Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Expedition Packs (75 - 100L) or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Ibex 80 Backpack

MEC MEC Ibex 80 Backpack

This fully featured pack is excellent for multi-day backpacking and or mountaineering. The backpad plate can be slid up and down the stays, allowing precise adjustment to your back. The pad then locks firmly into place with a large hook-and-loop patch for stability.
Average Member Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
58 out of 63(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 54 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Review 1 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
FEATURED REVIEW
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Value

Date:February 7, 2010
If you're looking for a good, solid expedition bag but don't have the budget to spend hundreds of dollars, in my humble opinion, look no further. This bag lacks some of the bells and whistles that some of the more expensive bags might have, but usability and ruggedness are exceptional (minus the water bottle holder on the outside). I couldn't be happier with mine, and my girlfriends getting the same bag this summer.
If you want a solid bag for minimal cost, get the IBEX 80.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: waterbottle holder sucks
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Japan
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Disappointed

Date:March 21, 2014
This must be the first negative review of the Ibex.
I researched and waited over a year to return to Canada and when I finally bought it and took it for it's first expedition, I was in pain and agony and lost time on my approach because the bag was so heavy and caused so much pain. I had to stop every 15 mins.
First, the bag is really heavy. And then when you load up an 80L bag, it all adds up and the weight all focused on my lower back where the lower pad is placed. I tried many adjustments but the weight destroyed my lower back. Perhaps it is my body type.
One thing which I require for backpacks are the hipbelt pockets, for holding important quick draw items, such as compass, whistle, spray, camera, etc. The pockets on the Ibex are so taut/tight, that when you strap on the hipbelt, you can barely fit anything in because the pocket material is already stretched out. It is virtually useless...
Really disappointed with the Ibex, will be returning it on my next trip back to Canada
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: winnipeg, mb
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Solid pack

Date:March 4, 2014
I bought this last year for some hiking i do. It's well built and has tons of space and the pockets a plentiful and convenient. The only thing it's missing is a side pocket for a water bottle, but i have a bladder for that.
I got it cuz i didn't want to spend a fortune but still wanted something solid. The only drawback for me is that it's relatively heavy and I'm steadily lightening my load.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Review 4 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Banff, Alberta
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Tough Bag, cheap suspension

Date:February 3, 2014
I bought this bag a couple years ago, and it has served me pretty well hiking in the Rockies and Coastal range. It's a stout bag with plenty of great features at a unbeatable price.
It's a big bag, and it can haul loads. The sleeping compartment is cavernous, so make sure you load your sleeping pad, and some clothes in their as well.
If you like pockets this pack has loads. Three on the main body, and two on the floating lid. The side pockets are excellent for storing fuel away from food on the inside as well as keeping your emergency layers convenient. The pockets are easily almost 10 litres of storage space.
The overall construction (save for the bottom sleeping roll clips) is bomb proof. The materials are super durable, and very water resistant. All the zippers seal which is also a nice touch.
Now the downsides.
First off the bottom compression straps on the bottom of the pack (by the sleeping bag compartment) snapped on the first trip out when I was yanking my foamie roll in tight. I think this was due to the plastic clips being glued flush with the pack, so the male heads were coming in at a bad angle. The female ends should have been tethered to the pack and free to adjust the angle.
The hipbelt pockets are just barely big enough to fit a cliff bar with effort. Kinda makes them pointless.
Waterbottles pockets on the sides are great ideas, but Nalgenes somehow keep falling out, yet are challenging to return to the pocket. Still, angling them towards the drinker makes it easier to grab.
Lastly, and the most grievous of problems. When loaded down on long treks this pack is painful. Perhaps I have sensitive skin, or wear it too tight around my waist (and I was carrying a rope, stove, crockery, tent and a alpine rock rack) but when I carried this pack for long periods of time I develop a bad rash just above the base of my spine. The mesh materiel rubs the skin until it's raw. Sleeping becomes painful, and just plain unpleasant.
I am really disappointed in this pack. I had used it with light loads, but as soon as you put weight in it, it becomes very cumbersome, and painful to wear.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy, uncomfortable suspension, serious lower bag chaffing
Review 5 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Excellent backpacking bag

Date:December 29, 2013
I bought this pack in the summer and used it right away on a week long backpacking trip. It's an excellent bag for longer trips. Lots of room and layed out so that nothing was ever too hard to get at. Very comfortable with thick soft padding around the waist and adjustable back support. The waist strap pouches aren't very big so don't expect to put much in them. Good for a knife or multi tool. I kept my pen flares and bear bangers there. It's a lot of bag. So if you don't need the space go for the 65. Otherwise you are adding unnecessary weight but if you are going for long trips it's the perfect pack.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable, Comfortable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great bag for adventure dads.

Date:July 26, 2013
I bought this pack because my family is very large, and you have ever hiked with kids you know that the little critters don't like to carry much. I do suggest you make the little ones carry at least their own food and water however, and by the time they are 15 you can load them like mules (just kidding). Anyway the pack is great! More comfortable than you would expect too! In my opinion this is the best pack you can find on the market for this price.
The only downfall is the bulk and weight. I usually like to be a minimalist but when your a dad of six you need to suck it up and carry a heavy load for while.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Amazing

Date:July 25, 2013
Awesome pack, super comfortable, can fit everything I have in it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

The Best

Date:April 30, 2013
Yes like all the review say it is the best bag for the cost i get everthing in it plus more u can allso hang so much on the out side too i never look back now. Thank u MEC.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: fort sask, ab
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

great purchase

Date:February 22, 2013
i bought this bag about 4 months ago, it has seen approximately 14 flights since that time, through the WORST baggage handlers you have ever seen while PACKED full with 60 lbs worth of gear. And ocasionally tools as well.
When full it sits perfectly on my back, to the point that you do not even feel the weight that you are carrying.
I am very impressed with the durability of the pack for the low cost, a definite great purchase
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: British Columbia

Pretty darn happy

Date:February 19, 2013
I've humped this pack around more than twenty countries, mostly developing.
Can't say enough great things about this pack. For the backpacker it's great because it is inexpensive so if it is stolen it's not a huge deal and for the purpose it serves it is perfect.
It's been tossed, stomped, slept on, driven over overstuffed, unpacked, repacked and repeated more times than I can remember and only the most insignificant downfalls have been noted, mainly the sternum strap is now gone and the elastic chord on the back (which I never did figure out a use for) has disappeared.
This thing was basically my apartment for over six months of serious backpacking over multiple years and I would not hesitate to load it up and go out again with it tomorrow, if I didn't just get back.
Thanks MEC for a great product,
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Green
Cons: not currently packed for adventure
Review 11 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Durable and long-lasting pack!

Date:December 31, 2012
I purchased this backpack six years ago and am proud to say that it has served me faithfully on over 10 trips since then that have included multi-day camping / hiking in varying weather conditions (gale-force winds, torrential rains, etc). Your back will be thankful for the support offered by the various straps (belt and cross-chest) and you'll be surprised by how much you can actually fit in (enough clothes, accessories and sleeping bag for a 6-day hike in varying conditions). There are over 10 different compartments (some zippered and nested within others) which allows easy separation of clothing / hiding valuables when needed. Also, when travelling, I've seen other bags get damaged when coming out of the luggage carousel at the airport but somehow this bag has withstood such perils.
Overall, a solidly made bag that has the basics perfected without unnecessary bells and whistles.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary,AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Indestructable Pack

Date:December 15, 2012
I've had many backpacks over the last 35 years and most packs lasted only a season or two. I was tired of having to look for replacements every year or so. Well I decided to do a little research and having read several reviews of the Ibex80 I had to give it a try. I've had my Ibex80 for about 5 years now and well over 100 trips later I can honestly say this pack can take a beating. I have had this pack thru every type of weather and terrain possible and I had not one thing go wrong with it. The fabric can take the cold, the rain, the rock and dirt and the straps have not failed me despite having it loading to the max. It may not be the lightest, it may not be the prettiest or it may not have every bell and whistle you can get but I can assure all backpackers out there that if they want dependability, durability, and affordability this pack will not disappoint you. If you are planning to get your teenagers a backpack get the Ibex65 I did and my kids love them. Go and Enjoy Earth's Greatest Gift "The Great Outdoors".
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, nothing compares
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Dawson Creek, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Amazing bag/Really good value

Date:November 20, 2012
First of all this bag is really durable and quite adequate for backpacking/festival traveling. I'm a pretty big guy at 6'0" 250lbs so ordering online I was a little skeptical on how big/nice it would fit on me. Ii'm not sure on the size difference between standard,short,long But I got the long and it fits AMAZING. Padding in all the right spots and makes it quite enjoyable to wear for long periods of time. So if your looking for value and quality you won't be dissapointed
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, fits us big guys good
Review 14 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Value; Durable; Strong

Date:October 26, 2012
Very effective bag. Can access kit stowed anywhere inside without emptying the whole bag, due to a heavy-duty zipper running the length of the main compartment. There are numerous adjustments you have the option of making for fitting to your body. Hip belts are well padded. Bag is quite weather resistant on its own.
One comment from salesperson with regard to a shortfall: "It has no swivel for the hips". I literally haven't noticed this as being a problem. I don't think I would have been happy paying the extra money for such a feature.
Tons of storage space, with options to cinch down when not needed. Bag itself is not excessively heavy for its size. Fits right. Many storage options. It's got several pouch areas, not just one enormous space that everything gets lost in.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 15 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
MEC MEMBER

Great Choice for Travelling

Date:September 6, 2012
Product:
We purchased the IBEX 80 Long and IBEX 65 Short along with two medium Airline totes for our two and a half week vacation into Europe. I stand at 5'11" and my wife stands at 5'5".
Reason for choice:
Originally I was going to get a Travel Pack (w/ detachable mini backpack) but considering the time we would be walking to and from various transportation routes, I found the IBEX's on sale, and when fully packed, the weight seems distributed closer to the body as compared to what the Travel Pack, where it seems like it can only go perpendicular to your spine.
Side-note:
FYI: the "Source WLP Hydration System" will not fit the water pouch.
Accessory purchase:
We had purchased the slim fanny pack that fits under your pants to hold passports, currency and cards.
Airline tote, was purchased for baggage check-ins. Remember to remove shoulder straps and pack these into the IBEX. There is a clear pocket on the exterior for inserting a card with your contact details if lost.
Personal:
In my bag I carried about 14Kg, including two pairs of shoes, dress pants, jeans, shorts, various shirts, undergarments, toiletries, airline tote, day-use backpack (empty), three 500ml water bottles, laundry, gifts and so-on. I did not have to expand the bag to accommodate this. Shoes, toiletries, airline tote and empty backpack fit easily in the bottom lid.
Experience:
We had two flights, one cruise, three trains and ten public transportation uses where we would be walking to and fro fully packed. On occasion this would be up and down stairs, through cobblestone streets and dense crowds of people, and I would always note to myself how lucky we were to have chosen this pack while watching people attempt to lug or pull suitcases through the same scenarios. All the supports (waist, shoulder, chest tie) are very comfortable when properly adjusted and you don't have that feeling of being pulled back or lurching forward. You will probably have back sweat, but I don't see how this would be avoidable, even with a vented/wicked fabric. little pockets on the waist strap are handy for non currency items (bus tickets, notepads, change, etc). Zipper on the side leading to the main compartment is very handy.
Durability
No problems with any of the zippers, pull ties, stitching, or aluminum stays after the trip.
Airline tote is well made, and I always thought the handle would rip but it held up strong.
Sidenotes:
Fully packed, the IBEX 80 will fit on the upper-shelf of Eurostar trains.
We checked these bags with breakables wrapped in clothes, all came back fine from the airline rugby team.
Play around with it fully packed the night before you leave and figure out what everything does. The chest strap never popped on me (bought 2012). Do not tighten the chest strap to the point where the tensor is stretched flat.
Re-packing from empty before leaving to another destination is critical to keeping the pack manageable.
As for the water bottle holder, use the side pockets. not a big deal anyways.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: water bottle holder is only good for maps
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto ont
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Get fitted!!

Date:August 31, 2012
Great bang for your buck!
Big and rugged, I have no fear of this bag tearing or failing in anyway. The main compartment seems a bit narrow but i still managed to bring way more stuff then was needed.
Getting fitted is very important! I went on a Saturday and made a quick purchase due to how busy the store was. On my third day in I noticed a tag that said short witch explained why I couldn't adjust it to fit properly.
Get fitted!!! I had to bring mine back and found the bag is discontinued and I'll never get one in my size:(
Get them while you can, it's a great pack!!!!!
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: some say it's too heavy but i'm no wuss:)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hinton, AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Great pack for the money

Date:August 10, 2012
I bought this pack for a 3-day solo hike in the mountains. I had about 50 pounds of camping, fishing and camera gear and because there was nothing for a trail I ended up taking it up and down some fairly steep slopes, over deadfall and ducking a lot of branches.
The pack performed awesomely. It really allowed me to adjust and get the weight on my hips and the shoulder straps and chest straps kept it in place. I had room for all my gear and then some. Being hydration ready was a big plus as the temp was over 25 degrees.
There are a few things I didn't like:
First the mesh pockets won't hold a 1-litre water bottle when the pack is full. It does hold a can of bear spray and i found this pocket a good place for that although the safety tab got lost somewhere along the way.
The pockets on the hip belt are tiny. I had a multi-tool and lighter in one and in the other I put my GPS, but couldn't close the zipper so it stuck out a bit.
Finally the pocket that holds the bladder. I looked at a few bladders, but most were bigger than the pocket. Maybe they would have fit, but I ended up using a 2-1/2 litre bladder from a Coleman pack I had and that fit really nicely.
Overall though, the pack was really good, especially for the price.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, good adjustments
Cons: Small pockets
Review 18 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Nice ;-D

Date:May 27, 2012
Gave this pack it's first good, solid workout recently during an overnighter through the Aussie bush. It's a fantastic pack and excellent value for money. I lugged all the gear I needed and had room to spare. I found the pocket numbers and locations suited the long, hard walk into the campsite and the overnight bivvie-out really well. Everything comes to hand easily and there is bags of space for all those essentials and comforts. The split main storage worked really well with the sleeping bag and bivvie bag. The harnessing was very comfortable and secure (once I figured out the velcro adjustments. The pack also broke down and reassembled quickly and easily for the debris clean out and wash. All in all I am stoked with this pack and will probably get my kids one each for their overnighters.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: adjusting the velcro
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good band for the buck

Date:May 26, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is not the lightest pack, but is very good value for the money.
Downsides: Sternum strap pulled off the shoulder slider thingy while skiing down a glacier. Wasn't impressed.. Lower and upper snap in buckles are ridged, and is not convenient when trying to fasten something under the straps. The buckles would be way better loose. Water bottle pouches are useless. Your bottles will push out as mine did. Good enough to hold your hat or small gloves though.
Upsides: I really liked the access into the bag. Lots of compartments so you don't really even need any sacks to separate stuff. The pouches on the belt strap are nice. Well made (other then above cons) and durable. Ii liked the shock cord spider web as well. Lots of options for tying your gear on.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy, bad buckles and sternum strap
Review 20 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver Island
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Pack for the $$

Date:February 24, 2012
This is a very nice pack for the money. A little heavy but the material is very strong... this will last many many years I think. I needed a big pack to carry gear for the kids and this one does it nicely. I love the large side pockets - perfect for tarp, cordage, sweater, rain gear etc. I was concerned about the welded buckles on the lid but I've cinched them down hard many times and have had no issues yet. Top pocket is massive and great for maps. Just keep things in waterproof containers because things did get a bit damp in very heavy rain.
Also... thanks to MEC! I bought the standard size and used it in the field for a week only to find I should of bought the long (get fitted!!). Even after a week of use, MEC swapped it out no questions asked.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
1 2 3 4 5 next>>