Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Headwear or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Sprigs Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)

Sprigs Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)

Banish hat head forever. These new ear covers keep your ears snugly warm for activities like skiing, cycling, or climbing. Small and easily portable, you can also wear them under a hat or helmet.
Average Member Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Member Reviews for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Review 1 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately small
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
MEC MEMBER

Warm, easy and convenient

Date:November 22, 2013
Picked up a pair of these last season, and have started using them again this year in late fall. Couldn't be happier. They go on easy, stay on securely, keep my ears warm and, importantly, block the worst of windy gusts. Also, since they fit around the ears instead of over the head, it means no more earmuff-induced bad hair.
I got a pair of mediums, and found that they pinch just a bit.
Would like to see MEC getting in other colours, too (I know that Sprigs offers a wide variety on their website). Would also be good if the Earbags started coming with a small carrying pouch, since they're small and easy to loose or misplace.
Overall, highly recommended.
Pros: Breathable, goes on easily, fits securely, keeps out moderate wind
Cons: no carrying pouch
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Truro, NS
Age: 45-55
Gender: male

Does the job

Date:February 25, 2013
Great for keeping my ears warm, and good value. My ears hurt a little after 2 hours
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 3 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

wear them everywhere

Date:February 18, 2013
I wear them to run and when just going out. They stay on well on the run (did the Hamilton Road to Hope wearing them) and did not chafe.
Also great for keeping my ears protected from the wind and cold and do not mess up my hair. They are often unnoticed under my dark curls.
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
Cons: need occasional adjusting, need to try them on for proper fit.
Review 4 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Lockeport, N.S.
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Date:February 17, 2013
I would highly recommend this item for everyone. They beat wearing a hat and they store easily in your pocket or purse.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, perfect for people who don't like hats!
Review 5 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Wolfville, NS
Age: under 18
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Warm ears without wrecking my hair

Date:February 17, 2013
Great, portable, convenient ear warmers...second pair....now if they only had strings so I don't lose them!
Review 6 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Peterborough, On.

Date:February 17, 2013
I have had a pair of earbags for a few years and loved them so when I saw them here I bought a couple more pairs, one for a gift and one extra for myself in case I loose one.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 7 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver

a great innovation

Date:November 27, 2012
I don't have much to add to the favourable things other people have already said, but I just wanted to add my vote of praise. I've had a pair for about a year and I love them. They're wonderfully cozy and comfortable. As someone else noted, a carry bag would be a good idea, but I just keep mine in the original package in order to a) keep track of them and b) save them from getting smashed.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax

Pleasantly surprised

Date:December 25, 2011
Bought this as a fun gift.
Comfortable even while wearing glasses. Keeps the ears pleasantly warm (tested at -11C). Even looks good!
Highly recommended.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, great novelty item, makes a great gift that people will use
Review 9 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kootenays, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

So fun

Date:November 19, 2011
Thought they'd be goofy, but became a fan really fast. They work! It takes a bit of practice to get them snapped to your ears just right, and wearing earrings presents a bit of extra fiddling, but once you got the hang of it they won't let go. Definitely not good with long, dangly earrings though. They should sell in a small bag, instead of a plastic cover.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 10 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Canada
MEC MEMBER

Handy

Date:October 21, 2011
I was given these as a gift and certainly am glad I've held onto them. They're great to bring along in a pocket "just in case." There's certainly a time for toques, headbands, and scarves. But these have their place too and help keep chilly weather at bay.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, Comfortable
Review 11 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

a winter staple

Date:August 31, 2011
I've had a pair of these for about six years now, and they are the best winter accessory EVER. I couldn't believe how much of a difference they make, especially if you live in a windy place (like Toronto). The downside is that because they are so small and are two separate pieces, they are easy to lose... but I just tuck them into my mittens when I go inside.
I just love that I never get those headaches while my ears are thawing, that I used to get before I started wearing these. Not to mention, they're far more stylish than a toque or a headband. I tell everyone I know about them!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, don't mess up your hair
Review 12 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Great for cycling

Date:November 26, 2010
I bought these for colder cycling days because they don't interfere with my helmet like a toque would. They fit perfectly on my ears and aren't uncomfortable even for long rides (well... 45 min rides, I don't know what people consider long...). They keep just the right amount of heat in without muffling sound too much. I gotta say though that on the package they try to convince you these are 'stylish'. There's no need to pretend that's true.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Review 13 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great for runners too!

Date:November 24, 2010
I used them for running and they are awesome! They hold in place very well - even on a windy day and with the shocks/vibration caused by running - and they keep my ears warm. Excellent product. I definitely recommend it!
Pros: Comfortable, nice fit hold in place
Review 14 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Haida Gwaii, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female

Date:June 9, 2010
I like these ear bags because they really work. They keep my ears warm in cold and windy weather. I also like how small they are and that the black ones are almost unnoticeable when being worn. The one draw back is that they fall off too easily. Sometimes I've noticed them slipping and readjust them but other times I am unaware that one is missing until it is lost for good.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Cons: Fall Off Easily
Review 15 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Charlottetown, PEI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Great purchase

Date:December 31, 2009
Love these for day to day running around. Don't like that they can don't stay on well when wearing sunglasses. They're perfect for cutting the wind on a mild day when I might otherwise get an earache but it's too warm for a hat.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: can fall off
Review 16 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Winnipeg MB
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Date:November 26, 2009
think these are a good investment I find they fit better than normal ear muffs work well for going out walking recommend these
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 17 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
MEC MEMBER

Invaluable cycling accessory

Date:March 6, 2009
Keep your ears warm without affecting the fit of your helmet. There is no substitute for these things for cold-weather riding.
The helmet straps help to keep them on your ears; may not take long to lose them skiing or running.
Pros: Warm
Review 18 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
MEC MEMBER

these are great!

Date:December 6, 2008
Ear bags are just so handy. Easily fit into a pocket so they are always accessible when required.Have had mine for 4 years. Just love the way they protect my ears in strong winds.
Pros: Warm, Stylish, Durable, Lightweight
Review 19 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: St John's, NL
MEC MEMBER

loooove the earbags

Date:December 3, 2008
i wear them in super windy st john's, newfoundland, and they manage to stay on no matter what. it's also the perfect level of comfy warm. with some headband / earwarmer things, i find they get too warm. plus, with the tiny size, they even fit in my evening clutch when i go out :)
i wish they came in more colours though - a leopard or snow tiger print would be sooo cute :)
Pros: Warm, Stylish, Breathable, Lightweight
Review 20 for Sprigs Earbags Bandless Earwarmers (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo, ON
MEC MEMBER

I love them for cycling

Date:September 10, 2008
I wear these when cycling in temperatures below 5C. I can wear them and have earbuds on too. The helmet straps keep them on. I keep my ears warm and my helmet fits without adjustment.
Pros: Warm
1 of 1 found this review helpful.