Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Duffle Bags or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for MEC MEC Duffle Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

MEC MEC Duffle Bag

Built for the long haul, MEC’s duffel bags are the perfect place to park all that stuff you take out of your pack to make it lighter at the trailhead. These rugged bags are at home sliding along airport conveyor belts and sitting on top of yaks, too!
Average Member Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (240 reviews)
5 stars
195
4 stars
41
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
182 out of 185(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Member Reviews for MEC Duffle Bag
Review 1 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Burnaby, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
FEATURED REVIEW

Going right by going light

Date:October 15, 2012
Went to Europe with my wife this summer with each of us carrying this bag and a small backpack. Never had to wait for my luggage and by thinking out my gear ahead of time easily was able to transport all I needed in this bag. For the price, this is easily the biggest bargain in bags today. Everyone we met was shocked that we could have all we needed in a bag this size. I was able to load in seven shirts, seven pair of socks and underwear, a swimsuit, an extra pair of shoes, a raincoat and umbrella, gifts for relatives in Europe, and my toilet kit and had room to spare. We came to the conclusion with 8 kilos of weight we still were carrying too much. On the way home I was able to stuff in two glass bowls surrounded with clothes and got home with nothing broken. The only thing I would replace on this is the shoulder strap since it was not long and comfortable enough. Will only travel carryon in the future. Life is too short to be spent looking for lost luggage or wasting it at a baggage carousel.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: needs a longer more comfortable shoulder strap
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Temiskaming Shores, ON, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Nice bag, great value!

Date:September 16, 2013
Bought the medium bag online to replace my old travel duffle bag. I was truly amazed at the construction of this bag. I then bought a large bag to carry around my two boys' clothes.
The handles are made out of 3 in wide webbing that wraps around the bag giving it a rugged quality. The bag material is not as stiff as it should be to hold the bag up by itself.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Colour options
Review 3 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Excellent duffle bag

Date:July 8, 2013
This is a simple duffle with removeable arm strap and a single pocket on the side. Doesn't get any more complicated.
The material is heavy duty, the connections are all well sewn, and the zippers are very smooth.
I've fit all of the gear needed for a Kilimanjaro climb in one of the larger bags, and the bag managed the mountain very well.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value
Review 4 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto, ON // Belo Horizonte, MG - Brazil
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

MEC Duffle Bag

Date:July 1, 2013
Great bag...Superb quality...Strong and very durable material.
 
My Product Recommendations
MEC Duffle Bag
4.8 out of 5240 Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Review 5 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: McDonalds Corners, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great travel bag

Date:June 29, 2013
We were looking for a duffel bag that was sturdy, well-constructed, reasonably-priced and would collapse down when we were in a camper van. The MEC Duffle bag met all of our requirements. Lots of room and easy to carry, even when full.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 6 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
MEC MEMBER

Superb value

Date:April 5, 2013
Oh wow, these duffle bags have been absolute workhorses over the years! They have been great on so many pursuits: camping, traveling, moving, weekends away, storage, gym bag, you name it. The sizes are so variable but we have all four sizes and every single one of them comes in handy (haven't been to the gym much lately so the smallest one is being neglected, but that's beside the point).
The construction is sturdy, there is an outer pocket for smaller things, and a removable shoulder strap with additional support. Never had any problems with the material, stitching, zippers, etc.
They're pretty great, especially for the price. Only wish they could magically be waterproof too.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 7 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: London, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Equipment Bag!

Date:March 13, 2013
I purchased this bag for use as a baseball team equipment bag 4 years ago. This bag has been dropped on the ground, kicked and stepped on with metal cleats, dragged through the mud and left outside in the pouring rain! After all of this, it is still like new! Kids are able to tear open the zippers and they never have a problem. No holes, no tears, straps are strong as can be. The bag series could include one larger size for those really big team items, but all around this is an incredible buy!!!!
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Could be larger
Review 8 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Hamilton
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Date:March 4, 2013
I bought 3 of the XL bags for camping gear. Great way organize your stuff for a car camping weekend. One bag is big enough to hold an 8 man tent, air mattresses, and sleeping bags. Durable, and can handle anything you put into them.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 9 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Halifax
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Excellent Purchase!!

Date:March 4, 2013
I bought this smaller duffle bag for my husband's gym gear. In an average day, he goes to the pool, the gym, carries his work uniform, change of clothes, extra sneakers, towel, shower kit, and his lunch all in the bag. It is sturdy and fits it all. The best part though, is the guarantee. I've bought bags in the past only to have part of the handle break or come unstitched. Actually, the reason I had to buy this bag was because I broke the zipper off (oops!) his last one - a cheap bag from a generic retailer. But this time I was smart and went to the right place for the best gear. Thanks for a great product!
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Good looking
Review 10 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Elora, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Useful Duffel Bags

Date:March 1, 2013
I initially bought the medium duffel as a weekender type bag and it has served me well. Once I started playing baseball and I needed a bag for my equipment, I knew the small duffel would be perfect, so now I own two. If I had more uses for them I would own more of these bags, great value!
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 11 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kelowna, BC

Totally useful

Date:February 20, 2013
I have all three sizes of these bags and I love them. They are durable and easy to store away. They only take up as much space as what's inside. The zippers are indestructible. Only thing that could make the better is a few extra pockets (they only have one small one on the outside).
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 12 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Alberta
Gender: female

Best Duffle Bag

Date:February 19, 2013
Bought this exact duffle bag 15 years ago and it has stood the test of time. Bought another this fall and put the 2 together.-You could not tell which one was new and which one was 15 years old. Awesome quality and awesome for toting around anything ie. snow gear, skating/boarding equipment, camping gear, used for a suitcase and so much more. I do recommend it to all I know and show it off when using it:)
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 13 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Aurora Ontario
Age: over 55
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

Great value great quality

Date:February 19, 2013
I bought a large size for my son and he loved it so much I also bought him the medium size. Large size is great for a weekend when you need to take pillow and sleeping bag with you and medium is good for weekend with just clothes and a few extras.
The bags are very sturdy and well made. They are soft sided and easy to pack and can be carried by handles or shoulder strap.
Great purchase.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 14 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Kensington, PE, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great buy

Date:February 19, 2013
This is a great bag. Minimalist in design but how many options do you need in a duffle bag? Tough and reliable. I have the XL but I'm going to pick up one in large too for smaller overnight trips.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 15 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
MEC MEMBER

Great Value and Excellent Durability

Date:February 19, 2013
I purchased this in the Large size and find an inability to fill it, ever. Once packed and items settle there is always room in this bag for one more item, as if it has no bottom. I bought this to replace duffle bags that seemed to have a 1 year life span with either a seem ripping or the attachment point of the shoulder strip ripping. With well in excess of 50 lbs in this bag at times I have never seen a stitch begin to pull yet. The oversized zipper is strong enough to resist the over-zealous packer or the non-minimalist. The items I find missing are a rigid / semi-rigid platform in the bottom to provide some shape and an internal pocket or divider / end pockets. A bag over 100 litres with one pouch can be hard to locate items in. With only 1 small pocket on the outside, Versatility can be limited when quick access is required.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value, Reliable
Cons: no divided pockets
Review 16 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

Solid line of bags

Date:February 18, 2013
Its a bag. Nothing earth shattering here. I've got around 15 of them at work and home. This one made a great, highly-visible car safety kit bag. I used large zip-locks to separate stuff.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable, high fashion
Review 17 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Calgary
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven

Great Value!

Date:February 18, 2013
There's nothing fancy about this duffle bag, but then who needs fancy? This thing is extremely well-constructed with sturdy handles and a great shoulder strap. Have had this on several trips and it takes a beating without complaint. Had one of these for years but misplaced it in a move. The new one is just as durable, but has a better contour.
Pros: Rugged, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 18 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Montreal,QC

This item is very practical and goes everywhere.

Date:February 18, 2013
The Mec Duffle bag is rugged and one does not have to worry if it gets scratched and it fit most everywhere. Naushara
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 19 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton AB
Age: 18-24
Gender: male

Date:February 18, 2013
I needed a bag for school and this fit the bill.
Large bag fits regular binders with ease. I managed 2 binders, 2 coats, and my lunch and none of the straps or zippers failed and it distributed the weight with ease.
Side pocket is amazing for holding pens or anything else that you would need easy access to without digging in the bottom of your bag for it.
Totally durable, I wouldn't be afraid using it as luggage or camping with it.
Pros: Rugged, Good Value
Review 20 for MEC Duffle Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Miramichi, NB
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Awesome Value

Date:February 18, 2013
Unbelievable value! I use this bag constantly travelling back and forth from New Brunswick to Alberta to work, and then I lug it all over Alberta with me. Its the best bag I've had and also the most inexpensive. I liked it so much that I purchased the bigger MEC Odyssey duffle bag. I would highly recommend any of the MEC line of duffle bags.
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>