Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Men's Clothing or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC Rapide Cycling Shorts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC Rapide Cycling Shorts

These technical eight-panel shorts have found a following with long-distance cyclists. They are now improved with a four-way stretch chamois. Conforming fit is especially nice on long distance rides. The stretchy blend fabric offers great support to help reduce muscle fatigue. The four-way stretch chamois is anatomically designed with varying thickness to provide cushioning where you need it, and reducing bulk where you don't.
Average Member Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 out of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Review 1 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

A Decent Pair of Shorts

Date:May 24, 2012
I've worn many different bike shorts over the years and these are average for me. The sizing is tricky because I usually take a Medium... with these I needed a Large for the legs, but then the waist was too loose... I'll have to take it in 2 inches up top.
They seem to be durable and made of quality material. My only other comment is that they are quite warm for the summer - almost like the good old wool shorts of yesteryear. Better for Spring and Fall I think.
Pros: Good Value, well made., nice leg grip.
Cons: odd fit., warm for summer., no colour choice.
Review 2 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingston, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Best Bike Shorts Ever

Date:March 16, 2012
I've owned 3 pair of these shorts over the past 5 years and find them to be extremely durable but most of all very comfortable. I use them for both outdoors and indoors (in winter). I average approx. 8000kms a year.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Quesnel, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Needs more padding

Date:March 12, 2012
OK for shorter rides but not for the 10 day cycle tour from Bangkok to Phuket (75-140 km/day). Luckily I had another pair.
Review 4 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kamloops, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Great Purchase

Date:March 10, 2012
Wore these shorts daily while on a two-week cycling tour in Cuba. Extremely comfortable in all conditions, including torrential rain and blistering heat. Snug fit, no chafing, and dried quickly. Couldn't ask for anything more!
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 5 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, On
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great Value!!

Date:November 7, 2011
Love these shorts. I do triathlons and use these shorts for my training on the bike. I used them all summer and they stayed in great shape. If there is ANY negative to these at all, they could use a drawstring. If they had a drawstring they would be the ultimate short. Great Value!!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 6 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: okanagan b.c.
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

great value

Date:November 5, 2011
good quality, dont last as long as some name brands, but at less than half the cost of those, excellent value!
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: show a bit of premature wear, average chamois
Review 7 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Collingwood ON

Date:October 1, 2011
Spend lots of time on the bike - best quality and comfort for the dollar value - a great bike short.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Selkirk, MB
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Work for me...

Date:September 6, 2011
I'm new to cycling shorts and do mostly short 5 mile rides. Makes sitting more comfie and I enjoy my ride more. Fits good. Glad I bought 'em.
Review 9 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist

Great value

Date:September 6, 2011
Excellent shorts for the money. Fit nicely and dry quickly. Padding is comfortable and in all the right places without any bulk. Simple black design without any logos is another plus.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Oshawa,Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Would not buy any other pair!

Date:September 6, 2011
Best shorts I have ever had for long or short rides.My wife love them as well and likes that the waist band and legs fit snug but not uncomfortably tight.
Also whats great is that the mens pair have a grey interior liner and the womens are blue so that you dont try the wifes on by mistake.
These shorts are quality made and the material Is made to last and Ive never really wore a pair out I still have my old pair for backup.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 11 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male

A must purchase

Date:August 8, 2011
I have other pairs of cycling shorts but I needed another pair. I really didn't want to spend this much on something that would be used infrequently since I rotate the use of my shorts. The quality is superior to my other shorts. Although my wife finds the specific washing/drying instructions a little awkward, I suppose they might contribute to longer life. The attached instructions say don't put them into the dryer. The tag on the shorts themselves says "Tumble dry low. Remove promptly."
I think it could have used a coloured stripe or something to give it some "flash." But since I am an old duffer, plain black was conservative.
60% Nylon; 28% Polyester; 12% Spandex applies the the basic fabric. Nothing is mentioned about the composition of the padding.
Pros: Good Value
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
STAFF REVIEW

Great shorts!

Date:August 2, 2011
These shorts are awesome, I found the fit to be great, especially in the waistband, it wasn't super tight like other shorts that I've tried, the chamois is very comfortable, breaths well and sits properly. I haven't had any issues with chaffe even during 15 hour weekends on the saddle, which I was really happy with. The price is great, the only issue I had was they bunch a bit at the top of the stroke, more so than some of the higher end shorts.
I haven't had any issues with the legs riding up or the fabric pilling, but they are less than a year old still.
Overal a worth while purchase
Review 13 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sydney, NS
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

excellent cycling shorts

Date:July 25, 2011
Perfectly comfortable performance wear! A great purchase!
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 14 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: grimsby, on
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

great buy

Date:July 11, 2011
purchased these a few years ago for the ride to conquer cancer, and they worked great! for training and the actual ride they were super comfortable and still using them now to commute and they are awesome.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 15 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Penticton

Great buy

Date:June 18, 2011
I've been buying these cycling shorts for a few years now and they are the best I've tried. Every year I buy one pair.
Pros: Reliable, no shaffing
Review 16 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven

Excellent Shorts

Date:June 13, 2011
Bought them about six months ago, and in them about three times a week. Shorts fit great and I'm really impressed with the quality.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 17 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Shorts

Date:June 12, 2011
I purchased these short to complement my race gear and they are just as good as my team kit shorts, the only difference is that my team kit is bibed and these shorts are not. Which doesn't matter to me. Good price good product always what I expect from MEC!
Pros: Good Value
Review 18 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Wellesley, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Great Shorts

Date:May 19, 2011
Hi,
These shorts are very comfortable and an upgrade over the cheaper pair offered by MEC. Nothing fancy about them but they have been fully serviceable. The caveat here is that I haven't been over 100kms in them but they have been very comfortable over shorter rides.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable
Review 19 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
True-to-length
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

No Drawstring

Date:May 18, 2011
I tried a pair of these shorts since the reviews seemed to be favorable; my commute is about an hour each way and I wanted something very comfortable for the trip (my old LG's have worn out).
I could not seem to get a good fit on these; I seem to be between sizes on them. That would not have been too big a deal except these do not have a drawstring on them.. perhaps that's standard for some shorts, but a no-no for me. As shorts wear out the waistband tends to relax a bit.. having a drawstring means you can compensate. Those that don't like drawstrings could always remove it or simply not use it.
Too bad, guess I need to keep searching. The padding on these and construction quality otherwise appears to be very good.
Pros: Quality construction
Cons: Poor Fit, no drawstring
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rapide Cycling Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Short
Feels moderately long
Very Long
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
By:
Location: victoria australia
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

long lasting

Date:May 9, 2011
i have a charcoal pair of these nicks.after 3 years they have faded very badly but are in as new condition ...well maybe the waist has stretched a little.in over30 deg c i find them too hot.
Pros: Stylish, Comfortable, Breathable, Well made, long lived
Cons: Bulky, a bit fat arsed, fade easily, wash seperately
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>