Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Footwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for La Sportiva La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)

La Sportiva La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)

All-around shoes designed for comfort and performance at a reasonable price. A good choice for long days, long moderate routes, or as a first shoe for entry level climbers. Provides a slightly more aggressive shape than a traditional beginner's box-like fit.
Average Member Rating:
3.381 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Review 1 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Montreal, Qc
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Getting Started
MEC MEMBER

Nice Fit

Date:December 28, 2013
I'm a newbie climber. These fit perfectly almost a full size down from my street shoes. Nice and snug all way round, no crunching. I have a EE foot, so this surprised me as other rock shoes of my shoe size were bordering on painful.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 2 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male

Great Beginner Shoes

Date:April 25, 2013
I have owned a pair of these shoes now for approximately 9 months and would definitely consider buying them again. Overall I am very happy with my purchase of these shoes. I find them comfortable and a good price for a beginner like myself.
The only downside is the bleeding of the red dye onto ones feet. It has lessened since the first usage. However, despite using them frequently I still find my feet a slightly red after a climbing session, the evidence being clear on any socks I wear after climbing. If the colour bleeding is not an issue for you, I would definitely recommend them.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Good price
Cons: bleeding of dye
Review 3 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber

Great Shoe, bad dye job

Date:November 29, 2012
I really did like this shoes performance wise. Great price, good fit for a narrower foot, but I could never buy these again or recommend them solely on the fact that no matter how many times I washed these shoes, they kept bleeding red every time I wore them. This got annoying quick. Especially in summertime, when I would like to just climb, and then switch to sandals or flip flops to go around the city. Always had to wash my feet, otherwise, people would ask what's wrong with them. If the company could switch dyes, or just not really use them, this would be a definite repeat purchase.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: red dye bleeds all over your feet
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Ottawa ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Decent beginner shoe

Date:August 31, 2012
Bought these shoes as my first pair of climbing shoes. They fit fairly well and will stretch about half a size over time. These shoes are a great for beginners and are over all a well rounded shoe.
The down side is that they can be a bit warm when climbing indoors and the colour tends to bleed quite a bit, it took about eight months for it to stop bleeding. If you dont mind your feet being a little red after climbing then have at er and buy these shoes.
Review 5 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Edmonton,AB
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber

Very good shoe for okay climbers

Date:July 28, 2012
This is a very good shoe. if you want a cheap shoe, and are just starting climbing then this is probably the best cheap shoe there is. if you are planning to use it alot, then i wouldn't buy it, it has a lot of "wear and tear" in it. if you've noticed that LA SPORTIVA shoe brand is mainly for upwards climbing, because there isn't much rubber on the toe, so if you were planning on doing a lot of upside down climbing and you are not so "inclined" in toe hooking (see what i did there?) then these are not super good for you.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, cheap
Cons: not good for cave climbing, wear down easy
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Wakefield, QC
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Getting Started

Tight but aren't they all

Date:April 8, 2012
I'm new to bouldering so i needed something not too expensive but that would still do the job and these seemed perfect so i tried and bought them and they are good but i would only recommend them if you're new to rock climbing and if you're not picky about style and if you don't really care if they're warm or not.
Pros: Comfortable, cheap
Cons: Unbreathable, a bit tight
Review 7 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Keswick, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
MEC MEMBER

Decent shoe

Date:March 19, 2012
Picked these up a little over a year ago. I was just looking for a basic crag shoe that is comfortable to ware all day and is not too aggressive. Over all they have done the job well. I have wide feet so I found them to be a little tight width wise at first but over time they broke in rather nice. I usually ware a very thin sock with rock shoes so I can not say that I have noticed the color of the insides running as other noted. Not crazy on the style of the shoe or colors, but it doesn't really matter. They have held up alright for the odd gym trip and days out at the crags. I expected them to stretch out a lot more by now but they have held up well.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, Cost
Review 8 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: toronto, ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Red feet

Date:November 7, 2011
These climbing shoes do the job well, however the red dye well bleed out for a very long time. The shoes have been washed many times by hand and by machine, and with various soaps. Lots of red dye comes out, but next time I climb my feet are still red. There are other shoes of color but users at the gym don't have the same problem I have. Would never buy red shoes again. Buy a neutral color shoe.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Unbreathable, red dye colors feet
Review 9 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

new to bouldering

Date:April 8, 2011
I am new to bouldering and purchased this shoe for the fit. I have used them for about a month now and have found no problem with stretching of the shoe. Neither have I found any staining of my feet as some other reviewers have commented. I have found the heel to be a nice tight fit. So far they have been great.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 10 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Good Starter Shoe for Low Volume Feet

Date:November 26, 2010
My feet are long, flat and narrow so it can be tricky for finding shoes that provide a snug fit without crushing my toes but these have been feeling great so far.
I normally wear a size 12 street shoe and ending up going with the 43's. They're a little snug but in a good way, after all you don't want your shoes popping off on that crucial heel-hook.
I've been using them 2 or three times a week for around 2 months and they have very little wear so hopefully they'll last for a while.
The synthetic liner does a good job of keeping your feet cool but after an hour my feet were pretty sweaty which raises another point.
The red dye in the leather seems to bleed when you sweat so don't be shocked at your bright red toes when you get your shoes off.
Overall, I've found these to be a great fitting beginners shoe but they are a little on the pricey side.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Expensive
Review 11 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Indoors only

Date:July 26, 2010
I bought this shoe in march. Since then i climbed between 2 and 4 times a week. It is now July and they are warn out. Since i started wearing them outside chunks of the sole have started to come off.
They also stain my feet blood red
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: dont last long, stain feet
Review 12 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels narrow
Very Wide
By:
Location: Sherwood Park, AB

Date:June 9, 2010
This is my first climbing shoe and I am generally pleased with it., I have used it so far only indoors. Some problems with the shoe: doesn't effectively cup the heel (may vary from person to person, I don't know) and it leaves your foot red after using it (which isn't really a big deal at all). Otherwise it fits tight and performs well with lots off grip.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Poor Fit
Review 13 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
MEC MEMBER

Solid beginner shoe

Date:February 14, 2010
This is a really solid beginner shoe. The rubber is good and resistant to wearing out. The only performance downside is the stretching. Because its not lined it does stretch quite a bit, but if you're just starting to climb, you'll probably wear the rubber out before it has enough time to really stretch. Mine lasted a good 6 months before the stretch became really noticeable. Also, if you wear them for long stretches at a time, they will dye your feet red. Conclusion: Great shoe, reasonable price. Excellent for beginners.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: stretch
Review 14 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Winnipeg MB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Stretch and Turned feet red

Date:November 23, 2009
I bought these ones because they did not have my size in womens just before a trip. Ive been wearing them for almost 6 months and they still turn my feet red. They are good for wearing all day, not too tight. Mine have stretched quite a bit but the soles and edges are still in good shape after lots of outdoor climbing on not clean routes and indoor climbing stuff.
Review 15 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Shawnigan Lake, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
MEC MEMBER

Look at another shoe

Date:September 26, 2009
Very disappointed in this shoe, started off great but could not hold up to the wear. Bought in March and by May the sole was already giving up the ghost. I do a lot of bouldering but my old pair of boreal aces took years to get to the point these Nago's got to in two months. Rands have held up well but the bottoms are just rotten. Sadly, I know it is not just my shoe as two others friends purchased the same shoe and are seeing the exact same problems in the sole. The shoe fits nice and for the first month and a half I sang praises for it (hence the others buying them also I am afraid) but now I am much saddened.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: does not hold up to wear, turns your feet bright red
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
MEC MEMBER

Could have been the best shoe

Date:July 28, 2009
The first time I ordered this shoe I bought one that was 1/2 an inch to small for my actual "Measured" foot size, and the right shoe put some pressure on my big toe, and the heel on the left foot gave me a little bit of rubbing but only when standing, not when climbing. I bought a second pair, one size larger and when I got them I was again disappointed, the right shoe fit flawlessly but the left one was poorly manufactured. the toe seam was to large and dug in, the heel seam was centered and not offset so it rubbed in any position, and the base of the tongue "nearest the toe of the shoe" was sewn too wide and did not allow for a comfortable fit, and like someone else posted, these shoes do stretch out considerably, width and length wise, the length takes a few climbs, and sweating helps the stretch go quicker. Overall if I didn't get the wrong size and another defective shoe, then I would have loved these without a doubt.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: shotty workmanship left heel seam on both pairs
Review 17 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: edmonton, alberta
MEC MEMBER

Stretch alot

Date:July 10, 2009
i bought these shoes as small as i could handle them( kinda painfull for a while) but everytime i wore them they stretched more and more till after about a month they fit like street shoes and my heel would slip out on an agressive heel hook
Cons: stretch
Review 18 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Great start - poor finish

Date:June 6, 2009
These shoes worked great for the first week with no cons - Easy/unpainful to break in, very sticky, made bouldering easy and fun. I had bought these shoes a full size and a half too small but was very surprised after only a week of climbing (3 sessions) the shoe had sretched so much that they fit like my street shoes. Bottom line - buy these shoes extremely small and you'll be happy with them.
Pros: Versatile, Lightweight
Review 19 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: NJ

Great Shoe, beware of stretching

Date:February 3, 2009
Fantastic shoe. Great for the gym and super comfortable. Quick to break in, unfortunately like my Mythos they stretched more than anticipated (I wear an 11, bought size 40 and my heels no long fit as snugly after a few months). Not terribly problematic though, and still a great all around shoe.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
Review 20 for La Sportiva Nago Rock Shoes (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Red Deer
MEC MEMBER

Great shoe

Date:January 5, 2009
This shoe is a great all around shoe. I use it in Comps on all but overhanging routes and those requiring a heel hook. Then I pull on my scarpa boosters. Over all worth the money. I would recommend these shoes for any climber looking for a comfortable pair of climbing shoes.
Pros: Rugged, Versatile, Lightweight
1 2 next>>