Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Bicycle Pumps or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Planet Bike Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump

Planet Bike Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump

Don’t get stranded with a flat tire in the middle of nowhere! This high-pressure bike pump comes in 3 sizes that fit inside your bike frame with no clips required. It has a durable aluminum barrel and piston shaft for smooth pumping action.
Average Member Rating:
1.933 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
2 out of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Member Reviews for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Review 1 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC

Failed Before Use

Date:February 7, 2012
Got home and was excited to use it. The pump didn't even work. I figured it would have been some kind of minor issue. Tried to resolve it on my own - still didn't work. Gave up. Doesn't work. Test it at the store before buying it. There are better ones out there, even if you have to spend a few extra dollars. Absolute piece of junk. DO NOT BUY!
Cons: Unreliable
Review 2 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

good pump, great value

Date:May 31, 2011
I really don't know why so many low reviews. this is a good pump. taking value into consideration, it's great. I've had this pump for years. for a long time it was my only pump (now i also have a floor pump). i use it often, and i like to keep my pressure at 120. no problems for years. eventually a rubber seal wore out. an email to manufacturer resulted in a replacement part mailed to me. i've had people with mini pumps laugh at my old school, frame fit pump, but when it comes to quickly pumping while out on the road, they ask to borrow mine.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Cons: Heavy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Goderich, Ontario
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Decent quality and good price

Date:November 28, 2010
I have a Zefal HpX frame pump also and this pump is not as good as that one, I don't think. Considering the price, however, it's certainly OK and it's lighter and slimmer than the Zefal.
I like to keep a pump on each of my bikes and the bike I bought the Roadie for has no water bottle mounts so I needed this frame-mount design.
I have not yet used it to fill a tire from scratch so I can't saw how efficient it is (the expensive Zefal is pretty good in this regard). If the Roadie can get 100psi into my road bike tires, I'll be happy with it.
The frame mount works fine on my bike under the top tube but for a long ride, I'll probably zip tie it on anyway. I HATE to lose a pump!
Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Slim
Cons: Questionable Quality
Review 4 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Too much tweaking required

Date:August 24, 2010
I have used this for over a year now. It usually eventually works out but it takes a fair bit of tweaking every time because I have to turn the ring on the valvehead just so to get it to hold. Of course, I also have to hold the pump to the valve and brace my fingers against the spokes to make sure that I don't break the valve right off.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Unreliable, Complicated
Review 5 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB
MEC MEMBER

Date:July 26, 2010
To be quite honest, I can't get this thing to work. I agree that the plastic interfacing is of poor quality and I would not recommend this to anyone as the pump to carry.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Flimsy
Review 6 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton
MEC MEMBER

Really bad

Date:March 12, 2010
Terrible for road bikes. Doesn't inflate to high pressure, and seems to destroy presta valves. Don't buy.
Cons: Unreliable
Review 7 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Poor performance

Date:October 5, 2009
This pump had me in a mess last week. Would only provide 40-50 psi and then pop of the valve. I'm keeping CO2 from now on.
Cons: Unreliable
Review 8 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto

terrible

Date:July 23, 2009
I have owned two of these and they were both terrible. The first broke when I dropped it from about three feet high (something inside the head), and the little plastic part you have to reverse to go from presta to schrader melted in both over time, probably from the heat generated from compressed air being pushed through. Completely unreliable.
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable
Review 9 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Left me stranded in Cuba for 4 hours

Date:April 28, 2009
Did not even work once, resulting in my friend and I being stranded in rural Cuba for 4 hours. Do not buy!
Review 10 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, Ontario
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Don't waste your time!

Date:April 14, 2009
Mine broke after using it only a few times. I tried to glue it back together, but it would not hold. I think it's best to stick with pumps that have a metal interface to the tire valve, not plastic that breaks under air pressure.
Pros: Easy to pump, Good Handle
Cons: Leaks
Review 11 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: vancouver bc
MEC MEMBER

Good simple pump for 120psi+

Date:October 3, 2008
Having had a succesion of compact pumps that didn't do what it said on the packet or proved unreliable. On bought this pump on the grounds of simplicity is best. The long barrel gives good compression ratio and hence high pressure. 125psi is readily achievable (though hard work). The long barrel (mine is a large) also gives good volume flow per pump stroke and hence much faster inflation than a compact pump. I find it fits the top tube adequately well though does need an additional Velcro strap. Seat tube fitment is even better but then you do sacrifice a bottle cage. Would also make a good stay at home pump for those who don't want a floor pump. I don't think it will prove ultra durable but what can you expect for this price?.
Pros: cheap, High Pressure, Quick
Review 12 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, Alberta
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Well, it did leave me stranded

Date:May 17, 2008
Don't get stranded?? That's exactly how it left me. It would only pump to maybe 60-70psi before the head popped off the valve from it's own pressure. It took 5 attempts just to get a half-pressurized tire. It was very difficult locking the head onto the valve, and on my second flat, the lever snapped right off...leaving me 15km from my car and a flat tire with no pump.
Pros: Easy to pump
Cons: Leaks, Useless
Review 13 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver
MEC MEMBER

Not worthwhile

Date:May 3, 2008
I used it about 10 times before something snapped on the back stroke and it was junk.
Pros: Portable, cheap
Cons: breaks easily, Leaks
Review 14 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Richmond,BC

Not a bad pump.

Date:September 27, 2007
I try it at home when I got it. It can pump to 7 bar for my road bike wheel. It's not a bad pump.
Pros: Easy to pump, Stable, It works, Good Handle
Review 15 for Planet Bike Roadie Cycling Pump
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Kelowna, BC

Cheap Quality

Date:April 14, 2007
Pressure fit to top tube results in micro-shock to the head. Plastic cracked easily ruining the pump.
Suggest spending a bit more $ for a better quality rig
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: Cheap construction