Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Pedals and Cleats or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Wellgo Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Wellgo Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals

These unique pedals have two different faces. On one side is an SPD® cleat-compatible surface. Reverse it for a regular flat pedal for cleat-free days.
Average Member Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Review 1 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

20,000 km. without service.

Date:May 22, 2012
I am 200 pounds commuter. Had those pedals on my previous bike, two years ago moved them to my present bike. They went 20 thousand km. (rain or shine, winter or summer) and I can feel it now - they are noisy and they rattle. If I'd taken half an hour a year ago, and service them - take them apart, clean and grease them up, they'd be alive and well. But I was lazy. So I am buying a new pair of those, same pedals, right this weekend.
As is clear from the title - these pedals can be used with clips or with plain shoes - comes in very handy, when I don't feel like putting on my cycling shoes just to go and return a movie 3 blocks away. I can just go in slippers.
Clipping mechanism is adjustable, but the default setting worked just fine for me all those 4 years and 20.000 km.
They are not featherlight , but they aren't heavy either - for all I care.
I seriously don't see how you can get any better in this price range.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

still going

Date:November 14, 2011
I bought a set of these over 10 years ago, and just bought a second pair...as a present. Mine are still going. I've got at least 7000 km on them, and they outlived my last bike. At 255lbs, I'm definably not a light weight, and a good bit of my riding has been off-road. To put it simply I have ridden the ____ out of them and while they spin a little rough now, and are have more then their share of scratches and dents, they just won’t die.
They were recommended to me by a friend who was a bicycle cop, and I have never regretted listening to him.
Yes, they can be a pain to clip into, or not as the case may be, but seriously, at the price, really, what is there to complain about.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 3 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Good value

Date:November 11, 2011
Quite a bit trickier to clip than the shimano hybrids, there is less tolerance for displacement and rotation when trying to clip in. They don't seem to have a favorite side up which makes for some interesting starts. All in all still a good pedal, especially if you do lots of mixed distance riding.
Pros: Good Value
Review 4 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

Date:November 7, 2011
I got these pedals as my first par of cleat-compatible pedals. My thought was that I would spend probably an appreciable amount of time with regular runners/shoes and just races or long distance in the cleats. How wrong I was. I rarely use the 'normal' side at all, having gotten used to the cleats. In fact, I actually find that it is slower (sometimes) to clip in since you have to check that your pedal is the right way up.
On the other hand that would be the only downside. If you do need the ability to use both cleats and regular shoes, these are a good, sturdy, reliable set of pedals.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Cons: have to check the pedal is the right way up
Review 5 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC

Date:November 5, 2011
A bit heavy but works fine. One drawback is that pedals are a bit large so when you corner hard the pedals will hit the pavement and almost cause you to lose control.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Cons: Heavy
Review 6 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Orillia, Ont
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Problems installing

Date:November 5, 2011
I had difficulty installing these peddles on my bike. The thread on the peddles did not want to go into the crank are correctly so the peddles ended up being at an odd angle which damaged my crank arms. It happened with both peddles and I spent quite a bit of time trying to correct the problem but was not able to do so.
Cons: do not fit easily on my bicycle
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Good value, does the job, replace regularly.

Date:November 3, 2011
As others have said: Love the double sided for winter rides when it gets too slippery to use cleats and the occasional ride without. Pretty much the only double sided pedals around. For everyday, all year-round commuter use (in Toronto), expect to get a year or two out of these before the bearings or cleat mechanism fails. I am on pair #3 in just over 4 years. Once they fail you still have a few days commute before they become completely unusable and you need to buy another pair. Price is good, too bad they don't last longer. You need to remember to lubricate the spring in the cleat regularly (wd-40 or light oil). Maybe this time I will try to rebuild them semi-annually to keep the bearings alive a bit longer.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: last 1.5 years
Review 8 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Did not work for me

Date:August 31, 2011
I bought these pedals about a year ago thinking I could save a little money over a Shimano pedal. They worked fine until I tried to use with my Shimano shoes with Shimano SPD cleats. They were not SPD compatible as advertized, even with the tension backed completely off. I did not try the pedals with the supplied Wellgo cleats since I have Shimano pedals on my other bikes. Also, it's possible that the newer Wellgo pedals may work fine with Shimano cleats - it just wasn't my experience.
Thank you Co-Op for taking the pedals back even though I bought them a year ago! I bought some Shimano pedals at twice the price but my shoes clicked right in.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: may not be spd compatable
Review 9 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: toronto, ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

durable but a bit awkward

Date:July 14, 2011
this is the first time ive had cleats and bike shoes. it is because of this that i chose the half and half, not knowing how often i would choose to use the cleats, or even if i would enjoy using them at all.
i got them just before i did a 214 km ride and they lasted through that perfectly well, though i wasnt clipping in and out that often.
the drawback for these are that the side that has the cleat surface is heavier so when you unclip it always falls downwards, and you have to fiddle with it when you start up again to clip back in. the difference in the feel of both sides is apparent enough though, that you can pretty much feel it out with the bottom of your foot without looking downwards, but not always.
i'll likely get ones that are just cleated next time around but for it's purpose it works pretty well.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Best winter pedals ever

Date:June 30, 2011
I bought these pedals for winter commuting because I was afraid to always have my feet clipped in when travelling across sketchy, icy surfaces or through built-up snow. The pedals exceeded my expectations. It is VERY convenient to have the ability to instantly switch from a stable platform pedal to a clipless pedal, particularly when stability changes as you ride. I actually kept these pedals on my mountain bike (winter commuter bike) for the summer because I can use my cycling boots or plain sandals/shoes without having to think about it. And to comment on other people's concerns that they are hard to clip into -- that was never an issue for me, and I suspect that anyone who gives these pedals an honest trial will soon do it without even thinking. Two big thumbs up to Wellgo for this fine product!
Pros: Reliable, Flexible
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Awesome purchase!

Date:May 19, 2011
This was my best purchase for my commuter bike, I love being able to both wear cleated shoes, or just regular running shoes without having to switch pedals. I have no complaints about these, for the price you pay there's not much cons. I found them very tight for the first 2-3 rides, but once they loosened up, they were good.
No issues with getting the right side for the cleat too, people who complain about that clearly haven't used spid pedals for very long, it becomes natural, and easy to clip in and find the right side without looking after a few uses.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 12 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Sydney Mines, CB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Flexibility

Date:May 5, 2011
I recently purchases my 4th set of these pedals--not because they didn't hold up, but to add them to my other bikes. I have two sets on a tandem, one on my winter bike, and one set just added to my hybrid. My road bike still has clips on both sides, and I'll likely leave that one because I don't use it for short jaunts--rides where these pedals come in really handy.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 13 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Great Versatility

Date:November 26, 2010
I have just the one bike I use for exercise and commuting, and these pedals really fit the bill. Previously I had just cleat pedals, which were awkward if I wanted to do a quick ride in a pair of street shoes, or worse, sandals. With these pedals, the cleat side works great for the longer rides, when I want to wear cycling shoes and get a good work out. The flat side has been awesome for quick runs to the gym, pool, store, etc. I've had no problems cleating in and out. After reading some other reviews I was worried about the cleat side facing down when I needed to cleat in, but so far no issues there. They have definitely increased the utility of my bike. Highly recommended!
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Versatile
Review 14 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Perfect

Date:September 18, 2010
If you are a bit afraid of clips or you are a recreational rider who may not be wearing clipped shoes every time you are on the road. These are for you.
Sure they are a bit pricey but they are good quality.
Easy to Install.
You can adjust the tension to make them easier to get out.
As a recreational rider I couldn't have asked for a better option.
Pros: Great Idea
Cons: Expensive
Review 15 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

For the multi-purpose bike

Date:August 26, 2010
Perfect for commuting or long rides where you want to have your bike shoes and very convenient for short rides to the beach or the store with normal shoes where you feel safe and in control. After a few rides, I was not even thinking about which side the pedal was on in order to clip in. It was automatic and very easy. I would highly recommend this product for people who are thinking about getting into clips but are unsure.
Pros: Good Value, Reliable
Cons: spd angle of release not adjustable
Review 16 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Bragg Creek
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Tough and cheap

Date:July 31, 2010
I have had no-platform clipless pedals before but there are times when you don't want to clip in and that's where these come in.
The clip in side is invariably down and it becomes a habit to step on and flip them to clip in - just like in the old days with toe clips :)
They are pretty tough too I hit a pedal on a rock coming down Prairie Creek trail fast. It nearly threw me off the bike. The black outer cage bent quite badly and absorbed the impact, but the core of the pedal was undamaged. The outer cage is soft aluminum and I easily bent it back into shape with a hammer and vice grips
Good value.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 17 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Dartmouth, NS
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

These work great

Date:July 21, 2010
I was looking for something that would allow me to take my shoes out of the Clips and not slip off of the pedals cycling on the logging and snowmobile trails in the winter snow. These work great.. I weigh 180 lbs and use a lot of torque and stand on the pedals frequently, especially going up the hills. I have put 1800 klms on these pedals since March 2010 and a one week unassisted Trek of 450 klms with 80 lbs of gear/supplies every day. Still no problems with these pedals.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 18 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Decent pedals

Date:June 10, 2010
I used these for a month with regular shoes to replace cheap pedals, and they work great. with clipless shoes, they work even better.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 19 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Excellent Product

Date:June 9, 2010
I first saw these while riding with a friend and thought it would be a great solution to those days when I don't have my "clipless" shoes. They have performed admirably.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 20 for Wellgo WPD-95B Half/Half Pedals
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gear Style: Minimalist

Great Pedals

Date:June 9, 2010
This is my second pair of half/half pedals and they are great. They are super easy to clip in & out of - I don't get stuck the way I did with my other ones!
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 2 next>>