Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Bike Storage Racks or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Delta Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist

Delta Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist

Sway your bike or boat up and out of the way with this pulley system, creating more usable floor space in your garage or basement. The auto-locking mechanism prevents accidental release.
Average Member Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Member Reviews for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Review 1 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist

Great space saving product

Date:September 23, 2013
With high garage space, this is a fantastic way to make use of that space for storage. Easy to instal. Lifts bikes easily and securely.
When pulled up, it is a lot of rope to tie, but not a big deal as it's quick to undo.
As others have mentioned, Robertson screws are much easier to use that Phillips.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: change out phillips screws to robertsons
Review 2 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Oakville, ON

Not for Everyone

Date:May 27, 2013
I bought this system hoping I could maximize the vertical space in my garage, but unfortunately it just didn't work for me.
I found the the pulley system awkward to use, both in how well the ropes pulled through wheels and especially how the weight was balanced between the two ropes. You also need to account for how much room the pulley and its mounting take up, reducing your vertical space clearance. The arms that grab onto the bike could use a bit more of an angle, as I felt the arms weren't holding the bike all too securely.
Cons: Complicated
Review 3 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Brilliant

Date:February 19, 2013
This product is awesome for storing your bike away. Super easy to install, The hardest part of the install is finding the roof studs but a stud finder helps. I mounted ours on a 1 by 4 piece of wood then once all together I mounted the 1 by 4 to the roof studs. The rope is a little long but not an issue. I would recommend this product to everyone. I think it is a little over priced for what it is but it is built very well.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario

Cheap and effective!

Date:February 17, 2013
This product was an economical way to hang our canoe in the garage. It is simple to install and operate. The perfect solution!
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 5 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Excellent Product

Date:February 17, 2013
Simple to install, easy to operate, and allows us to make good use of our garage storage space.
Pros: Simple, Reliable
Review 6 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ancaster, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Easy peasy

Date:July 18, 2012
Was somewhat skeptical when I bought this "contraption", but it's a surprisingly elegant solution for those of us with relatively high garage ceilings.
Installs really easily in less than 15 min - measure the distance between the back of your seat and the handlebar, then install the pulleys that distance apart along (or across) ceiling joists. String the rope through, tie a knot at one end and you're done.
The hoist pulls the bike up with little effort and the locking mechanism works well.
The only annoyance is that once the bike is hoisted up, you are left with a LOT of extra rope to wrap up, even once it's trimmed to size. Note: ensure that the rope is trimmed when the bike is on the floor, NOT hoisted up.
Pros: Simple
Review 7 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Magog ,Quebec CANADA
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Date:May 5, 2012
Well worth the money.Does what it suggests. As many comments said, the pseudo Phillips /Robertson screws are worthless, they can't take the torque required to drive them in without stripping.Buy some Canadian made Robertson screws, we invented the screw, by the way.More than ample rope. But use the tie-down turnbuckle as a back-up.To lower ,hold the rope between the pulleys. I use mine to support my road bike for repairs .What would we do without MEC.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ucluelet, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

kayak storage

Date:October 1, 2011
This product works well for hanging my kayak in my garage. The locking mechanism isn't always that effective but the product works well as long as it is tied securely.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 9 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Excellent Product

Date:September 8, 2010
This system is easy to use, easy to set up, and good value. I used this product to hang a bike from the rafters in may garage...I will now use it to hang a canoe. Great product all around.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 10 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Mississauga, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Good product, poor price

Date:July 27, 2010
I’ve very happy with the ceiling hoist. I have a ‘robust’ MTB which is now off the floor and on the ceiling. The installation was straight forward. I ended up replacing the screws with Robinson head screws because they are easier to work with. The locking system for the rope is also robust and reliable.
I was a bit disappointed with the price – a week after receiving and installing the hoist, I found the same thing at a local store for half the price.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Reliable
Cons: expensive (at mec)
Review 11 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Kettleby, ON
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Good solution

Date:October 24, 2008
I need to store 3 bikes for the winter in a single car garage. I mounted 1 on the wall and I hoisted the other 2. It's a great solution as I have lots of height to work with. The hoist is fairly easy to install but I recommend Robertson head screws rather than the Phillips that come with the kit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Delta El Greco Ceiling Hoist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, On
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Great way to reclaim the garage

Date:May 28, 2008
The hoist was pretty easy to install. I was surprised by how thick the supplied rope was. The only problem I had was the screws possesed a pretty shallow Phillips head that stripped easily when drilled into the pre-drilled joists. I had bought a box of 50 3 inch #12 Robertson head wood screws and that did the trick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Screw heads strip easily
2 of 2 found this review helpful.