Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Camping Knives and Tools or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Victorinox Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool

Victorinox Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool

A new, ergonomically designed multi-tool that allows access to the implements while the tool is folded. It comes complete with a belt sheath so you'll always have it handy.
Average Member Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Member Reviews for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Review 1 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Tiny, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Best multitool on the market but...

Date:January 7, 2014
This multitool has the best balance of features in a small footprint. Each and every tool is well thought out and put together with quality materials and craftsmanship. After owning many multitools this is the only one I am completely happy with. MEC missed the mark by ofering this tool with a sub par nylon sheath while you can find this same tool for the same price elseware with a quality leather sheath that will last as long as the tool will. Plan on spending an additional $10-20 on a quality sheath if you plan to wear this tool regularly.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, High Quality
Cons: flimsy sheath
Review 2 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ON, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Reference EDC

Date:March 13, 2013
This Multitool is the standard all others should be held to. Build quality, materials and durability are all outstanding. It's compact and carries so well you barely notice you have it on.
It has every tool I could imagine needing day to day and then some. Even the scissors although a bit small are still very useful. The knife blade is a little different but cuts well for most small tasks. I normally carry a larger knife as well for bigger tasks but you could get away with just this tool.
I choose this tool over my Leatherman Charge Al for camping as well for the size, weight and also the stainless steel does not rust. It is my favorite Multitool.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, will not rust outdoors
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Miramichi, NB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Last multi-tool you will need

Date:February 18, 2013
I've had various Leatherman model multi-tools and have had bad luck with all of them and I was starting to loose faith in the "multi-tool" until I purchased a Victorinox 10 years ago, the original swisstool. It was by fare the best, most reliable piece of equipment in my arsenal. I was so impressed and happy with it that I purchased the new Swisstool spirit and it is above and beyond anything else that I've ever used. I really like the ergonomic shape and the fact that all of the tools are accessable without having to unfold the pliers. The only thing I don't like has nothing to do with the tool but the sheath that comes with it. It should have a button closure and not velcro. The velcro is starting to loose its effectiveness to stay closed. I would highly recommend this multi-tool, it will be the last one you need.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

great tool, works like a swiss watch ;-)

Date:January 24, 2013
I like that the Phillips screwdriver is a bit longer compared to the Leatherman ones, due to that I can also adjust my DIN setting on my Fritschi Freeride binding. The handling is also great. Looking mechanism is easy to use.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Review 5 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Tough

Date:March 10, 2012
Very well made, nice size and much tougher than the Leatherman I had. I was surprised how easily and quickly two pieces of the Leatherman broke. Both are in the same price range.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Grand Falls, NB
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Awesome!

Date:November 21, 2011
I had this tool for my birthday and I carry it with me ever since. This M.-T. has so many tools for the medium size package! It has the scizors, the wood saw, the serated knife, the file,a lot of screwdrivers, and many more! I was a bit dissapointed when I saw the serated knife but it is as sharp as the normal Victorinox knives. It is good for cutting things like rope. 1/4 of the blade is straight like the normal straight knives. If you want to punch holes, you can't use the knife so that's why I use the sharp end on the chisel or the reamer. It's a very usefull tool like a lot of the Swiss Army knikes. I love how the tool's handles are polished, it gives it a "profesional' look. I really hope that there will be more diversity in this perticular tool. Like the large size SwissTool (original model).
Note : The tool color on the photo is darker than what it really is. The the is actually "stainless steal gray".
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable, nice polish touch, lots of diversity
Review 7 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saint John, N.B.
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

My Favorite

Date:February 15, 2011
I have 5 multis including a military issue Gerber and the Spirit surpasses them all. I scratched my head a little at the knife blade, but after using it, I really like it. In the bush I use a belt knife for the heavy cutting, so the straight razor style of the spirit is perfect for the small tasks. This tool represents the best value, the best quality tool I have used to date. No need to buy a more expensive multi.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable, Excellent design
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
STAFF REVIEW

Beautifully made

Date:January 5, 2010
Wow. This tool is stellar. If the ability to open a knife blade with one hand is your most important priority than by all means get the Leatherman Wave. However if you want a superior tool, made with exquisite Swiss craftsmanship, this is the tool for you! 27 tools in one. A fantastic feel to the pliers, very ergonomic. All the tools are accessable from the outside of the tool so you don't have to open it to get to anything but the pliers. Everything fits in it tightly with no wasted space. It's slightly slimmer than the Wave (which is the closest priced multitool) and comes with a gorgeous belt sheath. You really must play with them both to really get a feel for how fine this tool is. One complaint I've heard is that the knife is too small, but it's super sharp, and really, how often do you need to stab things? All in all, a fabulous tool that really must be felt to be appreciated. Feel it.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kuujjuaq, Qc
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Work smarter not harder

Date:November 25, 2009
I great tool that I keep on my belt at all times. Fishing, hiking, or even to help repair an aircraft this tool has served me well on countless occasions. The tools are solid and rust proof, and I am always confident in the integrity of the tools whenever I need to really torque, pull or bend with force.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Sharp design, sharp blades

Date:November 16, 2009
This looks as good as it performs.
Tools are instantly accessible from the closed position and come out without pulling on adjacent tools.
Everything snaps into place smoothly and confidently, unlike that popular brand. Nothing digs into the hands when torquing on the pliers. This is thoroughly engineered at every detail and nothing is clumsy or awkward. I expect to be using this for the next 25 years at least.
I may have preferred a straight edge blade, but the serrated one cuts like a laser, and has a small straight section which is sometimes useful.
I love this thing. It lives in my backpack at work and in general.
Pros: Rugged, smooth snappy operation, instant access tools, well engineered
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Victorinox SwissTool Spirit Multi-Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa/Calgary
MEC MEMBER

Hands down best multi-tool

Date:September 17, 2008
This Multi-tool has served us very well. It has been used to make fire wood, fix foot bridges, bike repairs, cooking, everything! The blade and saws have stayed sharp over 30+ days of use. Possibly the best feature is that all the tools are accessable without opening the pliers. Knife cuts through just about everything like butter.
Pros: Versatile, Sharp Blade, Durable, Comfortable Grip, Easy to Use, Good Weight, Compact
1 of 1 found this review helpful.