your boots and provides great traction even on very slippery ice.
Pros: Stable, Comfortable, Water Resistant, Durable, Great Traction
Review 73 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: squamish,b.c.canada
MEC MEMBER

great product

Date:March 6, 2009
awesome traction on ice.
Pros: Stable, Comfortable, Great Traction
Review 74 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver
MEC MEMBER

The best pull-on grips I've ever used

Date:March 6, 2009
I use these for hiking in icy conditions, anywhere I need safe traction. They are excellent. Vastly superior to the YakTrak kind of thing.
Pros: Stable, Great Traction, Easy to put on, Durable, Comfortable
Review 75 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
MEC MEMBER

AWESOME!

Date:March 6, 2009
These are awesome because they can fit ANYTHING from runners to hiking boots. They are light and if you run into powder snow can easily be removed and hooked onto your belt loop with a caribbeaner
Pros: Water Resistant, Nice grip, Stable, Great Traction, Comfortable, Grabs onto ICE, Durable
Review 76 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kamloops BC
MEC MEMBER

i would buy this over and over again

Date:March 5, 2009
before discovering the Microspikes i would use up to 3 pairs of 'yaktrax' per season.This product is easy to use, as soon as you put them on you feel confident with the amazing traction you have on icy surfaces. Run, hike, walk! Nothing stops me now...
Pros: Great Traction, Durable
Review 77 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Dundas
MEC MEMBER

Wow

Date:February 27, 2009
These things grip hard ice like velcro! The rubber "Stabilicers" are good for city sidewalks but moved around so much on trail hiking that the spikes ended up where they weren't effective. For [$] seems to me they're great insurance against jarred lumbar regions and falls and the ensuing fracures. If you're doing trails and backcountry walking don't hesitate to spend the bucks! Easy to put on and surprisingly comfortable too.
Pros: Great Traction, Easy to don, Safe, Stable, Water Resistant, Comfortable
Review 78 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Brentwood Bay BC
MEC MEMBER

Outstanding!

Date:February 11, 2009
My girlfriend and I were going to hit the Juan de Fuca Trail in January. The trail usually has a lot of slippery logs to contend with and it had snowed a lot recently so we were looking for a traction solution. We wore our boots to the store and tried these spikes on. They fit larger than we liked so we each went down a size and found they fit nice and snug. We hit the trail that night in snowy conditions and boy, were we glad to have them! These things were so easy to use; slipping on and off with no hassle and no finicky adjustments. They were excellent on snow, ice, slippery logs and muddy hillsides. They gave us the confidence and ability to move much quicker on the trail. An excellent product! One note of caution, they are dangerous on smooth stone, but they are so fast to remove and put on again that it wasn't a problem when we hit those sections. Worth every penny.
Pros: Great Traction, Easy to Use, Stable
Review 79 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burlington Ontario
MEC MEMBER

Confidence returns!

Date:February 2, 2009
I walk to work all year long, and slipped on a sheer icy sidewalk and broke my wrist. My son gave me these for Christmas, and now I can walk anywhere with confidence. Be careful on indoor non-carpeted surfaces! I love them! They've been great in our exceptionally snowy and cold winter.
Pros: Great Traction, Durable, Comfortable, Water Resistant, Stable
Cons: Be careful on non-snow or
Review 80 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta, Canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Life saver on the ice

Date:January 31, 2009
My wife and I each bought a pair of MICROspikes and are very happy with their performance. The traction is unbelievable! Saves a lot of stress on your lower back by preventing your feet from sliding on each icy step.
Pros: Stable, Durable, Comfortable, Great Traction
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>