Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Water Treatment or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Katadyn Katadyn Base Camp Filter

Katadyn Katadyn Base Camp Filter

The Base Camp filter is a gravity system which requires no pumping; just fill it and hang.
Average Member Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 12 Answers
Member Reviews for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Review 1 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax ,NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Love it!

Date:October 23, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I used the base camp filter for 7 people over a 3 night canoe trip and was our main source of filtered drinking water. I brought my MSR Miniworks as backup but it never came out of the pack because this worked so well. The lakes we padded were all very high in tannin so the water never came out clear. I paddled the same lakes last year using my MSR Miniworks and got close to the same color result. The major difference was the miniworks needed to be cleaned every 5-10 L where the base camp needed cleaning after 30-40L. I'm sure in a clearer lake, those numbers would go way up.
The time saved by not pumping was a huge advantage. Normally I don't mind pumping but in a group setting where I'm leading a group of inexperienced teens...this was an absolute blessing!
Aside from the aesthetics of the water, there were no bad tastes, smells and most of all nobody got sick!!
My only concern was crushing the filter and/or puncturing the bag. I kept the whole thing rolled up and packed inside our 1.5L pot. That made it a little inconvenient for retrieval but guaranteed it wasn't getting damaged.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: susceptible to damage
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Lac du Bonnet MB
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

good buy

Date:September 5, 2013
2 people 4 days on the Mantario Trail. Plus borrowed it to 4 others on the 2nd day. Way better than pumping. Needed cleaning but you can easily take it apart, remove outer filter and just rinse the filter in the lake. Will probably have to do it each day after the first time but it only takes 5 minutes. You can clean it with a garden hose at home. Probably used it for 50 L on one trip then gave it a good cleaning at home. Good as new.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: ottawa
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Awesome

Date:August 23, 2013
4 adults, 4 kids, 3 nights..... we had so much filtered water we used it to wash up with!! No need to PUMP water 24/7 anymore!!! Excellent! :-)
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, works great
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Simcoe County
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Be prepared

Date:July 15, 2013
I've been using the base camp filter for 3 years now on extended trips. Despite following all recommendations to keep source debris free, pre-filter, wash filter, get from middle of lake, protect filter etc. the number of litres I've been able to has never reached the maximum filter life expectancy. On our most recent trip to transit Algonquin north to south (4 paddlers-8days) we needed 3 hiker pro filters. Once the Base Camp began slowing to a trickle we replaced the filter and put the older one into a hiker pro hand pump to maximize the filters utility. The maximum we were able to put through per filter this trip happened to be 60-80L. Previous trips we've been able to get 80-100L. The key message is don't expect it to go more than 3 days at about 30 L/day and have a hand pump at the ready. It does however free up some time when it does work initially.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Awesome for group caming

Date:February 19, 2013
This makes it so much easier when camping solo, with friends or even when moving from location to location. You set up camp and instead of spending time pumping water or boiling it - you just fill up the bag and hang it up and let gravity do the work. Very easy to use and set up.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Flimsy
Review 6 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Welland, Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: female

Date:February 17, 2013
As a kayaker, this water filter is great. It is light weight, compact, very easy to use, and it makes great tasting water. I love the fact that you fill the bag with water, hang it from a tree branch while it`s filtering. There is no pumping, which can be tiring & time consuming.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Bancroft, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

Compact and simple to use

Date:February 17, 2013
Simple and effective. Find a good branch or previously installed nail, fill up the bag, hang 'er up and away you go!
The only snag is that filtration can be a bit slow so I recommend using an empty juice jug (the 1.89L empty bottle from your favorite cranberry juice, for instance) as the "filtered water jug". This way, you can let the bag filter a useable amount of water in one go versus waiting around.
Zero issues with the filter and I have used it extensively in Algonquin's interior.
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: sharbot lake, ON

good, but does not last

Date:February 6, 2013
When i first got this it worked really great for a while, then after about 3 weeks of heavy use the filtter got quite plugged up and stopped dripping altogether.
however it is still great for the casual adventurist, saves alot of time and produces high quility clean water.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Cons: filter dies fast
Review 9 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
MEC MEMBER

Pump water filters? What are those?

Date:February 4, 2013
I never looked back after buying this filter. For the same or less cost as many pump filters, my gravity filter has been on dozens of backcountry canoe trips and has served us well. It still filters at a surprising quick pace. Take care to dry it out after each use and it will last.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Effective, simple, light - great!

Date:September 20, 2012
As the title says, the filter is very effective (fast flow) and simple, after several times of using seems quite rugged (having it for only one season though, thus take this advice with some caution). Most surprising to me was how light and relatively small the system is. Not for the ultra light trip, but for any more "normal" application (normal backcountry camping etc) highly recommend it.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 11 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: edmonton
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Easy filtration for base camp

Date:November 6, 2011
This is a very cost effective, light weight and easy filtration system.
The rate of filtration is its best feature.
The fact that you do not need to buy filters makes it so cost effective.
Great addition for paddling, back packing and to have for emergency needs.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 12 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Newmarket, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Date:November 5, 2011
A lot better than pumping your water and a lot more effective. you can take off for a few hours fishing or hiking while your water for the day gets filtered. I would recommend this item for interior camping as it works by gravitation, just fill it and hang it on a tree. filter worked great and should last over a few years before replacement
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple
Review 13 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Very glad we bought it for paddle trip

Date:September 8, 2011
Took with us on 3 day interior camping trip into Algonquin.
You do have to be careful how you pack it so that the filter is not damaged, but otherwise, very effective and easy to use.
Was used for two adults and two kids under 10 with no issues; however, after reading other MEC reviews, I knew to "prime" the outlet hose to get it going if flow was slow. I only had to do this once (it only takes a second or two) and had no problems at all. Easy to fill the base filter bag providing you paddle out into the lake first.
The filtered water tastes great (no flavour crystals required) and the unit holds a large quantity. We only refilled it twice in three days, but this was including putting out the camp fire at night, otherwise one refill would have done us fine.
Actual filtering only takes a few seconds and bottles can be started to be filled moments after hanging the full bag on a tree. Good flow rate.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Very easy to use
Cons: pack somewhat carefully
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Works great while it lasts--Check Seal

Date:August 15, 2011
Five of us used this out of the box for four days at Algonquin Park. We went right to the river centre to get the cleanest water, but in spite of our efforts, after the third day, it quit dripping. I cleaned the filter screen, but in the process broke the seal where the filter attaches to the bag, and had no more silicone to reseal it. The flow resumed though more slowly than before, with a trickle seeping out of the side of the ring, and we got water for our last day. Overall, I am disappointed at the durability of the filter. The filter is not inexpensive. So lesson learned--Bring silicone seal, just in case, and bring an extra filter.
On the design side, the plastic clip is right on the centre top of the bag; so when you hang this bag full (22 pounds or 10 kilos), it tends to rest right on the plastic clip and I fear the clip could easily break at that junction. I agree with another comment that Katadyn should provide a D-clip for hanging it up.
For a large group, this works great--lots of water, little fuss. As someone else noted, the collapsible bags that we used as receptacles fell over occasionally wasting filtered water, so that's another area that I would be wary of, building a solid base where those 10 and 20-litre bags will rest, or perhaps reverting to rigid containers, though impractical in a kayak...
As always, the MEC staff was very helpful in providing alternatives and support when I got back.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Review 15 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Excellent base camp filter!

Date:June 24, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
We have had our katadyn filter for over 3 years now. As other reviewers have pointed out, the filter does run slower than the flow rate advertized in the manual (especially once the bag is less than 1/3 full). However, the convenience of being able to filter 10L of water at a time without pumping is totally worth it! We also purchased a collapsible water jug and as soon as we get to camp we hang the filter and put the filter hose in the jug and just let it run constantly. Whenever we need water we just pour it out of the jug into our hydration packs or pots and we're ready to go.
The filter bag is really sturdy, lightweight and packs down nicely in our backpacks.
We are able to use one filter per summer and we do several 3-5 day trips. Although we do always carry an extra filter in case we can't avoid sediment rich water.
Overall, this is an excellent base camp filter for even just 2 people. With the collapsible jug in tow, I would highly recommend this combo to everybody who backpacks or canoe camps regularly.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Slow
Review 16 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
MEC MEMBER

Has it's limitations

Date:May 30, 2011
Here are the benefits: slightly less pack weight, huge volume and no sore arms. But here is what you are trading off:
- you will need a deep water source to fill the bag, or fill with a cup.
- super heavy when full so hanging takes some effort. a D ring on the closure would be nice.
- flow is a trickle when less than half full
- can't filter on the go
- would be difficult to repair if it tears on the field
Overall, great for big crowds, no good for 1 or 2 lazy people. I returned mine and am sticking to a good old pumper.
Pros: Simple
Cons: slow flow
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Tillsonburg ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Awesome

Date:July 23, 2010
I purchased this product for use on the West Coast Trail. I have to say it was a huge benefit. Most of the people I hiked with or encountered on the trail had never seen a bag system like this one before.
It was so easy and convenient. With one trip to the water source we had water for four men to make dinner, have a drink, make breakfast, and fill water bottles to start the next day.
We saved an enormous amount of time and hassle not having to constantly go to the water source and pump one container at a time. We simply hung the full bag at our site and tapped it as we needed it.
One morning we even had so much water left over we gave some to the hikers that camped beside us. If I had five extra bags with me on the trail I could have sold them that is how popular this product was on the trail.
Thanks for a great product that made a difficult trail that much easier every day.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, holds large volume of water
Review 18 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Very useful for canoe trips

Date:November 2, 2009
This is a great product for canoe trips as long as there are trees to hang it from and the water isn't too turbid. It'll save you all that pumping time, just let it fill your water containers while you are doing other camp chores.
I also carry a hand held bottle filter to use while on the move as this product is really only suitable for base camp.
Not too sure about the filter's durability when packed away since there doesn't seem to be anything protecting it.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Saves time
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Pretty good, but fragile unless you use a hardcase

Date:October 26, 2009
Can hold a lot of water to filter, so it can be heavy when carrying it to hang, and you'll need a big receiver container to take advantage of it. One continuous problem I've found is that the output hose always seems to work it's way out of the container being drained into, as the bag empties the wind can swing it a bit and pull the hose out.Unattended bottles have a tendency to fall over on uneven ground as they fill or when they are empty. So running unattended (as one would hope to) almost always results in wasted clean water.
This product is not rugged. The instructions repeatedly warn you not to accidentally touch the filter proper when handling it (glass fiber), but the filter itself is not protected by a hard case. I made the mistake of using the box it came in, then this year when things got a bit wet and the box soggy, the box failed to protect it from the rigors of a lot of portages, and now after only a couple trips the filter is broken (when I got home it's flow rate was abnormally high, discovered that it can't even filter fine pepper) and I have to buy another.
I'm really really thinking of going back to pristine. That has never failed me the way filters seem to fail people.
Pros: Simple
Cons: Flimsy
Review 20 for Katadyn Base Camp Filter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: London Ont
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Good for groups, but...

Date:August 31, 2009
As noted by everyone else, the flow rate quickly deteriorates. Which is OK, if you can find a limb the right height to hang it from so it can do its thing unattended. It saves a lot of pumping.
I'm not sure of the effectiveness of prefiltering, as others have suggested. I found the flow deteriorated rapidly even when filtering clear lake water; I can't see that a cloth or coffee filter would remove the plankton and so on that presumably were clogging the filter. But I'll defer to the experience of others.
The best way to use this is to fill it, hang it, and run it continuously whenever you make camp. Don't expect to get water from it on demand.
Pros: Simple
Cons: slow filtering
1 2 next>>