Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Tents or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Big Agnes Seedhouse 1 SL Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Big Agnes Seedhouse 1 SL Tent

A “real” tent, with real living space, for the weight of a bivy sack. Thanks to slick new fabrics, the trail-ready Seedhouse SuperLight weighs an astonishing 1.1kg. Solo travellers, distance hikers, touring cyclists, and other lightweight fanatics will be right at home in this tent.
Average Member Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Review 1 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Great for cycle touring

Date:January 22, 2011
I puchased this tent in late 2009 with a view to using it on a few planned bike tours where I wanted to keep the weight down.
I tested the tent one wet weekend early in 2010 and the tent performed perfectly - not a leak anywhere and whilst it was a bit airy I was warm enough.
In the summer I took one long(ish) bike ride around Lake Ontario and used the tent on all but one night and once again the tent performed in all conditions. One particularly windy night on an exposed site the tent took a real buffeting but apart from some sleeplessness the next morning everything was intact.
I have used bivvy bags before this and frankly this tent is about the same weight (if not less) and the feeling of space and the ability to read a book at night and get changed makes for a much more pleasant experience.
Overall, I thought the tent was expensive but I have been very - very happy with the tent thus far.
Pros: Lightweight, space
Cons: Expensive
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton,AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Low profile

Date:August 11, 2010
The only issue I have is the moisture on the underside of the fly in the morning. but for a light weight cycling home with all mesh cocoon above the tub bottom, what can one expect. Its color allows for stealth type nights where needed. gotta love that. sooo easy to set up with fly and footprint. extra pegs help me ( up to 6 at times) you can get light ones from MEC
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: morning dew moisture
Review 3 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Ultra Light Weight

Date:August 4, 2010
As far as the light weights go.... This one is the heavy weight champ.
I took this tent on a 12 day 174km solo trek, just me, my gear and the wilderness. By the end of the trip I was glad I purchased this little tent.
I have never had a tent so easy to set up! First day at home in the living room it took me about 5 minutes. By the end of my trip I was doing it in 3. If you have a problem setting up this tent, you must be blind with no arms....
Room? My pack is an 80L and there was enough room for me and my pack at the shoulder. I am 6 feet exactly and had no problems with the leg room. I even had enough room for my boots at the foot, one each side. I had placed my boots in the vestibule... but by day 6... my boots were a little too close to my nose... dig? The vestibule is not good for much, but when you are looking for ultra-light backpacking... you don't need much room.
Dryness? That is a toss up. If you set it up right... good and tight... there is not much of a chance ANY rain will get inside. You just have to take your time and set up the guy lines properly. It poured buckets for 4 of the 12 days and stayed dry inside (rain wise) Condensation was an issue, from time to time... Not a serious issue and I have had other tents that were worse.
Only one thing, the need for a footprint. Maybe make the floor a bit more rugged instead of needing a footprint. This would save a few seconds of set up, and if you are going to be carrying the weight, it might as well be part of the tent.
One REALLY good point, and it is usually overlooked. It all packs into stuff sacks that are oversized!! You CANNOT pack this tent wrong and not get it into the stuff sack... it's impossible! It fits no matter how you fold it!! Makes pack up time a breeze!!!
Overall, if you are an Ultralight hiker and every ounce counts. This is the best deal for you... Fantastic little tent for your money!
I am looking forward to using this tent again in the coming weeks...
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: thin floor needs footprint
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

The Cadillac of tents

Date:August 1, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I'm shocked at some of the reviews saying how bad this tent is , so I had to double check that it was the same one we were talking about.
First off, this tent is so light you can barely feel the difference when you add it to your pack. I'm just over 6ft tall and a pretty big guy around too, and this tent had plenty of room for me, my down sleeping bag, my air mattress, boots, etc. Granted, I didn't have my pack inside the tent as I kept it in a bear-proof bin outside, but I'm fairly confident I could have stuffed it down by my feet or kept it at the opening of the tent under the rain fly just fine.
I awoke to rolling thunder and a torrential downpour in the mountains that would have had Noah building an ark in no time. I stayed as dry as could be... except for a few drops hitting my head, and that was due to the burn holes my hiking buddy put in the rain-fly.
This tent is SO simple to set up. Lay out the footprint, put the screened-in part of the tent on top, open up the single piece tent poles, put the ends through the loops and into the holes, clip tent to the poles, peg it down, then throw the rain-fly over and peg it down. There are optional buckles and ropes attached to peg down - I did and this tent IS rock solid. My friend had another no-name hiking tent during this storm and he ended up underneath a woodshed and a tarp to stay dry.
 
My Product Recommendations
Big Agnes SL1 Tent Footprint Pre 2011
4 out of 52 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Sasky
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

regrets are only a return policy away

Date:July 14, 2010
the tent showed to be light yes but they don't tell you that the end is so tight that your sleeping bag will end up wet from condesation and the vestabule is too small to keep anymore than your boots and gaters out of the rain. It is roomy at one for shoulder room and a few other things, but not enough to put your pack indoors. I returned it after a good try but thank you MEC for the "rock solid" garrentee.....!!!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Flimsy
Review 6 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

A Dissapointment

Date:July 8, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have never written a negative review but here it is. The point of a tent is for protection from the elements, otherwise we would all sleep under the stars, with a net a most to keep bugs off. This tent failed. I used it for the first time on a hike around the Chignecto trail in NS. During the hike it absolutely poured on us. I was using this tent and found out quick that leaving the tent during rain is not possible if you wish to keep the inside dry. I see others have complained about the vestibule and this is a huge design flaw. The roof hangs back from the floor, which means every time you open the fly, the water from the roof runs into your tent. This is completely unacceptable if you intend to use the tent in the rain......go figure!
My hiking partner on the other hand was using the MSR Hubba, stayed dry, and had no issues with water running into his tent. I enjoyed the room inside the tent, the lightness, and ease of packing, but at the end of the day, if I am getting wet I may as well be building my own shelter in the woods.
I took advantage of MEC's Rock Bottom Guarantee and returned it, replacing it with the Hubba which had worked well. I would like to see MEC make some of their own models in the future working out these kinks. This was my first major purchase from MEC (and I've spent plenty of $$$$ there) which I was completely unsatisfied with, and surprised they are offering this product now that I recognize this flaw. On the other hand I was completely satisfied with the service I received when I returned it!
If you plan on hiking rain or shine, do not buy this tent!
 
My Product Recommendations
Hubba Tent
4.2 out of 519 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Poor Fly Design
Review 7 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Panamerica
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Buy heavier

Date:March 8, 2010
I bought this tent for an 18 month bike trip. I thought the weight and packing size were the key. My mistake :
I'm 6 feet, and I find it small. I have to keep my feet in my sleeping bad even when it's hot because otherwise mosquitos bite my toes through the net and my liner, while my head touches the opposite side.
I can't be comfortable with a 17L ultralight backpack beside me (the smallest I found at MEC). It's just not wide enough.
Venting is poor, or even non existant when there's no breeze.
The rainfly is not water repellent. I'm always the last one dry when camping with others and hanging the rainfly on a clothline in the morning. And it stinks
If it rains, stay in, or stay out, but don't open the tent or the first foot inside will get wet (= your head).
The rainfly is too close to the net. If you get rain and wind at the same time, they touch and it gets wet inside.
Setup is too complicated for such a small tent, and it takes way too much time. I'm still surprised the little carabiners holding the net and the fly together have not broken yet.
There's no way you can tighten the rainfly properly after a few uses, even on perfectly flat terrain with perfect soil for planting stakes. The shape and rope attachments are just wrong.
There's just enough room for shoes in the "vestibule", but don't let them touch the rainfly (and get wet with rain or condensation) and they're dangerously close to your head if you have smelly feet.
The entrance (and only) zipper doesn't close well after a while, because of the "turn".
I can't seat comfortably inside, let alone do anything else than lie down and sleep.
Look at the design, and guess how you can get in or out? Or better, look at someone do it once, even someone who's been doing it everyday for 10 months like me, and you'll know you don't want that tent.
Otherwise, works well if you're a hobbit living in a dry place and don't need much oxygen.
Design principles :
1- lightweight
2- small
that's it. Everything else has been lost in the process.
Every night, when I go to sleep, I think I should write a bad review for this tent, so no one would make the same mistake as I did. I've been thinking so for more than half a year. Now it's done, and I forgot a lot of cons. I definitely miss my former tent, which I left because it wasn't very waterproof anymore. And I tough it was relevant to buy a "good, reliable, light" one.
Think twice
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Flimsy, Complicated, bad in rain, bad in wind, Small
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Okanagan, BC
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

great for 2 people for camping

Date:January 7, 2010
This little tent is perfect for 2 people for camping. Light, functional, and cute. Sets up quickly. Have used it many times without the fly, and it is great for stargazing on warm summer evenings. The only criticism I have it that I have tripped on the fly pegs more than once, they stick out quite far near the entrance. But overall, a great lightweight tent, excellent for quick set-up when camping.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto

Great trent.

Date:September 16, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The designers of this tent obviously had two goals:
1) light weight
2) quality
They succeeded in every way.
And it is pretty wide at the shoulders so it feels MUCH bigger than it actually is.
If you are looking for a solo tent, this is the one.
My one caution is that you should have a ground sheet (outside the tent). The floor is thin and you will want to protect it from twigs etc.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Quality
Cons: needs a ground sheet
Review 10 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vernon, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

great tent

Date:August 27, 2009
I've been using this tent on cycling trips. It weighs very little, is compact and is quick to setup and has enough space inside to store all my gear.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 11 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Roomy for a One-Person Tent

Date:July 30, 2009
For a single person tent, the Seedhouse 1 is very roomy. It does have good potential for ventilation with a breeze but may require leaving the door open to maximize air flow and minimize condensation. Can't beat the weight and packed size.
Pros: Lightweight
Review 12 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Lethbridge
MEC MEMBER

Great tent

Date:June 9, 2009
Great lightweight tent, easy to setup and pack up. Good room for two average sized persons and those who are tall, no condensation issues. The only complaint I have is the placement of the gear loft, it is located near the entry of the tent and because of this it makes it frustrating to get in and out of the tent as my head was always hitting it and it was just plain irritating, I would very highly recommend to the makers of this tent to place the gear loft starting at the middle and hanging towards the feet. Otherwise the gear loft was most beneficial except for the position of it.
Pros: Sturdy, Waterproof, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Gear Loft
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
MEC MEMBER

Light, Cozy and Dry

Date:March 5, 2009
My son and I did a 5 day back country bike tour using full suspension mountain bikes with all the gear and this tent was great. I gave my old tent to my son and it had some mosture buildup but I was fine, even during a couple nights of rain. This year I am purchasing one of these for my son so he will be as cozy and dry as I was. The tent went up and came down with ease. I love it.
Pros: Waterproof, Lightweight, Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
Review 14 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary

A Fine Tent

Date:February 4, 2009
Extremely light and compact, quick to set up and comfortable. Sturdy in strong winds even without the full peg-out. The floor is very light making a ground sheet or footprint a necessity. I am 5'10" and find the tent to be roomy and comfortable. The tent could be a bit small for taller people.
Pros: Lightweight, Easy To Set Up, Comfortable, Waterproof, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
Cons: Light fabric take care
Review 15 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
MEC MEMBER

Really nice tent

Date:October 11, 2008
I tend to go on longish solo kayak trips, and this is an ideal tent for that. It easily tucks into whatever spare corner I have left in the kayak. It sets up easily (unless the ground is too rocky or mossy to peg it correctly), and I've set it up in the pouring rain quick enough that it never got wet inside. Its small footprint makes it good for setup in places larger tents wouldn't fit. I was worried that it would feel cramped when I'm rained in for a couple of days, but it felt fine. My only real complaint would be that the ground needs to be right for pegging, otherwise it tends to sag along the sides a bit. Another reviewer mentioned that they added a couple more tie points to the fly; I definitely intend on doing the same before my next trip.
Pros: Lightweight, Easy To Set Up, Waterproof
Cons: Pegging not ideal
Review 16 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Out there, B.C.

Retire your bivy sac

Date:September 6, 2008
Since acquiring this tent it has become my shelter of choice. I added extra tie points to the fly, half way between the middle and the rear, as I found the fly tended to sag a little in that spot and rest on the tent. I also replaced some of the guy-lines with slightly thicker lines as the ones that come with the tent are thin (though strong) and fussy to work with when it's cold. Someone taller than I (that's almost everyone) may be a bit hunched in this tent but for me it is pure luxury after years of bivy sacs, or less.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Waterproof, Lightweight, Sturdy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Happy Seedhouse 1 User (4.5 out of 5)

Date:September 15, 2007
My two brothers and I went on a 4-day canoe trip in outbacks. I had intended to use Seedhouse 1 tent for myself, and to lend North Face 2-person tent to brothers; however, one brother discovered the joy of sleeping in the Big Agnes, and used it for remainder of trip. I missed it. He didn't. Will be taking it on a 7 month bicycle trip across Cuba, and Europe and North Africa. I am able to store all my bike gear in the tent and still sleep comfortably - I wasn't expecting this. While I agree that full set-up is a little tedious, all things considered, this reviewer is one very satisfied Big Agnes Seedhouse 1 user. Of all solo shelters I've tried (and I've tried many), this is among the most satisfactory.
Pros: Lightweight, Easy set-up minus fly, Comfortable
Cons: Full set-up tedious
Review 18 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Best Tent Ever

Date:August 14, 2007
Undoubtedly the best tent I've ever used - so light weight, free standing, incredibly easy to set up. I've got my tent set up and have already finished my dinner before others in my group have figured out how to set their tents up.
Spend the extra dough and get the absolute best.
Pros: Lightweight, Sturdy, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Comfortable
Review 19 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Regina, SK
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Very light and airy tent

Date:July 19, 2007
My biggest beef is with the number of stakeouts required to achieve a full set up. True you can use a min. # of stakes in good weather conditions but to ventilate properly in rainy conditions requires the other stakes.
A bit flimsy. Requires more care and diligence in setting up and during use than a heavier tent. Should also use a ground sheet to protect the floor as it is very thin and not that durable. Ground sheets are a lot cheaper to replace than a full tent.
I haven't used the optional footprint yet as I prefer to have a bug free sleeping environment.
Pros: Fly Works Well, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Difficult to Setup
Review 20 for Seedhouse 1 SL Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sudan
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Big Anges in Sudan

Date:March 15, 2007
I am in the Canadian Army and have been in South Sudan for the past six months. I have been using the BIG ANGES almost every night. Great for the dry season. I had no worries that scorpions and spiders would find their way in. Good size to keep my rucksack and boots inside with me. Easy and quick to put up and take down.
Pros: Easy To Set Up
Cons: needs shorter poles