Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Health and Safety or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Whiz Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)

Whiz Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)

Pee freely in cold or cramped environments without having to shed layers.
Average Member Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Member Reviews for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Review 1 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Perfect for camping

Date:September 19, 2013
Once you get the hang of using it, you'll love it. I used mine with the connecting tube and a urine bottle, every night in my tent on a 6 week cycling trip.
No completely waking up, crawling out of my tent to go to the public restrooms, a couple of times a night.
I keep a small piece of flannel in a ziploc bag to pat dry if required.
Just make sure the tube is secure and the bottle is big enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
Review 2 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: ottawa, on
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

woman's best travel friend

Date:August 20, 2013
I love this product. It's easy to use. Drops are quickly removed by flickering it. I keep mine in a zipplock bag. I 1st bought it for travel in europe, which came very handy with the general lack of cleanliness and handsoap in public bathrooms, but I also find myself using it in Canada when I go for long drives and I want to stop quickly on the side of a highway: it is a much cleaner option then using hot houses and most public bathrooms, it saves me time, it's more ecofriendly, and drivers by have no idea what I 'm doing because all they may see is a woman standing up beside a car. It can be used standing up or kneeling while directing the liquid onto the ground or in a bottle (to be disposed of). Price is well worth this awesome product saving you from countless germs and searches for suitable toilettes.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Buy a different style

Date:April 14, 2013
Review Title: Buy something else
This thing is not designed properly, it almost seems that the spout is on the wrong end, what is the piece at the front for? It doesn't go back far enough to prevent overflow and the material is too pliable to prevent leaks. It has to be placed with two hands and is extremely cumbersome to use. Very overpriced and can also be purchased online for a better price, the same product with a different name. I would not trust this product not to leak, also I stored this for a few months and it is changing colour. Not recommended.
A harder material would be better..."Shewee" which is another one that MEC carries is a harder material.
Because of the nature of the product I don't know if it can be returned.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Complicated, Poorly Designed
Review 4 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Oakville, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great buy, super awkward!

Date:January 29, 2013
What a great invention! It's super awkward to go to the washroom standing up with your pants on and not feel like you're going to urinate on yourself.
It takes getting used to.
It's easy to clean and compact.
Its just a great idea if you don't like black fly and mosquito bites all over your bum!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Review 5 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Lethbridge AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Worked great!

Date:June 30, 2012
I bought this for a trip to Nepal where we were going to be tenting in sub-zero conditions. Practicing at home in your shower was one thing, but you should ensure you practice in similar conditions to what you will actually be staying in. I had no problem at home, but if you're crouched in a small backpacking 2 man tent with your sleeping bag around you trying to hold onto your urine bottle, it's a bit more different!
However, once I got all that worked out, I really liked this. I wil continue to use this on other camping trips in future or even long packing trips during the day.
I agree with other reviews, a carry container would have been a great accessory. Still, the positive far outweighs this.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: takes a bit of 'situation specific' practice, no container/cover.
Review 6 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: GTA, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

This product is so "Whiz Easy!"

Date:March 4, 2012
I bought this- curious to find out if it really was as easy to use as I had heard. It is that easy.
As the directions say- practice first! I can easily see how this is going to be a great product to take when I am working in the field, to use in less-then-clean public washrooms, as well as to take camping, hiking, biking, boating, golfing...whatever! Now my sister wants one. A MUST for any active girl!
Just give it a flick and it is dry. I wash it out with soap and air dry it at the end of the day.
I just wish that MEC sold the cases that are available for this product!!!!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Easy to Use, Packable, need to go behind a tree? no problem!
Cons: no case available at mec
Review 7 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: São Paulo BR
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

best gift for girlfriend

Date:November 5, 2011
My girlfriend said "now i can go whith you to everywere"
She have tested and loved this gear
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 8 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Read the instructions and practise first

Date:November 5, 2011
I bought this for camping, music festivals, and other travelling. Once I got used to how to use it, I loved it. However, I strongly recommend that you practise in the bathtub before you take it out into the wild. Some things I learned "by accident":
• Make sure the large end of the funnel is up.
• Don't push as you urinate; that can cause overflow.
• Don't squish the funnel as you urinate (oops..yeah, that's probably pretty obvious, but I just wanted to make sure it was well-sealed against my body).
It dries quickly as described, although, I do carry it in a baggie in my MEC Right Hand Pod Sling Pack.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: Complicated
Review 9 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, ab
Gender: female

This thing is awesome!!!

Date:November 5, 2011
Wow I well never go To a festival or camping without it again... Great for avoiding sitting on heavly used outhouses and festival porta pottys.. Or just pick a tree and avoid them all together.. I love keeping a bottle in my tent vestibule and peeing into it, instead of a long cold dark walk to the outhouses in the middle of the night.. Oh and as a added bonus it's a great conversation peice.. Haven't tryed the other brand but i don't see the need to, this thing is the best!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, freedom to go where and when you please..
Review 10 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Date:August 1, 2011
I use this camping. So far I have only taken it during car camping trips. Sometimes the camp vaults/privies are not so nice, so this device makes things a little more easier!
For travelling overseas, I can see this being a very useful item too.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 11 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Cold weather relief

Date:June 11, 2011
Works great but would be better with the extension. Lengths everything! Practice using before going out or you could get wet!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 12 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

I don't leave home without it!

Date:March 20, 2011
I am a mainly urban person, and I bought this to deal with less-than-hygenic public washrooms. I expected it to be useful, but I did not expect it to change my life! As an older woman who has borne several children, having a good place to "go" is central to my enjoyment of an outing. This device has given me a new freedom!
I love that I can stand astride a toilet & use it like a urinal, never having to touch anything. I found that I began wearing skirts more often when I go out, making it even easier, faster, & more convenient to "go". It is a little more difficult to use wearing pants, but the optional extention piece helps a lot with that. I keep it in a small zippered makeup bag with several sheets of TP. After use, I rinse it with water if I have some & shake it dry, or just wipe with paper then wash it at home.
Like other reviewers, I recommend practicing at home first (in the shower?). Once I got over the mental block of going standing up, it got much easier to use.
My favorite uses:
1. Stuck in a long ferry line up, desperate to go but too close to boarding time. (I keep an empty bottle underneath the back seat to use in an emergency like this). Worth purchase price for this alone.
2. Even the nastiest public facilities don't phase me anymore.
3. The absolute best: at a music festival with "portajohns". The line up for the 2 "women-only" johns was 20 deep; the men's line up was 2 deep for the other 8 stalls. I got in line with the men, and the guy in front of me was like, "Oh, you go ahead." I think he was impressed by my bravery! I was in, done, and out before the women's line up had moved!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: takes some getting used to
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Easier to use than it looks

Date:March 20, 2011
I felt it was a touch expensive but I think I will get good use out of it.
Fantastic for hiking/camping or when using less than pristine public toilets (I carry it when travelling). Also great for cramped airplane washrooms.
VERY easy to clean - urine is sterile when it leaves the body so a quick flick after use is fine until a more thorough cleaning is convenient.
DO remember to practice with it at home a couple of times just in case ;).
(p.s. how cool is it to be able to go standing up??!!)
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, Easy to Use
Cons: Expensive
Review 14 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary Alberta
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Awesome product for female hunters

Date:September 6, 2010
I bowhunt... A LOT! This tool has allowed me to stay on a tree stand or in a ground blind from before sunrise until well after sunset. I use a bottle to urniate in so the animals don't spook by the smell of human urine. I find it easy to use and have never had a mess occur. The Whiz has also served me well in my tent and back of my truck when I don't want to brave the cold night to empty my bladder at 2 a.m. This has allowed me the freedom to be as dedicated to hunting as my body will allow. This would be an outstanding tool for female wildlife photographers, biologists, bird watchers, etc. Thank you again for a product I will never be without.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, easy to maintain/clean
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Cape Breton, NS
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Amazing outdoor tool

Date:May 17, 2010
Once you get over the fact that this is a bathroom device, people get comfortable and realize how useful it is. I started using this while 7-9 months pregnant. It worked great for weekly samples without any mess since I couldn't see what I was doing! Then for camping in the winter or when there was no other bathroom option but an outhouse, it was great to have! Very flexible and concealable, easy to clean and comfortable.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Best Thing Ever

Date:August 24, 2009
I love this product!!! Very useful when there are no bathrooms. This is a must for any outdoor adventure.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: NONE
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vernon, B.C., Canada
MEC MEMBER

I need a bath after using this product!

Date:July 15, 2009
It is messy and not worth the money or effort. I hear the freshette works better. A well practiced sqat works better than this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Messy
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Interior BC
MEC MEMBER

Considering this? Go for it!

Date:June 11, 2009
I am so glad I stepped over any reservations I had about buying this. It is easy to get used to & I can think of many situations when it will be a god-send. I bought it to take travelling in hot climates where clean toilets won't always abound. I also will give it winter use snowshoeing when layers of clothes make the normal female mode awkard and uncomfortable. I am thrilled with it. Yay to the designer of this gem!
Pros: Effective, Clear Instructions, Simple To Use, Easy To Pack
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Rossland, BC

Can't teach an old dog new tricks!

Date:March 7, 2009
Maybe I've just been a girl for too long, but I find this awkward and messy compared to a well-practiced squat!!
Pros: Easy To Pack, Clear Instructions
Cons: Messy
Review 20 for Whiz Freedom Urinating Aid (Women's)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario Canada
MEC MEMBER

Now I can also write my name in the snow

Date:March 6, 2009
works well in all conditions. would benefit from a slightly longer spout for winter use when multi layers are worn.
Pros: Effective, Easy To Pack, Clear Instructions, Simple To Use, Surprisingly mess-free
Cons: Have your TP ready
1 2 next>>