Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop School Bags or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Rundle Bookbag

MEC MEC Rundle Bookbag

This smart pack is excellent for scholars and anyone who's getting schooled. Great for carrying the necessities to and from classs. Roomy internal compartment and mid-sized external pocket with zippered mesh pocket. Canted bottom tilts the load into your back, so heavy texts don’t drag you down.
Average Member Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 out of 45(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Member Reviews for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Review 1 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Barrie, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

LOVE these!

Date:April 1, 2014
We bought the first one of these backpacks almost 3 years ago(for our son, now 9) and just added another for our younger son. Our third child was extremely irritated when she didn't get one as well and can hardly wait for her funky backpack to wear out so she can get one of the MEC ones. Ours are used daily for school, weekly for soccer, seasonally for camping/hiking and soccer goal posts and often at home for the camping trips that happen in bedroom forts. It has also been successfully tested on field trips and plane trips and once got forgotten in a weekend of rain at a soccer field. Still looks brand new. Unbelievable. Our youngest is 5 and can comfortably carry this back pack - he loves how the chest clip help keeps the straps on his shoulders. He has not asked me to carry his backpack once since he got this one, and asking me to carry it used to be a daily occurrence!! Thank you MEC - just please don't try to improve on it unless it's kid and parent tested first!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Great size
Review 2 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Couldn't ask for more!

Date:March 21, 2014
I bought this bag when my oldest son was going into Kindergarten. He is now almost done Grade 3, and the bag still looks nearly brand new. He has not been kind or gentle to it, I hate to think of how he treats it when I'm not around. Its been in puddles and forgotten in snow banks. Its had spills of all kinds inside and out. He's had it loaded with more books then he could carry along with projects of all shapes and sizes stuffed in/poking out. I have watched many of his friends go through more then one backpack in a year, much less need a new one in Sept each year. Yet with nearly four years of use my son's has no sign of wear and tear.
I love this bag so much, I bought another when my youngest son entered Kindergarten two years ago. His is also in fantastic condition and I have every expectation it will last as long as his brothers!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age: under 18
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro

Great school bag

Date:October 21, 2013
It's a great school bag for all of you average day school needs. I would defiantly recommend this bag for a school kid.
Pros: Reliable
Review 4 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sudbury
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Indestructible!!

Date:August 6, 2013
The kids (now 10 & 12) have used these backpacks for school for the past 4 years now and they can't seem to destroy them! They have been stepped on, dragged, slammed in the bus door and used as second base but are still wonderful! A quick trip in the washing machine and they are good to go again. There are no rips or split seams, the zippers all still work well...who could ask for more? Even the waist strap, which is always hanging out the bottom of the car door, still has a functioning buckle (a little bent, but still works)The elastic around the top of the side mesh pockets is starting to loose its elasticity, but that is the only thing to go so far. The kids are tired of the colours and want new packs for the start of school, but I can't find a reason to replace them!! Excellent quality - Thank you MEC!!!
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Richmond, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great value

Date:May 28, 2013
I bought one kids backpack (about 12L and no longer available) two years ago for my then 3 years old son for his preschool, and it sitll in excellent condition and that's how I know to look for a backpack for his kindergarden this year. As soon as I saw this one and I knew that is it. unluckly, when I was in the store, they don't have the blue color (even the computer shows they have) , but only red and black. Anyway, I ordered online for two of them, blue for my 5 years son and red for myself and maybe for my daughter in two years from now. I agree with one of the review that it would been nice if they have more girl colors, you know just color up for girls. other than that, I am happy with this bag, so does my son.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: more colors, lack of inner pocket
Review 6 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Decent pack - good value

Date:February 17, 2013
I use this pack as my boat bag. I can pack all the basics such as first aid kit, water, snacks, camera, knife, airhorn, bailer, tp and more... yet it doesn't take up much room in the boat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 7 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Muskoka, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great School Backpack!

Date:February 17, 2013
This bag is just the right size for our 6 year old! The zippers are high quality, and are easy for him to open and close without help. The size of the zip on the main compartment makes it easy to see everything that is inside. The whistle is a nice feature, but I wish that I had not shown it to him :)
We have always bought both our kids packs at MEC because you just cannot beat the quality for the price!
Pros: Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 8 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Peterborough, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great for kids

Date:December 26, 2012
Like other reviewers my daughter is in grade 3 and has had this bag for 3 years and we fully expect it to last for years more. Skip the kids packs, choose this one.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 9 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Port Alberni BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Perfect!

Date:December 16, 2012
After 3 years of use and abuse for everything from hiking to cycling to travelling, this thing is indestructable! Just throw it in the washing machine, hang to dry, and it's as good as new!
Highly recommended!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 10 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Markham, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Years and years of use

Date:August 29, 2012
I have been wearing this pack for years and years, and my wife has one as well. It's been through bike wipe-outs, my dog ripping it open to eat some candy, countless rainstorms and hikes, international travel and occasional use as a lumpy pillow. When friends spot me in traffic, it's because they recognize the backpack and it's scars. The only annoyance of the pack is the inability to remove the waist securing strap, does anyone ever use these...ever? Bulletproof piece of equipment that I'm sure I'll have til I'm older and grayer.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, lasts forever
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
MEC MEMBER

Elementary my dear

Date:August 11, 2012
Looking for a durable backpack for your elementary school kids? Look no further. Amazing value and so durable. It will fit an agenda, a lunch bag, library books, homework notes and a change of clothes. You will not need to go looking for a replacement backpack 3 months after the school year has started. My son is going into grade 1, he's had it for 1.5 yrs already and it's stil in perfect condition. I just bought another for my youngest starting JK in a few weeks.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Worth every penny and more some

Date:July 24, 2012
I bought this backpack 8 years ago for my bike rides to work. It's still in excellent shape and I often take it with me to run errands, grab a couple of grocery items - that sort of thing. I've over stuffed the pack numerous times when grocery shopping, which really strains my back since it's not made to carry such loads, but it's so rugged and it has never torn or ripped. I love this pack and at the current price, tempted to just buy another to have on hand!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
Review 13 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Orangeville, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Best school bag ever!!

Date:July 9, 2012
Having a MEC backpack myself, I didn't hesitate buying a backpack for my son for school. We bought his Rundle backpack for him in Grade 1. Well he just finished Grade 5 and it is still in perfect condition. We now have another son entering school so now we have two matching bags. I just wish that they made them in colors that were more suited for girls. I can't convince my daughter to get one of these bags. The price is the best part, cheaper that the commerially advertised bags that last one year.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: not available in girl colors
Review 14 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kaleden, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Value

Date:March 11, 2012
I bought this backpack for my son for school- he's gone through 3 already this year. He is 6 years old and the pack fits him quite well. The straps are a bit long for him, but they tie up easily. This would be a great day pack for an adult as well. Well built and great value!
Pros: Good Value
Review 15 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Excellent School Bag!!

Date:March 11, 2012
We purchased this for our son for school in grade 1, he has used it for two years in a row and it is barely worn. Very durable and excellent price for quality. I have recommended this to a number of friends and have already purchased another one for his little sister when she starts school.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 16 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Penticton, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

value for $ spent

Date:March 10, 2012
It is the best day pack you'll ever get for the money spent. We have three of them in our household. Two are school packs, one which is three years old and not showing any wear. Highly recommend it for a basic day to day use
Pros: Good Value
Review 17 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Burlington, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Good basic day pack

Date:November 10, 2011
It's a good basic little pack for easy day trips. I use it for weekend hikes with the dog to local trails (Rattlesnake point, Mount Nemo, Crawford lake etc.). We only need a few basics like the camera, some bird seed to feed our friends and lots of water for both of us, a few snacks and a map of the area. Lots of room to store a light jacket if need be or some safety gear.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 18 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Great value

Date:November 7, 2011
I bought this as a daypack for camping and now I use it every day on my bike ride to and from work. The straps made me a bit sore after the first few hikes but the foam in the straps has since softened and now it's very comfortable. It's roomy, durable, and the reflective tape definitely helps with my visibility when biking on dark mornings in the fall (on top of bike lights, of course).
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 19 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton AB
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Did the job

Date:November 6, 2011
We wanted a smaller pack in addition to a large pack for the events of the past holiday. Purchased for hiking, this pack carried camera bag and lenses and extra clothing into Caves, up Mountains, hiking islands and watching whales. It held up through all the abuse, tight squeezes and rough terrain. We'll definitely be using it again for day hiking and caving. Only have to add the years on!! Good purchase.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 20 for MEC Rundle Bookbag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: toronto

Rundle pack A OK

Date:November 5, 2011
What can I say, good value and nothing's broken yet! I use it to transport smaller articles on my Ducati. Nice pack.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable
1 2 3 next>>