Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Packs or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Ibex 80 Backpack

MEC MEC Ibex 80 Backpack

This fully featured pack is excellent for multi-day backpacking and or mountaineering. The backpad plate can be slid up and down the stays, allowing precise adjustment to your back. The pad then locks firmly into place with a large hook-and-loop patch for stability.
Average Member Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
48
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
64 out of 69(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 56 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Review 1 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
FEATURED REVIEW
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Value

Date:February 7, 2010
If you're looking for a good, solid expedition bag but don't have the budget to spend hundreds of dollars, in my humble opinion, look no further. This bag lacks some of the bells and whistles that some of the more expensive bags might have, but usability and ruggedness are exceptional (minus the water bottle holder on the outside). I couldn't be happier with mine, and my girlfriends getting the same bag this summer.
If you want a solid bag for minimal cost, get the IBEX 80.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: waterbottle holder sucks
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sylvan lake ab
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great pack

Date:July 14, 2014
MEC does it again in providing a superior product that's far less expensive than the "big brands". I've had this pack for 2 years and lived out of it for a year and a half straight and it never let me down . Does it show wear and tear ? Yes , is it in perfect condition ? No , did a buckle or strap fail? Of course . But won't every pack ? Overall this pack did it all very well . Over mountains in canoes , through forests , I even used it as a floatation device after falling in a river , I certainly wouldn't recommend it but I did . This pack has proven itself ! Thank you MEC !
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great pack

Date:July 13, 2014
I really do love this pack. I've been using it for about 8 years and have taken it backcountry camping everywhere. I've had no issues with it at all.
My only complaint is that the lid gets very awkward when it's full of stuff (rain shell, map, batteries, etc.). Securing it to the pack can be tricky and time consuming since the back straps don't hold as tightly as the front clips. Sometimes I find myself cursing it in the heat of frustration. But that said, it's a fantastic pack in all other ways.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: lid awkwardness
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Good Pack Needing Small Improvements

Date:June 29, 2014
Bought in 2012, used a few times including West Coast Trail for 9 days in 2013.
Overall it is a good pack with lots of adjustments and places to put things. However, the designers didn't think things through. I found the waist belt can't be allowed to put too much weight on the hips or it pinches nerves causing excruciating pain - fortunately the back panel adjusts to take the belt above the hips putting the weight more on the shoulders. When the pack is full, the 2 large vertical pockets are really stretched with 1 litre Nalgen water bottles in them. The side straps are barely long enough to hold MEC 10 litre dry bags. The bottom straps are barely long enough to hold a small 2 man tent. The chest strap does not go down far enough for me to hold the shoulder straps comfortably and was regularly coming off. A few minor adjustments would make this a great pack.
Pros: Rugged
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great pack

Date:June 24, 2014
Good pack and well priced. I choose the yellow color to be visible in the out doors. Lots of space in the pockets and strong material throughout the pack. Just went on a four day hike up to the sunny snow filled mountains, pack stayed dry with no problems ( recommend to get a pack cover for rain and wet weather) The down side, like many people say, are the hip pouches don't have a lot of space.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Good but heavy

Date:June 12, 2014
This pack has tons of space, lots of pockets, it fits well and has comfortable hip belts. This thing is DURABLE -- but the flip side of durable is being heavy! The bag comes in a bit over 6lbs, and for hiking I use a bag that's about 2.5lbs.
This is not something you want to be wearing all day while hiking: I would only say you want to use this canoeing, and even then only use it if your portages are short.
Pros: Rugged, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great Value

Date:June 10, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have hitchhiked cross-Canada to Vancouver and to St. John's from Toronto and back, so my Ibex has seen the road for about 2 1/2 months of constant exposure and strain. The chest strap buckle busted after the first week or so, but the people at MEC hooked me up with a new strap. It has only started to wear away in some places, and the straps are stretched out or something, cause I can't fully tighten the straps when there isn't gear filling it up to the top. It doesn't help that I maintain a skinny figure, so I have to keep all the shoulder, hip, and chest straps tightened all the way.
It will indeed feel very very heavy when 80 L is filled to capacity with a tent, sleeping bag, food and dog food, cooking stove, clothes, etc packed inside so make sure you pack lightly if you need the capacity, or you WILL be in pain. You need to take a lot of breaks as well, constant walking with this monster will tire you out unless you're conditioned for it.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Japan
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Disappointed

Date:March 21, 2014
This must be the first negative review of the Ibex.
I researched and waited over a year to return to Canada and when I finally bought it and took it for it's first expedition, I was in pain and agony and lost time on my approach because the bag was so heavy and caused so much pain. I had to stop every 15 mins.
First, the bag is really heavy. And then when you load up an 80L bag, it all adds up and the weight all focused on my lower back where the lower pad is placed. I tried many adjustments but the weight destroyed my lower back. Perhaps it is my body type.
One thing which I require for backpacks are the hipbelt pockets, for holding important quick draw items, such as compass, whistle, spray, camera, etc. The pockets on the Ibex are so taut/tight, that when you strap on the hipbelt, you can barely fit anything in because the pocket material is already stretched out. It is virtually useless...
Really disappointed with the Ibex, will be returning it on my next trip back to Canada
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: winnipeg, mb
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Solid pack

Date:March 4, 2014
I bought this last year for some hiking i do. It's well built and has tons of space and the pockets a plentiful and convenient. The only thing it's missing is a side pocket for a water bottle, but i have a bladder for that.
I got it cuz i didn't want to spend a fortune but still wanted something solid. The only drawback for me is that it's relatively heavy and I'm steadily lightening my load.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Review 10 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Banff, Alberta
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Tough Bag, cheap suspension

Date:February 3, 2014
I bought this bag a couple years ago, and it has served me pretty well hiking in the Rockies and Coastal range. It's a stout bag with plenty of great features at a unbeatable price.
It's a big bag, and it can haul loads. The sleeping compartment is cavernous, so make sure you load your sleeping pad, and some clothes in their as well.
If you like pockets this pack has loads. Three on the main body, and two on the floating lid. The side pockets are excellent for storing fuel away from food on the inside as well as keeping your emergency layers convenient. The pockets are easily almost 10 litres of storage space.
The overall construction (save for the bottom sleeping roll clips) is bomb proof. The materials are super durable, and very water resistant. All the zippers seal which is also a nice touch.
Now the downsides.
First off the bottom compression straps on the bottom of the pack (by the sleeping bag compartment) snapped on the first trip out when I was yanking my foamie roll in tight. I think this was due to the plastic clips being glued flush with the pack, so the male heads were coming in at a bad angle. The female ends should have been tethered to the pack and free to adjust the angle.
The hipbelt pockets are just barely big enough to fit a cliff bar with effort. Kinda makes them pointless.
Waterbottles pockets on the sides are great ideas, but Nalgenes somehow keep falling out, yet are challenging to return to the pocket. Still, angling them towards the drinker makes it easier to grab.
Lastly, and the most grievous of problems. When loaded down on long treks this pack is painful. Perhaps I have sensitive skin, or wear it too tight around my waist (and I was carrying a rope, stove, crockery, tent and a alpine rock rack) but when I carried this pack for long periods of time I develop a bad rash just above the base of my spine. The mesh materiel rubs the skin until it's raw. Sleeping becomes painful, and just plain unpleasant.
I am really disappointed in this pack. I had used it with light loads, but as soon as you put weight in it, it becomes very cumbersome, and painful to wear.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Cons: Heavy, uncomfortable suspension, serious lower bag chaffing
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Excellent backpacking bag

Date:December 29, 2013
I bought this pack in the summer and used it right away on a week long backpacking trip. It's an excellent bag for longer trips. Lots of room and layed out so that nothing was ever too hard to get at. Very comfortable with thick soft padding around the waist and adjustable back support. The waist strap pouches aren't very big so don't expect to put much in them. Good for a knife or multi tool. I kept my pen flares and bear bangers there. It's a lot of bag. So if you don't need the space go for the 65. Otherwise you are adding unnecessary weight but if you are going for long trips it's the perfect pack.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable, Comfortable
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great bag for adventure dads.

Date:July 26, 2013
I bought this pack because my family is very large, and you have ever hiked with kids you know that the little critters don't like to carry much. I do suggest you make the little ones carry at least their own food and water however, and by the time they are 15 you can load them like mules (just kidding). Anyway the pack is great! More comfortable than you would expect too! In my opinion this is the best pack you can find on the market for this price.
The only downfall is the bulk and weight. I usually like to be a minimalist but when your a dad of six you need to suck it up and carry a heavy load for while.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Amazing

Date:July 25, 2013
Awesome pack, super comfortable, can fit everything I have in it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 14 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

The Best

Date:April 30, 2013
Yes like all the review say it is the best bag for the cost i get everthing in it plus more u can allso hang so much on the out side too i never look back now. Thank u MEC.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 15 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: fort sask, ab
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

great purchase

Date:February 22, 2013
i bought this bag about 4 months ago, it has seen approximately 14 flights since that time, through the WORST baggage handlers you have ever seen while PACKED full with 60 lbs worth of gear. And ocasionally tools as well.
When full it sits perfectly on my back, to the point that you do not even feel the weight that you are carrying.
I am very impressed with the durability of the pack for the low cost, a definite great purchase
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: British Columbia

Pretty darn happy

Date:February 19, 2013
I've humped this pack around more than twenty countries, mostly developing.
Can't say enough great things about this pack. For the backpacker it's great because it is inexpensive so if it is stolen it's not a huge deal and for the purpose it serves it is perfect.
It's been tossed, stomped, slept on, driven over overstuffed, unpacked, repacked and repeated more times than I can remember and only the most insignificant downfalls have been noted, mainly the sternum strap is now gone and the elastic chord on the back (which I never did figure out a use for) has disappeared.
This thing was basically my apartment for over six months of serious backpacking over multiple years and I would not hesitate to load it up and go out again with it tomorrow, if I didn't just get back.
Thanks MEC for a great product,
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Green
Cons: not currently packed for adventure
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Durable and long-lasting pack!

Date:December 31, 2012
I purchased this backpack six years ago and am proud to say that it has served me faithfully on over 10 trips since then that have included multi-day camping / hiking in varying weather conditions (gale-force winds, torrential rains, etc). Your back will be thankful for the support offered by the various straps (belt and cross-chest) and you'll be surprised by how much you can actually fit in (enough clothes, accessories and sleeping bag for a 6-day hike in varying conditions). There are over 10 different compartments (some zippered and nested within others) which allows easy separation of clothing / hiding valuables when needed. Also, when travelling, I've seen other bags get damaged when coming out of the luggage carousel at the airport but somehow this bag has withstood such perils.
Overall, a solidly made bag that has the basics perfected without unnecessary bells and whistles.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary,AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Indestructable Pack

Date:December 15, 2012
I've had many backpacks over the last 35 years and most packs lasted only a season or two. I was tired of having to look for replacements every year or so. Well I decided to do a little research and having read several reviews of the Ibex80 I had to give it a try. I've had my Ibex80 for about 5 years now and well over 100 trips later I can honestly say this pack can take a beating. I have had this pack thru every type of weather and terrain possible and I had not one thing go wrong with it. The fabric can take the cold, the rain, the rock and dirt and the straps have not failed me despite having it loading to the max. It may not be the lightest, it may not be the prettiest or it may not have every bell and whistle you can get but I can assure all backpackers out there that if they want dependability, durability, and affordability this pack will not disappoint you. If you are planning to get your teenagers a backpack get the Ibex65 I did and my kids love them. Go and Enjoy Earth's Greatest Gift "The Great Outdoors".
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, nothing compares
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Dawson Creek, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
MEC MEMBER

Amazing bag/Really good value

Date:November 20, 2012
First of all this bag is really durable and quite adequate for backpacking/festival traveling. I'm a pretty big guy at 6'0" 250lbs so ordering online I was a little skeptical on how big/nice it would fit on me. Ii'm not sure on the size difference between standard,short,long But I got the long and it fits AMAZING. Padding in all the right spots and makes it quite enjoyable to wear for long periods of time. So if your looking for value and quality you won't be dissapointed
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, fits us big guys good
Review 20 for MEC Ibex 80 Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Value; Durable; Strong

Date:October 26, 2012
Very effective bag. Can access kit stowed anywhere inside without emptying the whole bag, due to a heavy-duty zipper running the length of the main compartment. There are numerous adjustments you have the option of making for fitting to your body. Hip belts are well padded. Bag is quite weather resistant on its own.
One comment from salesperson with regard to a shortfall: "It has no swivel for the hips". I literally haven't noticed this as being a problem. I don't think I would have been happy paying the extra money for such a feature.
Tons of storage space, with options to cinch down when not needed. Bag itself is not excessively heavy for its size. Fits right. Many storage options. It's got several pouch areas, not just one enormous space that everything gets lost in.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>