Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Big Pod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC MEC Big Pod

Members on the go can stay tuned and connected with this beefed-up pod. Smart storage allows full access to your personal sound system and phone without removing the pack, making it great for urban daytrips and commuting. A hideaway strap keeps the bag stable on your back when you’re zooming along in the cycle lane, or busting down a ski slope.
Average Member Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
67 out of 68(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for MEC Big Pod
Review 21 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vanvouver,BC
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great addition to my pack wardrobe

Date:June 11, 2011
i have a smaller older pod but the cell phone pocket is open and when I lean over to pick up up the doggie doo-doo ,the phone or ipod often fallout . Also not quite enough room on those days when you need to carry more stuff but don't need a full sized day pack.
New one is great for those longer walks /short hikes or picnics interspersed with errand running ..comfortably hold everything you need for myself and my dog and still has room for an unplanned purchase or two..Chest strap holds it securely in place.
Very versatile and practical
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 22 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good for anything

Date:November 27, 2010
Got one of these for my daughter to use as a diaper bag, which she raved about, and then bought one for myself to use as a gym bag. It seems perfect for both uses as it doesn't have a bunch of activity-specific features which makes it more versatile than many bags. And as always with any MEC bag from Teenie Genie to multi-day backpacks, the quality is there and you know you'll be using this for a long long time.
The only think that could make it better is some sort of anti-slip treatment on the top part of the shoulder strap.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Versatile
Cons: NONE
Review 23 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Best city trip bag ever

Date:November 26, 2010
I use this bag when i don't need to carry alot but more then what i could through in a purse or my pockets. it's held a notebook and several textbooks easily on the days i don't have a lot of classes and my gym stuff when i don't feel like bringing the gym bag. The stitching and the zippers are great. you would think the bag is still brand new and never been used but it is used at least two to three times a week.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 24 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:November 26, 2010
I bought this bag to carry my SLR camera, a jacket and some snacks. It works great and I still have room to spare! Comfortable strap, good pocket layout and excellent price. The hidden strap is a great feature when you're more active and want things to stay put. Highly recommended! Just don't overload it or the strap has a tendency to dig in to your shoulder.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 25 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burlington, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great bag!

Date:October 17, 2010
I take this bag with me everywhere, walks, bike rides, trips, planes, the park, anywhere I can think of. I have a bad back, but find this bag very comfortable to carry. This morning I have 3 full water bottles in it and could still carry it. The water bottle is perfect if you use the toggle over the top of he bottle. I have 32oz bottle and it's fine there. I love the front pocket for my phone or camera to be on hand. The bag has a great inside pocket for important stuff. The main pocket is big enough for a change of clothes, a sweater or a pair of shoes.
Pros: Reliable
Review 26 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Oakville, ON

Great value & extremely practical!

Date:September 6, 2010
Comfortable, practical, easy access without needing to remove AND great value!
Enough said!
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 27 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Brighton, E.Sussex UK
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Awesome Bag

Date:June 10, 2010
I purchased this bag a few months ago after trying out the smaller pod. I love it! It fits all manner of uses. I use it often to take equipment to a Forest School group I work with and have fitted Large water bottle (inside the bag), axe, wet gear, lunch, books and various other tools - even on occasion when wet, some fire wood to get things going.
I also use it for outings with my 4 year old daughter and all her, often, unnecessary accouterments.
It's great for use on a bike and the extra strap makes it really stable. Saying that, I often use it when walking, with just the main strap and would love it if you guys at MEC could remodel it slightly so the other strap could be clipped or stowed away when unnecessary.
10 out of 10
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Versatile
Review 28 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Practicle in many ways

Date:June 10, 2010
This compact but yet very useful bag was my best companion during the Vancouver Olympics.
As I was working directly with the medalists, I was call to drive them from the Village to Cypress Mountain. I was able to stow warm clothing, water, food, not supposed to use camera, bottle of wine I had purchase before my shift, cell phone and many other items.
This bag is well designed. I could carry a 10 to 15 lbs load without feeling it on my back. This bag is quite adjustable to anyone's body type.
Day trip bag I find very useful for the beach, every day commune, going to the gym, pick-nicks and while on a get away visiting the world.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Ergonomic
Review 29 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa ON

Date:June 10, 2010
I have tried several different packs for long distance walking and this one is the roomiest and most comfortable one.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value
Review 30 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Errington, BC

Great for the Everyday

Date:June 9, 2010
Wanted to purchase a bag that was versatile, not too big nor too small, and which could double as a net book bag...The perfect fit for my needs!
The only suggestion I can make: a way of preventing someone from pick-pocketing your bag, a mechanism by which you can make the zippers inoperable when required...perhaps a double zipper so you can use luggage lock? that would make the bag even better!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: easy to pick-pocket
Review 31 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great little bag

Date:June 9, 2010
I bought this bag specifically for a trip to Europe. It is deceivingly large and holds many items comfortably. The internal pockets are great for quick access to smaller items. I am so impressed with its ergonomics and comfort. No regrets with this bag.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, excellent storage
Review 32 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist

Wonderful!

Date:June 9, 2010
Light weight, keeps hands free, easy to adjust, comfortable to wear. Buckle provides easy on, easy off access. Instructions regarding proper wear would be useful but we figured it out with a bit of experimentation.
Review 33 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: VICTORIA BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Date:June 9, 2010
This is a great product for running around the city or for short weekend hikes. Reflective seams and accessories are great for cycling and for any type of night use. It has no hard shell so not great for files etc but excellent otherwise!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, quick to strap on
Review 34 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Backpack

Date:June 9, 2010
This backpack was purchased for travelling. I bought 2 of the larger size for my husband & I & 2 of the smaller size for our children. They were fantastic. Light weight, yet sturdy. Very easy to use & stored enough for day travels. Very impressed. My husband now uses it as his work bag. Really liked these backpacks.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 35 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Awesome pack!

Date:June 7, 2010
We took the Big Pod to Vancouver for our trip to the 2010 Winter Olympics. We wanted an easy-to-shoulder bag that would carry everything we needed for trekking around downtown Vancouver. The Big Pod was great - it fit an umbrella, maps, wallets, keys, tickets, scarves and a Powerade waterbottle. We use the cell pocket for both an iPhone and a camera, at different times. Hubby wore it most days, but said it was comfortable. It was easy to carry, fit everything we needed and looked great too!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 36 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Haida Gwaii, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Buying a new one right now

Date:April 15, 2010
I first bought my sling pack at the end of 2005 and I have since toured the Grande Canyon, Europe, Jamaica (where it underwent 100 lbs of water pressure for three hours and survived) and Costa Rica with my pack ALWAYS at my side.
It can fit my water bottle, extra clothes, all necessities, mini-laptop, cell phone, wallet etc...
I am buying another one right now because I over stuffed it in Costa Rica and finally busted the zipper. It could have easily been fixed but I had to keep treking on. 5 years of sling pack is a good deal.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 37 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Red Lake, ON
MEC MEMBER

Go-to for touring

Date:April 6, 2010
Recently went to Mexico; rather than use a purse this became my catchall and went with me from the beach to the ruins tours to the snorkeling boat to the restaurant. Large enough to carry purchases in addition to all my needs. Now at home, still using it as my purse and last-minute shopping bag. Only complaint; needs more compartments for the traveling woman, and would help to have waterproof section in which to stash wet swim gear. Also make bottle holder larger/longer. Otherwise, still a great bag.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Review 38 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Small bag, big capacity

Date:January 12, 2010
I had been eyeballing this bag for about a year before I finally bought it. My intent was for small urban adventuring, and it fits the necessity rather nicely.
I usually have a compliment of three bags, each with a semi specific use, and this one has replaced one bag completely, and acts in the stead of a second at times (Mostly for light commuting to University).
The Cell pocket could stand to be a little wider on account of Blackberry users and for those who want immediate access to a larger iPod model (such as the 5th gen classic) rather than the internal pocket with headphone chute. The side pocket is a fantastic feature for all sorts of little accoutrements such as my camera and other accessories such as gum, a stop watch, and so on. The straps are a little strange when interacting with certain winter wear (They like to slide around like they've been greased up on my polar jacket)
The carrying capacity is extremely deceptive on this little unit. I managed to pack for a four day excursion back home with just this pack containing an extra change of clothes (Complete with undergarments and socks) as well as two books my cell phone and my iPod, with some room still to spare.
Overall, this is a great urban lifestyle pack, and while there are a few mild concerns, I was thoroughly satisfied with this purchase.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Versatile
Cons: Flimsy, lack of ipod-immediate access
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Wolfville, NS
MEC MEMBER

The perfect size.

Date:January 3, 2010
I started using a shoulder bag because my 30L Brio is too hot on the back in summer. They're addictive. But I found the Small Carryall, while very nice, is a bit too small for me.
This is just right. It'll hold a water bottle inside plus gloves, a fleece vest, and writing stuff. Plus it's comfortable if you don't load it up too much.
Only caveat is I found the outside zipped water bottle pocket gimmicky and doesn't hold all bottles well. However it holds my hard sunglasses case perfectly.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Comfortable
Cons: water bottle holder gimmicky and flawed
Review 40 for MEC Big Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Cold Lake, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Awesome bag

Date:October 3, 2009
This is a great bag for bombing around town. I sed it as my main bag, when I took a course this summer, and it even fit a binder or a macbook! It felt great to wear and had enough organization to keep things neat and tidy! Also, the water bottle pouch is very well designed!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>