Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Insulated Outerwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)

MEC MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)

A vest that provides a lot of warmth for the core, without restricting the arms – or squeezing the wallet. Wear it in the chalet, or as an outer garment in spring or fall; slip it under other layers in winter.
Average Member Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
18 out of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Review 1 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Love it!

Date:October 2, 2013
I got mine four years ago up in the Yukon. I'm so very happy I did. This thing is magic. Put it on and you're not cold anymore. It's like crawling into a sleeping bag but with your arms free. Great for biking at -40C.
My vest is filthy from regular use. And that's a good thing.
The collar fabric is noisy on my beard but that's so minor it's barely worth mentioning.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: too awesome
Review 2 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Where's the Down?

Date:May 21, 2013
I have an older version of this vest that I like a lot. It sometimes has zipper issues, but is generally good.
When I saw it was on sale recently, I decided to get another. When it came in the mail, I noticed that it seemed significantly less puffy than my old vest, even after having a chance to "puff up" out of the packaging.
Beware, the newer versions have less down fill. My old one has a tag stating: "Minimum 90% Down Cluster."
The new one that just arrived has the same tag, but it states: "Minimum 85% Down Cluster."
Is 5% a big deal? Not sure, but it feels thinner.
Should it really still be called a Tremblant vest? Is it still the same product?
I'm disappointed that MEC is compromising the quality of the product in order to (I guess) keep the costs down/low/the same.
Pros: good for camping.
Cons: has less down than the older version.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: NB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Zipper Works

Date:January 20, 2013
I picked the vest up on sale, and you really can't beat that value. I've only had the zipper get caught up on me once out of wearing it daily for a little over a week, and it's because I was rushing.
I'm not sure how bad the zipper was on the old version of the vest, but I think it's safe to say the redesign works much better based upon some of the previous reviews.
Pros: Comfortable, Warm
Cons: Bulky
Review 4 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
By:
Location: Ontario
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Very good vest

Date:January 10, 2013
Does a great job of keeping your core warm.
I've had a Tremblant jacket for quite a number of years and picked up the vest a couple of years ago. Great when it's not outrageously cold, and excellent for driving.
I bought a large so it'll fit over a wool sweater.
Pros: Comfortable, Warm
Review 5 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
Feels large
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Good value.

Date:March 12, 2012
Compared to competitors, this is a great value. However, I find even small fits fairly large. Feels more like I'm wearing a medium. Haven't notice any zipper problems though.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Poor Fit
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: ottawa

Lousy zippers

Date:November 30, 2011
Like most coats at MEC the Zippers are very poor and must be tried several times before they zip correctly.
Too bad, overall nice vests but the poor zippers makes it poor to use.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Poor zipper
Review 7 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Worst vest ever

Date:November 6, 2011
This is a horrible product that MEC should be embarrassed to sell. As numerous reviewers point out, the zippers are of such extremely poor quality they render this product useless. When they're not splitting apart the zippers are jamming and snagging - not something you want to put up with in freezing conditions, or any circumstances.
Cons: Bulky, unwearable
Review 8 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: West Vancouver BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Mt Tremblant Vest

Date:November 5, 2011
This is a well made effective garment that will last many years. Excellent product at a reasonalble price!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 9 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Quality for the Price

Date:October 14, 2011
Exactly as described. This vest is by far the best for value for price on the market. Yes the zipper does give problems, but it allows for a smaller footprint when bunching the vest into its pocket for backpack storage.
This vest rarely leaves my shoulders in the fall, it is durable and functional. As for stylish, well its not easy to wear a down vest and call it style. Comfort and warmth yes, style no.
I have purchased this vest for myself and for several others as gifts, no one I know has been disappointed with it. Nuf said.
Pros: Warm
Cons: zipper catches
Review 10 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Vest.

Date:June 12, 2011
The vest is great, I love the feeling. It makes me want to keep having it on and not wanting it off, similar to a "baby blanky". The zippers need work, it keeps getting caught and have to pay attention.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 11 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Huntsville, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

frustrating zippers

Date:March 2, 2011
The warmth and compressibility of this garment is good. However, the small diameter of the zipper combined with the fact that all of its zippers snag on the filmy nylon fabric 99% of the time makes it both a test of my patience and more of a challenge than I care to put up with. It will be returned to the store. A larger diameter, or courser zipper is recommended along with perhaps a stiffener for the zippers covers.
Please call me and I would be glad to test any improvements you make in the design.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, compactable, Light
Cons: all 4 zippers snag all the time
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: winnipweg
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

good vest/awful zipper

Date:January 1, 2011
Great vest, good price. Zipper catches 90% of the time. Please use a better zipper, better design or put snaps on the vest so we can avoid the infuriating zipper.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value
Cons: Zipper
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Squamish, BC.
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Tremblant vest

Date:December 1, 2010
I purchased this vest to replace my previous tremblant down. If only this version was as good as the previous model ~ 6 years ago.
Pros - This vest is warm, with huge functional pockets. It is durable and I work in mine daily.
Cons - The zippers are terrible and snag daily. Sometimes you have to pull the vest over your head and fix the zipper later. I will be returning this as the zipper is useless.
This would be a great vest if mec hadn't used cheap zippers. Because of the zippers the vest is essentially useless.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Cons: Unreliable, terrible zippers
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ancaster, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Light, warm, and functional

Date:November 26, 2010
Needing a fall-winter vest, I shopped around and settled on the Tremblant vest as the best value. This is a seriously warm piece of clothing. It works great for fall on its own, and paired up with a fleece-lined hoodie it will carry you comfortably into winter under most weather conditions. And it weighs next to nothing, so you really don't even notice it on. Definitely worth buying.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 15 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Crossfield Ab

Down Vest

Date:November 26, 2010
Great vest and nice and warm, good value for the money and I would buy another one. The zipper could be better and then I would give it 5 stars
Pros: Good Value
Review 16 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

I like it

Date:September 15, 2010
I just purchased my second Tremblant Vest. I loved the first one but it keeps going for walks on other people's backs so I bought a backup.
The Tremblant is perfect for spring and fall in northern Alberta. I slip it on over a hoodie when going outside on dry days when the temperature is a little bit below freezing and it keeps me at the perfect temperature. My first Tremblant definately had a better zipper than the new one does. The original had a large plastic toothed zipper that never gave me any problems while the second one has fine teeth and often gets caught in the outside flaps. I don't know why MEC did this, I have always found the larger zippers much more reliable. The new one, however, has elastic "cuffs" inside the arm holes that keep drafts out much better than the first one that didn't have them, a very nice addition.
All in all, I love this vest and since I purchased both of them when they were on clearance, they were an awesome deal!
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Warm, Fits well
Cons: Zipper
Review 17 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist

Go vest Natasha

Date:June 10, 2010
I am really tall, so I sort of wish the vest was a bit longer, story of my life. It still fits well, but the zipper catches when you try to rapidly escape the toasty confines once inside a heated building. Maybe I just need more practice using zippers. All things considered this vest is solid and is decent value. If I had to buy it again, I would.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, warm and toastyass
Cons: zipper is small and catches
Review 18 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Gulf Islands, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Date:June 10, 2010
I wear it under my riding jacket on my motorcycle.
It insulates very well and is allows for good range of motion. I find the zipper to be the only disappointing aspect, as it often jams. I've considered having it modified with a larger zipper.
When I bought it at the Victoria store, the store clerk pointed out the inner pocket to turn it inside out to use it as a pillow. A pillow for camping was something needed, so I was pleased with that little extra.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Zipper
Review 19 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great vest, bad zipper

Date:June 9, 2010
The vest itself is great - very warm and comfortable. Price is quite reasonable. Unfortunately the zipper on the inside pocket/storage pouch is really sticky. Mine completely froze up on a camping trip last weekend and I had the cut the pouch open to get the vest out so I wouldn't freeze.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: Bulky, unreliable zipper
Review 20 for MEC Tremblant Vest (Men's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Dawson City, YT
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Date:March 4, 2010
While the overall construction and feel of this vest is solid and functional, it fails in the quality of the zipper used. I live off grid in central Yukon and so reliability in my gear is something that I depend on day-to-day. Once again I've had problems with the cheap zippers being used in MEC garments I've purchased as of late. This vest is no exception, the zipper began to stick after only a couple of weeks.
Pros: Comfortable, compressable, Warmth
Cons: cheap zipper
1 2 3 next>>