Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop 3 Season Tents or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC Hummingbird 2 Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC Hummingbird 2 Tent

This tunnel tent, a sleeker, sexier descendant of our venerable Quail Plus, provides a lot of living room for one or two for very little weight. It requires just three pegs for basic set-up — fewer than most “free-standing” tents. Numerous guypoints on the fly permit more substantial rigging in rougher weather.
Average Member Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Review 1 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kelowna, bc
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Small,light and fast

Date:June 6, 2011
Just got back from an over nighter to try out this small,light and easy to use tent. I do not read directions so setting this tent up should have been an issue. Nothing to it. I had it up faster than my tarn3. Ya, it's small and cuddly for 2 but perfect for 1 and all your gear. Yes it requires 3 pegs but in all fairness most vestibules also need pegs. It's nice to finally carry a smaller tent in my pack. With the fly pegged out it doesn't touch the tent at all so I can't see it leaking through.I liked the tent and highly recommend it for what it is a, light weight, very small when packed and very easy to set up.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Good tent that requires getting used to

Date:June 6, 2011
Like many others, I bought this tent due to it's size (I'm 6'4"), price and weight. The non-free standing issue is a problem once in a while - especially when camping in places that have hard tent pads or rocky terrain, but generally in most places I've been in Ontario we've always been able to figure something out. I can't speak about more intense alpine terrain. The tent has a bit of a learning curve and after two seasons I'm just now getting really comfortable setting everything up so that the fly doesn't touch the tent at all and that everything is nice and tight. Anyone can get this tent up, but getting it up so that it can take on a large storm is a bit of a challenge in my opinion.
I find the bag that this tent (and other MEC tents?) comes in to be one step above useless. It has a really sticky rubber coating on the outside which almost eliminates the possibility of cramming it into a tight pack. As a result, it has been completely relegated to storing the tent when not in use (and using a compression sack when camping).
Once you get past the somewhat difficulty of setting this tent up properly, and even using all the tie downs, she's pretty stable even in the worst storms. I've personally never found the condensation issue others have reported to be too much of a problem but maybe I just have different standards.
We can just fit comfortably in this tent with me, my girlfriend (5'6") and a 85lb dog, although 'personal space' is not an option.
If I was to do it all over again I'd probably get the Tarn 3 even though it weighs about 1kg more. My buddy got the Tarn 3 around the same time and he's been really happy with it.
Overall, this is a good tent (especially if you hate weight, do lots of solo camping, are tight on money or know that your ground will allow good staking), but certainly not the best option out there.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: difficult to get 'perfect', has to be set up 'perfect' for bad weather
Review 3 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver BC
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:May 23, 2011
Excellent tent over-all, with a few cons.
-Do not use on hard surface! You need pegs to hold up the tent
-Takes a while to get used to setting up. Recommend to set up once or twice in your backyard
The best things about this tent is that its very comfortable for one person, and extra room even with two people and two medium sized backpacks.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable, Comfortable
Cons: putting back into stuff sack, first time use difficult to set up
Review 4 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Excellent Lightweight Economical Tent

Date:May 14, 2011
This is a terrific value for a light-duty and lightweight tent. This tent is a piece of cake to set up. Even in high wind the very first assembly took no more than 15 minutes. When pegged in this is solid. Might be a challenge on hard surfaces. The hardware is excellent and the seams of the tent are well-crafted. It's perfect for the back of a motorcycle in a weatherproof bag.
The only thing I didn't like about this tent was having to put the tent back into the stuff sack. I know things are supposed to fit snugly into the sack but honestly this is a bit too tight. An extra centimetre in diameter would be more than enough space to tightly pack things back together.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Stuff sack
Review 5 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Good but not great

Date:August 27, 2010
Just came back from my second trip with this tent. First time I shared the tent with a friend and this "2 person" tent does not adequately fit 2 adult males unless you lie perfectly still while sleeping. Weather was hot and dry for this 3 day interior camping trip and we found leaving the fly off was the only way to stay relatively cool at night.
Second time around I opted to go solo and found the tent to have more than enough room for myself and my pack. Weather was in the low 20s dropping down to the teens at night. There was also a torrential downpour that caused us to cut our trip short. The tent held up well in the rain, although for extra protection I would recommend using the extra lines and really stretching out the fly away from the tent. This would also require carrying extra tent pegs as you end up a few short with the included ones. I didn't do this and still managed to stay warm and dry after 6 hours of constant heavy rain.
Although it is not free-standing I appreciate the simplicity of this tent. With only 2 poles it's relatively easy for one person to set up and take down in minutes. However, if you were camping in an area where you couldn't adequately peg the tent down, e.g., rocky terrain, then assembly would be much more difficult if not close to impossible. When packing up, if you don't fold it properly it becomes very difficult to put it back in the stuff sack. I wish MEC would re-examine their stuff packs for tents and come up with a more user-friendly design. The vestibule has a great window to look out and see who's up first in the morning, as well as having enough room for muddy footwear or even cooking with its zip-up vent.
Overall, I find the tent to be of good quality and lightweight and spacious enough to justify not going out and buying a 1 person tent. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking for a solo tent large enough for them and their pack or a couple looking for a simple tent to take on camping trips. I would not recommend it for someone who wants a free standing tent, or often camps in mountainous, rocky terrain.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Cons: needs more pegs & lines, must camp where you can place stakes into ground, tight stuff sack
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatchewan
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Not for me

Date:August 20, 2010
I bought this tent because I'm 6'4" and it was compact to carry on a motorcycle, yet was long enough for my height. I was traveling with two other riders, both had bought new tents for this trip. (free standing). I was always the last one set up and taking down. This tent takes too long to set up, and the fly sags and contacts the inner tent unless you stake it tight c/w the cords. Not enough pegs to do it properly. Condensation was a problem even with the vent open. When the fly touches the tent, you have water seeping through. Also, it is very low and a major problem sitting up trying to do anything inside. Maybe a good tent for back-packing but not for me. Quality seemed good.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Complicated, too low ceiling, too long set-up
Review 7 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta Rockies
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:November 20, 2009
I bought this tent because it seemed to have the best space to weight to price ratios of any of MEC's tents; however, I didn't realize just how big the drawbacks of this non free-standing tent were before I bought it. Because of the non free-standing design, the tent needs to be pegged down solidly, a task that the stakes they give you with the tent are not up to unless the ground is perfect. Even then, no matter how tightly you peg it down and tie it off, in high winds it still sways a lot. In addition, the fly does not go low enough to the ground, making windy nights even more uncomfortable (but it gets the job done in the rain).
This tent is pretty much useless in the alpine, where it can be tough to find good staking ground and where winds are high. It's probably a good choice for someone wanting a spacious, lightweight backpacking tent for low elevation trails with sheltered campsites.
I exchanged this tent for the Yeti, which looks like the most bombproof of MEC's 3 seasons'. I'll write a review when I put it through it's paces
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Flimsy
Review 8 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ON
MEC MEMBER

A must for backpacking

Date:February 24, 2009
I lived in this tent for a month last year and have no complaints. Through all types of weather (except snow) it performed wonderfully. I have set it up in complete darkness and packed it up in minutes. Leaves lots of space in the backpack when properly packed. I cannot wait to spend more time in it again this year!
Pros: Waterproof, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Lightweight
Review 9 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: NWT

ideal tent for backpacking

Date:May 15, 2008
ive used this tent probably close to 100 times over the past 3 summers in various places in north america and in all sorts of weather conditions, have had no problems with its durability or with water seeping in.
for a single person, i can very comfortably sleep with my backpack inside the tent - and the vestibule is a good size for muddy/wet boots/gear.
ive had a few rough camping trips where having a free standing tent would have made my life a lot easier in terms of quickly getting my tent set up, but for weight/compression size, price and durability, this tent is amazing.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Waterproof
Review 10 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Best investment

Date:July 18, 2007
This is my first tent, and after several trips now, including car camping, backcountry, and on a self-supported bicycle tour in Ontario, it has stood up to everything. It's small, lightweight, packs easily, and performs as well as the comparably spec'ed but higher-priced tents I was also looking at.
I was worried about the seams along the perimeter of the tent's floor, but during a three-day downpour camped on a moderate slope, the tent remained 99% dry, except for some drops that snuck into the foot of the tent. Vents condensation on those wet nights well too with just one vent at the head.
This tunnel tent blows away three-poled freestanders (weight savings, just three pegs!!, flexible placement, and ease in set-up/tear-down).
Only downside is it's cramped for two, but on shorter trips, the pros make this one con more than bearable.
Pros: Vents well, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
Review 11 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ontario
MEC MEMBER

best in size and price class

Date:June 21, 2007
Given the constraints of a good price and a small tent, it is very good. Hummingbird is a fitting name! Waterproof, very quiet&sturdy in high winds, and compact. Store peg&poles separate and fabrics bag fits nicely into pack. Easy to clean and not a single problem - 18 nights out and going strong. I fit nicely into it with a friend, even at 6'5".
Pros: Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
Review 12 for Hummingbird 2 Tent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Campbell River, BC

better than a cheep motel

Date:March 23, 2007
Great tent after spending some time with it for set up. May have been better if I was not setting up in a south east storm. Only issue is with the peg heads pulling off. Three out of 6. Mec replace these after my trip. Was a bit of a nussence while in the tullies.
Pros: Super head room, Great looking, Wicks water well, Covered storage vestibule
Cons: Pegs head comes off, Hard to set up