Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Short-Sleeved T-Shirts or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)

MEC MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)

Merino wool is a natural choice for base layers: it's soft, itch-free, stretchy, and its built-in moisture management buffers well against sudden temperature changes. You'll appreciate its anti-microbial properties. So will your tentmates.
Average Member Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Review 1 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Burlington

Sucked in the moisture during a 20K hike

Date:April 21, 2014
Wore this at a hike during April, weather was around 14 degrees Celsius and breezy. The hike was demanding but at the end of the day this top sucked in the moisture. Didn't feel itchy (like another MEC product I had considered buying), wet or smelly- great top!
It's a bit pricey but as its 100% merino wool I decided to buy it.
I'm not able to comment on its longevity- let's see what happens after a couple of washes.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 2 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Vancouver

cheap for a reason

Date:February 16, 2014
I've owned three of these MEC marino shirts, long sleeved and short, and all 3 ripped and fell apart. I will also mention that after hand-washing them, I found lint all over my bathroom! They shed like crazy. This never happens to shirts that I've had from other well-known marino brands. I say pay a bit more and get something more durable and of overall better quality. Sorry MEC.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist

Good Base Layer

Date:December 3, 2013
This is a good base layer, I use it in the winter for biking and it keeps me warm. My only gripe is the sleeves, the cap sleeves look weird and frankly just get stuck under your arm collecting deodorant marks. It would be better if these were just stock real short sleeves.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: sleeves
Review 4 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
By:
Location: GTA, ON
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Good value tshirt for Merino wool

Date:November 24, 2013
Nice tshirt for the price. Good looking, slim fit that is not too short for my long torso but was tight in the shoulder and arm pits for my wider shoulders. Not sure this shirt would fit if I had a bigger chest...curvier women should definitely try on before buying!
I wore this shirt for 7 days straight during a camping and climbing trip and it did not smell. Dried quick on the body and after (finally) laundering.
I have several merino wool tshirts and find this one comparatively a bit scratchy. It gets better after a few wash and wears but you can feel the difference between this and other similar (and higher) priced products. Overall good value for money though, would buy again...but needs a better range of colors!
Pros: Stylish, not smelly, Reasonable price
Cons: tight around shoulders
Review 5 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Awesome product

Date:June 29, 2013
This is a perfect fit, great for travel or kicking around town. I love the lines on it, and the way it sits on my body. I am usually a small, but bought a medium.
More colours please!!!!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 6 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 25-34
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Perfect Shirt

Date:April 10, 2013
My black, lightweight merino wool short sleeved crew has become my absolute favourite top. It fits perfectly, which is rare, even for someone as tall as me (5'11). It's slim fitting without being short, the material is soft and breathable. I live in this shirt and would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 7 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
Feels small
Very Large
By:
Location: Huntsville, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Good top, not flattering

Date:February 17, 2013
The top is well made, durable, great for traveling with limited laundry facilities. It's the style I have issues with. If this top had a scoop or V-neck I would give this top full marks. MEC doesn't seem to account for curvy women. We are outdoorsy and active too.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: unflattering on curvy women
Review 8 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Mississauga, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist

Great buy

Date:November 2, 2012
Warm, soft and very comfortable to wear.
It can be machine-washed and dried without problems or shrinkage (I used only low temperatures).
For a merino item, the price is good too. If you compare to other brands, the price is low.
It doesn't get stinky after use, so it can be worn a few times before it needs to be washed.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, Well made
Cons: for the long-sleeved the sleeves are too long, only a few colours available
Review 9 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great top, but where are the other colours?

Date:July 13, 2012
I see the picture at the top of the web page of the 3 women running up with the mountain in a green, pink and blue of these tops (i'm sure it's these in a long sleeve) and I would love the green!! This coral colour would make me look nude if I were to wear it running! :) I have the turquiose colour and really love it, would like more colours though please!!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

More please

Date:April 20, 2012
Love this T and I plan to buy more when additional colour options are available.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: not enough colour options
Review 11 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Terrace BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Nice Fit, and good quality

Date:November 4, 2011
This shirt is excelling because you can wear it hiking, and also in everyday life.
Its a little pricy but has so many pros.
First of all its Canadian made, for all of you picky shoppers, also the wool is not itchy. Its soft and provides warmth and breathability!
Mec please make in other colors, army green or burgundy!
Great Product
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Form fitting
Cons: the current colors (pink)..nein.. more neutral plz
Review 12 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Best purchase for a t-shirt

Date:October 25, 2011
I was abit iffy when buying this t-shirt, it is pretty expensive for a shirt, but I need this for my 4 days of hiking trip to the Machu Picchu.
After wearing this shirt to the Machu Picchu, I would say, it is impressive. It dry so fast that I don't ever feel damp while hiking, and it never got stink from the sweat!! I have two of those shirt so I wear those 2 shirt for 4 days. I would say this is probably the best money I have ever invested on a tshirt. I would love to purchase it again when I go back to Canada!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Non-stink, fast-drying
Review 13 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Salnmon Arm BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Love my T-shirt

Date:October 1, 2011
My most favourite t-shirt. It fits great. Its fitted but with lots of length (i have a very long torso). The merino wool keeps me warm. I've worn it as an underlayer while hiking and as a t-shirt for just hanging around town. Can't wait to get a couple more.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 14 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

One of my favourite shirts

Date:August 26, 2011
I love this shirt! I bought the black one a few months ago now and I wear it all the time. I've actually used it more for everyday wear than as active wear or as a base layer. It's super soft and doesn't get too smelly (better than polyester but not as good as some other natural fibres). For a merino product, the price is really good- I've paid lots more for lower-quality merino products in New Zealand.
Fits nicely, not too tight but not baggy. Overall a great product.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 15 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Ireland
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

I love this top!

Date:June 13, 2011
My favourite thermal.
Feels great. Slightly long length which isnice for climbing as it never pulls up and out of my pants so I dont get a cold belly when climbing in chilly weather.
Soft on the skin, even after several washes.
Feels warm in the cold and never feels to hot in warm weather.
And amazingly doesn't seem to get smelly like some thermals do... I wore this for 6 days climbing in a row and it never really smelled too much!!
And I got the pink - which is super nice.
Only regret is I wish I had bought 2!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 16 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Worth the money

Date:June 11, 2011
I am allergic to wool, even Merino wool sometimes, but I was able to wear this comfortably next to my skin all winter. I skated on the Rideau Canal, skied, and worked outside in the very damp spring. I am short and curvy and it was a comfortable fit -not too tight. Suggested my sister buy one for her spring trip to Ireland.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 17 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Tuckerman's and back

Date:June 11, 2011
I bought this shirt to wear as a base layer on our annual ski trip to Tuckerman's Ravine. Even though I was a bit damp when I got to Hojo's, I was comfortable through the rest of the hike and ski down. The next week I wore it to work!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 18 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Okanagan Valley in BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

So Versatile

Date:June 11, 2011
I have several of these shirts. They are so useful! I like that they can be cool enough to use in summer, but if the weather turns cool you have an instant warm layer. When used on hiking trips they do not get smelly like synthetics or cotton! I'm not all that fit so it doesn't take much to get me sweaty! These shirts, being made of wool, keep me warm while that moisture dries. At the top of the mountain, and I'm breaking for lunch, I just add a layer and I don't get a chill because the wool is warm and dries quickly. (Now I just have to find a bra made of wool !)
I also have the long sleeve version, which I wear in the summer as well, so I don't have to slather on so much sunscreen and I rarely overheat.
The colours are usually fun and bright so you can feel good even when sweaty!!
I have never had an issue with itchiness from the wool either!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 19 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

My go-to shirt for everyday adventures

Date:May 16, 2011
I picked this up in black, so I could wear it by itself (I found the prominent seams on the coloured shirts looked too base-layerish to pull off at work.) It's warm when I need it, doesn't stink when I bike in it, and skims over any lumpy areas. My only gripe is that you must avoid velcro anything (it pulls, obviously) and you should hand-wash it in order to get the most mileage - fortunately it doesn't hold smells like cotton and synthetics are wont to do. I have yet to try it in +30 weather, but so far I am terrifically pleased with this item.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: handwash!
Review 20 for MEC Merino Lightweight 2 Short-Sleeved Crew (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Ymir BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Good value, great fit

Date:May 7, 2011
This shirt fits like an athletic shirt should. Not too tight, and long enough to cover everything when I bend over. For merino wool, the price is totally affordable and worth every penny.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, No stink
1 2 next>>