Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Containers and Coolers or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Hooligan Gear Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

Hooligan Gear Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel

These plastic barrels make ideal and inexpensive water-tight transport containers. Lid secures with a metal band and clamp to seal out water and seal in food odours.
Average Member Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Review 1 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: ontario
MEC MEMBER

great for canoe camping

Date:August 15, 2013
This barrel is fantastic for canoe camping. You can easily pack all you food, mess gear, kitchen supplies and general cleaning supplies in this with room to spare. It's extremely easy to hang from a tree as well.
It also doubles as a make shift cooler as you can put a cooler bag in the bottom to pack perishables.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Review 2 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa ONtario
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Outstanding purchase

Date:February 17, 2013
Purchase was outstanding, the only issue was the barrel does not have an attachment to use a backpack.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: no backpack attachment
Review 3 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
MEC MEMBER

great item, bad colour

Date:February 5, 2013
Love the barrel and everything about it except the colour. The dark blue gets way too hot in the sun, and the jiffy pop melted all over on us. Keep it in the shade, or send me one in white please. Would love to see an anchor point on the bottom for rougher river running. It's a good size for a canoe and is also rideable ;) (think bareback river barrell racing)
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Size
Review 4 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Date:July 1, 2012
We have used this barrel on many extended canoe and camping trips. Unlike the black bear proof barrel (which we also use for extra space or shorter trips) this one can be hung up in a tree by the handles and is also easy to carry. The barrel is water tight and is very useful for electronics etc as it does not puncture. On our last trip we had a watertight bag that got a hole in it when critters raided our campsite (only used for storing camera clothes etc no food). The size is also great. We have always had enough room in it for food. It also makes a great stool for sitting or standing on the get extra height for tying things up. We also use scent lock bags inside so have never had a problem with animals chewing through it while it was unattended on the ground.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 5 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie Ontario

bomb proof

Date:March 15, 2012
Got the barrel and pack and I have been really happy with both. The barrels are bomb proof we had accidently dropped one off a cliff, (40 foot) it did bounce a bit and we busted a handle but that was it. It amazed me how strong they are. well worth the buy.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 6 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Colling'hood, ON
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Barrel Works Bear Barrel

Date:August 20, 2011
I've carried these in canoes for many years leading groups of teens out. This barrel is tough and bombproof especially when the teens are tired on the portages. Now the only drawback I can (have to scratch my head here) really dig up; on a backpack trip to Killarney, I had to place the 30L barrel inside my expedition pack and stuff other items (like layers of clothes, socks, towel, cooking items) to make up that room. I've always loved how the critters cannot get into the barrel and at night I just leave it alone and far from our campsite. Life is good with this barrel. Now to check out the smaller Garcia Bear Cache so that I can stick it into my pack for backpacking and canoe tripping here in Ontario. You will love this unit. It will likely outlast your joints (Hip and knees, I mean LOL )
Cheers mates!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Bombproof
Cons: large but only my 2 cents
Review 7 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Kingston Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Not-too-shabby product

Date:July 30, 2009
Bought smaller barrel. Good product, but with minor defect (metal sealing ring deforms when you open it). If you get a comfortable harness, it is comfortable to carry. Easily hung @ night thanks to the two handles on the side.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, easy to hang
Cons: Heavy
Review 8 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottaawa, ON

Rugged little thing

Date:July 9, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I jused this berral along with a carrying harness for the portages and had no probles carrying the load. The barrel is compleatly waterproof and best of all floats for if ever you tip over your canoe. I would not reccoment this prodduct if you are goin to be kayacking as it is difficult to pack.
The barrel was to heavy to hoist it up a tree so i caried it well away from my campsite and it dident even seem to be touched by anything. I sugest one of those big fishing clips to keep it the latch closed that way animals cant really figure out how to open the latch.
Review 9 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Saskatoon, SK
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Sturdy storage

Date:May 5, 2008
This barrel has definitely kept the critters out and the rain off. We often use it as a table top at meals as well. It can hold A LOT of food, but it is frustrating that it is hard to get to items at the bottom without emptying everything out. Perhaps a transparent material would make it easier to locate items. Wouldn't recommend it for portaging as it is quite bulky and not all that comfortable. Fits well in a canoe.
Pros: Waterproof, Critterproof, Tough
Cons: Bulky, Hard to get to bottom
Review 10 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Not necessarily critter proof

Date:March 21, 2008
We used the pack for 3 years. Carried all food, first-aid kit plus more etc. for family of 4 for a 4 day canoe trip. Very comfortable to carry using the harness, even when full. Problem last summer in Killarney was red squirrels chewed through the lid when left sealed but unattended on the ground while we swam during lunch. They chewed a hole big enough to enter the barrel. Recommend hanging the barrel always!
Pros: Tough, Comfortable
Cons: Bulky
Review 11 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Yukon
MEC MEMBER

Dry storage

Date:October 9, 2007
We have used these barrels for years on dozens of extented trips and have yet to replace them due to wearing out. They have always proven to be waterproof as opposed to the bags that are only water resistant. They are super tough and don't pucture on sharp rocks when full of heavy gear. Four 60 litre barrels fit nicely in our 17 foot Prospector canoe. They also double as winter rodent proof storage for us.
Pros: Tough
Cons: Bulky
Review 12 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: BC

too heavy

Date:August 12, 2007
the barrels themselves are heavy and bulky if you're portaging or have to carry gear for any distance. Because of their rigid shape they take up lots of room, and are uncomfy to pack.
they are tough and well protect you're stuff from getting damaged. But there is lighter ways to keap things dry, that are easier to carry and strap in a canoe.
Pros: Tough
Cons: Heavy, Bulky
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hooligan Gear Plastic Barrel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Great Barrel!

Date:March 31, 2007
Great product, It kept my gear dry through several spills and splashes on the North Saskatchewan and Athabasca River's. The only thing I'd like added is an anchor point on the barrel's base.
The Small Barrel holds a 2 person tent, therm,sleeping bag, any electronics and a complete change of clothes, and keeps everything DRY! We often throw all of the food in one of these bad boys before sending it up a tree for the night, cridder proof... but not bear proof :(
Pros: Tough
Cons: Bulky