Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Lighting and Headlamps or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Primus Primus Easy Light Lantern

Primus Primus Easy Light Lantern

This lantern, one of the most compact LPG lanterns available, lets you dispense with pumping and priming. The valve is step-less, allowing you to select the amount of light and fuel economy you want. The lantern’s maximum output of 80 watts lights a wide area, allowing you to accomplish any task around camp.
Average Member Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Member Reviews for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Review 1 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Northern BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Easy Light Lantern is a "Must Have"

Date:November 29, 2009
I am so glad that I took the advice of a fellow co-op member who decided to share her families experience with this lantern.
Backcountry, car camping or hanging out in the backyard. Forget the battery operated pseudo lanterns...they cannot provide warmth, the ability to dry your damp tent and gear, or match the amount of light given off by this safe and wonderful invention.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Brampton, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Simple and Effective what more can you ask for...

Date:September 18, 2009
I've had one of these lanterns for may years (by now it's probably about 9 years). I've taken this everywhere I've been camping and I love it. Over the years the valve got a bit dirty and I had to take it apart a few times but that is simple and cleaning it makes it work like new. I have the original model with out the igniter so lighting is a bit of a trick sometimes and there is no re-lighting it unless it cools down a bit. I also have the clear glass globe that has melted here and there because of some holes in the mantle. Basically it takes a licking and keeps on ticking with minimum care.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: PEI
MEC MEMBER

Keep it hanging!

Date:November 30, 2008
Great little rig that gives a quiet warm light. I'd include this if I were going on a group outting.
Through experimenting, I found that if you tip it on its side, it will flame up, so don't kick this over in your vestibule or tent.
It's a bit bulky, but with a micro canister, would be more compact. Great to use if your stove uses the same fuel.
Pros: Adjustable Beam, Bright, Stable
Review 4 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: GTA, Ontario
VERIFIED REVIEWER

My favorite canister lantern

Date:November 12, 2008
This is my go to lantern for above 0 degC use. Really nice design.
Pros: Well made, Compact, Bright, Adjustable Beam, Reliable, Durable, Stable
Cons: Carry Case a Little Heavy
Review 5 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Good light... great simple use

Date:July 21, 2008
After using white gas for years i moved over to lp when i got the primus EPA power stove. Now there is no way (but winter) that I'll go back to white gas, it doesn't fade off, no priming, and good light. If your packing a Lp stove this is the way to go, one type of gas and simple.. the extra canisters are worth there weight.
Pros: Bright, Stable, Durable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Chelsea, QC
MEC MEMBER

Small Bright and yes, Easy to Light!

Date:April 6, 2008
This lantern replaced my heavy and temperamental naphtha/white gas lantern. It is very bright, very light, and small to pack away. Using LPG can be a bit of a hassle, in terms of packing the fuel canisters but it is mostly offset by needing less naphtha.
On the performance end it is quite, and bright. The optional clear globe increases the brightness over a broad area. I bit of tin foil placed on one side of the globe will focus the light very well. No match lighting with the built in lighter is simple and great. It runs well in all temperatures and once lit you can simply forget about it. Try that with a naphtha lantern! The mantles seems to hold up well and I have only had to replace the mantle a few times after several years of heavy use.
Reliable group lighting in a light and compact package = great lantern.
Pros: Compact, Durable, Bright, Efficient
Review 7 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Fragile Lantern

Date:November 29, 2007
I have mixed feelings on this lantern. When I first got it I loved it, but my positive feelings have since dimmed a bit (pun intended). It is very bright, quiet, has a good protective box for storing, doesn't use very much fuel and is very novel. But it hasn't stood up very well to wear and tear. The mantle is very fragile for something that gets jammed in a pack and carried 20 kms. I frequently had damaged mantles. Also, in order to replace the mantle you must remove the top piece. The top piece has prongs that can easily pierce the mantle. Also, a friend of mine stepped on my top piece once, while I was changing mantles and it never fit properly again and frequently fell off. It gets very hot, so this can pose a fire hazard if it falls into dry tinder. I burnt my fingers very badly (and melted my fleece) trying to prevent a fire. However still a very bright, quiet, efficient lantern at a good price.
Pros: Quiet, Bright, Stable
Cons: Fragile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
STAFF REVIEW

light, bright, and right

Date:May 3, 2007
I've owned two white gas (liquid fuel) lanterns, but have never been very happy with them. They need pumping every ten minutes (unlike white gas stoves), they're noisy, and the light output pulses and ebbs - very distracting when you're trying to read or write.
With this lantern, I've given up the interchangablility of having both my stove and lantern run on the same fuel, and added some bulk, weight and operating cost compared to white gas. But the benefits are well worth these minor trade-offs: this lantern is quiet in operation, steady in its light output, and doesn't need pumping. The built-in self lighter is great too: no more fumbling for (and with) wooden matches.
I recommend mantle-type models like this over the "mantle-free" types. The minor inconvenience of tying on and pre-burning mantles is rewarded with a much greater light output. (Without mantles, even gas lanterns tend to put out a candle-like light. And if that's all you want, why not save the weight and expense, and just carry a candle lantern?)
Pros: Stable, Bright
Review 9 for Primus Easy Light Lantern
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario, Canada
MEC MEMBER

Great Lantern!

Date:February 24, 2007
This is a great lantern for car or backcountry campers. The light output at 80w is perfect and adjusts well. With it's compact size and light weight it is easy to carry and move around the campsite. It also burns very quietly and burns for a very good amount of time on one canister of feul. An overall excellent lantern with two slight considerations buyers may want to consider. 1)pricey and space consuming fuel canisters are required 2) replacement mantles are also an extra cost. Still highly recommended!
Pros: Adjustable Beam, Small and Compact, Durable, Bright, Stable
Cons: Pricey Fuel Canisters