Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Bike Storage Racks or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Swagman Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger

Swagman Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger

This handy bike hanger is great for small spaces and folds up out of the way when it isn't needed.
Average Member Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Member Reviews for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Review 1 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great value

Date:April 9, 2014
Purchased the bike hanger to save space in my condo and was a bit worried it would hold my bike up but there were no problems at all. Great Price, Easy to set up and the fold away handle prevents me from bumping my head. Would buy again if ever needed.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 2 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ont
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Effective & simple

Date:August 22, 2013
No issues at all! Hangs solid enough i trust it with expensive custom 20" bmx & 24" pro bmx race cruiser .works well as a work stand for basic repairs/ cleaning . Good value for what you get.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ancaster, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Good and useful

Date:August 12, 2013
I was fairly skeptical that this wouldn't be long enough or strong enough to hold my Norco Charger mtb. I was wrong, it is constructed very well and very useful to get your bike off the ground for storage.
I leave it open and put the bike on it after a ride.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 4 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Cheap and Effective bike hanger

Date:June 29, 2013
I use this down the basement to hang my road bike from. I leave the hanger open (unfolded) all the time, and just lift the bike onto it after each ride. The hanger holds the bike from its top tube a good 10" out from the wall. It' simple, functional, and does the job.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 5 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Date:April 13, 2013
I live in a two-bedroom apartment and don't want to leave my bike outside. So after looking into the options available for indoor bike storage, I decided to give the Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger a try. I have not been disappointed.
My bike is a Kona 3-Speed World Bike—not too heavy but not exactly a road racer either. I figure it's right around the 20kg limit that Swagman mentions and it has held my bike up on the wall effectively for over a year now. I like that the bike is held parallel to the wall so as not to take up too much room. I have the hanger installed high enough on the wall to store another bike underneath.
The hanger came with two screws for installation, but I opted to bolt the hanger to a stud with 1/4" lag bolts instead.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 6 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Québec, Qc
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Great Value

Date:February 24, 2013
Got home, installed it, and immediately noticed the poor quality of the screws that are supplied.
Wanting to make sure it would never fall off the wall, I screwed it in a stud in the wall of my apartment using a wrench. I was disappointed when the head of the screw broke off and that the package did not come with any spare screws. So I got concrete grade screws at the store and now that thing is never coming off the wall.
So, apart from the cheap screws, the hanger itself works like a charm, I use it without worry for either my aluminum or steel frame bikes. It is extremely stable and both easy and fast to install.
I also like to hang my helmet or spare tires around its stem.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable, Stable
Cons: cheap screws
Review 7 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingston, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Perfect fit

Date:February 19, 2013
This item was easy to install and keeps my cylcocross bike right where I need it , but safe and out of the way.
Installed in less then 5 minutes. Seconds to grab my bike and I am gone. Also serves as my stand for repairs! Thanks!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

affordable and effective

Date:August 15, 2012
bought one to store my bike in my room and save space. my building was built in the 1920's and the walls are plaster and old style, was having a hell of a time with a digital stud finder and finally gave up and just drilled holes and uses the included plastic wall anchors. worked great, it's really sturdy, I didn't hit a stud, but it's been holding my bike up for over a month and hasn't budged. if you have a regular power drill and preferable a stud finder, this thing is a snap to install, no problems whatsoever.
the bike I hung on it doesn't have a cylindrical shape, the top tupe has an angle in it, thought it might cause problems, but works just fine and holds it straight.
just coming back to order a second one to hang the bikes one over the other.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable, folds away, Easy to Install
Review 9 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female

Too many bikes, too little space

Date:November 5, 2011
We have a double garage with a mini van, a Civic and 5 bicycles as well as a kayak, various recycling bins etc. We are trying to make sure that we can get both vehicles in for the winter and, as such have been looking for creative ways to clear up floor space. These racks work very well for this. I would like to mention that they do stick off the wall when the bikes are hanging so you need to be careful when opening your car doors or you will scratch them on the pedals. The other option would be to install them to the front of the garage wall at a height where you drive your car under them. We may be revisiting this option.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist

Great value

Date:November 5, 2011
This bike hanger is a very durable robust design. It's a very simple design with nothing that will break on it. Road and mountain bikes are easy to place on the rack and are very stable. I bought three of these and am very pleased.
Also very easy to install. The complaints about the large metal screws, containing metal to soft to screw in the wall with a standard phillips screw driver bit are legitimate. However, a 10mm socket wrench fits nicely over the head of the hexagon screw providing plenty of torque and strenght to easly drill the screw into wood without any damage to the screw. A small pilot hole into wood may be helpful, so the screw does not go in on an angle. Problem solved.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Attractive
Cons: NONE
Review 11 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

works as advertised

Date:September 10, 2011
This thing needs to be a stud, otherwise it will fall off. The screws that come with it are about 3" long and 1/4" in diameter. That means they are very strong. It also means you will need to find the dead center of a stud before screwing it in, otherwise it will either ruin the stud or fall off. I installed it at shoulder height but find that lifting the bike on to it could be a bit awkward at this height. I cannot imagine how much harder it would be to lift the bike if it installed higher. However, installing it lower would bump my car in the garage. So, how much space is it really saving...
Pros: Simple
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saint John, NB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

simple & effective

Date:July 6, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thought I'd try this out as it was so affordable. Ended up purchasing another, so that says a lot. Easy to mount, folds out of the way when not in use, and cradles (my) bikes well. I'm including a photo which shows the width and shape of the actual hanger. It's possible that some frames won't fit that well, so at least you'll have a better idea if it will work for you.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great Bike Storage Rack

Date:July 4, 2011
We've looked an numerous options for storing our bikes in our garage. This rack was easy to install and it had all the necessary hardware for hanging it on drywall as well as directly to a stud. The hardware is robust and will hold up well. The rack folds up when not in use so it isn't in the way. Now our bikes are hanging on the wall, away from all the clutter, and are ready to take down and ride off whenever we want.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 14 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: St. John's, NL
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Does the trick

Date:August 1, 2010
I bought this as a poor man's stand to hold my bike when lubing the chain, adjusting the derailleur, or to hold it when I have a wheel removed. It does the trick just fine. The only complaint I could muster is that the clamp that holds the rack up and out of the way is a little flimsy, but still does the job and is not a deal breaker.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Canmore
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

no need for concern

Date:November 28, 2009
Was glad to find these after looking at other more expensive storage racks and was considering welding my own. Bought two, mounted one above the other using included hardware, installed on studs in my apartment. Being a welder I have no concerns regarding the strength of the weld (unlike the previous reviewer). Have been using them for over one year now and am very happy with the product and design.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: NONE
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Swagman Fold It Bike Hanger
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

a little concerned

Date:June 17, 2009
Bought two to hang the bikes in garage. Used 3" wood screws instead of the supplied 1.5" screws and plastic plugs for a more robust mount. The bracket's not moving from the wall!
I am a little concerned about the strength of the weld on the end of the hanger holding the hooks. my bike is now 5' off the ground and if it falls on the car or someone it'll be a mess. It probably will hold but I'm going to use a back-up for the upper bike, maybe a pulley and cable.
A simple (and cheap) redesign by the manufacturer would eliminate all my concerns.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: not sure of its durability