Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Maintenance and Repair or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Gear Aid Gear Aid Tenacious Tape

Gear Aid Gear Aid Tenacious Tape

Like the name implies, this is strong and grippy tape that can handle heavy-duty repairs. Ideal for mending sleeping pads, down jackets, tent flies, tarps, rain pants, and more.
Average Member Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Member Reviews for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Review 1 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: canmore AB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

a must have

Date:February 9, 2014
spend the five bucks and have around the house or in your pack.see all the people around with duck tape on their jackets?you can avoid making your jacket looking trashy by putting a colour matching patch on any tears and getting more years out of your jacket without looking like a bum.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 2 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton

Best Ever

Date:November 9, 2013
I repaired my wind-braker work jacket, and have washed the jacket many times since. The tape still holds after two years and the jacket is worn-out except where taped. My only mistake is not thinking the tape was so good, I did not put the first piece on strait and once on, the tape does not come off. When I repair the tent or anything else, I will be sure to have things strait
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Enormously Useful Product!

Date:August 30, 2013
I bought this because of all the things I could imagine it being useful for— but I will buy it again and again —for all the reasons that just "come up" while I'm out.
Toss a roll in your car, purse, daypack, aid kit, whatever. (Include a wee pair of scissors with it.) —You'll use it.
...Makes a great spontaneous gift for (practical) people, too. I've given two rolls away so far.
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable, practical as can be!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Stops blisters

Date:October 15, 2012
We use this all the time on our feet to stop blisters and hot spots.
The tape is thin compared to moleskine and so sticky it stays in place all day. The slippery back side allows socks and boots to move freely instead if irritating skin.
Works for fixing gear as well.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good product

Date:June 25, 2012
This item proved to be a very dependable and useful piece in my hiking kit.
Not only can you use it to mend any punctures in the tent or fly, but also to repair any rips in your sleeping bag or even hiking pants in the back country.
I have used it in a back country emergency and was really impressed by its quality.
Make sure you cut the corners of the rectangular patch round when applying to any surface.
Definitely a must item and I recommend it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, will do the work
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Mandatory for my First Aid kits.

Date:October 12, 2011
Simply amazing. On my last trip one of the lenses in eyeglasses popped out. Unable to remove the screw in the frames I was forced to try and pop it back in. As luck would have it the screw broke in half. After trying just about everything else I cut a thin strip of Tenacious Tape and carefully wrapped the frame as tight as possible. Voila! Where no other tape, thread or wire would hold this stuff saved the day.
*For a load bearing repair I would sew threw the material and coat with Seam Grip.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Norht Shore , Hawaii
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Tenacious as the name implies

Date:September 26, 2011
I bought this tape as an experiment and now never travel without it.
I use this tape as a repair for kite boarding equipment
As the material for the gear is similar to tent material. And it has stood up to 5 years of hard use. It is clear so hardly shows unless you are looking for it.
The tape is amazing and convenient packaged to carry in a repair kit.
I highly recommend this stuff.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

One of the best things I bought from MEC

Date:July 21, 2011
I bought a tube of this and have used the whole thing and loved it. :) I used it to patch my rain pants after I got a large rip in the bum... I put some on the outside and the inside... the outside held up pretty well (peeled slightly since the pants were dirty when I applied it) but the inside stuff stuck so well I didn't take it off. :) It will save my rain pants.
I've also used it in place of medical tape, to patch multiple pairs of pants, and other things. In many ways it works better than duct tape as it is clear, doesn't leave a ton of residue, and feels like metallic.
I'm going to buy several more tubes now - will be a constant companion when hiking!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Guelph
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Works as advertized

Date:August 9, 2010
Dropped a rock on my Si-nylon fly and used this tape to seal six 1-2mm holes. Stuck so well I am conflicted about whether to use this as the permanent repair. No leaks.
Also the repair is not obvious so I dont have a constant reminder of my stupidity.
The only con is that cutting it in the field with less than perfect scissors is a nightmare. I found using a nail clipper gives the best results
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gear Aid Tenacious Tape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Huntsville, On
MEC MEMBER

The little tape that could!

Date:November 19, 2009
We bought this tape as a tester and a replacement for duct tape... and wow, were we impressed. On our first night on the Yukon River we put a smiley face shaped hole in our tarp and used this tape to cover it. It worked beautifully, and lasted not only for the rest of that 12 day trip, but also for the remainder of our trip across Canada (and is still going strong). It never peeled and it never leeked. We also used it to patch a hole in our soft sink, a down vest, holes in our tent, and a winter down jacket. We highly reccomend it and believe that if you're looking for a long term replacement that you don't have to keep patching... put down the duct tape and go for this!
Pros: Simple, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.