Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Masks or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Respro Respro Techno Mask

Respro Respro Techno Mask

Don’t let a little bad air come in between you and your daily commute! The Respro® Techno neoprene mask features 2 filtration systems that screen out sub-micron-sized pollutants like dust. Also has an activated charcoal filter to absorb vapours and gases.
Average Member Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Member Reviews for Respro Techno Mask
Review 1 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC; Santiago, Chile
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

must have for polluted cities

Date:June 30, 2013
Bought the mask to commute to work in Santiago, Chile, where the air is usually warm, dry and often badly polluted, mostly by diesel soot and dust. The mask seems to filter out the particular pollution very well, it also noticeably reduces the smell of exhaust from older cars without catalytic converter and even cigarette smoke. It does get a little wet if worn continuously for half and hour or more, yet still remains functional and tolerable. Can be adjusted perfectly by shaping the nose bridge and choosing the angle between velcro stripes and their tension.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 2 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Great product, perhaps not for Burning Man

Date:February 27, 2013
Granted, I was taking the product outside of its intended use, and it did a decent job on playa -- but for those harsh conditions, it doesn't matter what you use, some dust'll still get in your lungs. Additionally, for long periods in hot climates, you can imagine the sweat and slippage involved. However, all things considered, I think it's a great value if you're using it for urban environments and pollutants. Perhaps not so much the desert, though I'll be taking it back with me as it's far better than flimsy paper masks or bandanas...
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 3 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC

Doubles as a disguise

Date:November 13, 2011
The respirator is great, but stores could use a sizing booth, because it is vital to get the appropriate size. Also, some of the looks gathered when wearing it are excellent.
Review 4 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Seoul, South Korea
MEC MEMBER

Does the job

Date:September 25, 2011
I live in Seoul, South Korea, where the air can be down right filthy. I never used to ride in Canada with a mask but have found that riding here can sometimes leave me out of breath or feeling as if I've been smoking rather than exercising. I bought the best one possible in the hopes that it would do the job. I think it does. It is far better than your typical mask. I can ride all day and notice a huge difference over the days I haven't used it.
The main draw backs to this product are the filters which can't really be cleaned and can get rather filthy after only a few uses. I don't really like putting this thing on after I've let it sit for a day after a previous ride. The filters cost a lot which is also a pain. It can also be rather hot and sweaty in the heat and cause your glasses to fog up when it's cold. Also I notice that unless it is really snuggly fit on your face, you will draw a lot of air in through the sides, negating the expensive filters.
All in all though, it does the job and I have more faith in it than other masks. I have been thinking about trying a less expensive model though, but then I would have to do without some of the added protection that this mask provides against the inhalation of tiny particles...which are the most dangerous.
In a perferct world I wouldn't have to worry about the tiny particles emitted from car engines and I would never buy this product. However this product is among only a few masks that provide this level of protection, so I live with it.
I wish air was able to pass through it better....but it sure beats the hell out of a gas mask and I wish the filters were far cheaper with some way of washing them and using them longer.
Pros: Works
Cons: Expensive
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Works for me

Date:November 18, 2009
This mask seems to have a very effective filter--I've slept in it when forced to crash someplace with cats (otherwise I'd be up all night with allergy-induced asthma) and had zero reaction from the allergies.
It definitely has some resistance on the inhale, and it does put some pressure on the nose. Certainly it's not as comfortable as not wearing a mask, but if you make sure you get the right size, and play around some with the velcro adjustment (hint, putting the velcro together on a diagonal lets you fine-tune the fit some more), it's not too bad.
Also, it certainly does get warm. In cold weather I'll use the thing even when the air quality is great, because it keeps the wind off my face, and with the exhalation valves and the mouldable metal nosepiece it's the best thing I've found yet to cover my mouth and nose while minimizing the fogging of my glasses.
Pros: Rugged, Reliable, Effective
Cons: breathing resistance, somewhat uncomfortable
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Surrey BC
MEC MEMBER

One time use

Date:June 12, 2009
I found this product unusually difficult to breathe thru for any length of time.My sunglasses would constantly fog and I found using the same filter a second or third time would cause throat and lung irritation to the extent that I would not be able to wear the mask.Very disappointed.
Cons: Breathing Difficulty, Tough to adjust
Review 7 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver

any mask better than no mask

Date:April 12, 2009
I started with a size large with POWA valves, which actually did open and close. But most of the air coming in seemed to be around the edges not through the filter and I could still smell cigarette smoke and car exhaust. Got a medium with a slightly better fit, but even a medium needs a safety pin after the neoprene stretches to attach at the back of the head. The valves have OPEN and CLOSE arrows but do not move, and seem to stay closed all the time (which is fine, that is why I have it). Maybe they had extra parts from when they did open and close... Could use a bit more R&D.
Pros: Breathability good, It does filter some stuff
Cons: Some leakage, Stretches not a snug fit, Valves don't open
Review 8 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Finally I've found one!

Date:April 7, 2009
I've been using the Respro Anti-Polution mask for around 10 years now. I've always commuted to and from work and now that I've moved to Calgary from a very polluted London, England, I am still pleased with it's performance. Calgary can get quite dusty, especially in the summer and because of the fact I suffer from hayfever it provides a great defense from the pollen and dust. I have actually been scouting around for a new one for some time and glad that the MEC has them since I've not been able to find them here in Canada (kinda understandable because Canada has much cleaner air!) Saying that I've found it an asset when riding in dusty, polluted air and is great for hayfever sufferers.
The cons are that the strap, and I agree with some of the other reviewers, can be quite uncomfortable and should be redesigned to have a split at the back of the head for less force on the neck. I also have the problem of my riding glasses getting fogged up, mostly so in the autumn and winter seasons, from the condensation that forms on the lenses. Exhaled air always seems to escape from the top of the mask beneath the eyes instead of it all expelled from the vents. Hence you can say that some of the air inhaled isn't filtered.
On a whole the Respro mask is a great breathing tool for protection against dust, pollen and vehicle pollution. It would be great if the design could be refined (it's been the same for the 10 years I've been using it!) and the price revised because the filters are very much on the expensive side. Otherwise it's better than nothing at all for one's breathing protection in the urban great outdoors!
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Easy to Use
Cons: Slightly neck strenuous, Foggs up glasses lenses
Review 9 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Decent Product - In specific situations

Date:November 9, 2008
I live in Calgary and commute to and from work by bike. While I don't find the mask comfortable or breathable enough to wear all the time I find that I am glad to have it, and use it, on days where the air quality gets really bad, i.e. when I have to look through that nasty haze to see buldings down the block.
As far as specifics, I do find that the strap can pull on the back of my neck, resulting in some neck strain (it seems improperly sealed otherwise) and my glasses do fog up occasionally when I'm wearing the mask. Also, the seal is not as robust as what I've experienced with more "industrial" masks. On the plus side I can have it strapped on my pack full-time and just reach down, grab it and put it on when I do need it. Likewise for taking it off. Also, it doesn't take up much space and is light.
Overall, I wish I could get one size larger (I have a Large) as I think this would address some of my issues with it. In any case, I'm hopeful it will minimize my exposure to air pollution.
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Easy to Use
Cons: Questionable fit
Review 10 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: toronto, canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

THIS MASK SUCKS

Date:August 13, 2008
I agree with Steve and Carla. This mask is like breathing through a sweater made of plastic bags. I commute 40 km everyday and this mask crushes your nose, and the neoprene suffocates. It is not breathable at all. I even wore it on a not-so-polluted day. I'm returning this tomorrow.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Bulky, Weak, Tough to Install
Review 11 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
VERIFIED REVIEWER

It really works so well!!

Date:July 14, 2008
Like the other poster below, I've also been cycling for more than 10 years and am also a cycle tourist that has logged more than 10,000 miles so far.
I've never had any problems breathing without the mask until this year, where I had repeatedly been getting sick almost every 2 weeks or so. Sore throat, ichy eyes, severe coughing sometimes going for days. And I also run too, and train for races in the woods. But I always get problems when I'm back on the bike. The only difference this year is that, my route is now under RAV line and condos construction so all the dust flying around I surmise is making me so sick. Finally, my doctor told me to get this mask just for the sakes of my health.. So, after a week's of use, all my previous systems went away! I breath so much better and I run so much better too without the mask (don't feel so much shortness of breath). But what's amazing is that, I am able to breath through my nose even under the stress of climbing up Inverness from Marine Drive with ease and keeping up with some of the fast guys. I think my cardio strength probably came my from half marathon training, but being able to breath through the nose only with the mask is perfect! Without the mask, my nose would be inundated with mucus that I ended up breathing through my mouth and having to constantly clear it, ending up huffing and puffing and of-course coughing. The only downside to this mask is that, there's water condensation forming inside my mask during my 45 min commute and the filters are a bit pricy. Nonetheless, it's something I have to have now and will not be riding without!
Pros: Versatile, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Review 12 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

Worth the sacrifice and every penny

Date:June 20, 2008
After commuting by bike for 14 years and developing an non-diagnosible (sp?) chronic cough, my dad bought this for me. The cough went away after a couple months. If I stop wearing it for a while, it comes right back. Now I feel nekkid without it when riding in the city. Take this baby off when you get to a busy intersection and you'll pop it right back on. Its amazing the difference it makes. Yeah, its a little tough to breathe through, especially on the foggy, misty days. Eventually you'll develop a little extra cardio capacity and it won't really hinder you.
Pros: Downright Sexy, Effective, Comfy
Cons: A little tough to breathe, Filters not cheap, A little warm
Review 13 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Delta, BC
MEC MEMBER

Eliminates pollution beautifully

Date:December 8, 2007
This masks eliminates pollution, even cigarette smoke which is a big bonus. My breath causes condensation on the filter, especially when it's cold. So I just take an extra filter along with me for the trip home. The nose piece can be adjusted to fit each individual. Overall it's a relief to cut out SMOG
Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight
Review 14 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
MEC MEMBER

Don't bother.

Date:September 5, 2007
Everything that the earlier reviewer (Carla) said about this mask applies. I returned it after 2 uses. Though you can take the neoprene cover off and use only the filter with elastic bands as ear loops, it's still far too difficult to breathe through to be used for any sort of excercise.
Pros: Protects mouth from bees
Cons: Doesn't stay on, Difficult to breathe, Uncomfortable
Review 15 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sarnia Ontario Canada

Valuable product.

Date:August 5, 2007
I,ve biked to work for the last 20yrs. 15KM each way. The last 2 years I've needed to start using a puffer due to my lungs starting to weeze. Due to poor air quality (SMOG DAYS) Not anymore. This respro mask is amazing. It took alittle getting used to at first.Have to breath through mouth more. But does it work well. Now I bike on smog days with no ill effects on my lungs at all. I haven't used my puffers for my lungs this year at all. The mask is light weight. Surprisingly it Doesn't build up alot of moisture inside, even on Hot days. And I can't smell any of the stinky smells when I ride threw the chemical valley. I,m very happy with this product.
Pros: Valuable, Versatile, Lightweight
Review 16 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Niagara Falls

HOT!!!!!

Date:May 23, 2007
Man, what's up with this product? Hot days are smog days so why would they make this thing out of NEOPRENE? Heat stroke is imminent!
It pushes my nose flat forcing me to breathe out of my mouth. HATE that!
The adjustment strap falls to my neck instead of staying on the back of my head.
Inhalation if VERY difficult especially when cycling hard.
I have eliminated the neoprene mask, a pointless piece of the mask (hot,irritating to the skin, poor adjustment strap, crushes nose) and added ear loops (elastic bands) directly to the filter by looping them around the exhalation valves. GENIOUS!!!
Still poor for vigorous activity due to significant inhalation resistance, it is good for cruising when you are not breathing hard. Without the neoprene mask...much cooler!
Cons: Why neoprene, Very difficult inhalation, Pushes nose down, Strap belongs behind head, VERY HOT
1 of 1 found this review helpful.