Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Minimalist Shoes or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Vibram Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Vibram Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)

If you're after the feeling of bare feet as you scramble along a riverbank, but want to protect your feet from sharp rocks, these thin soled water shoes are the ticket.
Average Member Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Review 1 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Hamilton, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Like a massage for the feet (and back too!)

Date:July 5, 2013
I've worn these number of times - usually for kayaking, but also for hiking & portages.
I love the feel of wearing them - there's protection, grip on any surface, and you get to feel changes in texture and temperature. Sadly though, they don't keep out the sand, which makes for grit rubbing in between the material & your skin.
I have really narrow feet and love the fit. I especially like the strap that comes from the arch and velcros over the top of the foot - it pulls up so that it immediately tempers any pain in the back.
I've been asked about them every time I've worn them. My favourite experience was wearing them in the classroom (I'm a high-school teacher.) I wore them because of the foot & back pain associated with being on my feet all day. It took half the day for someone to notice (mine are black and blended with my black dress pants.) Once they noticed, everyone was staring at my feet. Some had looks of horror (they aren't pretty) but by the end of explaining the benefits, I think some of them were half-convinced that they're the coolest shoes ever.
Pros: Comfortable, therapeutic, Protective
Cons: allow sand in, not pretty
Review 2 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: BC Rockies
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Great addition to the gear list.

Date:June 3, 2012
After receiving my order earlier than expected :) I was really happy to finally get a pair of Five Fingers on my feet. MEC's description was very informative and accurate. The soles are thin, allowing you to really feel the ground, but knowing you have the 2mm protection, you don't feel so vulnerable. Grass, dirt and mud are invigorating and ,though never thinking I'd say this, rocks are spectacular. You really feel what your feet are feeling, even though you aren't technically barefoot. It forces you to slow down and really become present to what you are doing. The strap closure works great, but I can see anyone with quite a wide foot, you may want to look at the other models with lacing option. I have chosen to not use any of the toe socks just yet and am happy I've given my feet the chance to just 'feel'. If you are even the least bit curious, go for it. Your feet will thank you.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 3 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: edmonton, Alberta
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

one of my favourites

Date:April 30, 2012
I have owned this shoes were almost year. they have a thiner, more flexable sole then the komodos. I found that they were the closest to being barefoot. They are a touch bigger then the komodos or the more fitted sole shoe.
When i was a lifeguard, I would have picked these for lifeguarding in to barefoot feel, grip and drying factor. (due note that if you are guarding for more then 2 hours- you need a proper sandal with padding. You will wreck your feet!)
I have gone for runs in this shoe. it is my favourite for the treadmill. (it probably will wear down faster then a komodo sport or the bikila due to treadmills liking to eat shoes.) Walking around in them is nice. (long grass gets caught between your toes...)
It is a spring/summer/fall shoe. i managed to wear a pair of komodo in to october but it was too cold for my feet. This shoe especially picks up on cold pavement- you will feel it when it rains or a warmish feeling when the sun beats on the pavement. Kind of a cool effect really.
People will talk to you about your shoes despite the fact that you probably see them everywhere now. They will ask you about cost, what you do with them and where you got them as well if they are comfortable.
They wash really well. mine look pretty new. Machine washing them allows them to dry faster. My friend's son needed to wash his regularly because his got super stinky, mine didn't get super smelly but i found they felt kind of gross. depends on your feet.
I have not tried this for driving a car. I am sure it will be ok. I have other pairs- a men's and woman's komodo sport- i had more issues in driving and switching gears with the men's shoes because the fit wasn't quite there then with the woman's
also they are not quite great party shoes for indoor/outdoor parties or visiting people. I find that out of politeness sake, i need to bring a pair of socks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
New Balance WR00 Road Running Shoes (Women's)
4.8 out of 54 Reviews
 
 
 
Merrell Pace Glove Shoes (Women's)
4.8 out of 517 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, good for water sports.
Review 4 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Hamilton, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Need smaller mens sizes

Date:November 6, 2011
I love the vibrams. Great footwear and great for building healthy foot muscles. Only complaint is that I had to buy a womans size because they don't make a small enough mens.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Needs more wear resistance, but otherwise great!

Date:November 5, 2011
After lots of research on the best option to start a minimally-shod barefoot stride, I went with the common suggestion to start in KSOs. I now also run in Bikilas. The KSOs give a very good feel for the ground, but the wear resistance is downright poor. As I improve my barefoot-style stride, this is becoming less and less important. All the same, beginners should be aware that they'll be balancing a good feel for the ground with a sole that doesn't stand up to a lot of wear--at a time when you'll likely put more wear on shoes than after you've found your stride.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Not durable
Review 6 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Love the toes - but not the heel

Date:November 5, 2011
I love the toes and the sole. The only problem I have is I find the strap in the back digs into my tendon on the heel. I purchased the KomodoSports a couple weeks after the KSOs and fell in love with that pair. KSOs don't get much wear time anymore!
Pros: Stylish, Breathable
Cons: Uncomfortable
Review 7 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Ontario
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Best footwear ever!

Date:November 5, 2011
These are absolutely AMAZING. Climbing, hiking or walking in water, Vibrams are absolutely wonderful, definately worth the money.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 8 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Newfoundland

Wide Feet

Date:October 20, 2011
To the individual that complained that the fit wasn't wide enough, try a male shoe on! I also have wide feet, and i find that women's shoes are often built for narrow feet, however, men's shoes often fit me fine.
Review 9 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Competitive
MEC MEMBER

Be careful of rocks!

Date:August 20, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I absolutely love the feel of running on wooded, rocky, rooty trails in my KSOs. I've been using them for over a year and can't get over how I feel "free" on the trails. I was always a little worried about injuries but have had none... until 3 weeks ago. I was running the Boulder Ridge trail in Blue Lake Provincial Park, ON, when I caught my little toe on a rock. As my toe bent out sideways, I heard a loud snap. See xray image. I will definitely run in these again once my toe heals but I will probably tape or sew the 4th and 5th toes together to avoid another injury like that!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: toes break easily!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Can't go back to running shoes ever again

Date:July 25, 2011
I decided to try a pair of these after discovering that a few months being barefoot in the house had strengthened my feet to the point that I didn't need my orthotics any more. I had read some studies about minimalist shoes being better for feet, so I bought some KSOs and loved them the moment I got them on. I walk 18 miles a week in these without any pain or discomfort. These fit so perfectly and feel like a comfortable pair of slippers. I wear them everywhere - except church. I'll be getting a pair of Classics for that because they look a little more dressy. The KSO sole is very thin and allows you to feel the ground while still offering protection. It's neat to walk through mud and feel the coolness, and to even feel the cracks in the sidewalk! I have worn through the soles of these quickly, though (my own fault), but I will be replacing them immediately. I've read other reviews online and found that many people have been able to put several hundred miles on these shoes without significant wear or damage to the soles or seams. I love these shoes, love the "fingers" and how they let my toes individually move and feel the ground. Very highly recommended!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, strengthen arches
Cons: they look a bit weird but worth it!
Review 11 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Date:July 4, 2011
They are very comfortable to wear. A little difficult to put on at first, but the more you use them, the easier it becomes. Now I can literally slip them on. Dry pretty quickly. Offer great feel and traction while kayaking and stepping along shoreline.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 12 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Alberta
MEC MEMBER

Not for high arches & wide feet

Date:June 14, 2011
Sad to return this very lovely product. The strap and fit over the space between the top of my arch and ankle is constrictive. Toe length fit was perfect, but due to the stretch needed to fit the rest of my foot these were too tight for comfort. A bigger size doesn't wotk for me as tripping becomes and issue! A longer strap and stretchier, roomier shoe entry point might help these fit better. Time for Vibram to offer widths in these popular shoes.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Uncomfortable, need to offer widths less constrictive material
Review 13 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

They do pretty much what they were designed for

Date:June 13, 2011
I use these shoes as both water-shoes and as barefoot training/running shoes.
Great fit and natural movement that goes with your feet. I don't have to worry about them coming off, straps getting caught up, or stubbing my toes. The grip is just the perfect amount no matter what the terrain. The material in between the toes doesn't get noticed after the first 2 minutes. They dry rather quickly, don't really hold foot stink, and are remarkably easy to clean (washing machine!).
Toes areas are a little short for my feet, which can get uncomfortable for extended wear.
As well, any really fine dust can get inside and cause uncomfortable rubbing.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Poor Fit
Review 14 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Fantastically comfortable!

Date:June 11, 2011
The most comfortable pair of shoes I have even owned. I wear them to do everything. Their only failing is that they get a smell when they get wet. This is not an issue that I have ever had with any of my other shoes, even water shoes. Keep these dry and they will be your new go-to shoe..
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Smelly
Review 15 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
By:
Location: Winnipeg

Won't run in anything else

Date:June 11, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Since buying these, I have used them for running, climbing, and fieldwork. By forcing me to run properly, they have virtually eliminated the knee problems that I have had for years. I wouldn't go back to running in anything else, these are such a joy to go out in.
That being said, they do get verrrry smelly and washing doesn't seem to fix the problem.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Smelly
Review 16 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Love and hate them

Date:May 24, 2011
They caused horrible blusters on my right foot in two places on an easy hike. The blisters occurred in areas of material transitions. I had a different pair and style previously with no issues. They are really comfortable (if you forget about the blisters) and are really grippy. I still like them, but the blisters are a problem. Sand still gets through the shoe so take the "hype" with a grain of salt. "Stretchy abrasion-resistant material wraps your entire forefoot to keep out grit and gravel." Great product if they don't cause you blisters. If you get them wet, be sure to clean them immediately after if you want them to last.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Grippy
Cons: Can cause blisters, can start to smell if used in water
Review 17 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Love Them!!

Date:May 21, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I used these even in the early spring when the weather wasn’t too cold. Just threw the socks on and it made it feel warm enough. If you hit a sharp rock you WILL feel it, but the work out that you get from these surpasses any leg exercises you are going to do at the gym. If you’ve hit a rut in your jogging/running just buy these and you’ll feel a brand new workout level!! Absolutely love them and recommend them to everyone I see. I feel like a frog wearing them, and the material does need some improvement in the durability department. Made a small hole in one of the toes already and was so depressed. Once you fight to get them on you won’t even notice they’re there. I use these on my short jog days, and my legs the next day feel more sore and tired then on my long days of 10-13kms of hills. Can’t believe the difference!!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 18 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Definitely a conversation starter!

Date:April 25, 2011
I recently wore these on a road trip from Calgary to Vancouver and back, and every food stop someone in the line or the cashier asked me about these shoes..... I heard everything that people want them to wear on the beach in mexico, to the would like to wear them for work. I do find that they splay my toes a little as my feet are very narrow, but it isn't a big deal. I didn't have any problems with getting them on, and I found the Five Fingers website very helpful for determining fit.
I can't wait to wear them in the canoe!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 19 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Trenton, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Quite the fashion statement!

Date:September 27, 2010
Everywhere you go, people ask about these shoes. And if someone else that wears them catches you, it's like old home week.
I bought these for sailing, but haven't had a chance to try them on the boat yet. I expect they will be great. They are more comfortable than they look, and even if your smaller toes don't go all the way to the end, it doesn't seem to be a hindrance. And they aren't THAT hard to get on.
My advice, though, is to go to a store and try them on, if possible. I bought mine online and probably could have gone a size smaller. Even so, I like them enough to say the next pair will be.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: kinda wacky looking
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vibram FiveFingers KSO (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Belleville, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive

Best All Around Shoes

Date:September 7, 2010
I would like to start out by saying i am completely in love with these shoes! Working in a Provincial Park all summer, I was constantly on my feet, on a boat, canoeing, swimming and hiking and these shoes did it all. Not only were they incredibly comfortable, the were capable of handling all terrain. I also wore them for some very easy bouldering, where their flexibility was an asset. Also, after a summer of strenuous use, my Vibram Fivefingers are showing no signs of wear or tear. If they got dirty, i simply tossed them in the washing machine and they came out looking like new. These shoes let me feel close to nature and one with my environment, letting me feel like I was walking around barefoot all the time. I would quite readily recommend these shoes to anyone who asked me.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Versatile
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>