Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Health and Safety or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Zippo Zippo Hand Warmer

Zippo Zippo Hand Warmer

The compact design easily slips into a pocket or glove to keep your hands warm for up to 12 hours. Used with Zippo premium lighter fluid, it produces more than 10 times the heat of disposable warmers.
Average Member Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Member Reviews for Zippo Hand Warmer
Review 1 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario

Save your money, avoid this

Date:June 7, 2014
My well-meaning husband bought this for me as a gift, thinking it would be a more environmentally sound method than the disposable hand warmers. It got barely warmer than body temperature and stayed that way for a couple of hours. Refilled it, tried it again, same thing. And again. I'll stick with the one-time use hand warmers, thanks. Even if this had worked, the fact that you can't turn it off (it just keeps going until all the fuel is burned) makes it particularly inefficient.
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, requires smelly butane, can't turn it off, Ineffective
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Fantastic, long lasting, reliable

Date:January 1, 2014
Just like the add says. I filled it, let it rest on its side then lit it and it was going (actually 14 hours, i actually over filled it).
The next day I refilled it, let it rest on its side and lit it, same thing.
If you take it out of the pouch it gets super hot which was nice for climbing that day, super cold.
I put it back in its cloth case then in a plastic bag to smother it. it was dead in minutes. the add says you cant stop the thing but this worked fine.
Only a few of the hot pack brands actually are hot enough for my liking. This doesnt have to be discarded after use.
I bought them after I retired the two similar warmers that I bought at an army surplus store in the 70's. Im definitely a fan.
There is a fume which i notice now and then. I keep it in a chest pocket under my shell and get a wiff now and then, its not a big deal
stay warm out there
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, environmentally responsible product
Cons: play with it to learn how to light them
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Zippo Handwarmer

Date:October 14, 2013
Just found this at my local MEC store recently, a handy warmer that lasts for up to 36 hours, and does not have to be disposed after one use.
One of the two things that I don't like is that the cap falls off extremely easily, and so the entire system has to be kept in the fleece bag in order to be intact. Why do I have to cover it up? I'd rather flash this fancy thing at the bus stop and promote its usefulness. The fact that it is gas powered proves its warming capabilities. However, you'll always need a lighter to start it off and I don't smoke.
Wish MEC could always keep a large amount in stock, seems so that every time I go to MEC, they're always out of stock on certain things. My matte black Zippo Warmer was the last one from my store.
Pros: Simple, great invention
Cons: Expensive, Flimsy, Unreliable, cap falls off easily
Review 4 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Mississauga

Stops working

Date:October 5, 2013
I followed instructions properly, but eventually it stopped working after I'd say about 20 uses. I even bought a replacement burner, with no improvement
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Unreliable
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
MEC MEMBER

Works well

Date:April 12, 2013
It works really well if you follow instructions online or watch a video online on how to light it. I find that using the entire side of the flame to light 3 (out of 6) top holes and then moving to the second set of 3 holes works, or just focus on lighting it with the tip (the hottest part) of the flame.
After about 10-15 minutes, the Warmer gets pretty hot and I have to put it into the little sack that it comes with so I don't burn myself. I would suggest keeping it in a jacket somewhere if you want to warm a part of your body too. It lasts quite a while.
You can directly apply the Warmer anywhere, but be careful...it gets hot after a while.
Overall a great purchase for cold days and cold people ;)
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Hot
Cons: takes practice to light properly
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Invention, need modification

Date:January 14, 2013
I bought this hand warmer recently as it was the only option for long term use, outdoor. It works great. I filled it as per instructions, with zippo fuel and, while the produced heat met the expectation, the duration of producing heat was way over expectations. It is 36 hours from the time I lit it on and it is still producing heat!!! Amazing,
The only issue I see with it is the smell it produce while working. It is disturbing and I am a little worry about it's possible health impact as the fuel has benzen in it. Need to do some investigation. Using it in the jacket pocket the smell come out of the collar. Still great thing for occasional use.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: produce smell
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Stony Plain, AB
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Good quality, dissapointing output.

Date:March 10, 2012
The Zippo handwarmer is very good and durable, I was dissappointed with the duration of heat output. I didn't experiment very much because I was busy but maybe had I sealed it in a tighter pocket it may have lasted longer. The heat output was fine and the ease of preparation was fine as well. Very well built.... only the duration was dissapointing.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: short heat duration
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Paris, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Date:February 12, 2012
Not consistent with amount or duration of heat produced. No good if you need a reliable, long lasting source of heat.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Reusable
Cons: Unreliable
Review 9 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great reusable handwarmers

Date:January 8, 2012
I work outdoors for 6 hour shifts standing in one spot and can't rely on body heat to help keep me warm and these little guys have been keeping me warm for 2 years now... I've switched the burners once or twice per winter depending on usage and use only 2 large zippo lighter fluid cans a year (if that) which run me a total of 40$ compared to having to buy those throw away charcoal hand warmers that can run up to 40$ a box and depending on how many you use can go pretty quick. These have kept my hands and body warm in -30 weather and I find that if you keep them in your pockets zipped up and only unzip when your hand stay in them they warm up a ton more and can get to the point where the heat can be felt through your jacket and keeps you're body warm as well.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, save you a lot of $ in the long run
Cons: the burners are a little too delicate
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto,ON
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good build Quality, Poor Output

Date:October 22, 2011
I really like zippo's line of products, but I was disappointed with the purchase of this hand warmer. It looks like a copy or licensed copy of the "Hakkin" brand Peacock hand warmers, right down to the burner's design. The pressed-out design on the lid is different, however.
It has a good build quality; nickle plated, parts fit well together, burner is well-arranged. And it included a 'burn indicator' to tell me if it was on or not. The included fleece bag is far better than the pathetic sacks that have come with other hand warmers.
But, what was sad is that it *does not* function well as a hand warmer; it produces a heat level equal to body temperature. That's not going to warm up anybody in anything other than a fall stroll. My other hand warmers, despite being poorer in build qual., manage to output 3-4 times the level of heat.
I own two of these zippo hand warmers, and I'd like to say that it was a manufacturing error for me. However, I find it unlikely that both of my purchases happened to be defective. I believe that it is due to the burner's design: My other hand warmers have domed, not flat, burner elements. The new zippo replacement burners look to be a domed design, so maybe I'll try and see if that will remedy the heat output problem.
Overall, I'd say that if you really need a usable heat output, go for a disposable heat-pack, or look at another brand.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Easy to Light, very long burn time
Cons: Expensive, low heat output
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good for those cold days

Date:August 31, 2011
I bought this product primarily for those cold days when I took Calgary Transit. The C-trains would often break down and I would have to walk long distances to alternate stops or wait for long times on the platforms. I've used this handwarmer for the entire winter of 2010 to early 2011.
This little guy is quite the relief during those times. It gets pretty hot and only takes a small amount of time to get to that heat (~15 to 20 mins). Once it gets going I have alternate pockets from it getting too hot. I go from chest pockets, to hand pockets to wallet pocket (feels like those seat warmers in vehicles) and repeat.
Some reviewers have said that it needs sufficient air flow for it to work well. However I'm a big fan of layering, and have had this guy under a down vest, a soft shell and in a midlayer pocket and it hasn't gone out.
The reason that it didn't get 5 stars all around, is that sometimes you can't tell if the burner has lit or not. During those busy mornings I've ran off to the bus thinking it was lit when it wasn't. Also there is no convenient way to shut off the handwarmer when you don't need it. However, once you've used it several times you can get a pretty good handle of converting the amount of fuel to length of time. I got it pretty bang on for the amount of fuel to get the warmer to last exactly an hour. This also helped me lower fuel economy. From using it consistent only in cold weather (-15 to -30 C), a 4 oz Zippo fuel can lasted me the entire 2010/2011 winter. I can definitely imagine people using more than the 4 oz can if their not careful.
In summary, I'm not a hunter or an winter hiker type person or even a outdoor survivalist. However, I'm a customer of a unreliable transit system during the winters and I really enjoy this product. Hope this review helps others in my situation.
Cheers
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: can't tell if burner is lit, no way to shut off once it gets going
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: montreal
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Unit does not work

Date:January 30, 2011
I purchased a zippo hand warmer this morning at your Montreal store. I followed instructions to the letter...3 times ! but could not get the unit to function as advertised. Very frustrating. I will go back to your store tomorrow to either get a refund or replace the unit.....
Your instructions should include a list of "what to do if the unite does not warm up......" I am hoping & assuming that I misread the instructions ??? but I doubt it.
Cons: Unreliable
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: BRECHIN ONT
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

COMFORT IN THE COLD

Date:November 28, 2010
REDUCES THE WASTE OF CHEMICAL DISPOSIBLE HAND WARMERS , THE PURCHASE OF A QUALITY REUSEABLE PRODUCT SAVES MONEY , AND TRASH ON THE GROUND , THE FIRST FEW TIMES OF USE THE COTTON IN THE UNIT WILL ABSORBE THE FUEL AND COMPRESS , JUST LIKE WET DOWN IN A SLEEPING BAG , JUST LIFT OFF THE BURNER HEAD AND ADD SOME COTTON BATTON TO THE UNI T , DONT JAM IT IN TO TIGHT JUST ENOUGH , WHEN THE FLUID IS TOPPED UP SLOW ENOUGHT FOR ALL THE COTTON TO ABSORBE THE FLUID , IT TO WILL COMPRESS , BUT YOU WILL GET THE FULL TIME PER FILL UP OF HEAT , MAYBE SOME UNITS WERE NOT FILLED UP PROPERLY JUST LIKE SOME OF THE ZIPPO LIGHTERS , IT HAPPENS . EASY FIX . I HAVE USED THIS HAND WARMER MANY TIMES AND IT WORKS JUST FINE , HIKNING , HUNTING , ATV USE , ANYTHING THAT BURNS FUEL NEEDS OXYGEN , TRY TO KEEP IT IN A NOT TO CONFINED SPACE WHERE LACK OF AIR WILL SLOW DOWN THE BURN RATE OF THE FUEL AND KEEP YOU TOASTY , IF YOU FIND IT WILL NOT SLIDE IN YOUR GLOVES , TRY YOUR COAT POCKET OR AN INSIDE POCKET OF YOUR COAT AND JUST WARM YOU HANDS AND GLOVES INSIDE YOU COAT FOR A FEW MINUTES . IT WILL WORK JUST FINE , PURCHASE GOOD QUALITY BRAND FUEL , RONSON , ZIPPO , BE CAREFULL OF NONE BRAND NAME FUEL , LOTS OF WATER IN THE CHEAPER BRANDS OF FUEL TREAT YOURSELF THIS WINTER AND MANY MORE WITH THIS HANDWARMER . IT WORKS JUST FINE
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, saves money verses throw away warmers
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
MEC MEMBER

Very effective multi purpose warmer!

Date:November 24, 2010
I haven't bring it out into the cold yet but was testing it yesterday at home. I follow the instruction for 1st time use, which is to fill the Zippo up with 2 cups of fuel. However, the thing fill up to the top at about 1.5 cup. Anyway, so I stop and light it. It took about 10 seconds of lighting before the Zippo started to work. The box said it will stay on for 12 hrs, but then I put it in the carrier the whole time and it still producing heat after 24 hrs of continuous use!!! It does produce a little bit of odor but you can't smell it unless you put your nose against the warmer. Overall, it is a great product, I can't wait to put it in use over the winter!
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Cons: SIZE
Review 15 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sackville, NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

keeps you warm when the temperature isn't

Date:April 27, 2010
I bought this handwarmer this past fall. I was tired of using disposable handwarmers and was searching for alternatives. I saw a few reviews on youtube that really helped make my decision.
The Good:
This item WILL and DOES pump out heat but certain things will limit how well it works. I found that it worked best when it was kept between my shirt and jacket (like in a breast pocket). It would heat the air trapped in my jacket and kept my core warm. I haven't tried it yet but would imagine that it would provide similar warmth inside a sleeping bag. It uses very little fuel. I wouldn't get too hung up on the actual specs of fuel consumption/burn time. As far as practical use goes, a little fuel lasts a very surprisingly long time. The fit and finish of the item certainly is one of quality and longevity. I was concerned about it's safety originally- wondering if I would ignite myself with it. I can happily say that after an entire season of use I have not been singed at all.
The Bad:
Heat output seems to drop when kept in a very confined space. Keeping it in it's sleeve while inside a mitten limits its oxygen supply and the output drops. Your hands can tolerate the bare metal when confined in a mitten though so it's not the end of the world. They also will not fit in a standard issue glove. The term "handwarmer" may be a bit of a misnomer then. There is a very slight odour given off as well. It's not objectionable, and you don't always notice it. Just occasionally you'll catch a faint whiff of the fuel. Apparently the catalyst that allows for flameless heat will wear out. I used mine for an entire season, several times each week and I haven't had any issue yet. Replacements can be ordered directly from the manufacturer though.
Overall:
I really enjoy my handwarmer. I found that I kept it on me even while indoors. A welcome plus was the fact that I found myself lowering the thermostats in my home slightly as this little warmer was heating me directly. It's no ceramic or kerosene heater but used wisely will make the Canadian winters more enjoyable and help you get out there when the mercury dips. I'd buy it again and I'd give it as a gift. It's worth it's price considering how many times it can be reused.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, excellent fuel efficiency
Cons: won't fit in a glove
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Mississauga
MEC MEMBER

Does not live up to its claims

Date:February 26, 2009
It gets plenty hot when used by itself. When used with the supplied fleece case, it does not feel warm enough. Also, it does not come close to lasting as long as it claims it does. It says that it can provide constant warmth for up to 24 hours with 0.4 oz. of fuel but when I tried it out, it lasted 6 hours the first time and 14 hours the second time. This would be a decent product if your expectations aren't that high.
Pros: Simple To Use, Clear Instructions, Effective, Easy To Pack
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario, Canada

Warm, compact, good on fuel

Date:February 23, 2009
Bought this earlier this winter and works as well as advertised. Even tucked away under your belt or armpit, it keeps you warm without going out on you.I used a non-zippo brand type of fuel once and it turned the burner black. A replacement burner was available from Zippo directly for $6.
Pros: Easy To Pack, Effective, Simple To Use
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
MEC MEMBER

replacement burners

Date:October 16, 2008
I hope that MEC starts selling the replacement burners for these things. apparently the burners only last between 70-90 times of use. i tried locating these burner replacements on the internet but its tough. The burner only lasts about 1 year. T[...]
Pros: Simple To Use, Clear Instructions, Easy To Pack, Effective
Cons: NO replacement burners
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Mountain Equipment Co-op:By AuroreService CentreNovember 4, 2010
The replacement burner is now available from MEC, product number 5024-753. The burner can be used about 60 times.
Please call the Service Centre to order yours: 1.800.663.2667.
Review 19 for Zippo Hand Warmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Never cold again!

Date:October 3, 2008
Will burn long enough to impress.
Fantastic shape you will love how it feels wherever you place it [small of back, or tucked under your arm in a sleeping bag].
Pros: Simple To Use, One of a kind, Easy To Pack, Effective, Efficent
1 of 1 found this review helpful.