Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Traction Devices or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Kahtoola Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device

Kahtoola Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device

Grippy, durable, slip-on traction systems, with strategically placed stainless steel spikes connected to a dynamic flex-chain with tough elastomer shoe harnesses. The spike design is excellent for walking, hiking, or running on packed snow, and provides excellent traction on ice.
Average Member Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
61 out of 64(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Member Reviews for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Review 21 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Fort St John, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Love them!

Date:March 10, 2012
Glad I read the reviews. I can walk up virtually ANY hill this winter and its been icy. Can't say enough good about them! The price did seem a little high but I'm glad I bought them.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 22 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

Date:March 10, 2012
This is perfect for when the amount of snow on the trail isn't sufficient for snowshoe running, but too much without traction device. Used it to run on packed snow, and over thick chunky ice on east coast trails, and felt real sure footed. Perfect product for winter running. The fit was likewise perfect even though my feet size was at the margin of the range at Large for a size 11.5 shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: foothills of the rockies
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great value

Date:March 10, 2012
These are the greatest traction devices ever. They grip ice better than the coil and small spike traction footwear. They also stay on the boot better, and I haven't lost one yet. We have been wearing them for the past two winters, and they show no signs of wearing out. We had to replace the other devices at least once/season. The only time these micro spikes are a bit of an issue is when you are on a thin layer of ice with no snow cover. They are a bit wobbly then, but if you are on thick ice and/or have snow cover, there is nothing better on the market that we've found so far.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 24 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Date:March 10, 2012
I use these for running to work - every day of the winter when I am not biking. And the bike path that I run on can be just pure ice. And these flex-chains are easy and quick to put on my running shoes, and the grip that I get on ice and snow is amazing. Before I got these, I would slow down to a walk or crawl on ice. Now, I can run just like on pavement. And when you hit the pavement, taking off is quick and easy. This is a great product - easy to put on, provides superior traction on snow and ice. Highly recommend these. And they are really easy to transport.
Pros: Easy To Put On And Take Off, easy to transport when not in use, superb traction on any surface like ice or snow
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Okanagan, B.C.

Just buy them!

Date:March 10, 2012
After years of looking for a good traction device, we have found them! Absolutely worth the cost for effectiveness and durability. Wet snow will clump underfoot at times, but otherwise the winter walker's best buy!
Pros: Effective
Cons: snow clumps
Review 26 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vernon, BC
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Best traction device

Date:March 10, 2012
I tried several traction devices over the years and this is by far the best one. Unsurpassed traction and easy to put on and take off. No rubber parts on the sole.
Pros: Comfortable, best traction, Easy To Put On And Take Off
Review 27 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Well worth the money

Date:January 24, 2012
I bought these for trail running and cannot be happier. I have tried the spring based versions and although effective on all surfaces I never felt 100% confident that I wasn’t going to fall. With these I am able to run on ice and snow with total confidence even up and down steep hills and banks. The one thing I should point out however is that they are best suited for trails or roads with significant snow. Bare to nearly bare pavement is not your friend with these as the cleats are too aggressive and need something to bite into.
Pros: Excellent Traction
Review 28 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Climb like a mountain lion

Date:January 9, 2012
I bought these spikes for my wife for Christmas after seeing a friend use them on a hike up a ski trail. We hike up a fairly steep and icy trail that requires decent footing. I've seen people use various traction devices on their feet but these are by far the best ones I've seen. I absolutely love them. We race up the hill and my friends call them "cheater" cleats. I bought a size small for my wife's size 7 feet but I use them on my size 9 mens feet. I would get size small again because I don't want them slipping around. I came across a guy on the trail yesterday who said he had a size medium and they seemed a bit big. Keep in mind I am running up an icy, steep hill and not walking around on a flat surface. I use these spikes on my Salomon Speed Cross Shoes.
Review 29 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Parkland County, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Perfect for walking the dog and farm chores

Date:January 6, 2012
After falling butt over teakettle yesterday morning, I picked up a pair last night. I too was initally put off the by high price, but one walk out to the barn convinced me they're worth the money. Horse chores and dog walking took half the time because I didn't have to slowly creep around and I had no worries about slipping - they grip like mad. They're easy to put on/off and stayed on, even when going up and down steep hills. Since the parking lot at work is like a rink, I even drove to work with them on. I just wish there had been a black pair in my size; the red looks pretty dorky.
Pros: easy to put on and take off but stay on, Excellent Grip
Review 30 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Quebec Eastern Townships
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

great product

Date:December 12, 2011
I needed some crampons to get me up the back MB trails of a ski resort which are icy in the early season and very steep in places....I chose these. Why? easy to put on and off,elastomer harness grips well and stays in place on hiking boots,winter hiking boots,points are well placed for maximum holding power,stainless steel offers rust free durability,price /value ratio,2 year guar.....be sure to choose a pair that fit on the 'tight side' to assure they stay in place,also top of harness has slots that allow for additional strapping to secure in place but havent needed to as of yet
Pros: Comfortable, stay in place well
Review 31 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Honolulu HI
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Great for slick clay in Hawaii

Date:November 10, 2011
Even though these are designed for ice they work great on wet slippery clay in the tropics.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 32 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

These things are great

Date:November 6, 2011
These are easy to slip on and off, and fit well and snug.
I've never had to re-adjust them, even after a few hours of hiking with them.
Review 33 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Peachland BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Best Traction Device I've Used

Date:July 4, 2011
These are great on icy/frozen trails. Impassable sections become no problem, uphill or down.
Only draw back is on rock and pavement or other hard surfaces, can create pressure points on the soles of your feet.
I'm looking forward to see how long they last, I've only used them a half a dozen times on winter hikes.
These mounted on good boots with gators make for a go anywhere experience.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 34 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great for non-technical stuff

Date:June 19, 2011
Can't beat the price and ease of use. These things are perfect for icy trails and especially places like Abraham Lake in the winter where the ice is blown clean and the sun has smoothed everything.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Comfortable, easy to put on in cold weather
Review 35 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: over 55
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

The true grips

Date:June 12, 2011
Truly a great purchase. I was turned off by the very hi price compared to the other crampons. But a friend's recommendation swayed me. If the crampons last for decades, as they should. I will feel they are a great product: the colour, ease to put on and take off, light weight, efficiency to grab.
Review 36 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

great purchase

Date:June 11, 2011
What a difference it is to walk with confidence on icy trails and hills. Great investement.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 37 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Whistler, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

No more slip and falls on my driveway!

Date:June 8, 2011
I got these to help me stay upright walking to the bus-stop. My hill and driveway are both really steep and in the winter turn into vertical ice rinks! These have saved me so many times! They even fit over my big Sorel boots. (it's tight though) Best purchase ever, I can't think how I ever got through the winter without them!
Pros: Functional
Review 38 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Security and Durability

Date:May 5, 2011
After a few bad experiences with Yak Traks (durability) I decided to go big and get these babies. I walk my dogs along a nearby creek and during the spring thaw the ice down there is lethal. Now I have sure footing with what seems to be a reliable product. They go on easily and look like they will take the punishment. They cost a bit, but the cost of a fall is much higher!
Review 39 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Halifax Nova Scotia

MICROspikes Traction Device

Date:May 5, 2011
I found MICROspikes to be excellent for traction on ice - was able to walk on ice as if it were not there while my hiking companion was sliding all over the place.
The MICROspikes fit snugly over my hiking boots & did not slip of, even when caked in snow.
Although the snow and ice are gone, I still pack my MICROspikes - they also provide great traction in loose soil - I use them for climbing steep embankments, where traction is essential.
Review 40 for Kahtoola MICROspikes Traction Device
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Mission, BC
MEC MEMBER

Outstanding

Date:March 16, 2011
All I can say is that these are well worth the price. I used them for the first time last week and was amazed at the traction I had in all kinds of terrain. These grip so well, I could feel them pulling out of the ice when taking a step. I have a size 8.5 boot and the mediums fit nicely. The only slippage I notices was when your foot moves laterally, some adjustment was needed after a while.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>