Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Footwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Keen Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')

Keen Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')

Because kids go everywhere – and back again! These hybrid sandals take water in stride, while providing shoe-like support and protection. Patented toe-guards protect tiny tootsies during play.
Average Member Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Member Reviews for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Review 1 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: toronto, on
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Recreational
MEC MEMBER

fabulous all purpose summer shoes

Date:February 19, 2013
These were my daughters go-to shoes this summer. She had a couple of weeks of canoe camp where these were particularly helpful -- protection for the toes, good grip for slippery conditions, and fine in the water plus easy to get on and off. She is now a die-hard keen fan and has another pair for school activities. Hard wearing - I have no doubt that they will be in great shape even when my second kid goes through them
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 2 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: New Liskeard, ON

comfort

Date:February 18, 2013
This shoe I would recommend to other except those with narrow feet like mine. An average foot would love this product, but with narrow feet they feel a bit loose.
Pros: Well made
Cons: wide toe area
Review 3 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Hamilton ON.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Do not buy if they are going to wear them a lot.

Date:February 17, 2013
We bought three pairs of these for our three sons based on the previous similar models we had in the past were great.
All of my kids, along with myself were never sure which path exactly the top strap was supposed to follow. Often leading to chafing and discomfort.
They smell REALLY bad after a very short span of use (several days) and my kids are clean kids. Washing helps, but only for a few days
The elastic laces broke on two pair before the summer was up. MEC does sell replacement cord that fits (not matching) along with replacement end keepers (the originals are almost impossible to remove in one piece and even harder to put on the new cord).
Over all this is the worst design I've experienced with KEENS.
Past designs held together, didn't need me to fix them and they didn't STINK!!!
Would not recommend these to anyone other than older people with small feet and always wear socks with sandals
Pros: Breathable
Cons: poorly made, terribly stinky, difficult to repair, top strap chafes, substandard shock cord.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Recreational

Best sandals EVER!

Date:February 17, 2013
We bought my 9 year old son his first pair of Keens last summer and he loves them, wears them everywhere - on our sailboat, at the beach, to camp etc etc. He claims they are the best sandals he's ever had. I would have to agree as if they fit half as well as mine do they are perfect!
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
Review 5 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Cool
Feels moderately cool
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

These sandals are the best!

Date:June 11, 2011
My kids have been wearing these sandals for a couple of years now. We buy them every year, they take a beating, and still look great. They are a little on the warm side, but they protect little feet.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 6 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: newfoundland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Fantastic Shoes

Date:May 21, 2010
These sneakers were bought almost a year ago and are still in great shape. I have a very active 5 year old that loves these sneakers. He finds them very comfortable and easy to put on. He has very wide feet and it has been hard to find shoes that he found comfortable. These are GREAT! We will be buying them again in a bigger size. Would recommend them to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Comfortable
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Durable all-terrain shoe

Date:March 29, 2010
I have small feet (I am a 20 year old female) and these are just as good as the adult version for a fraction of the price. They were the only shoes I brought on my Canada/Africa/Europe trip so I was walking in them for about 4-6 hours/day on all sorts of terrain and they still feel brand new. Super comfortable, really durable (nothing will go through the soles!) and very quick-drying. Great purchase!
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Quick Drying
Review 8 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Cochrane, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

These are the best sandals ever

Date:March 23, 2010
For the summer I usually purchase sandals, runners and hikers. With these sandals I don't need to. My kids hike in them, go in the water with them, bike and just plain run around the neighbourhood in them. Awesome buy.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 9 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
By:
Location: Traveling in Japan for a year
MEC MEMBER

Great Sandals

Date:November 11, 2009
Bought these for our 9 yr. old and he put them through a rough and tumble summer as only a 9 yr. old can - running, jumping, kicking rocks, in and our of the water. Although well worn in, they are still as solid as the day we purchased them.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Durable
Review 10 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: ottawa
MEC MEMBER

My kid loves you for selling these

Date:May 29, 2009
Awesome sandals. This is the second pair my son has had and they're fantastic. He uses them for canoe tripping, camping and short hikes, as well as basic every day sandals. Every bit as sweet as the adult version, and he gets to look as cool as his mom.
Pros: Water Resistant, Durable, Great Traction, Comfortable, Stable
Review 11 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto Canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

A blessing for kids with wider feet

Date:May 3, 2009
My 8 year old son has always had very wide feet so regular sandals just never work for him. This is a much better alternative than Crocs which just don't have enough support. My son has only taken them off to sleep since I bought them.
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Water Resistant, Great Traction, Stable
Review 12 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ayr, Ontario
MEC MEMBER

they're great

Date:April 21, 2009
My child has wider feet and these are the only sandals that fit her comfortably in width and length.
Pros: Comfortable, Water Resistant, Great Traction, Durable, Stable
Review 13 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: vancouver

durable shoe for active kids

Date:September 9, 2008
great for day hikes on hot days
Pros: Non-slip sole, Water Resistant, Comfortable, Great Traction, Durable, Stable
Review 14 for Keen Newport H2 Sandals (Kids')
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: ON, Canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

GREAT!

Date:June 16, 2008
It's very wide!!! It's perfect if " something bother " your child's feet all the time... that's the only shoes my 8 years old loves and agrees to wear :)
Pros: Stable, Great Traction, Water Resistant, Comfortable, Non-slip sole, Durable