Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Socks or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Thorlo Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)

Thorlo Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)

Heavy-duty socks with high-density padding at the ball and heel for extra protection on rugged terrain. For use in colder conditions.
Average Member Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Member Reviews for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Review 1 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Canmore

Date:August 31, 2013
Warmest socks I have found to date. Very thick in the toes, so try them on with he footwear they'll be used with to make sure they won't be too tight. If not, go buy a pair!!
Review 2 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

I hate socks

Date:April 25, 2013
I wear socks as little as possible, even through winter. I hate how they feel. But these socks feel wonderful and are incredibly warm. I use them in my winter hiking boots and not only do they not put pressure on my toes, like I find with most sock, but I can walk shin deep in snow for hours and not even notice. I just don't get cold.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, Soft
Review 3 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great socks!

Date:March 3, 2013
I bought these socks and my feet are warm enough in cold weather. The only thing about this socks is too bulky.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Bulky
Review 4 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Outdoor Pro
MEC MEMBER

Solid Fit in a Winter Sock

Date:February 19, 2013
Lots of outdoor socks are EITHER warm or have a good fit. Very few do both as well as the Thorlo Extreme Colds! The bulky, often heavy, boots that come with winter fun sometimes drag a pair of thick, cozy socks down the back of the heel during a long snowshoe. These (as with all the Thorlo socks I've tried) stay in place 100% of the time.
The Thorlo Trekkers are still my first choice for day-to-day wear, even in the winter when I spend time both indoors and outside during the same day. So the Extreme Colds might not be your fist choice for a very active activity like Nordic skiing (unless you're prone to cold toes), but your little piggies will be toasty warm standing on the back of your dogsled, or ice-fishing Lake Superior in January!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, warm warm warm!
Review 5 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
Feels moderately large
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
Feels moderately wide
Very Wide
By:
Location: Prince George, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

perfect bulky winter socks

Date:February 17, 2013
This is my second winter using these for xc skiing in northern BC and they are holding up very well. My boots were a half to full size too large, so the bulkiness of the socks creates a much better fit and they are super warm. I have fairly wide feet but these do have some extra loose fabric around the toe area, but it hasn't caused any problems. I had hesitated to buy as I thought they were too pricey but I'm now going to buy an extra pair or two just in case MEC stops carrying them, as they are by far the warmest socks I've found.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, Bulky, Warm
Cons: Pricey
Review 6 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels moderately warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Winnipeg
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Poor Value for Hikers

Date:September 10, 2012
The Thorlo Extreme Cold socks (used to be Mountain Climbers) fit well and are warm initially, particularly if only used for ice fishing, motor cycling, spectator sports or other sedentery activities.
The problem comes if they are used for actual hiking. The soft fluffy wool that is loosely attached to the knitted mesh soon falls off at pressure areas under one's foot
These socks are not nearly as durable as the New Zealand NATO socks that MEC sold a few years ago nor are they as durable as my knee length Bridgedale heavy knee high socks.
Good quality durable heavy hiking socks are getting hard to find.
Poor value for money!
Cons: Poor durability
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Fort St John, BC
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

LOVE these socks

Date:December 1, 2011
I bought these socks for a trip we are going on in January and have tried them out in our -25 weather. I wore them on a couple of 5+ km hikes and they were perfect. I have fairly large calves and socks tend to feel tight but these stay up great without feeling tight. They kept my shins nice and warm and my feet were toasty even in my day hikers. Really nice cushion on the bottom of your feet as well. I would recommend these for sure!
Pros: Comfortable, nice snug fit
Review 8 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Pond Inlet, Nunavut
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Like Marshmallows on your feet!

Date:May 6, 2011
I decided to invest in these socks a few months ago due to my locale...I live in the high arctic and it can be -40 to -55 on days. I wore these on some of the coldest days and was toasty warm. Several months later and they are in original condition. Worth the price for sure and I have happy little piggies to prove it:)
Pros: Comfortable
Review 9 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Small
True-to-size
Very Large
Very Cool
Feels very warm
Very Warm
Very Narrow
True to width
Very Wide
By:
Location: Alberta
Age: 45-55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Value

Date:March 28, 2011
I bought these socks for my husband. He works in the oilfield and is outside all the time. His feet were always cold in the winter until I purchased these socks for him. He has had snow in his high work boots and his feet stayed dry and warm. The socks do not fall down and are very comfortable. His feet do not sweat and appreciates the cusioning. These socks have not been a disappointment this winter as it has been minus 30 degrees plus. I also got some for my brother who is an avid hunter and loves them as well. Bottom line, you get what you pay for.
Pros: Comfortable, Breathable, do not fall down.
Review 10 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Cool
Feels very warm
Very Warm
By:
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Best Cold Weather Motorcycle Sock

Date:November 26, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I ride a motorcycle all year so I need a warm sock for those winter rides ... these are far and away the best I've found. Highly recommend.
Pros: Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thorlo Extreme Cold Over-Calf Socks (Unisex)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

Great, padded and warm socks!

Date:September 4, 2007
These are expensive but I bought them due to their thickness and warmth. I looked at all the socks in the store and none were thicker, longer, or as well padded. I have had frostbite recently and wanted the max. warm socks possible, and these are it!
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Durable
4 of 5 found this review helpful.