Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Cycling or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Michelin Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Michelin Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire

Great choice for someone looking for a durable training / racing tire. The casing incorporates four protective layers that resist punctures and road damage, for longevity. Carbon-reinforced centre tread resists micro cuts and increases mileage.
Average Member Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Review 1 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist

Definitely recommend

Date:November 1, 2011
I bought these for my road bike looking for speed but didn't want to sacrifice durability. These are the ones to go with. I haven't ridden these for too long (500-750 km) but mind you I live in Winnipeg. No matter how good you are at dodging potholes and road debris you will hit the many potholes and ride through many piles of glass in Winnipeg. So far so good, not even a cut on either of the tires so I'm really impressed. Handling is pretty good but I wouldn't push it in wet weather. When first installed, wipe off the white powder on the tires with a wet cloth. These tires were really hard to put on the first time but the hard work is worth it in the end. Recommend to anyone wanting a quality and worry free tire.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Reliable, Fast
Cons: Expensive, Hard To Install
Review 2 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Moncton, NB

Excellent Tire

Date:October 29, 2011
I have put on about 1300 km on these tires this summer and have had zero problem. I will certainly keep buying them! Low rolling resistance.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Canmore, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Krylion goes on and on

Date:October 16, 2011
I've been riding these tires for 2 summers on a fixed gear bike commuting to and from work 20km return, and riding on free days at least 100km a week. They have 4000km on them and not a single puncture! They might be a little expensive and slightly heavy, but they role great and are very tough. Wouldn't buy any other road tire.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Nothing
Review 4 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: White Rock , BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

I'm happy so far

Date:October 1, 2011
I've only ridden 214 km on them so far so I can't say much about durability , but so far so good . I have ridden over road debris and had no problems . I have ridden on the edge of broken glass and had no problems . Cornering is good . Rolling is good , I think , or it could be the fact that my super smooth Eurus hubs are doing it all . One thing I will say is that they were a bugger to put on my Campagnolo medium deep Eurus Clinchers . My thumbs were sore after that one ; I dread having to replace a tube if I flat out on the road . In general , I'm happy , and time will tell .
Pros: reliable so far .
Cons: Expensive
Review 5 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

great tires

Date:August 26, 2011
these are great tires. I would get a lot of flats on the roads I ride on with other tires, including Gatorskins. I've only had 1 flat with these tires in an entire season. I'll be buying another set of these when the pair I have now wear out. And the set I have are not showing any wear so far!
Pros: Rugged, Reliable
Review 6 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saint John, NB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

a tough tire

Date:July 7, 2011
This is a fantastic tire. Keep it over 100 psi and it will take lots of punishment. I recently slammed into a water filled pothole - which bent and cracked the back rim...the tire and inner tube were fine. When I replaced my rear wheel I put the same 2 year old tire back on and it's like nothing happened. I haven't had a flat in the 2 years I've been using these, and I commute to work 8 months of the year. Can't praise them enough!
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Rubber

Date:July 30, 2010
After putting 4000km on a set I can say that the puncture resistance of this tire is absolutely on par if not better than the gatorskins. The difference being in the unlikely event of a puncture, these tires can be removed and re-installed without mechanical assistance. (Although I haven't had experience with the folding version of the gatorskin). I found that these tires outlasted the gatorskins whose sidewall failed before wearing out.
I'm absolutely going to replace these with another set when the time comes.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable, Looks cool
Review 8 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Date:June 10, 2010
These tires are great. I have trained and raced with them and they have held up very well despite being a heavier rider.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 9 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Fast and Strong

Date:April 21, 2009
These tyres are just perfect. I have commuted a good distance on these and they have worn very well. They have excellent grip in the wet. I have had two punctures. 1st from hitting a large rock at night (pinch flat) and the second because the back tyre is worn out. The back tyre has worn a little quicker than expected, but then I do carry a heavy training weight (large screen laptop) on most of my rides. I'm replacing the back tyre now (with the same brand) and I expect the front to last as long as this new tyre.
Great buy if you don't like changing tyres in the wet!
Pros: Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons: Wear More
Review 10 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
VERIFIED REVIEWER

excellent tire for training or commuting

Date:October 1, 2008
I liked my Gatorskins but wanted to try something different on another wheelset. I'm glad I did. I have grown to love these tires. They are strong -- I've had very few flats (two wires in two years) -- they roll very well, and they are long-lasting. I pump them up every week, to about 110 psi. They don't feel harsh and they handle hardpack really well too.
Pros: Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Durable
Review 11 for Krylion 700x23c Folding Tire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, B.C
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Better than Gatorskins

Date:September 22, 2008
Best commuter/training tire I have ever used - have almost forgotten how to change a flat. Much more durable and flat-resistant than Gatorskins - lighter too.
Pros: Puncture Resistant, Durable