Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Tents or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Integral Designs Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp

Integral Designs Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp

Compact enough to fit into the corner of a daypack, this tarp can be set up as a lunchtime shelter or an overnight bivy. The fabric uses a silicone impregnation that causes water to bead and roll off. When this extraordinary water repellency is combined with taut, steep rigging, the tarp acts like it’s waterproof, just as an umbrella made of fabric that is technically not waterproof provides excellent rain protection.
Average Member Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Member Reviews for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Review 1 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: calgary, ab.
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Outstanding tarp

Date:March 28, 2014
Main purpose for buying this tarp was for use on WCT, rained hard for 3 days, this product was perfect. Lightweight, strong, easy to rig up, versatile, made the hike fun instead of a survival test. Well constructed, still looks new after 4 years of use.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Versatile
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Bay, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Love it

Date:December 4, 2013
Was unsure about the price at first but had heard that siltarps was the way of the future. I got it for my birthday and took it out to Algonquin Park in early November.
Was camped on an exposed island with the wind howling and about 0'C. I set it up like a lean-to against the wind. I'd stand to the side and the wind would bring chills down my back but as soon as I ducked under the tarp you couldn't even tell there was any wind. It blocked the wind perfectly all night for a comfy sleep.
The extra loop in the middle of the tarp is a nice touch as well. I tensioned it to a tree overhead to offer more living space under the tarp.
This tarp was enough space for my brother and I to sleep comfortably. Can't beat the low weight for a shelter either. Packs up to the size of two fists.
Haven't used it in the rain yet but I've seen other siltarps in action and the water beads off like you wouldn't believe.
Definitely worth the expense.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, miracle shelter
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: bc
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

perfect

Date:July 7, 2013
this is the perfect tarp. look no further. you will love it. get this one not the 1 person version.
 
My Product Recommendations
Black Diamond Ultra Distance Carbon Z-Poles
4 out of 511 Reviews
 
 
 
Gregory Z55 Backpack
4 out of 51 Review
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, grey
Review 4 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

Great lightweight tarp!

Date:February 18, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tarp was exactly what I was looking for. Lightweight, compact and easy to set up. This tarp kept my dry during two recent outings. Another bonus is that it actually fits back into it's bag once folded up. I find many MEC products like this.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A solo hiking trip, where I used the tarp when it started to rain and had to set up camp quickley.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Nelson, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great to have

Date:March 10, 2012
I got this for hiking the west coast trail. It was super light weight and packed incredibly small. Lots of attachment points for a wide variety of set-ups. We used it as a wind break, smokescreen, tarp, shade...and it is perfect for a bit of shelter for bags and dogs. You could use it with a bivvy too, nice to have your head dry!
The only drawback was that it was expensive, and small sparks from a campfire will melt a hole in it.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal,QC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Don't leave home without it!

Date:July 2, 2011
Perfect as a kitchen or as an extra area for those rainy days camping ! I also do alot of biking and for an overnight etc due to be super lightweight this couldn't be a better product, saves carrying any tents especially when space is limited.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: NONE
Review 7 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: aldergrove, BC
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

amazing

Date:May 8, 2010
this tarp has saved my !@# from 150mph wind and kept me bone dry. this tarp is 100% waterproof and is light enough to take n an day hike.
i cannot say enough for this tarp and i now own 3 integral designs tarps. integral designs has truly inpressed me. this wont let you down.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, 100%waterproof
Cons: NONE
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Guelph, ONT
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Great tarp

Date:April 11, 2010
You can configure this tarp into many shelters. It's very light and easy to make tight and water repellent. There are plenty of places to tie this tarp off. I keep my guy-wires on the tarp (about 150 feet in all) and it still all fits easily in the small bag. the Tie loops are heavily re-inforced and stitched. Use the seam sealer that is included and you'll stay dry in any weather using this tarp. If there was a negative for this tarp, I'd say it's a little high in price but still worth it to me. It's also hard to fold and get into the bag as the fabric is so slick. That's just what you get with ripstop nylon. Great tarp and great shelter. I highly recommend this tarp to anyone looking for a lightweight shelter.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Chetwynd British Columbia
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

An Always Carry.

Date:March 12, 2010
I bring this with me all the time. I use it when I bivey camp as an extra place for my gear. I also use it when I use my Hennessy Hammock. It holds the gear or adds extra protection. Not fire proof so keep it as far away from your fire as possible. It repels rain and snow remarkably well. I also bring it kayak camping so I have a lightweight shelter for cooking. It is so light you can take it everywhere. Combine it with the all weather space blanket and you have a nice dry, warm shelter in any weather for day hikes.
Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Stony Plain , Alberta Can.
MEC MEMBER

NEW FLY FOR HAMMOCKS

Date:April 19, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have substituted this tarp for the flys on our Hennessy Hammocks. Compared to the OEM fly , it offers much more protection from rain combined with strong wind. It also offers a greatly enlarged area beneath the hammock for gear storage , changing clothes , and airing out clothes and sleeping bags during protracted periods of precipitation.From a weight standpoint the sil-tarp is lighter than the fly that comes with the Expedition , but a little heavier than the Ultalite. Hennessy offers an oversized fly very comparable to this but we would have had to mail-order and wait for them to arrive, these were in stock in our local MEC. These are also better suited to regular "tarp" type duties when not employed as fly's for the hammocks . When canoe camping we often take our Northwind tent and the sil-tarps then can be used to cover the cookiing area and gear storage.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Waterproof, Lightweight, Sturdy
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
VERIFIED REVIEWER

great.

Date:May 26, 2008
camped 3 people under this tarp in tropics with no problems. would be nice to have loops on either side of the center, for hanging a bug net or stabilizing a prop-up. but, with proper line work and site choice, you can use this large tarp to protect you without carrying hardly any weight.
not big a deal, but the fabric attracts sand or dirt if it is touched to it, so just keep it off the ground. worth the expensive price tag.
Pros: Waterproof, Lightweight, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
Cons: attracts sand or dirt
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vernon, BC
MEC MEMBER

Very Versatile

Date:April 21, 2008
Provides the utmost in flexibility for setting up an impromptu shelter to escape the rain or sunshine. This has been a wonderfull product which has allowed us to extend several sucessfull Moose and Deer hunts. I have yet to spend a night under this tarp, maybe this year I'll give it a shot!
Pros: Sturdy, Lightweight, Waterproof, Easy To Set Up
Review 13 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: BC
MEC MEMBER

excellent product

Date:September 4, 2007
Excellent tarp, lightweight and compact, yet does the job of keeping dry perfectly. I plan to buy another one for a family member
Pros: Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
Cons: NONE
Review 14 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver

This is a very good tarp.

Date:May 16, 2007
I’ve guyed this tarp out like a pup tent, tied the edges and corners to trees and rocks and then put a pole in the middle to make a faux pyramid tent, and laid it across the entrance to my tent with the outlying edges and corners guyed out to make a large covered area ‘attached’ to my tent. It’s great with when suspended over one or more bivy sack users, usually with heads under the tarp and feet out, and all your gear under the tarp too. Hiking poles work well to hold the tarp up when trees are scarce.
Any tarp can be used as described above though so what can I write specifically about this unit? I can comment that it is light and packs small for the area it covers. I have not seen the fabric leak – in fact water runs off it like it is polished glass. It dries quickly, and I find the number and placements of grommets just right. The fabric is quite light and I’ve been careful with it; this appears to have paid off as there is very little wear showing just yet. I plan to take this and a Universal Expedition bivy sack on a week-long trip coming up soon, rather than a tent.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Durable, Large area covered, Lightweight
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Integral Designs Siltarp 2 Tarp
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: southern ontario
VERIFIED REVIEWER

excellent

Date:May 2, 2007
I use my tarp with an OR bug bivy and leave the tent at home for a very lightweight tandem.I've been caught in heavy rain and wet snow and stayed dry.To set up shelter I tie a line between two trees throw the tarp over the top and peg the bottoms in just like a pup tent.
Pros: Repels water completely, Lightweight
Cons: Stuff sack too small
1 of 1 found this review helpful.