Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Slippers and Booties or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)

MEC MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)

Our lightest insulated booties are perfect for stuffing into the bottom of your pack as an après ski or climb reward for your feet. Well-suited to use in huts and dry conditions. Not ideal for winter camping in damp conditions.
Average Member Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Review 21 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Port Moody, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Feet finally warm!

Date:November 22, 2010
We got these for my husband, who has perpetually cold feet. Regular slippers were never warm enough for him, but these down booties have hit the mark. Very well worth the price.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Warm
Review 22 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Hot Foot !

Date:November 15, 2010
Finally my frozen feet are toasty warm .
Wear them around the house all the time . . Very goofy
looking (so I'm told) , but the warm down fill makes you
forget the goofy real fast ! Great on cooler tenting excursions !
Ramone !
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, toasty warm !
Cons: can't find a con !
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Mellbourne, Australia.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Not pretty but warm

Date:November 13, 2010
Tough wrap around sole so you can wear them outside for short periods if necessary.
Wear them around our unheated house in Melbourne. Generally 14°C inside in the winter.
The down is warm almost too warm. Occasionally I need to take them so my feet don't sweat.
Lastly, they have a pretty low cut. This isn't goof or bad, just is.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Review 24 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Very Warm

Date:September 27, 2010
I do not think these were meant for indoor use as they are very very warm. I wore them in the hostel and my feet were cooking. So had the take them off.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value
Review 25 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Great for hiking

Date:September 2, 2010
Wonderful to slip the feet into these booties after a hard day of hiking... definitely worth carrying even on long trips. Lightweight and compressible so they don't take up much room in the pack. Sturdy enough on the bottom for schlepping around campsites even if the ground is rocky or a bit boggy/ mossy. Reasonably water resistant for damp ground - wouldn't want to try them in the rain though. Warm and comfy, easy to get on and off. Love the bright orange colour!
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable, Sturdy, Comfortable
Review 26 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Alberta
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

I love gettin' down!

Date:July 2, 2010
So comfy! Everyone that has seen my booties has fallen in love too. They are great around the house as slippers and around the campfire for chillin' out. Sturdy bottoms make them very utilitarian. They are also very toasty, I can't wait to use them in the winter.
Pros: Comfortable
Review 27 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Date:June 9, 2010
Get down booties are perfect for cold winter camping trips to keep the feet warm after getting out of ski boots. I would recommend using these only for colder temperatures as slushy snow can cause the down to get sodden. All in all toasty warm, feels like sleeping bags for your feet.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 28 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Big but cozy

Date:June 9, 2010
Very warm camp shoes. The soles are a bit bulky for slipper use on cold cottage floors, but as they are also useable in the snow to some degree they are a good multipurpose bootie.
I've used them at the ski cottage in winter and sitting in a snow bank around a camp fire and they were toasty in both situations.
Great bootie for the price. As always, MEC designs are very thoughtful, and although bulky these booties are very cozy.
Pros: Warm
Cons: Bulky
Review 29 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Newfoundland and Labrador
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

The End of Cold Feet

Date:February 27, 2010
If you wish to avoid cold feet and place a high premium on comfort, purchase a pair of these GET Down Booties 2. I can say, without any hesitation, these booties are the warmesst, most comfortable slippers that I have ever owned.
I don't ski and I don't climb but I know how a great pair of slippers feel!
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
MEC MEMBER

Toasty Feet!

Date:April 2, 2009
Better than slippers for keeping your feet warm. I wear mine all the time around the house. But great for the tent with the soft sole, keeping warm and protecting your tent floor.
Pros: Warm, Lightweight
Review 31 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingsville Ont
MEC MEMBER

Would buy again

Date:March 27, 2009
They were perfect for wintry nights when we just couldn't keep our feet warm. nothing has worked like these.
Pros: Stylish, Tough, Lightweight, REALLY are warm, Easy to Use
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Igloolik, Nu
MEC MEMBER

Toasty Warm

Date:March 27, 2009
These booties are really handy for winter outings. After a day out on the land it is great to slip into them while the other footwear dries out in the tent or cabin. They are durable enough to be warn outside although they are slippery. The booties are also very comfortable around the house and running errands.
Pros: Easy to Use, Tough, Lightweight
Review 33 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Campbell River, BC
MEC MEMBER

Great toe snugglers

Date:March 8, 2009
our house has cold floors and these booties give instant warmth. My 88 year old mother loves them too.
Pros: Cosy, Lightweight, Warm, Easy to Use
Cons: A tad slippery on stairs
Review 34 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Mission, BC
MEC MEMBER

Sweet Booties

Date:March 6, 2009
This is another great MEC product; the down uppers provide superior warmth. The rubbery bottoms are super durable in comparison to every other down bootie owned by anyone in my Outdoor Leadership program. One drawback is the insole; it is not very warm at all, if you stand on snow or ice for more than about 5 min, you can feel the cold seeping in. I solved this by cutting additions insoles out of my insulate pad which make them much warmer. They are semi-grippy but only in snow that gives a little. Their low tops do not provide much protection in powder and they are quiet slippery on ice. As well they leak feathers, which seems to be the standard for down, but the clusters of down leave small hole in the outer fabric, allowing for more leakage. But besides these faults, they are great, I used them all winter as my camp and sleeping footwear and my feet we never cold in them. They are truly wonderful to slip into after having you feet in stiff ski boots all day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight, Comfortable, Tough for a down bootie
Cons: Leak Feathers, Flimsy
Review 35 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
VERIFIED REVIEWER

feet always cold?

Date:December 26, 2008
My brother bought me these as a Christmas gift since I'm always complaining of having cold feet. They not only warm up my feet, but keep the rest of me warm too. I wear them around the house and at school. The best gift ever!
Pros: Stylish, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Tough
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Smithers, BC
MEC MEMBER

Versatile

Date:March 12, 2008
Very nice and comfortable to wear. If used around town, they will break down, however with this price, just buy a new pair. They are made for dry, cold conditions, keep that in mind.
I find them to be much to warm for anything other than -15 degrees or colder.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight, Compressible, cheap
Cons: Very warm -15 or colder, No foot support
Review 37 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
MEC MEMBER

cold feet are finally warm

Date:January 27, 2008
I have Raynaud's disease - my feet are usually cold and are easily damaged by cold temps (and sometimes high temps too), often resulting in very irritating itchiness later on. My office has a cold floor, which aggravates the condition. The booties regulate the temp of my feet, keeping them neither too hot nor too cold, but just right. I use them everyday at the office (no need for the space heater anymore) and also find them handy for car travel in the winter (better than leaving my boots on).
I was a little worried that they'd be warm on the upper and cold on the sole, but they're nice and warm all over. The sole is also pleasantly squishy.
They started shedding down right away (mostly from the inside) but I generally prefer natural fibre, and this is what you get with down. I'd prefer them a little taller - they don't warm my ankles as much as I'd like.
Pros: Lightweight, Warm, Comfortable
Cons: Shed down
Review 38 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: san jose, CA

so sexy!

Date:January 15, 2008
not only are they warm but my husband finds them super sexy... especially when they are all i'm wearing! great for those freezing cold yet romantic evenings! a must for all!
Pros: Sexy, Stylish, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Tough
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, Canada

Down Booties

Date:December 17, 2007
I use the product every day. They are easy to use and keep my feet warm, especially when I have to walk on cold concrete floors. An excellent product.
Pros: Tough, Warm, Lightweight
Review 40 for MEC GET Down Booties 2 (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC

Chronic cold feet

Date:November 30, 2007
I have MS and feet feel cold almost constantly, but these keep them feeling warm almost constantly. If very cold floor, I may have to add socks under. But the shedding of down after a while is a major problem. I don't know how to solve it.
Pros: Lightweight, Nice and warm, Easy to Use, Washable
Cons: Shed down
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>